fbpx
Altrua Healthshare Review
Moderate

Altrua Healthshare Review

 

Below is our Altrua Healthshare review. Please keep in mind that no person on the Healthsharing Reviews team is personally a member of this particular ministry. This review is based off information that is provided to us online.

If you are a member of Altrua Healthshare, please scroll to the bottom of this page and submit a user review so that others interested in Altrua can get opinions from actual members.

 

 

Altrua Healthshare Review

Altrua Healthshare seems to be one of the newest healthsharing ministries out there. And it looks like they are bringing a more “start-up” vibe to the industry. My first impressions of the website were “wow”. The branding, UI, and information on this website are top-notch. In an industry where companies can seem to be a bit “old-school”, Altrua seems to be coming in and trying to shake things up with a fresh new approach. For the younger generations, Altrua seems to be a front-runner.

After being super impressed with their website, I didn’t feel the same after checking out some of their social media channels. Their Twitter account has only 24 followers and they have only tweeted a total of 49 times. On top of that, it seems as though they haven’t tweeted or posted on Facebook in a long time. As a prospective member, this would be a huge red-flag for me. People that are considering joining a healthshare are definitely going to do some research on the company. And to see that there isn’t much interaction with the members via social media might be a turn-off.

For a company that seems to have invested a lot in such a nice site, they should be doing the same with their social media.

 

How Altrua Healthshare Works

Altrua Healthshare does an AMAZING job at explaining how everything works within their ministry. I don’t think any other ministry goes as in-depth as much as Altrua does. The flow chart below explains how every single step in Altrua Healthshare works.

Altrua Healthshare Review

As you can see above, Altrua Healthshare works similarly to all other healthsharing ministries. But this flowchart does a great job at breaking it down for potential members. It gives them a very clear picture of how this is going to work.

 

Pricing for Altrua Healthshare

Pricing and benefits for Altrua can get a bit confusing. Luckily, they did another great job and providing as much information as possible for this. There are 3 major options for Altrua Healthshare membership: Gold, Silver, and Bronze.

 

Gold

The “Gold” plan for Altrua Healthshare is the top plan offered. For each plan, Altrua provides helpful charts that breakdown pricing by age and a number of members: individuals, couples, and families. The prices are also divided into Standard and Advantage pricing. It seems that the biggest differentiator between Standard and Advantage are the amounts that you pay out of pocket. This amount is what they call “Member Responsibility Amount” or MRA. With Altrua, there is a 1st MRA and a 2nd MRA.

Altrua Healthshare review

 

Silver

The Silver plan is the next step down for Altrua. Here, you can see that the prices aren’t dramatically lower — about $20-$30 across the board. In my opinion, it’s best to opt for the best plan or the lowest plan when joining a healthsharing ministry. But, of course, always go with what is best for your budget!

Altrua Healthshare Review

 

Bronze

The lowest plan for Altrua is its Bronze plan. Here, you can see that the prices are dramatically cheaper than the Silver and Gold plans. For an individual under 39, the Bronze plan is over $100/month cheaper.

Altrua Healthshare Review

 

Member Responsibility Amount

The Member Responsibility Amount (MRA) is very similar to Annual Unshared Amounts with ministries like Liberty Healthshare. Essentially, the MRA is the amount that you will have to pay out-of-pocket for your membership. Altrua’s system has two MRAs: a 1st and a 2nd. The 1st MRA is the amount that you will pay before your Altrua membership ever kicks in. The 2nd is a percentage amount that you will continue to pay for every bill after you pass your 1st MRA.

Understanding The Membership

First Member Responsibility Amount (1st MRA): The member’s first out of pocket amount before the membership shares in eligible needs (any amount not related to office visits, wellness visits, sick visits, check-ups, follow-up visits, etc.).

Second Member Responsibility Amount (2nd MRA): The percentage members are responsible for, after the 1st MRA is met, and before the membership shares in eligible needs. The membership shares simultaneously in eligible needs as the member’s 2nd MRA is being met.

Things to Note
Members are sent monthly contribution requests based on age and household, which they submit to remain active in the membership.

Members whose weight exceeds the membership standard will have a share increase added to their monthly contribution.

To date, all eligible medical needs have been shared on behalf of members by Altrua HealthShare.” – Altrua Healthshare

 

Differences between the plans

Below is a chart from Altrua that helps break down the exact differences between each plan:

Altrua Healthshare Review

 

What members receive

Another helpful chart from Altrua shows you what each type of member receives in terms of office visits, maternity plans, prescriptions, etc.

Altrua healthshare review

Signing up for Altrua Healthshare

Like all of the other healthsharing ministries, Altrua’s sign up process is pretty simple and can be done online. They provide an easy online form where you fill out your basic information. After filling this form out, you will be contacted by Altrua Healthshare and will begin the process of enrollment from there.

 

Healthsaring reviews

Leave a review!

Are you a member of Liberty Healthshare? Please leave a review below so others can get a better sense of what it’s like to be a part of a healthsharing ministry!

If you have any questions about Liberty Healthshare, contact us or hit us up on Twitter or Facebook!

Pros

  • Awesome Website
  • Great explanations of how the ministry works
  • Superior technology to other ministries

Cons

  • No social media engagement
  • Small member based

Overall review score

2.1
26 reviews

Leave Your Review

  • Review Score
    0.0

Reviews

A
Anonymous
April 26, 2019 @ 21:19
1.0  

Stay away from this plan. It is very difficult to get reimbursed. I keep getting so many new, different reasons and excuses as to why they cannot pay out. I feel like I was sold a lie. It has been thoroughly tedious.

G
GS
April 22, 2019 @ 23:19
1.0  

Altrua Healthshare is a SCAM. AVOID Altrua. They don’t reimburse, don’t answer questions and don’t call back to resolve issues. As a paying member I received zero benefit. I spent countless hours on the phone trying to get issues resolved to no avail. I always got the run around. They are masters of wearing you down until you give up trying to get reimbursed. Altrua branding itself as a religious organization and classifying your payment as a contribution is CON JOB. AVOID, AVOID, AVOID.

Altrua Healthshare is a SCAM. AVOID Altrua. They don’t reimburse, don’t answer questions and don’t call back to resolve issues. As a paying member I received zero benefit. I spent countless hours on the phone trying to get issue..
More
H
Heidi Wirth Johns
April 16, 2019 @ 20:15
1.0  

I signed up with Altrua because we needed insurance. Whenever I showed my card to any health care provider, they just flat out wouldn’t even take it. I paid all of my own costs out of pocket. I broke a bone last year, and again paid out of pocket. When I submitted the hospital costs, they told me it wasn’t preauthorized and will not cover it. So, I paid into Altrua for two years, and didn’t get reimbursed for one thing. They also made it hard to file a claim. Something was always missing, and then when you thought you gave them everything, they’d want the providers Federal ID number. My doctor won’t provide this. I think it’s a bad company. I would never use them again.

I signed up with Altrua because we needed insurance. Whenever I showed my card to any health care provider, they just flat out wouldn’t even take it. I paid all of my own costs out of pocket. I broke a bone last year, and again paid out of pock..
More
C
Carol
April 12, 2019 @ 15:27
1.0  

Altrua is the worst. They are worse than insurance companies. They cover maternity costs but anyone else, forget it. I paid my premiums for three years but they turned down my one eye exam with a doctor, not optometrist. I went to see an eye DOCTOR because of a black spot in my eye. Altrua turned down the reimbursement because they claimed that I got glasses from my appointment. Not true. I still have my glasses from the 1980s. And I buy reading glasses from the pharmacy. I had to pay the doctor’s tests of $500 cash and never got reimbursed. I talked to Altrua for months and they stuck to their dumb excuse. I will be on medicare next month and a supplement (AARP United Healthcare is the best) and I will never recommend Altrua for anything other than if you are having babies. It’s a scam!!!!! Don’t fall for it. Scroll up and see the poor reviews. They are right. don’t do it.

Altrua is the worst. They are worse than insurance companies. They cover maternity costs but anyone else, forget it. I paid my premiums for three years but they turned down my one eye exam with a doctor, not optometrist. I went to see an eye DOCTOR ..
More
M
M M
April 6, 2019 @ 18:12
1.0  

This is quite possibly the worst health insurance I’ve ever received. They cover nothing, their representatives, lie, forget things, don’t care about you, and are condescending to an epic degree. I’d be paying less for all my medical needs if I had NO health insurance. Trust me, I’m not the only one. And it’s not just one bad egg answering all the calls. Even in desperate need, DO NOT pick Altrua.

This is quite possibly the worst health insurance I’ve ever received. They cover nothing, their representatives, lie, forget things, don’t care about you, and are condescending to an epic degree. I’d be paying less for all my medical needs if I..
More
L
Leia
March 15, 2019 @ 21:16
1.0  

My experience with Altrua has practically given me an ulcer. I have NEVER had a worse customer experience in my life. I am an extremely healthy person, but last year I had two enlarged lymph nodes. My primary care suggested an ultrasound. The ultrasound was abnormal, so wanting to be proactive I got the suggested lymph node biopsy (thank God the biopsy showed no cancer). I now feel fine. Both my ultrasound and biopsy were pre-authorized. However, I’ve spent HOURS of my life on the phone with Altrua, the hospital and two other medical providers outside the hospital for radiology and pathology interpretation. I was careful to get pre-authorization, but STILL Altrua claimed I didn’t get pre-auth and denied coverage. Altrua also claimed they sent “explanations of sharing” to my medical providers that my medical providers said they never received. Then Altrua denied my reimbursement claim for $4,000+ I paid out of pocket to providers as self-pay (because Altrua advised me to pay as self-pay and then submit a reimbursement claim). There were countless errors in documentation on Altrua’s end, but then I was asked to write an appeal letter for the claim they incorrectly assessed. Every person at Altrua I’ve spoken with is incompetent, unhelpful, and tells me a different story, I’ve lost all trust in this company. It’s cost effective and seems great in theory, but in practice it’s been one of the worst decisions I’ve ever made to pay money to Altrua.

My experience with Altrua has practically given me an ulcer. I have NEVER had a worse customer experience in my life. I am an extremely healthy person, but last year I had two enlarged lymph nodes. My primary care suggested an ultrasound. The ultraso..
More
F
Felicia Bruno
March 6, 2019 @ 20:54
4.0  

I have been a member for 3 years and have never had any problems. Altrua is a great alternative to traditional insurance and far less cost for me and my family.

M
Mackenzie Mangels
March 4, 2019 @ 18:51
4.0  

Altrua Healthshare is a great alternative to traditional healthcare! If you’re looking for an affordable option for you and your family that will cover your regular medical needs, this may be a great choice for you!

K
Kathleen Woods
March 1, 2019 @ 15:30
4.0  

Good information and a great option for alternate healthcare.

K
Kevin Hull
February 28, 2019 @ 21:51
5.0  

I’ve been a member for about a year with Altrua. About a week ago, I got very sick. To sick to go to the doctor. So,I called the telemedicine line and within ten to fifteen minutes later a prescription was waiting for me at Walgreen’s. I paid a $1.23 (Z-pac). Absolutely amazing to see it was that simple. I’m extremely happy.

I’ve been a member for about a year with Altrua. About a week ago, I got very sick. To sick to go to the doctor. So,I called the telemedicine line and within ten to fifteen minutes later a prescription was waiting for me at Walgreen’s. ..
More
J
Jonathan B.
February 25, 2019 @ 19:13
5.0  

My family has been on Altrua for the last year, and we have been very happy with everything so far. I am saving over $1200/month compared to my old major medical plan, and my experience has been nearly identical. My 3 year-old got sick last weekend, and I was on the phone with a telemedicine provider that had a prescription ready for me within 30 min. I went to the pharmacy to pick it up and paid $1 for a Zpack. The entire experience took less than two hours and only cost me $1.

My family has been on Altrua for the last year, and we have been very happy with everything so far. I am saving over $1200/month compared to my old major medical plan, and my experience has been nearly identical. My 3 year-old got sick last weekend..
More
L
Lynn Marble
February 23, 2019 @ 05:32
4.0  

You had better understand what this does and does not do. As a broker I know first hand all of the options available from ACA to Short Term medical to Indemnity type products and Altrua check the most boxes. This is not for everyone but is a wonderful fit for a healthy lifestyle living family. I have had myself, my wife and four children on this for two years and has worked very well for doctors visits, urgent care, telemedicine and especially prescriptions. This year when I had my first ever experience with herniated disks I had multiple specialist visits and 3 outpatient procedures (epidural injections in my neck). My total out of pocket for $648.00. On a ACA plan I would have been well over $5000 plus the extra $1200 per month that I would paid in premiums. They have had some growing pains but seem be much better now that they have caught up with the growth.

You had better understand what this does and does not do. As a broker I know first hand all of the options available from ACA to Short Term medical to Indemnity type products and Altrua check the most boxes. This is not for everyone but is a wonderfu..
More
L
Lisa janes
January 7, 2019 @ 21:18
1.0  

We recently dealt with Altrua regarding a major medical issue. I went to the doctors office for what I thought was a minor problem, which turned out to be a major problem. While at the doctors office, they ended up doing some tests that were an emergency. The doctors office tried to get them approved at the time; however, Altrua denied the tests saying they were not preauthorized.

Afterwards, they tried to get additional testing approved but could never reach anybody that would give them an answer. There is no one in the office that would speak to them and give them a direct answer on future tests.

I also several times received explanation of benefits for other patients at my home.

We recently dealt with Altrua regarding a major medical issue. I went to the doctors office for what I thought was a minor problem, which turned out to be a major problem. While at the doctors office, they ended up doing some tests that were an eme..
More
D
DM
December 16, 2018 @ 02:57
1.0  

Altrua is an absolute joke. Their customer service representatives are NOT even close to being competence for their role. Every time I called Altrua to get some clarification on why I haven’t been reimbursed for bills, I got a different story from every representative. This company makes my stomach turn every time I think about how they are dishonest this company is. I actually requested to speak with a supervisor, who promised she would look over my paper work and call me the next day. Do you think I got a phone call back from her, nope. That was the last straw for me. I tell everyone to stay away from Altrua. Onto a different insurance…

Altrua is an absolute joke. Their customer service representatives are NOT even close to being competence for their role. Every time I called Altrua to get some clarification on why I haven’t been reimbursed for bills, I got a different story f..
More
M
Matt
December 15, 2018 @ 15:04
2.0  

We got pregnant in the 9th month of our Altrua membership, even though we had already paid for the 10th month. They said maternity would not be covered b/c you had to be a paying subscriber for 10 months. Which I get and didn’t complain about. The issue came after our son was born. Altrua wouldn’t add him until after we added him. The issue is that you can’t add someone unless you have their SS#. We got his SS# 6 weeks after his birth and then added him. Altrua doesn’t add people until the next billing cycle. So basically Altrua got out of paying for the most expensive medical costs (outside of delivery) part of having a baby, the 3 months after they are born. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone with a family. They are slow to pay for anything and find a loophole not to pay. I would recommend it if you are single and just looking for something cheap.

We got pregnant in the 9th month of our Altrua membership, even though we had already paid for the 10th month. They said maternity would not be covered b/c you had to be a paying subscriber for 10 months. Which I get and didn’t complain about..
More
C
Charles Heppard
December 14, 2018 @ 05:02
1.0  

Worst experience ever, their faith may be Satanic, only way they could have such misrepresented standards. The seem to have a good business model, they take money in and don’t pay out. No matter how reasonably priced it is, if it doesn’t cover you when you need it it is worthless .

Worst experience ever, their faith may be Satanic, only way they could have such misrepresented standards. The seem to have a good business model, they take money in and don’t pay out. No matter how reasonably priced it is, if it doesn’t ..
More
K
Kelly LaDuke
November 30, 2018 @ 17:06
2.0  

This plan only looks good on paper with the “low” cost. Their only goal is to avoid paying anything, even doctors appt’s. Their rules are vague and up to their interpretation which is designed to reimburse nothing. You get a different story with every phone call and the incompetence is unbelievable. One rep will say they received necessary documentation, then when you call 3 weeks later, they say that they never received the documentation and then you have to start all over. When you pay for a doctor visit upfront (since no one in my area will accept this plan to bill), if the office doesn’t give a cash discount, it’s not “eligible” for reimbursement. That’s right, it’s vaguely in their fine print that they ask you to request a cash discount from your doc, but it doesn’t say anywhere that if the doctor refuses to offer a cash discount, then you are ineligible to receive any reimbursement from Altrua. This company is criminal and should be investigated. I’ve been with them for 2 years to avoid Obama’s penalty and had 2 doctor visits partially reimbursed and it took 3 months on average both times. Everything else (annual labs, etc) was 100% out of pocket. I’m telling everyone I know what crooks these people are.

This plan only looks good on paper with the “low” cost. Their only goal is to avoid paying anything, even doctors appt’s. Their rules are vague and up to their interpretation which is designed to reimburse nothing. You get a diff..
More
B
Brenda Cannon
November 3, 2018 @ 00:45
2.0  

We signed up with Altrua 15 months ago, and we’ve had a horrible experience trying to get a claim from 10 months ago paid. We keep getting the run around. They keep asking for more information, or information we’ve already provided. I am beyond frustrated. Our insurance agent is helping us now.

We signed up with Altrua 15 months ago, and we’ve had a horrible experience trying to get a claim from 10 months ago paid. We keep getting the run around. They keep asking for more information, or information we’ve already provided. I am beyon..
More
H
HM
October 21, 2018 @ 13:26
1.0  

This health share is a joke! You pay you premium, the you pay 99% of your medical bills. Yes, inder intricantly written rules, they will just cover 1%…

C
Chris Lerch
October 9, 2018 @ 20:18
2.0  

Horrible company. Due to delays in authorization and suffering excruciating pain I paid for my own MRI. MRI showed multiple herniated disks and several tears. Again, delay delay, delay. I was removed from Pain block and steroid shot procedure three times due to delays in authorization. I am now at week 4 and the latest delay is that Altrua has not received a letter from My Dr stating that my Dr. had not seen me as a patient prior to 2018. WTF?????? Of course my Drs office had sent the requested letter.
DO NOT BUY INTO THIS COMPANY

Horrible company. Due to delays in authorization and suffering excruciating pain I paid for my own MRI. MRI showed multiple herniated disks and several tears. Again, delay delay, delay. I was removed from Pain block and steroid shot procedure three t..
More
M
Matt Robertson
September 10, 2018 @ 19:44
3.0  

We’ve had Altrua for over a year and that’s about how long they take to pay for claims. Be prepared to tell your provider’s billers to have the patience of Job b/c Altrua takes F-O-R-E-V-E-R to pay claims or sometimes they don’t at all. Terrible customer service and you can never speak with a manager. We got pregnant in the 9th month but had paid for 10 months of service. You have to be a paying customer for 10 months plus they look at conception date. That stinks but I get it and how they have to set some kind of date albeit 10 months seems a little excessive. But then once we had our baby, Altrua did not start covering expenses until over 4 months. You have to wait to get a social security number then you have to wait a couple of billing cycles before they can add him/her. All around, I would look elsewhere.

We’ve had Altrua for over a year and that’s about how long they take to pay for claims. Be prepared to tell your provider’s billers to have the patience of Job b/c Altrua takes F-O-R-E-V-E-R to pay claims or sometimes they don̵..
More
s
s
August 8, 2018 @ 18:24
1.0  

After paying my entire premium upfront, Altrua has denied every and all claims submitted for my family. I have been sent to collections for over $40,000 worth of medical bills that should have been paid by any other competent health coverage. Altrua refuses to help their customers, work with the healthcare agencies and I would NOT wish this nightmare of a company on anyone! Do yourself a favor and stay far away from this company!

After paying my entire premium upfront, Altrua has denied every and all claims submitted for my family. I have been sent to collections for over $40,000 worth of medical bills that should have been paid by any other competent health coverage. Altrua ..
More
D
David S
April 4, 2018 @ 17:33
2.0  

Avoid this company like the Plague. Horrible customer service. Horrible claims paying. They will give you the run around for every claim, find a reason to deny any claim, and even for the basic office visits, make you jump through hoops to get the Dr’s paid. Do not ever go out of pocket and hope for reimbursement. It can take 6-7 months. One department will tell you a claim has been approved, and two days later, another department will deny the same claim. I know healthcare sucks in the US now for the middle class, but this “company” is not a solution.

Avoid this company like the Plague. Horrible customer service. Horrible claims paying. They will give you the run around for every claim, find a reason to deny any claim, and even for the basic office visits, make you jump through hoops to get the..
More
M
Michael and Laura Lee
January 25, 2018 @ 20:39
4.0  

We became members in 2016. I was given a permanent waiver on my heart veins due to having two RCA Stents placed in 2011. I was fine with that as my cardiologist assured me I was doing fine and would probably have no issues until 2021 if then. Well, in this coming March I turn 65 and it is not an issue.
However, just before Thanksgiving I ended up in ER with upper abdomen pains. They found I had Gall Bladder issues and CT Scan also revealed an Aortic Aneurism. Long story short had both surgeries, Altrua immediately began negotiations on my bills and are in constant contact with the providers. My cost: $3000 in MRA’s Before I was with Altrua I had Blue Cross with a $3,500 deductible plus coinsurance for $835 a month. Altrua membership is only $420 total monthly for me.
Yes, I am pleased….

We became members in 2016. I was given a permanent waiver on my heart veins due to having two RCA Stents placed in 2011. I was fine with that as my cardiologist assured me I was doing fine and would probably have no issues until 2021 if then. Well, i..
More
C
Cindy Johnson
December 29, 2017 @ 23:52
2.0  

I was with Altrua Healthshare for nearly 18 years. This year I had minor surgery on my knee and getting Altrua to pay my bills has been a nightmare. I have been sent to collections 2 times because of their incompetence. I would NOT recommend using Altrua.

I was with Altrua Healthshare for nearly 18 years. This year I had minor surgery on my knee and getting Altrua to pay my bills has been a nightmare. I have been sent to collections 2 times because of their incompetence. I would NOT recommend using Al..
More
M
Margaret E
November 17, 2017 @ 19:34
5.0  

My husband and I joined Altrua Healthshare about six months ago. We live in western Colorado, where our insurance broker recommended Altrua as a health share option since many local doctors are familiar with it. We originally learned of health shares through our primary care physician, who is based in Boulder, CO. He advocates for Liberty Health Share, but we wanted to go with a health share that was more familiar to the providers where we live. We were delighted with the affordability of the monthly contributions and liked the idea that we could make our own decisions about health care in terms of the doctors we went to or the treatments we wanted. We don’t have any serious pre-existing conditions and haven’t yet needed to file a claim, however. I have researched health shares online and have heard from my doctor and his staff that health shares in general are a great option. The only people who would not benefit would be someone with cancer or a serious pre-existing condition, since Altrua doesn’t cover that in the first 2 years of membership. If you’re generally healthy, I think it’s an excellent and affordable option.

My husband and I joined Altrua Healthshare about six months ago. We live in western Colorado, where our insurance broker recommended Altrua as a health share option since many local doctors are familiar with it. We originally learned of health shares..
More