Zion Health Review
Zion Health Review is Top Rated
Top Rated
Cheap

Zion Health Review

I’ve been running Healthsharing Reviews for a couple of years now and for the past couple of months, I keep hearing from more and more people praising Zion Health. I’ve heard so many good things about it lately that I decided to go ahead and put together a review and listing for Zion Health. Let’s jump right in!

The first thing I felt when I saw their website: 😍😍😍

 

screenshot of zion health website

 

The current #1 rated healthshare:

Zion Health

4.9
Top Rated Top Rated
Cheap

Zion Health is a fairly new healthshare based out of Utah. They offer super cheap plans and even Direct Primary Care memberships.

• Fast Processing of Needs
• Unlimited Sharing

Along with Altrua Healthshare, Zion Health has probably one of the best designs for a healthshare’s website. This may not say much to your average visitor, but to me, this tells me that they are dedicated to delivering great customer experience. And that customer experience starts with your website. So, kudos to you, Zion!

Now, let’s talk about the healthshare itself.

How does Zion Health work?

Below, you can find a video with an overview of what Zion Health does and how it works

All in all, Zion Health is going to be pretty similar to the rest of the healthshares. You’ll have a monthly share amount which is what you will pay each month to be a member, and then you’ll have an “Initial Unshared Amount”. The Initial Unshared Amount (IUA) is similar to Liberty’s Annual Unshared Amount. This is the amount that you will be responsible for paying out of pocket before your medical bills can be shared into Zion Health.

 

zion health iua

 

There are 3 different IUA’s to choose from with Zion: $1,000, $2,500, and $5,000. The IUA that you choose will heavily dictate how much your monthly share amount will be. So, let’s start talking pricing!

Submitting Bills

In my opinion, this is the only place that Zion lacks at the moment. While they do provide an online way to submit “needs requests”, it’s done on the front end of the website. Member’s don’t currently have a portal that they can sign into as most other healthshares do. However, I’ve reached out to Zion and they’ve let me know that a member portal is in the works, so I’ll have to update this section in the future!

UPDATE: I did get this update from Zion:

We are working on a member portal and this is a temporary downside as we expect to have this up and running in Q1 of 2020.  What most of our members use now is allowing providers to use the information provided on the Member ID card.  Providers can send “claims” by electronic means (EDI, standard in industry) or by mailing a paper claim.  This actually allows our members to do less because they do not need to upload bills and allows for us to better negotiate the medical expenses for the members.

How much does Zion Health cost?

One of the biggest differentiators of Zion Health from the rest of the pack is the fact that they have different types of memberships. One thing I noticed on there site which is huge: THERE ARE NO ANNUAL CAPS. This is pretty amazing. Most healthshares will have some kind of limit per incident you have, but not Zion. Wow!

Direct Memberships

Zion’s Direct Memberships is comparable to the other healthshares and will work very similarly. There are pricing plans for Direct Memberships and the actual monthly price depends on the IUA:

zion direct member rates

If you go to Zion’s Direct Member page, you can toggle the chart above to see what the prices are like for different age groups. But, as you can see above, a single person between 18 and 29 that opts to have a $5,000 IUA would only have to pay $103 a month–that is crazy cheap!

Direct Primary Care Memberships

This is where Zion really sets itself apart from the other healthshares: they offer a direct primary care membership. So, if you are a fan of direct primary care, Zion might be a great option for you!

As you can see above, the pricing for Direct Primary Care through Zion Health is pretty straight forward. A DPC membership with Zion Health includes things like discounted member prices with DPCs, access to catastrophic plans, and network freedom.

Worksite Membership

Worksite memberships are another thing that I haven’t really seen with other healthshares. Essentially, Worksite Memberships are a way for you to provide Zion Health to your entire company–this is pretty awesome!

While they share pricing for their other types of plans, I don’t seem to see anything in regards to pricing for worksite memberships. Zion has a beautiful site, but it is a bit difficult to navigate!

With worksite membership, there are probably so many different factors that would dictate the price like the number of employees, ages of employees, etc, that it would be pretty difficult to list prices on their site. So, I think it makes sense that you don’t see any. It’s best to just reach out to them if you’re interested in providing Zion to your workplace.

How to sign up to Zion Health

Signing up to Zion Health seems pretty straight forward! You can head to their website and request a member quote and someone from their team will reach out to you shortly!

You can also reach out to a Healthsharing Review rep that can help you compare different healthshares and different plans so that you find the best fit for you and your family!

Update: Turns out enrollment is even easier than I thought! I received this message from Zion as well:

Enrollment is even easier!  When you sign up online, you actually sign up.  No need to wait for someone to reach out or any questions if you are accepted.  Everyone is accepted and when you submit your enrollment you are welcomed in.  A digital ID card is sent to you by email and a welcome letter with ID card is sent by mail.

 

Pros

  • Very Cheap
  • Works with DPC

Cons

  • No Member Portal

Overall review score

4.9
21 reviews

Leave Your Review

  • Review Score
    0.0

Reviews

T
Tracey
January 25, 2020 @ 01:28
5.0  

Great company! Super easy to sign up. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Affordable monthly rate, plus you even get an additional discount if you are part of a Direct Primary Care Practice.

M
M King
January 22, 2020 @ 16:58
5.0  

Yep, it was really simple to sign up. I’ll update you if / when I submit a need.

I’m a healthy 60 year old male that has been paying over $700/m for insurance. I called and spoke with Zion for about 45 minutes, they answered all my questions. It was a no brainer for me.

I went with their enhansed direct primary care membership, it will allow me to get a colonoscopy and the shingles shots right away. I’m paying 189/m and my dpc Dr. costs me 40/m.

Hope this helps. All the best.
M King

Yep, it was really simple to sign up. I’ll update you if / when I submit a need. I’m a healthy 60 year old male that has been paying over $700/m for insurance. I called and spoke with Zion for about 45 minutes, they answered all my questi..
More
M
Monica
December 31, 2019 @ 07:47
5.0  

I have been with Zion since May 2019 though I have not yet made a ‘claim’. In my experience, the pros definitely outweigh the cons by a large margin.

CONS
– There were some hiccups with payment systems that were sorted out reasonably quickly.
– Some things such as birth control are not covered, preexisting conditions are excluded and some things you don’t become eligible for until you are with them for 2-3 years. Important you the document that details these things before signing up.
– Unsure if coverage and eligibility change without members being informed.
– When I switched to their DPC plan, I lost the teledoc service without being informed.
– No financial records yet although when I joined, they did say they were going to make their audited accounts available in 2020.
– Most significantly, they are small so there is a risk they will not be able to cover large claims (as they stress, this is NOT insurance). So I decided to purchase a catastrophic insurance plan as well, which adds to the cost.

PROS
– The cost and simplicity compare to insurance, I read the fine print on all my insurance policies and this program seems way more reasonable.
– The responsive and personal service you get when you contact them. Never had to wait longer than a day.
– Valid anywhere, even if you take a trip out of the US!
– Of all the healthshares, this one seems the best structured and not as restrictive as the other religious ones.
– They are non-profit, and like most healthshares take their percentage for Admin costs which they state as 10% and everything else is goes to members shared needs.
– If they make good on making their audited accounts public, there seems to be less likelihood of corruption than the for-profit healthshares that recently started
– By far and away, the best part is they give a discount for having a direct primary care doctor (DPC). Because of this, I signed up for one in my area and she has been amazing in focusing on preventative care, answering any question I send her, and fighting to keep my costs down for things like bloodwork. This has been the best medical experience I have ever had!

I believe more and more people will realize they are the best value for money of anything in the US medical system, and they will continue to grow. As they do, I hope they keep things simple and transparent, and I look forward to the day I can ditch my catastrophic insurance!

I have been with Zion since May 2019 though I have not yet made a ‘claim’. In my experience, the pros definitely outweigh the cons by a large margin. CONS – There were some hiccups with payment systems that were sorted out reasonabl..
More
G
Gary
December 6, 2019 @ 15:20
5.0  

Just signed up in Nov and already had to use their Teladocs service. They explained this to me as I was inquiring about Zion Health. It was as convenient as they said it would be and didn’t cost anything. Great customer service experience!

Just signed up in Nov and already had to use their Teladocs service. They explained this to me as I was inquiring about Zion Health. It was as convenient as they said it would be and didn’t cost anything. Great customer service experience! ..
More
C
Christina Fields
November 25, 2019 @ 20:39
5.0  

I was worried what I was going to do when I had a larger doctors visit bill, but it still didn’t reach my IUA. Was I just going to have to pay all that out of pocket with no help? Called in and Zion informed me that they actually can help in getting my smaller bills discounted for me. Nice to know that they are willing to help their members in any situation, not just after I pay my part. I recommend taking them into consideration when looking at your different options for healthcare.

I was worried what I was going to do when I had a larger doctors visit bill, but it still didn’t reach my IUA. Was I just going to have to pay all that out of pocket with no help? Called in and Zion informed me that they actually can help in ge..
More
S
Shauna Rhodes
November 25, 2019 @ 19:42
5.0  

Love that I can choose who I want to get my treatment from with Zion health, Im not bound like normal insurance. I decided I wanted to do a thermography instead of a mammogram this year, and Zion allowed me to do that as a form of alternative medicine. It was refreshing to feel like I had a say in things, instead of just being told where to go.

Love that I can choose who I want to get my treatment from with Zion health, Im not bound like normal insurance. I decided I wanted to do a thermography instead of a mammogram this year, and Zion allowed me to do that as a form of alternative medicin..
More
C
Cathy Leer
November 25, 2019 @ 18:19
4.0  

Zion Health and my rep, Tim Hirsch, have been great. The options available were simple and easily understood. You can’t beat the rates. The enrollment process was easy and straightforward. I haven’t had a claim yet, so I don’t feel comfortable giving a 5 star review just yet, as I have no experience to go on. If I could give 4.5 stars right now I would!

Zion Health and my rep, Tim Hirsch, have been great. The options available were simple and easily understood. You can’t beat the rates. The enrollment process was easy and straightforward. I haven’t had a claim yet, so I don’t feel ..
More
S
Sarah White
November 19, 2019 @ 20:48
5.0  

Glad that I can come and go as I please with Zion Health. Even better that I don’t have to be affiliated with a religion. They are so easy going, and look at each incident for each member, instead of just grouping them together and not looking at me as an individual.

Glad that I can come and go as I please with Zion Health. Even better that I don’t have to be affiliated with a religion. They are so easy going, and look at each incident for each member, instead of just grouping them together and not looking ..
More
R
Rachel Wood
November 19, 2019 @ 19:42
5.0  

Representatives at Zion are very informed, and have an direct answer for every question. Very easy to navigate the website and find answer on your own as well. The application only took me 5 minutes and I got a digital ID card the next day that I could use. overall very impressed with the interactions Ive had with them.

Representatives at Zion are very informed, and have an direct answer for every question. Very easy to navigate the website and find answer on your own as well. The application only took me 5 minutes and I got a digital ID card the next day that I cou..
More
R
Richard Black
November 19, 2019 @ 19:13
5.0  

Been doing some research and comparing some of the more common health share companies and noticed that most of the members seemed pretty unhappy with how long it takes to process claims, how high the rates are, and not fulfilling promises. I came on here to maybe find another health share and saw that Zion Health was the highest rated and checked into it. Very nice people over there, and really know how to take care of their members. They process claims in 3 days and are really fast at getting back to me with any question I had. Very good.

Been doing some research and comparing some of the more common health share companies and noticed that most of the members seemed pretty unhappy with how long it takes to process claims, how high the rates are, and not fulfilling promises. I came on ..
More
V
Veronica Martinez
November 18, 2019 @ 23:48
5.0  

I have been with Liberty Health Share for years and decided to look into some other options. I came across Zion Health and was pretty impressed with the way that they are doing things, even though they are a new company. I’m going to be paying a lot less for my family, and have more services available for my family. Glad I made the switch from Liberty, would seriously recommend looking at your options for health shares so your not overpaying like I was.

I have been with Liberty Health Share for years and decided to look into some other options. I came across Zion Health and was pretty impressed with the way that they are doing things, even though they are a new company. I’m going to be paying ..
More
M
Mandi Gates
November 18, 2019 @ 23:46
4.0  

I’ve been looking into healthshares because I’m tired of paying so much for insurance and I came across Zion Health. When I called and talked to a representative there I was very impressed with their knowledge and how well it was explained and how if she wasn’t sure with the question she would promptly get me answer to my question.
The representative didn’t make me feel rushed to get off the phone and took time to explain things to me and make sure that I had a good understanding. I liked that she gave me the option to enroll over the phone instead of going through the website, which I feel was a lot easier!

I’ve been looking into healthshares because I’m tired of paying so much for insurance and I came across Zion Health. When I called and talked to a representative there I was very impressed with their knowledge and how well it was explaine..
More
W
Willis Martinez
November 15, 2019 @ 23:54
5.0  

I got registered on their website in less than 5 minutes, and got a temporary ID sent to my email very quickly so that could I start using my membership right away. Their staff has also been really friendly and helpful.

C
Carol Roberts
November 15, 2019 @ 23:39
4.0  

My sister had told me about health shares and how much she enjoys having one, especially when she had her baby. I hadn’t really heard of them but I liked the idea and concept of them. I looked into a few health shares and they all seemed pretty similar until I came across Zion Health.
I decided to call them and get some more information and the girl I talked to was very nice and well knowledge and was able to answer all my questions. I really like that they have no yearly or life time cap on what they can pay. I haven’t had to go to the hospital since I was a child but I like that I know that I have am able to get the help that I need if something were to happen to me.

My sister had told me about health shares and how much she enjoys having one, especially when she had her baby. I hadn’t really heard of them but I liked the idea and concept of them. I looked into a few health shares and they all seemed pretty..
More
L
Lisa Barlow
November 14, 2019 @ 21:08
5.0  

I am so glad that I found out about Zion Health Share. They have been so good to me and my family, and I can’t imagine how my family would have gotten through our son unexpected appendix surgery without them . I’m so glad that we are done with the insurance games and switched over to Zion Health. It is honestly one of the best decisions that I have made.

I am so glad that I found out about Zion Health Share. They have been so good to me and my family, and I can’t imagine how my family would have gotten through our son unexpected appendix surgery without them . I’m so glad that we are done..
More
P
Paul Anderson
November 12, 2019 @ 20:18
5.0  

Our family found out about Zion Health Share and they answered my call and emails. I found the price is awesome for our family of six and we like how they included Teledoc with our membership. I can use the doctor of my choice and was impressed with people at Zion Health, they have been wonderful to work with and I would recommend them to anyone.

Our family found out about Zion Health Share and they answered my call and emails. I found the price is awesome for our family of six and we like how they included Teledoc with our membership. I can use the doctor of my choice and was impressed with ..
More
H
Heather Hill
November 7, 2019 @ 23:03
5.0  

Zion Health has been good to my family. My son and I have some challenging health problems that have required out of the box care. I believe that we wouldn’t be able to get the same flexible care without this program. Thank you Zion Health!

Zion Health has been good to my family. My son and I have some challenging health problems that have required out of the box care. I believe that we wouldn’t be able to get the same flexible care without this program. Thank you Zion Health! ..
More
J
Jackson Coyle
November 6, 2019 @ 18:47
5.0  

My brother and I have a small business in New Hampshire and use to carry Anthem health insurance. We switched over to Zion Health in March of 2020 at less than half the monthly cost. So far everything has worked as it should and we have saved over 8k between both of us in less than a year.

My brother and I have a small business in New Hampshire and use to carry Anthem health insurance. We switched over to Zion Health in March of 2020 at less than half the monthly cost. So far everything has worked as it should and we have saved over 8k..
More
K
Kimberly Hirsch
November 6, 2019 @ 18:28
5.0  

We have been members since the start of 2019 and its been nothing but great experience. The helpful team at Zion advocated for us to use the $0 copay teladoc service that has been amazingly convenient!

M
Monica Smith
October 30, 2019 @ 20:16
5.0  

The crew at Zion Health has been amazing to work with!! They are incredibly responsive and give me clear answers to all my questions. I highly recommend them!

E
Eric Baird
October 29, 2019 @ 21:30
5.0  

I am biased, I’m new to the healthshare model. At first I thought healthshare was complicated with lots of forms and stuff. Zion Health has made it super simple, and they bring a new prospective to the idea. The only thing better than a growing community of like minded members, is knowing that I don’t have to negotiate my bills, or pay out of pocket. They also work with my DPC or direct primary care doctor like Prime Meridian from DoTerra or the one I use, Alive & Well. I love that’s it’s a non-profit and their vision of helping people get better faster is simple and amazing!

I am biased, I’m new to the healthshare model. At first I thought healthshare was complicated with lots of forms and stuff. Zion Health has made it super simple, and they bring a new prospective to the idea. The only thing better than a growing..
More