fbpx
Solidarity Healthshare Review
Solidarity Healthshare Review is Top Rated
Top Rated
Cheap

Solidarity Healthshare Review

 

As a Liberty Healthshare member, I instantly felt familiar when visiting the Solidarity Healthshare website. And considering that both organizations have the same exact address, it’s probably safe to assume they are related.

As a happy member of Liberty, I would say this is a good thing. You’re most likely going to get the same kind of great care that you would get at Liberty. A lot of the options seem to be pretty similar as well.

Here’s what we could find on the site:

 

 

Solidarity Healthshare Review

As stated above, Solidarity has a very similar feel to Liberty Healthshare. If you check out Solidarity’s and Liberty’s sites, you will notice it yourself.

However, legally, these two organizations are parts of different sharing ministries. On Solidarity’s website, you can see at the bottom that it is a part of Melita Christian Fellowship Hospital Aid Plan.

“©2016 Solidarity HealthShare is a health care sharing ministry of Melita Christian Fellowship Hospital Aid Plan”

Whereas, Liberty Healthshare states that it is a part of the Gospel Light Mennonite Church Medical Aid Plan.

“©2017 Liberty HealthShare℠ is a healthcare sharing ministry of Gospel Light Mennonite Church Medical Aid Plan, Inc”

Most likely, the two organizations are different ministries but ran under the same umbrella company. One thing that I did notice on Solidarity Healthshare was that it mentioned “Medical Cost Sharing for Catholics”. It could be that Solidarity is catered specifically to Catholics.

 

Pricing

 

Another feature similar to Liberty, it’s pricing. Solidarity offers 3 separate program options:

 

Solidarity First

Solidarity Healthshare Review

The Solidarity First option is the cheapest option of the 3 — and apparently their most popular. For only $107 per month, a single person under the age of 30 could be a part of this sharing program. The Solidarity First program offers 70% of Eligible Medical Bills up to $125,000 per incident.

 

Solidarity Extend

Solidarity Healthshare Review

The next step up in options is the Solidarity Extend. With Solidarity Extend, members receive 100% of eligible medical bills up to $125,000 per incident. For only $24 per month more, that same single, under-30-year-old can get up to 100% compared to 70% with Solidarity First.

 

Solidarity Whole

Solidarity Healthshare review

I initially stated that Solidarity First was their most popular option considering that it stated “Our most comprehensive and popular sharing program”. However, it looks like they have a typo and seemed to have put this on all of their options. So, we aren’t sure which is truly their most popular, but Solidarity Whole definitely seems to be the most comprehensive.

With Solidarity Whole, members receive 100% of eligible medical bills up to $1,000,000 per incident. In our opinion, this is by far the best option. For only $42 per month more, a single person under 30 would get so much more than compared to the Solidarity First option.

Extra Costs To Consider

With healthsharing ministries, there is normally other types of costs to consider for being a member. The biggest two when it comes to Solidarity is the Annual Unshared Amount (AUA) and the Annual Membership Dues.

 

Annual Unshared Amount 

With these options, there is an Annual Unshared Amount that members must meet before your plan goes into effect. The Annual Unshared Amount (AUA) for Solidarity Healthshare is as follows:

  • $500 for an individual
  • $1,000 for a couple
  • $1,500 for a family

Your AUA is essentially the amount of money that you must pay out of your pocket before your plan begins to kick in.

 

Annual Membership Dues

Another expense to consider with Solidarity Healthshare is the membership dues. When you first sign up to Solidarity, you are asked to pay an annual membership fee of $135. Every year after that, it’s only $75. If you’re over 65, there is also a “Loss of Life Assistance” fee that costs an extra $25 per month.

 

How to enroll

Enrolling into Solidarity Healthshare also seems to be very similar to Liberty Healthshare. On their enrollment page, they have a very simple form that you can fill out to get the ball rolling.

They also provide a simple “how-to” video on everything you need to know for enrolling:

 

How Solidarity Healthshare Works

Solidarity Healthshare and Liberty Healthshare seem to operate very similarly. On Solidarity’s website, the ministry breaks down exactly how the process works for its members.

Solidarity Healthshare Review

Essentially, members contribute their “Suggested Monthly Share Amount” (which is determined by your plan) to their “Sharebox”. Once it goes into the sharebox, it is available to all members who have an eligible medical bill. Normally this bill is submitted by their provider and is handled by Solidarity themselves. You don’t have to worry about sending individuals money each time they need to pay a bill.

 

How To Submit Bills At Solidary Healthshare

From my research on the website, submitting a bill to Solidarity Healthshare is the same process as submitting one to Liberty Healthshare. And that’s a good thing because it’s super simple. There are two ways in which a bill can be submitted:

Doctor Submits

Your provider submitting your bill is definitely the easiest way for this to be done. If you talk with the provider about being a member of Solidarity Healthshare, they normally can accommodate and send the bill directly to Solidarity so that you don’t need to be in the middle of it. If they can’t, they will just hand you the bill. In that case, you simply go online and sign into your sharebox. From there, you can upload the bill and Solidarity will send the check to your provider.

You Submit

There are some situations in which a provider will try to charge you upfront for the service. This happens a lot when I am just going for a check-up or something and they want to charge me for the visit that day. Most of the time, these bills aren’t very significant and you may have to end up paying out of your pocket. Be sure to get back an itemized receipt so that Solidarity can see the actual CPT codes from the visit. When you go to your sharebox, all you need to do is upload that receipt and Solidarity will send reimburse you.

 

Healthsaring reviews

 

Leave a review!

Are you a member of Liberty Healthshare? Please leave a review below so others can get a better sense of what it’s like to be a part of a healthsharing ministry!

If you have any questions about Liberty Healthshare, contact us or hit us up on Twitter or Facebook!

 

Pros

  • Easy to submit claims
  • Great customer support
  • Caters to Catholics (Great if you're Catholic!)

Cons

  • Caters to Catholics (Not great if you're not Catholic!)
  • Probably has long wait times like Liberty

Overall review score

3.3
22 reviews

Leave Your Review

  • Review Score
    0.0

Reviews

o
ohyeawhatever
September 16, 2019 @ 16:07
1.0  

I do not recommend Solidarity. Submitted bills three months ago, still waiting for reimbursement. They won’t even give me an estimate as to when the bills will be paid. Seriously considering canceling.

K
Kelly Bolton
September 7, 2019 @ 19:32
1.0  

**WILL DELETE THIS IF THEY PAY ME**

In short, I am not the one who will complain yet keep paying them monthly. I am an internet marketer full time by profession, and I could really sink my teeth in and bring bad publicity if I want.

They owe me two $400 checks, and I will receive this amount either from them sending me a check (the entire point you join a healthshare in the first place) or via a BANK CHARGEBACK DISPUTE on the monthly fees paid to them.
I also will be placing a complaint to the state Attorney General and leaving a BBB report. I’m not one of those poor souls who will be scammed. Story below…

Solidarity is turning out to be like Liberty Healthshare, google some of their recent reviews and you will see they have not been paying anyone.. not the provider, nor the self-paying customer (you). Anyway, I have been a member nearly 2 years and paid monthly on time. I would have to hound them and call constantly for them to even take off little bills from my Annual Unshared Amount. So, I decided to get my husband and myself a check-up with blood work. resulting in two $400 bills which we paid out of pocket, then submitted the required paperwork with the codes and everything they need.

It has now been nearly 3 months. This type of behavior is sadly common when you join a healthshare… you paying them monthly basically throwing the money into thin air, since they do not pay the provider nor you.

UPDATE: As of this 1st week of September, the customer agents on the phone are still feeding me the BS. Still going on about a billing system update and running behind.. THE SAME STORY AS LIBERTY HEALTHSHARE! Liberty is feeding this same story.

This is very similar to running a pyramid scheme… only the should be reimbursing the long term members like myself, using the money paid by the gullible fresh people who are new. Running a scheme is disgusting of course, but at least do it right!!

SOLIDARITY, I WILL DELETE THIS AND WON’T MAKE A REPORT TO THE ATTORNEY GENERAL AND BBB IS YOU MAIL ME MY TWO $400 CHECKS.

**WILL DELETE THIS IF THEY PAY ME** In short, I am not the one who will complain yet keep paying them monthly. I am an internet marketer full time by profession, and I could really sink my teeth in and bring bad publicity if I want. They owe me two ..
More
A
Alex & Kate Yapjoco
September 7, 2019 @ 03:09
1.0  

We have been with Solidarity for a year and a half and we still have bills from at least a year ago that are still outstanding. Most of our bills are in collections because Solidarity keeps repricing the bills and short paying the provider (medical company). This is our first time using a healthshare program and we’re very disappointed in how it is turning out. We’ve spent so much time with Solidarity and MCS Billing Solutions (we’ve now just heard that MCS is no longer working with Solidarity) trying to get the bills paid and resolved but we’re not hearing back from anyone making this a very frustrating time. If we don’t get any response soon, we will be making a formal complaint to ALL the agencies that oversee business practices, including Patrick Madrid, their spokesperson!

We have been with Solidarity for a year and a half and we still have bills from at least a year ago that are still outstanding. Most of our bills are in collections because Solidarity keeps repricing the bills and short paying the provider (medical c..
More
A
Alex & Kate Yapjoco
September 7, 2019 @ 03:02
1.0  

We have been with Solidarity for a year and a half and we still have bills from at least a year ago that are still outstanding. Most of our bills are in collections because Solidarity keeps repricing the bills and short paying the provider (medical company). This is our first time using a healthshare program and we’re very disappointed in how it is turning out. We’ve spent so much time with Solidarity and MCS Billing Solutions (we’ve now just heard that MCS is no longer working with Solidarity) trying to get the bills paid and resolved but we’re not hearing back from anyone making this a very frustrating time. If we don’t get any response soon, we will be making a formal complaint to ALL the agencies that oversee business practices.

We have been with Solidarity for a year and a half and we still have bills from at least a year ago that are still outstanding. Most of our bills are in collections because Solidarity keeps repricing the bills and short paying the provider (medical c..
More
G
George
August 23, 2019 @ 15:09
3.0  

At first Solidarity pays asap. later they dont pay and I continue to get bills from the hospital collection dept, or I pay myself and i have never gotten paid. I know it is different from normal insurance, but I want to know exactly when and if they pay. I am going to look at other insurances and might switch

At first Solidarity pays asap. later they dont pay and I continue to get bills from the hospital collection dept, or I pay myself and i have never gotten paid. I know it is different from normal insurance, but I want to know exactly when and if they ..
More
J
John
July 11, 2019 @ 15:07
5.0  

My family and I have been members for a while and I am impressed with the care we receive.

B
Brandon
July 9, 2019 @ 12:39
3.0  

For price, Solidarity cannot be beat. However, when dealing with a medical expenses they’re really pretty horrible. Not a single care representative can offer a consistent story as to what is covered leaving my family and I thoroughly confused and concerned that many of our medical expenses surrounding the birth of our child would be covered. Every time we were told that someone would be reaching back out to us for any reason it hasn’t happened and we’ve been left to restart explaining situations over and over again with no resolution. We’ve had to wait well over half a year and counting for medical expenses to be reimbursed.
So, if you’re concerned about price primarily Solidarity is great. If you don’t want to loose sleep when you have medical expenses find a different healthshare.

For price, Solidarity cannot be beat. However, when dealing with a medical expenses they’re really pretty horrible. Not a single care representative can offer a consistent story as to what is covered leaving my family and I thoroughly confused ..
More
A
Albert L Lindsey
June 11, 2019 @ 18:12
3.0  

If you are an Ally and support the LGBTQ community, PLEASE DO NOT WORK WITH SOLIDARITY!
They denied my husband and I because they do not recognize same-sex marriage.
I was hesitant about what they were offering and went against my best judgment thinking they would be more inclusive.
THINK AGAIN!

If you are an Ally and support the LGBTQ community, PLEASE DO NOT WORK WITH SOLIDARITY! They denied my husband and I because they do not recognize same-sex marriage. I was hesitant about what they were offering and went against my best judgment think..
More
E
Eric Ruple
June 5, 2019 @ 19:57
4.0  

My wife and I have been with Solidarity about a year and a half now. Early on everything went well with quick responses and reimbursements. Everything seems to have changed in the last 4 months, about February I’d say. We have submitted a bill back in early March and I’ve emailed several times now that its over 90 days and all I get is ‘soon’, and they are implementing a new software that will speed things up. A little concerned there is possible financial problems and, or lack of personnel. I’ve inquired about both and they didn’t respond. We’ll see…. in the meantime I am investigating other healthshare options.

My wife and I have been with Solidarity about a year and a half now. Early on everything went well with quick responses and reimbursements. Everything seems to have changed in the last 4 months, about February I’d say. We have submitted a bi..
More
A
Ashley
May 5, 2019 @ 03:57
3.0  

Run !!!!!! Gave birth in October paid cash since it was $2,000 for cash pay or over $10,000 if sent directly to solidarity. Before paying I got approval from Solidarity to pay cash. They sent out 1st reimbursement check in November. It did not reach my new address. They said we would have to wait till January for a new check to be cut. I understood as it was my fault for not confirming the updated address. I called a few times a week for the month of January with no help. New check was sent out February but to the hospital. Hospital had a zero balance since I had paid cash to save solidarity health share and its members $10,000. I was told to get my check from the hospital but that wasn’t possible it was addressed to the hospital. It is now May and they will not call me back, give an update, or even a timeline. Also important to know last year they were quick to process claims this year I have three friends who have been waiting over 3 months for their claim to even be processed. I worry there may be financial troubles or staffing issues.

Run !!!!!! Gave birth in October paid cash since it was $2,000 for cash pay or over $10,000 if sent directly to solidarity. Before paying I got approval from Solidarity to pay cash. They sent out 1st reimbursement check in November. It did not reach ..
More
A
AMT
April 29, 2019 @ 18:42
3.0  

People are very kind but not knowledgeable enough to help. Reimbursement time greater than 3 months if at all. I followed up with claims submitted starting after 6 weeks and every two weeks after,, was assured they had everything, and still not processed. They preach patience, and that is good, but enough is enough. There is no accountability for their lack of competence. It is possible to be kind and incompetent but not a good idea if you are on the receiving end. Very disappointed and will not recommend.

People are very kind but not knowledgeable enough to help. Reimbursement time greater than 3 months if at all. I followed up with claims submitted starting after 6 weeks and every two weeks after,, was assured they had everything, and still not proc..
More
T
Todd
April 15, 2019 @ 22:00
5.0  

Unfortunately, I had to go to an urgent care facility due to a back injury. I was there for a total of 20 minutes and spoke to a Dr for 5 minutes. He told me to take Advil and rest. I later got a bill for almost $900. I called the provider and they said that if I was ready to pay Right Now, they would give us a one-time offer of a 50% discount. I’m sorry but even at roughly $450, that seemed awfully high so I asked for a manager and they did not budge. I really felt taken advantage of and declined.

We submitted the bill to Solidarity and they were able to reprice it to $114.

I spoke to Katie of Solidarity on the phone and she was so helpful and I felt she really went above and beyond. Thank You Katie!!!

Unfortunately, I had to go to an urgent care facility due to a back injury. I was there for a total of 20 minutes and spoke to a Dr for 5 minutes. He told me to take Advil and rest. I later got a bill for almost $900. I called the provider and they..
More
C
Cindy
April 11, 2019 @ 21:12
5.0  

I did a lot of research before enrolling with Solidarity — focused on finding something wrong with it. I am very familiar with health insurance and knew what I was looking at. The only drawback I could find is that 1) it is not “insured” because it is not “insurance” and 2) prescription drugs were not covered, although there is a discount prescription available. The cost differential between any individual health plan and Solidarity was $14,450. What that meant, was that unless I had higher costs associated with medical bills and premiums that I personally paid, I was ahead with Solidarity. I asked questions and got answers. I checked with my providers before switching and after, before presenting at the clinic, to let them know the coverage I had. Most of the front desk people were unfamiliar with the card I presented, but it wasn’t a problem. They took it just like any other health care coverage. Claims were submitted directly to Solidarity. I didn’t need to do anything. Because I am familiar with the claims process, I tracked my claims. One of my claims was preventive — they negotiated a fair price and it was covered. The other claims were not preventive and medical records were requested which is not out of the ordinary. I helped move things along with the clinic, as they were slow in getting the documentation back to Solidarity — it all made sense to me. Bottom line is that I paid my unshared amount (i.e. deductible) and Solidarity paid the rest. They negotiated a discount similar to rates paid by Health Insurance plans. Whenever I called Solidarity, my questions were answered. The transparency was pretty amazing to me. Call if you have questions. I like what I have seen with how this organization is being run. And… for the first time that I can remember, my “premium” didn’t go up on January 1st. Imagine that. For me… it is working. Yes, I am Catholic, and I appreciate that they base the mission is based on Catholic teachings and guidelines. A person, however, does not need to be Catholic to be a member of Solidarity.

I did a lot of research before enrolling with Solidarity — focused on finding something wrong with it. I am very familiar with health insurance and knew what I was looking at. The only drawback I could find is that 1) it is not “insured..
More
K
Karen Sherman
March 5, 2019 @ 22:55
4.0  

I am a practicing catholic so don’t let the response time fool you. I submitted claims in December for preventive checkups I had in November and have yet to receive a payment and it is March. I have called them, texted them, emailed them and still nothing. They told me it was in que to pay on Jan. 11th and I still haven’t received my reimbursement.
Getting really frustrated and ready to switch to a different Healthshare.

I am a practicing catholic so don’t let the response time fool you. I submitted claims in December for preventive checkups I had in November and have yet to receive a payment and it is March. I have called them, texted them, emailed them and stil..
More
P
Patrice Edwards
February 28, 2019 @ 15:18
5.0  

Just recently switched from Liberty Healthshare to Solidarity and couldn’t be more pleased!!!

A
Audy
January 31, 2019 @ 17:38
5.0  

Can anyone using solidarity healthshare reach out to me at Audy.McCathern@gmail.com. Would love to speak with you before becoming a member. Thank you

P
Pat Schuerman
December 23, 2018 @ 22:30
4.0  

Outstanding organization!! Very easy to communicate with, wide acceptance with providers. Pricing is straightforward with no hidden fees. Application process was very personable, and easily completed in a very short time period.

T
Tina Gleason
November 9, 2018 @ 19:28
3.0  

I haven’t received any reinforcements at all despite my efforts sending all my receipts.

A
Anna
November 8, 2018 @ 12:38
5.0  

I’ve spoken with a representative from Solidarity a number of times, and it would appear one doesn’t actually have to be Catholic to participate. There is a list of beliefs you must subscribe to, as with most health sharing ministries, but it is general enough that I would think most practicing Christians could, in good conscience, agree with them.

I’ve spoken with a representative from Solidarity a number of times, and it would appear one doesn’t actually have to be Catholic to participate. There is a list of beliefs you must subscribe to, as with most health sharing ministries, but it is ..
More
J
Jan Martell
October 24, 2018 @ 20:10
5.0  

Why is this not great if you’re not Catholc?

T
Tony Frasco
October 8, 2018 @ 20:34
4.0  

Solidarity is the best Catholic Health share option there is!

S
Solidarity Member
August 2, 2018 @ 21:36
5.0  

I’m confused how you came up with your 3 star review. You’re actually marking Solidarity down for having a Catholic focus? How is that a negative. Sure if you’re not Catholic you may want to consider it – but how is that a negative mark? Would you give the same mark to a ministry that caters to christians or more specifically baptists, or evangelicals?

Next you state “probably has long wait times”. Do you have anything to back this up? I suggest you contact the ministry and get some real info before making up a review so you can up the score of their competitor which you likely get commission from for people joining via your blog.

I’m confused how you came up with your 3 star review. You’re actually marking Solidarity down for having a Catholic focus? How is that a negative. Sure if you’re not Catholic you may want to consider it – but how is that a neg..
More