Solidarity Healthshare Review
Cheap

Solidarity Healthshare Review

 

As a Liberty Healthshare member, I instantly felt familiar when visiting the Solidarity Healthshare website. And considering that both organizations have the same exact address, it’s probably safe to assume they are related.

As a happy member of Liberty, I would say this is a good thing. You’re most likely going to get the same kind of great care that you would get at Liberty. A lot of the options seem to be pretty similar as well.

Here’s what we could find on the site:

 

Sponsored

Zion Health

4.7
Top Rated Top Rated
Cheap

Zion Health is a fairly new healthshare based out of Utah. They offer super cheap plans and even Direct Primary Care memberships.

• Fast Processing of Needs
• Unlimited Sharing

 

Solidarity Healthshare Review

As stated above, Solidarity has a very similar feel to Liberty Healthshare. If you check out Solidarity’s and Liberty’s sites, you will notice it yourself.

However, legally, these two organizations are parts of different sharing ministries. On Solidarity’s website, you can see at the bottom that it is a part of Melita Christian Fellowship Hospital Aid Plan.

“©2016 Solidarity HealthShare is a health care sharing ministry of Melita Christian Fellowship Hospital Aid Plan”

Whereas, Liberty Healthshare states that it is a part of the Gospel Light Mennonite Church Medical Aid Plan.

“©2017 Liberty HealthShare℠ is a healthcare sharing ministry of Gospel Light Mennonite Church Medical Aid Plan, Inc”

Most likely, the two organizations are different ministries but ran under the same umbrella company. One thing that I did notice on Solidarity Healthshare was that it mentioned “Medical Cost Sharing for Catholics”. It could be that Solidarity is catered specifically to Catholics.

 

Pricing

 

Another feature similar to Liberty, it’s pricing. Solidarity offers 3 separate program options:

 

Solidarity First

Solidarity Healthshare Review

The Solidarity First option is the cheapest option of the 3 — and apparently their most popular. For only $107 per month, a single person under the age of 30 could be a part of this sharing program. The Solidarity First program offers 70% of Eligible Medical Bills up to $125,000 per incident.

 

Solidarity Extend

Solidarity Healthshare Review

The next step up in options is the Solidarity Extend. With Solidarity Extend, members receive 100% of eligible medical bills up to $125,000 per incident. For only $24 per month more, that same single, under-30-year-old can get up to 100% compared to 70% with Solidarity First.

 

Solidarity Whole

Solidarity Healthshare review

I initially stated that Solidarity First was their most popular option considering that it stated “Our most comprehensive and popular sharing program”. However, it looks like they have a typo and seemed to have put this on all of their options. So, we aren’t sure which is truly their most popular, but Solidarity Whole definitely seems to be the most comprehensive.

With Solidarity Whole, members receive 100% of eligible medical bills up to $1,000,000 per incident. In our opinion, this is by far the best option. For only $42 per month more, a single person under 30 would get so much more than compared to the Solidarity First option.

Extra Costs To Consider

With healthsharing ministries, there is normally other types of costs to consider for being a member. The biggest two when it comes to Solidarity is the Annual Unshared Amount (AUA) and the Annual Membership Dues.

 

Annual Unshared Amount 

With these options, there is an Annual Unshared Amount that members must meet before your plan goes into effect. The Annual Unshared Amount (AUA) for Solidarity Healthshare is as follows:

  • $500 for an individual
  • $1,000 for a couple
  • $1,500 for a family

Your AUA is essentially the amount of money that you must pay out of your pocket before your plan begins to kick in.

 

Annual Membership Dues

Another expense to consider with Solidarity Healthshare is the membership dues. When you first sign up to Solidarity, you are asked to pay an annual membership fee of $135. Every year after that, it’s only $75. If you’re over 65, there is also a “Loss of Life Assistance” fee that costs an extra $25 per month.

 

How to enroll

Enrolling into Solidarity Healthshare also seems to be very similar to Liberty Healthshare. On their enrollment page, they have a very simple form that you can fill out to get the ball rolling.

They also provide a simple “how-to” video on everything you need to know for enrolling:

 

How Solidarity Healthshare Works

Solidarity Healthshare and Liberty Healthshare seem to operate very similarly. On Solidarity’s website, the ministry breaks down exactly how the process works for its members.

Solidarity Healthshare Review

Essentially, members contribute their “Suggested Monthly Share Amount” (which is determined by your plan) to their “Sharebox”. Once it goes into the sharebox, it is available to all members who have an eligible medical bill. Normally this bill is submitted by their provider and is handled by Solidarity themselves. You don’t have to worry about sending individuals money each time they need to pay a bill.

 

How To Submit Bills At Solidary Healthshare

From my research on the website, submitting a bill to Solidarity Healthshare is the same process as submitting one to Liberty Healthshare. And that’s a good thing because it’s super simple. There are two ways in which a bill can be submitted:

Doctor Submits

Your provider submitting your bill is definitely the easiest way for this to be done. If you talk with the provider about being a member of Solidarity Healthshare, they normally can accommodate and send the bill directly to Solidarity so that you don’t need to be in the middle of it. If they can’t, they will just hand you the bill. In that case, you simply go online and sign into your sharebox. From there, you can upload the bill and Solidarity will send the check to your provider.

You Submit

There are some situations in which a provider will try to charge you upfront for the service. This happens a lot when I am just going for a check-up or something and they want to charge me for the visit that day. Most of the time, these bills aren’t very significant and you may have to end up paying out of your pocket. Be sure to get back an itemized receipt so that Solidarity can see the actual CPT codes from the visit. When you go to your sharebox, all you need to do is upload that receipt and Solidarity will send reimburse you.

 

Healthsaring reviews

 

Leave a review!

Are you a member of Liberty Healthshare? Please leave a review below so others can get a better sense of what it’s like to be a part of a healthsharing ministry!

If you have any questions about Liberty Healthshare, contact us or hit us up on Twitter or Facebook!

 

Pros

  • Easy to submit claims
  • Great customer support
  • Caters to Catholics (Great if you're Catholic!)

Cons

  • Long wait times
  • Catholic Focused (If you're not Catholic!)

Overall review score

2.2
70 reviews

Leave Your Review

  • Review Score
    0.0

Reviews

A
Ananda M.
October 30, 2020 @ 20:29
5.0  

SOLIDARITY MEMBER FOR FOUR YEARS Don’t be swayed by the negative reviews. Were these perhaps short-term members of Solidarity? I have been a member with Solidarity for 4 years, and will continue with them though I now have Health Insurance offered through my work. Solidarity’s customer care and track record paying medical bills has been amazing! At times, it takes longer to get the bills paid, but they always have been paid. Since I have been a member, I have had 3 hospitalizations, one involving extensive physical therapy. Rather than support huge insurance companies who are in many ways responsible for ballooning health care costs, I am grateful there is such a wonderful, and caring, alternative. It is also worth noting that about a year ago, Solidarity membership grew very rapidly, which taxed the resources available within the organization for customer care and bill paying, hence extending the time for both. Prior to that time, phone calls were answered directly and bills were paid quickly. Since that time, Solidarity has increased their staff of representatives and number of billing professionals considerably. In the slow times, I continued to communicate well with medical providers, and, when necessary, made small payments until processing was complete.

SOLIDARITY MEMBER FOR FOUR YEARS Don’t be swayed by the negative reviews. Were these perhaps short-term members of Solidarity? I have been a member with Solidarity for 4 years, and will continue with them though I now have Health Insurance o..
More
M
Mark Hulland
October 27, 2020 @ 12:35
1.0  

Health Share is a great option but do not use Solidarity! They DO NOT fulfill there obligations but do take your money with speed! Then when you cancel they continue to take your money!
This is not a trustworthy organization! I have not been able to close my account because they have blocked me from entering. I have tried to contact them but have not been able to. They have not responded at all to any of my calls or emails.
Stay away from these folks!

Health Share is a great option but do not use Solidarity! They DO NOT fulfill there obligations but do take your money with speed! Then when you cancel they continue to take your money! This is not a trustworthy organization! I have not been able ..
More
M
Mark Hulland
October 23, 2020 @ 14:00
1.0  

Do not sign on with Solidarity! I have been with them for over 3 years. Never had to use there services then when I had a need they did everything possible to not Share. Two years later I finally realized they would not honor their pledge. This is not a true Christian organization! Matter of fact they have locked me out of my account after I let them know I was canceling. I am currently unable to close my account! They are still taking money from the account. I put a stop on any further withdrawals and they still took money out by using a different amount. The bank did not catch the switch!

Do not sign on with Solidarity! I have been with them for over 3 years. Never had to use there services then when I had a need they did everything possible to not Share. Two years later I finally realized they would not honor their pledge. This i..
More
L
LAURA K.
October 20, 2020 @ 21:43
2.0  

I have been a member for 2 years. At first it was good and although it took them 6 months to get reimbursement checks it was worth it. Now into the second year, I have had lots of items in queue that have yet to be reimbursed. They say they are updating their system , but this has been the story all of 2020. I feel like I am getting the runaround. I looked into a prescription and it cost me 3 times more than using GoodRx.
I am extremely disappointed after hours on the phone.

I have been a member for 2 years. At first it was good and although it took them 6 months to get reimbursement checks it was worth it. Now into the second year, I have had lots of items in queue that have yet to be reimbursed. They say they are updat..
More
A
Amy
October 15, 2020 @ 14:04
4.0  

PATIENCE IS EVERYTHING. This isn’t Blue Cross with a ton of money to spend on staff and state-of-the-art processing systems, but a sharing company that keeps their costs, and our costs, low. It’s easy to be swayed by the negative reviews, but in all honesty, although it can take a long time for bills to be processed, you will save money. I’ve been a member for a couple of years and started to wonder if everything was being paid (I get some invoices month after month)… but after I took the time to make a spreadsheet and log all of my yearly check-ups, procedures, etc. and check the status, I realized that most everything HAS been paid directly to the provider, OR I have gotten the money back, or it is still pending. Sure, some are still pending after a year – but I’m making minimum monthly payments until they’re paid, and saving hundreds of dollars per month on a big healthcare plan to do so. You do have to wait longer than you would like, so if you’d rather not do that, it might be better for you to go with a large healthcare company.

PATIENCE IS EVERYTHING. This isn’t Blue Cross with a ton of money to spend on staff and state-of-the-art processing systems, but a sharing company that keeps their costs, and our costs, low. It’s easy to be swayed by the negative reviews..
More
A
Allie Spiers
October 10, 2020 @ 22:06
1.0  

They will take your money but good luck getting a claim paid!
fraud? hiding behind the Catholic religion?
They told me it takes 120 days to process a claim.

E
EB
October 7, 2020 @ 19:59
1.0  

Emphatically agreeing with all the recent reviews – STAY AWAY. I have shareable bills (children’s well-child visits) that have been waiting since the beginning of May to be processed. The end of May they took down the website that let you see if your claims are being processed, and if so, if they did the math correctly (last year had to argue two different times to get the amount documented that I spent towards the AUA corrected). The new website tells you nothing, doesn’t even let you change your billing information. I now call every two weeks to see if anyone has an update, pretty sure they use calling center contractors, everyone is nice and completely clueless. The lady today told me that customer service has “no way” to communicate with billing, and when I asked again for a number to reach a manager/supervisor in billing, was told “they don’t have phones there”. The only worthwhile information I have received in this whole time was two weeks ago a different customer service rep let it slip that billing is stuck in February 2020, and it’s “taking longer than expected” because they are manually reentering all the previous submissions from the old website into the new system.

I am leaving Solidarity, joining my state Medicare to cover my pregnancy, and as soon as I deliver, am joining Samaritan or another reputable health share.

Emphatically agreeing with all the recent reviews – STAY AWAY. I have shareable bills (children’s well-child visits) that have been waiting since the beginning of May to be processed. The end of May they took down the website that let you..
More
M
Michele Skora
October 6, 2020 @ 17:25
1.0  

This company is fraudulent in every single notation of their contract. Bills are begged to be paid/shared by patient and medical facility and still not paid. Customer service will lie straight to you with promises and excuses of computer issues with the company that has erased or “lost” all vital patient information only to prolong payment/sharing, to keep monthly dues for themselves to earn interest as a cash cow for the religious deeming company. The Cincinnati area physicians and surgery centers are all well aware of the Solidarity “Healthshare” games and demand payment up front from patients. As recent as today, my doctor office called me to tell me that Solidarity has replied that my doctors office is not in their network so no payment will be issued. This is another contract lie that you can go where ever you wish. My doctor office has also pre authorized any and all information with Solidarity to ensure payment and now this.

This company is fraudulent in every single notation of their contract. Bills are begged to be paid/shared by patient and medical facility and still not paid. Customer service will lie straight to you with promises and excuses of computer issues wi..
More
M
Matthew Ward
September 27, 2020 @ 20:03
1.0  

DON’T JOIN SOLIDARITY. Unless you just want to give your money away, then feel free. I joined Solidarity as a new member Feb 2020, benefits kicked in March 1. I submitted some urgent emergency invoices for that month. Today is September 27th, and I have yet to be reimbursed. Terrible customer service, unless you select “new member”, and then they are all about helping you sign up and taking your money. I called last week to get an update on my reimbursement (not able to afford more care right now), and was ON HOLD FOR 30 MINUTES. Unacceptable. And then the rep had nothing to say but “keep waiting” Save yourself the headache and do NOT join Solidarity. I would get out now if I could but I’m waiting on $8000 to be reimbursed, so have to keep paying each month until I get that money back. I’ve been a strong Catholic my whole life but ashamed of what this “charitable Catholic organization” is doing to its members of poor health.

DON’T JOIN SOLIDARITY. Unless you just want to give your money away, then feel free. I joined Solidarity as a new member Feb 2020, benefits kicked in March 1. I submitted some urgent emergency invoices for that month. Today is September 27th, a..
More
M
Miriam Melara
September 12, 2020 @ 16:07
1.0  

Solidarity Healthshare is horrible !! They took forever to process billing and after a few interactions with customer service and even speaking to the escalations specialist 4 months later we are still waiting for a resolution to a few bills. I don’t recommend this Healthshare.

Solidarity Healthshare is horrible !! They took forever to process billing and after a few interactions with customer service and even speaking to the escalations specialist 4 months later we are still waiting for a resolution to a few bills. I don..
More
M
MT
August 31, 2020 @ 17:10
1.0  

If I could leave 0 stars I would. Having had experience with CHM which had great customer service and paid reimbursements within 120days or less, Solidarity is a great disappointment. I’ve only been with them for a year but here I am with a maternity need and since baby is born just after my annual renewal I have to pay 2 annual maximums before they’ll share anything…. are you kidding me? I submitted bills in Mar Apr and May… it’s Aug 31, and no reimbursement. I have had no visibility to my portal since May/June so I couldn’t even see what I had already submitted – a call and email into Customer Service and none of them can get me the info either. Soon enough the website will be up….. maybe in the fall, no one really knows though. I’m concerned about whether bills will get paid so although they seem to have a good plan. It would really stink to find ourselves where we end up with thousands of dollars in medical bills that don’t get paid. Apparently they are paying providers within 90-120 days but they are backlogged on members needing reimbursement. I was thinking of staying with them a bit longer but they’ve really been the worst company I’ve ever worked with.

If I could leave 0 stars I would. Having had experience with CHM which had great customer service and paid reimbursements within 120days or less, Solidarity is a great disappointment. I’ve only been with them for a year but here I am with a mat..
More
D
Disappointed
August 29, 2020 @ 14:38
1.0  

The people who created and run this organization are crooks. I’m not from AZ, but the Catholic world is small enough that their reputation is not good anywhere. Why would their business be any better? I’m the fool that decided to give them a try anyways. They have absolutely ruined my perfect credit score and it will take decades to remedy what they have done. Please, please be warned of this business.

The people who created and run this organization are crooks. I’m not from AZ, but the Catholic world is small enough that their reputation is not good anywhere. Why would their business be any better? I’m the fool that decided to give them a try ..
More
J
Jim S
August 29, 2020 @ 14:30
1.0  

This place is a scam! Hiding behind Catholic values to behave however they want- like so many in the Church. I have been a member for a year and not one claim has been paid. I should have listened to others who have warned me that there is no honestly or integrity in this organization. Run as far away as you can from this “business”.

This place is a scam! Hiding behind Catholic values to behave however they want- like so many in the Church. I have been a member for a year and not one claim has been paid. I should have listened to others who have warned me that there is no honestl..
More
D
Debra
August 27, 2020 @ 17:34
1.0  

Doctors won’t submit. Claims lay in some box waiting to addressed.. Five months later you send email wondering what is going on. No acknowledgement. Then you get told codes can’t be hand written in not sure if Solidarity isn’t aware of Covid restrictions but most things are done differently now. Not sure if we are exceptions .. but we have only given shares in 3 years only sent 1 claim it was denied because codes were hand written. Meanwhile the monthly share has increased by $50. In good conscience I would not recommend Solidarity to any one

Doctors won’t submit. Claims lay in some box waiting to addressed.. Five months later you send email wondering what is going on. No acknowledgement. Then you get told codes can’t be hand written in not sure if Solidarity isn’t aware of Covid ..
More
S
Stephen
August 18, 2020 @ 23:19
1.0  

I have experienced the same service as everyone else. I am a retired physician and have been paying my monthly contribution for over 2 years. Have been waiting on a claim I submitted for 4 months and they say at least another 2 months. Impossible to get on the phone and they don’t respond to emails. I am reporting them to the bbb and will participate in any class action suit. This organization is a complete fraud

I have experienced the same service as everyone else. I am a retired physician and have been paying my monthly contribution for over 2 years. Have been waiting on a claim I submitted for 4 months and they say at least another 2 months. Impossible to ..
More
B
Barry
August 4, 2020 @ 19:13
1.0  

Liberty invoked Massive price increases new prescription service takes for ever cheaper at goodrx. Very disappointed after many years membership and no claims .

A
Alan L
August 1, 2020 @ 00:24
2.0  

We were part of a different but satisfactory healthshare plan. Because we are devout Catholics, it made sense to switch to Solidarity and support a Catholic organization that supports our beliefs. On the surface, it seemed like a good idea, but like so many reviews that I now see, it was a terrible mistake. I should have done my homework. 7 months after surgery, bills still haven’t been paid.

We’re a pretty healthy family, but accidents happen. That’s why we buy into a healthshare plan. In December of 2019 I had a freak accident. I went outside, threw my gym bag into my vehicle to head to the gym for some exercise. As I walked around my vehicle, I slipped on ice that was hidden under a couple inches of fresh powder. Tore my right quad tendon. I was then helped to my feet when we all slipped again and tore my left quad tendon. That’s a bad day.

Emergency surgery came the next day. Then, for the sake of trying to cut bills down, I worked my tail off to recover. I was admitted after surgery for supposedly 1 to 2 weeks but managed to go to a rehab facility in just 4 days. Admitted to a rehab facility for supposedly 2 to 3 weeks. But was released after 8 days. I was told that I’d be in a wheelchair for 2 to 3 months. Graduated to a walker after 5 weeks. And so on. The point is, I worked hard to get healthy and to save Solidarity money on extended stays and rehabilitation costs because I believed it was the right thing to do.

Why bother? We did everything right from getting pre-approved to uploading files like we’re supposed to. Solidarity doesn’t tell you what they want. If it’s wrong or incomplete, you don’t find out until it’s too late.
Getting information, answers, and uploading bills has become a full time job. We’re now over 7 months out and still at it. Because the hospital, the rehab facility, the rescue, and so on, are all calling looking to get paid. We’re having to make payments and answer calls daily to prevent bills from going to collections.

I would not recommend Solidarity Healthshare to any family. The customer support is very polite and apologetic, but apologies don’t pay the bills. The only thing we’re ever told is that they’re doing the best they can to handle our case. What a joke.

We were part of a different but satisfactory healthshare plan. Because we are devout Catholics, it made sense to switch to Solidarity and support a Catholic organization that supports our beliefs. On the surface, it seemed like a good idea, but like ..
More
K
Kate
July 23, 2020 @ 21:18
1.0  

One star for kind customer service reps at times who seem fully aware of how dreadfully overwhelmed they are.

It sounds too good to be true, and it is! Expect to be ignored. After a year and a half of horrible service, here are just the most recent issues I’ve encountered:

It’s late July 2020 as I write this, and so far not a single claim I have submitted this year (beginning in March 2020) has been reviewed, much less fully processed. Additionally, they recently released a Beta version of a new online portal which has omitted every shred of data regarding past and CURRENT claims. So members no longer have access to their own insurance records.

Additionally, it’s been almost 6 months since Solidarity removed the ability to speak to someone by phone except for in emergency situations, and no sign of resuming the call feature.

Finally, don’t believe them when they say there is a ” $100 bonus” for referring others to Solidarity, which members should receive 60 days after someone joins. I have been waiting for one for over a year now, and they still tell me it’s coming and they are “expediting” the process when I inquire about the extreme delay.

Ohhh, and don’t forget to read the legal notice, which states “This program does not guarantee or promise that your medical bills will be paid or assigned to others for payment. Whether anyone chooses to pay your medical bills will be totally voluntary. As such, this program should never be considered as a substitute for an insurance policy.”.

One star for kind customer service reps at times who seem fully aware of how dreadfully overwhelmed they are. It sounds too good to be true, and it is! Expect to be ignored. After a year and a half of horrible service, here are just the most recent i..
More
J
Jim Andrus
July 20, 2020 @ 18:46
1.0  

Have belonged for one year, and are quitting. My wife only used it one time, for a female wellness check and to this day, we have never been reimbursed. Every time we call they say we need another code put on the invoice, so we call the hospital where she received care and ask for that code to be put on the invoice. So far, nothing. Terrible customer service, almost like they are looking for reasons to not reimburse us. Don’t buy into this plan!

Have belonged for one year, and are quitting. My wife only used it one time, for a female wellness check and to this day, we have never been reimbursed. Every time we call they say we need another code put on the invoice, so we call the hospital whe..
More
A
Aaron W
July 15, 2020 @ 18:58
2.0  

This is really frustrating, we knew it is gonna be tough and it might take a long time, but we are on our hands and knees now with our hospital to not send us to collections.
We did it all, we uploaded every bill right away after an outpatient surgery in January. We went through the entire spiel that was mentioned here before about Solidarity claiming that they never got an itemized bill (which is not true). So our hospital repeatedly sent that itemized bill, Solidarity never informs you either that they need additional documentation to process your bills. They say it takes them 120 days these days to finally pay the bill, but what I learned the other day was that these 120 days start from the date they finally get that itemized bill! What a slap in the face! They claim they got ours in May.
On top of all this they just changed their online interface and it doesn’t show anything. You can’t even prove anymore that you ever uploaded anything at all.
We don’t know what to do anymore, we owe our hospital a huge amount since January and start paying down our bill now from money we don’t have.
We should have stayed with Liberty.

This is really frustrating, we knew it is gonna be tough and it might take a long time, but we are on our hands and knees now with our hospital to not send us to collections. We did it all, we uploaded every bill right away after an outpatient surger..
More
A
Anonymous
July 10, 2020 @ 21:17
1.0  

Going to begin by saying I work in healthcare and generally try to be sympathetic about billing delays.

Solidarity’s issues go beyond my sympathy at this point.

Solidarity started as an excellent option for our family about 2 years ago. However, several months into our membership, payment on my medical bills became slower and slower then so slow that it is virtually non-existent. I just paid over a thousand dollars for probably the third time this year, at least, to keep us out of collections with our PCP–we have an infant whose well visits are supposed to be eligible for sharing and have yet to be covered at all. This stands in stark contrast to the way well visits were covered when we first started and the way it is described in the guidelines.

Twice I’ve had to hold off on appointments for members of my family in order to pay off the large sum owed to our provider, because items have not been shared according to the guidelines.

They’re saying the standard wait for processing right now is 120 days, and it’s been over 180 for some of my bills. My provider even sends them straight to Solidarity, and Solidarity says they haven’t received them.

Their online system is not nearly transparent enough compared to many of the options that are out there. At the moment, since they switched to software that would be an “improvement,” I actually can’t see anything that I’ve submitted and where it’s at in the process.

Do they care about pregnancies? Sure. Do they support the children’s medical needs after they’re born? Not looking like a solid yes here.

Going to begin by saying I work in healthcare and generally try to be sympathetic about billing delays. Solidarity’s issues go beyond my sympathy at this point. Solidarity started as an excellent option for our family about 2 years ago. However..
More
G
G. Hoosic
May 29, 2020 @ 20:18
2.0  

Solidarity at first went pretty well being a member since end of 2017. We had mostly wellness exams and blood work. In 2019 we had to use it for more medical issues and that’s where the wheels came off. Got turn over to collection agency for services from June/July of 2019 not getting paid till Spring of 2020. It hasn’t been smooth at all.

Solidarity at first went pretty well being a member since end of 2017. We had mostly wellness exams and blood work. In 2019 we had to use it for more medical issues and that’s where the wheels came off. Got turn over to collection agency for..
More
L
Lori Frank
May 26, 2020 @ 23:41
4.0  

Have been working with Stacey the past few weeks in order to resolve a billing issue.
Stacey is great and we think our issue is solved!

G
Guy
May 22, 2020 @ 23:17
1.0  

So Far all I can give is a poor review, because Solidarity has so far only paid a very small amount of my large bills. For example, My 15 year old son had a close call with his Appendix last year and had to have it removed. The surgery took only 15 minutes at St Joseph Hospital. The bill though, was $69,114.39. Solidarity only paid $9,629.50 of the bill stating that is what they agreed to pay based on negotiations with the hospitals billing dept. and the bill was resent to me to pay the remaining $59,484.89. I called Solidarity about the situation and they said to email the remaining bill to balancebills@solidarityhealthshare.org with all the info they told me to send and they would take care of it. I did everything they told me to do and even received a call back that it would be taken care of. Well several weeks later, this week that is, St Joseph Hospital sent the bill to us again saying,”Your account is now past due. St Joseph Hospital, Eureka provides Customer Service support ect…..I Still owe $59,484.89. I’m numb inside is all I can say. I called Solidarity again and they gave me an AMPS # to email this time along with submitting the bill showing that ST Joseph isn’t negotiating the bill with them. I am sick because deep down inside my gut tells me that I have been burned. There is 2 other bills with the same exact problem totaling over $13,000. I am still hoping Solidarity is just slow about this process and would like to think there legit and there is hope in the healthsharing community but I am beginning to have my doubts, which is why I am posting this review and would really hate to see someone go through the same run around. If Solidarity does come through I will be sure to repost.

So Far all I can give is a poor review, because Solidarity has so far only paid a very small amount of my large bills. For example, My 15 year old son had a close call with his Appendix last year and had to have it removed. The surgery took only 15..
More
K
Karen K
May 21, 2020 @ 19:31
5.0  

I highly recommend Solidarity if you are considering Healthsharing vs Health Ins. We left Liberty Healthshare because their turnaround time for reimbursing us went from 60 days to 180 days. Solidarity has a much shorter turn around time. We have just experienced a miscarriage. I sent them an email asking them to close the file for my pregnancy since it ended without being seen by a doctor. A week later we received a beautiful hand written sympathy card in the mail and also a very nice book called Hope After Loss. I can’t even covey how much this means to our family right now. This shows me that Solidarity is more than just healthsharing, they truly are a family with all their members.

I highly recommend Solidarity if you are considering Healthsharing vs Health Ins. We left Liberty Healthshare because their turnaround time for reimbursing us went from 60 days to 180 days. Solidarity has a much shorter turn around time. We have just..
More
L
Loren Gill
May 18, 2020 @ 14:49
1.0  

I really like the way this is set up and how it says it will work, but now after nearly 2 years my experience is that it does not work like they want it to.
And I have given them plenty of opportunity to fix this.

Extremely long wait times to get reimbursed. And this is after they supposedly upgraded their system and fixed their backlog issues. Still 5 months is normal. Getting them to preapprove with a doctor takes weeks and many phone calls…and even then you are unlikely to ever get a final answer.

Basically you never know when you see the doctor if it will be covered or not.

I really like the way this is set up and how it says it will work, but now after nearly 2 years my experience is that it does not work like they want it to. And I have given them plenty of opportunity to fix this. Extremely long wait times to get re..
More
M
M. Fillis
May 5, 2020 @ 18:25
5.0  

Solidarity takes people who are not Catholic!! That was the first question this “Baptist” asked. They have been helpful, friendly, very detail oriented, and we have had no issues!
I have not had to “test” the system as we have been very healthy since joining. As this is not “health insurance,” it is not tax deductible.
Also, you cannot have a “Health Savings Account” with this plan. Just plan to save more to cover your deductible.

Solidarity takes people who are not Catholic!! That was the first question this “Baptist” asked. They have been helpful, friendly, very detail oriented, and we have had no issues! I have not had to “test” the system as we ha..
More
m
margarita lucy
April 21, 2020 @ 18:27
1.0  

I have been part of Solidarity since 2017 and at the beginning it was great. Recently though, its been a real headache. I do billing for a living and I try my best to get everything submitted and details for each bill but they are so confusing. They process things so slowly and I ended up paying 900 over my annual share amount because the are so slow to pay and I was placed in collections. They basically said its too bad, that’s how they processed things and for me to ask for financial hardship payment plans from the companies that put me in collections. That’s them helping me, then proceeded to say God bless you after letting me know they wont help me or refund me the overpayments I made over my 1500 AUA amount. At least be honest and say that the AUA amount is estimated at 1500, but it can and will go over. That way people who are on budgets can plan for that.

I have been part of Solidarity since 2017 and at the beginning it was great. Recently though, its been a real headache. I do billing for a living and I try my best to get everything submitted and details for each bill but they are so confusing. They ..
More
T
Tkat
March 9, 2020 @ 22:55
1.0  

This is definitely the worst “insurance” I have ever had to use.

I also thought it would be nice to be part of a Catholic faith-based “ministry,” but it has been headache after headache.

First, they do not reimburse bills in a timely manner. I have waited months for reimbursement and only got it when I called multiple times. Second, if there is an issue and they need additional info on a bill, they don’t notify you and it just continues to sit there.

Second, none of the providers that I have asked to call them to request pre-approval (such as for testing or follow up appointments) have been able to get through. I have also had issues getting through, with the line either being busy, it hanging up on me, or sitting on hold with no call back option or noting my place in line (it used to tell you this, but not anymore). Today I waited 55 minutes on hold before hanging up.

If you send them an email, they may never respond.

I’m addition, I just received 2 bills for services that were supposed to have been pre-approved, and should have been fully covered as I have already paid my annual unshared amount.

If you are considering Solidarity, as much as I can appreciate their Catholic affiliation, their practice is far from Catholic!! I highly do not recommend them and urge you to consider a group that is more competent and will cause you fewer headaches.

This is definitely the worst “insurance” I have ever had to use. I also thought it would be nice to be part of a Catholic faith-based “ministry,” but it has been headache after headache. First, they do not reimburse bills in a..
More
r
rosemarie offenahuer
March 6, 2020 @ 15:59
3.0  

Hi. I posted a review earlier about my frustrating experiences with Solidarity Healthshare. However, after receiving a follow-up phone call from Solidarity I believe the company is making an honest effort and deserves forgiveness, patience and support while they work through problems that face any young company like finding the right computer systems to process the claims and payments, along with having honest, hard-working and faithful employees. The person I spoke with did tell me that a number of their employees came down with the flu during January which effected the company’s customer service dept in answering the phones. I hope others will add positive comments about positive experiences with Solidarity. Let our light shine. Let us make a difference in this world through prayer, study, generosity and holiness.

Hi. I posted a review earlier about my frustrating experiences with Solidarity Healthshare. However, after receiving a follow-up phone call from Solidarity I believe the company is making an honest effort and deserves forgiveness, patience and sup..
More
B
Bill
March 5, 2020 @ 19:45
1.0  

I’ve been working on a bill for several months. I had the extension number of a support person in Arizona but now that number goes into the very long holding pattern. Now I can’t even leave a voicemail to that person. What is going on here? It’s been very frustrating!! I’d leave a score of zero if possible.

I’ve been working on a bill for several months. I had the extension number of a support person in Arizona but now that number goes into the very long holding pattern. Now I can’t even leave a voicemail to that person. What is going on her..
More
J
Jennifer Crotty
March 4, 2020 @ 13:05
1.0  

Solidarity is NOT a Christian company. Our bills are going to collections and our credit ruined. Very disappointing. We have spent more than 6 months fighting with them. Do not give this company a penny of your money.

r
rosemarie offenahuer
February 28, 2020 @ 16:52
1.0  

I have been a member of Solidarity Healthshare since 2018. I joined in good faith, excited that this was a “CATHOLIC” organization. Now, I read more and more comments from other members that their bills are not being reimbursed or if they are, it is only after months and months of desperate phone calls and empty promises or excuses. This is not acceptable Christian behavior. It took me over a year to get the $100 Visa for referring a friend and I only received the $100 after hours of phone calls and waiting patiently when I was told, “It was in the mail.” Next month, I would have to call again and get another empty promise, “It is in the mail.” Finally, I wrote a letter to the CEO. Rates were raised for 2020 so I started checking the website and customer reviews. It compelled me to call twice this week to speak to someone. First time, I was on hold with music for 20 minutes. I finally hung up. Second time the same music, the same “NO answering the phone”. What is happening? And where is my hard-earned money going if other members are not receiving it for medical emergencies? HELP! We need honest answers and not empty promises. Computer marketing makes all sound wonderful and Christian but the truth is in actually helping others in need.

I have been a member of Solidarity Healthshare since 2018. I joined in good faith, excited that this was a “CATHOLIC” organization. Now, I read more and more comments from other members that their bills are not being reimbursed or if t..
More
J
John Earl Mangin
February 14, 2020 @ 03:23
1.0  

I sent a email over two weeks ago and it has not been answer as of today. i am wondering what is going on. It is impossible to call them and now i cannot get answers in an email.

M
Milan gandhi
February 13, 2020 @ 18:38
1.0  

Long wait in telephones

J
Jeff
February 12, 2020 @ 21:02
1.0  

I never thought that it is even possible to more incompetent than typical health insurance companies, but Solidarity has proven me wrong. In short, you cannot believe one word that comes out of their reps mouths. Its is all excuses and lies. I have had to pull teeth to get every penny that was reimbursed to me and they have still a ton pending. Getting someone on the phone there is a miracle in of itself, and rather than actually return calls, you get completely blown off. First it was the billing system, then it was the mailing system, now they are adding staff. There is always an excuse. It is just ironic that a supposedly God fearing company acts so unjustly to its paying clients. In theory, a health share company is a good idea, but please, for your own sake, stay very very very far from solidarity,

I never thought that it is even possible to more incompetent than typical health insurance companies, but Solidarity has proven me wrong. In short, you cannot believe one word that comes out of their reps mouths. Its is all excuses and lies. I have h..
More
P
Pat Holmquist
February 10, 2020 @ 20:39
1.0  

I originally thought Solidarity was the greatest thing, and being Catholic, I was happy to become a member. However, many issues have come up in the last 2 years since I joined. For example, presently, I have been on hold waiting to talk to a live person for over 20 minutes; I have outstanding bills that I submitted in September waiting for reimbursement within 90 days and have not been reimbursed; I recommended Solidarity to someone who ended up joining in Jan 2019 which made me eligible for a $100 gift card to be paid to me within 90 days and I have yet to receive it. I am very disappointed in the service and would not recommend this health sharing program ever again. Unfortunately. And I now will have to look for another.

I originally thought Solidarity was the greatest thing, and being Catholic, I was happy to become a member. However, many issues have come up in the last 2 years since I joined. For example, presently, I have been on hold waiting to talk to a live ..
More
B
Bill
February 4, 2020 @ 22:24
1.0  

I’m having a serious billing issue from September 2019 with Solidarity and I simply can’t get through on the phone. I could last fall but now it seems ridiculous. They claimed they never received bills from provider that were sent multiple times. They told me to just wait, but now that $1440 bill is going to collections in 2 weeks. Once I pay it or start making payments there is I think the chance to negotiate will end. Sounds like it used to be a good thing but they made some terrible software changes.
I don’t like leaving a negative review especially if things get worked out, but not being able to get through to customer service is of course not good!!!!

I’m having a serious billing issue from September 2019 with Solidarity and I simply can’t get through on the phone. I could last fall but now it seems ridiculous. They claimed they never received bills from provider that were sent multipl..
More
J
Joe Reko
January 21, 2020 @ 17:51
2.0  

Jan. 21/2020 : I have been a solidarity member since June of 2019. I have not used Solidarity’s services until November 20th 2019 for a wellness exam. Solidarity was billed that same day from the doctor as well as the blood lab. To date, neither service has been paid. In attempting to get in touch with Solidarity, it was impossible to get through on the phone, so we used e-mail. After a week, Solidarity told us they hadn’t yet been billed. Trying to call Solidarity back again to confirm that they had in fact been billed, resulted in ridiculous wait times. Still have not been able to contact. Sent off another e-mail and so another weeks wait……………pitiful!!!

Jan. 21/2020 : I have been a solidarity member since June of 2019. I have not used Solidarity’s services until November 20th 2019 for a wellness exam. Solidarity was billed that same day from the doctor as well as the blood lab. To date, neithe..
More
S
Sonia Delgado
January 15, 2020 @ 01:14
1.0  

It is unbelievable how the company manages to NOT reimburse us bills as old as 6 months. All 2019 we struggled to get out money back and still are, many phone calls to them asking and getting all kinds of different answers, changing rules, they never check the bills we upload on the sharebox until we call them, only to tell us that they need something else, mind you we have given them all the codes necessary for them to be processed. We called on October and were told they were getting new computer systems, that they were behind because of the new changes and to please be patient with them, so we didn’t call again until today, only to be told that they not just need the itemized receipt, now they want proof that we actually paid with our credit card and they want a copy of that, 6 months after and only 2 bills reimbursed (without any receipt of payment) now they need that! We have never been asked for it, why is that??They’re are just buying extra time to not pay us, it has been very frustrating dealing with them and feels even more now that they have raised the premiums, but the service is still very poor. We chose them because we are Catholics but they are certainly not acting like ones.

It is unbelievable how the company manages to NOT reimburse us bills as old as 6 months. All 2019 we struggled to get out money back and still are, many phone calls to them asking and getting all kinds of different answers, changing rules, they never..
More
J
Jennifer Irizarry
January 10, 2020 @ 22:28
1.0  

Every time you call they tell you something different. I was told that wellness visits are reimbursed always so I scheduled one for my husband and now won’t get reimbursed because it was within the first 60 days. I had to get a supervisor to pull the recorded call because I was misinformed. They play games with the bill submission and “duplicated” a charge so that way the charge appears to be in the 60 day window even those it was not.
It takes MONTHS to get reimbursed IF you do actually get your money back.
9 times of out 10 the staff is nice over the phone but you never know if you are getting correct info or not.
Prices keep going up for membership and it’s not worth holding on to month and months of medical expenses on your credit cards accumulating interest and fees to not know if or when you will get your money back.

Huge hassle. Will be canceling as soon as I get my new insurance policy reinstated.

Every time you call they tell you something different. I was told that wellness visits are reimbursed always so I scheduled one for my husband and now won’t get reimbursed because it was within the first 60 days. I had to get a supervisor to pu..
More
T
Travis
January 1, 2020 @ 19:44
4.0  

Solidarity has been working on their payment process. Our first claim in 2019 took 6 months for payment. Second claim took 3 1/2 months. It does appear their billing process is slowly improving which reflects their last company update to their Healthshare members. Customer service has always been helpful and accurate with their information. Overall we have been satisfied. Better than the alternative.

Solidarity has been working on their payment process. Our first claim in 2019 took 6 months for payment. Second claim took 3 1/2 months. It does appear their billing process is slowly improving which reflects their last company update to their Hea..
More
B
Bryan
December 23, 2019 @ 23:30
1.0  

As a Healthcare practitioner I been working with Solidarity health sharing program for the last year and I’m still waiting to be paid on certain claims. Its going on 11 months and I’m still waiting for payment. It doesn’t matter who you talk with in customer service I get the same answer over and over telling me the bills are going to be paid within 30-45 days. This is not true. In addition, I mailed patient notes and bills and they lost it. They told me we never received it. The only thing good about solidarity is there Catholic approach towards healthcare. However, when it comes to paying out bills to the practicing doctors that are taking care of their clients they get an “F”.

As a Healthcare practitioner I been working with Solidarity health sharing program for the last year and I’m still waiting to be paid on certain claims. Its going on 11 months and I’m still waiting for payment. It doesn’t matter who..
More
B
Bryan
December 19, 2019 @ 15:24
1.0  

As a practicing doctor I do my best to take care of all my patients whether they have insurance or not. However, solidarity has been the worst experience I’ve ever had with receiving payment. I have bills that are almost 1 year old and I’m still waiting to be paid. Every time I call, I get a different answer concerning where the payment process is. They tell me 35-45 days but this is not true at least for me. I Also sent them confidential patient paperwork and they lost it or they told me they never received it. My question then is where the heck is it? I used the address they gave me specifically and it’s gone!! Go figure! I’m always open to trying new health plans to benefit the patients needs. I do appreciate the fact they’re a catholic company and support catholic teaching but they need to clean up their payment process to the practitioner. How are we supposed to survive And take care of there clients if it takes multiple months to be generous to be paid.

As a practicing doctor I do my best to take care of all my patients whether they have insurance or not. However, solidarity has been the worst experience I’ve ever had with receiving payment. I have bills that are almost 1 year old and I’m still ..
More
C
Claire Primo
December 10, 2019 @ 17:30
1.0  

It’s so sad to be writing this review because I had really hoped this company would uphold their Catholic values, but unfortunately, they have not. They are happy to continue taking my family’s hard earned money monthly and on time and take months upon months to process and pay claims. I’ve had 3 bills from 6+ months ago sent to collections, a huge hit to my credit, that they have failed to pay. They keep telling me and providers that they’re updating their billing system and that’s why they are behind, but they’ve been saying that for 5 months. Providers are calling me saying they sit on hold for 30+ minutes not able to get through, hounding me to call Solidarity and expedite their bills. As we speak I am sitting on hold with them. It’s been 10 minutes with zero indication of how long I will have to wait. They used to have a call back system and I have no idea why they got rid of it – the call backs took hours but at least I didn’t have to waste hours of my day on hold with them. I am furious and so so disappointed. Take your business elsewhere – do not do business with this company.

It’s so sad to be writing this review because I had really hoped this company would uphold their Catholic values, but unfortunately, they have not. They are happy to continue taking my family’s hard earned money monthly and on time and ta..
More
S
Scott
November 12, 2019 @ 15:14
4.0  

Been a member for 2 years with lots of claims. I like everything about it especially the $199 per month premiums and $500 per year “deductible”. That is well worth waiting the approximately 90 days for them to fully process a claim. But they have paid everything so far.

Been a member for 2 years with lots of claims. I like everything about it especially the $199 per month premiums and $500 per year “deductible”. That is well worth waiting the approximately 90 days for them to fully process a claim. But t..
More
M
Mark McNamara
November 5, 2019 @ 15:52
1.0  

Stay away! It’s a nice idea, but they can’t or won’t follow through on claims. They will intentionally let bills go into collection in an attempt to reduce charges – doesn’t seem very Christian to me. The bills that do get paid require hours of time spent by us to get it accomplished. They are extremely unorganized and incompetent. This is a good fit for you if you need a part time job and you are ok if your legitimate bills go into collections.

Stay away! It’s a nice idea, but they can’t or won’t follow through on claims. They will intentionally let bills go into collection in an attempt to reduce charges – doesn’t seem very Christian to me. The bills that do g..
More
M
Michelle B
September 17, 2019 @ 22:42
1.0  

Solidarity has been a complete disappointment. We were so happy to join a Catholic Healthshare. The customer service people are very kind, but feel like it was all talk and no action. They took forever to process billing and after a few interactions with customer service and even speaking to the escalations specialist 4 months later we are still waiting for a resolution to a few bills. We really wanted to support a Catholic Healthshare, but unfortunately we cannot recommend this as a good option. We will be moving on to another Healthshare.

Solidarity has been a complete disappointment. We were so happy to join a Catholic Healthshare. The customer service people are very kind, but feel like it was all talk and no action. They took forever to process billing and after a few interactions ..
More
o
ohyeawhatever
September 16, 2019 @ 16:07
1.0  

I do not recommend Solidarity. Submitted bills three months ago, still waiting for reimbursement. They won’t even give me an estimate as to when the bills will be paid. Seriously considering canceling.

K
Kelly Bolton
September 7, 2019 @ 19:32
1.0  

**WILL DELETE THIS IF THEY PAY ME**

In short, I am not the one who will complain yet keep paying them monthly. I am an internet marketer full time by profession, and I could really sink my teeth in and bring bad publicity if I want.

They owe me two $400 checks, and I will receive this amount either from them sending me a check (the entire point you join a healthshare in the first place) or via a BANK CHARGEBACK DISPUTE on the monthly fees paid to them.
I also will be placing a complaint to the state Attorney General and leaving a BBB report. I’m not one of those poor souls who will be scammed. Story below…

Solidarity is turning out to be like Liberty Healthshare, google some of their recent reviews and you will see they have not been paying anyone.. not the provider, nor the self-paying customer (you). Anyway, I have been a member nearly 2 years and paid monthly on time. I would have to hound them and call constantly for them to even take off little bills from my Annual Unshared Amount. So, I decided to get my husband and myself a check-up with blood work. resulting in two $400 bills which we paid out of pocket, then submitted the required paperwork with the codes and everything they need.

It has now been nearly 3 months. This type of behavior is sadly common when you join a healthshare… you paying them monthly basically throwing the money into thin air, since they do not pay the provider nor you.

UPDATE: As of this 1st week of September, the customer agents on the phone are still feeding me the BS. Still going on about a billing system update and running behind.. THE SAME STORY AS LIBERTY HEALTHSHARE! Liberty is feeding this same story.

This is very similar to running a pyramid scheme… only the should be reimbursing the long term members like myself, using the money paid by the gullible fresh people who are new. Running a scheme is disgusting of course, but at least do it right!!

SOLIDARITY, I WILL DELETE THIS AND WON’T MAKE A REPORT TO THE ATTORNEY GENERAL AND BBB IS YOU MAIL ME MY TWO $400 CHECKS.

**WILL DELETE THIS IF THEY PAY ME** In short, I am not the one who will complain yet keep paying them monthly. I am an internet marketer full time by profession, and I could really sink my teeth in and bring bad publicity if I want. They owe me two ..
More
A
Alex & Kate Yapjoco
September 7, 2019 @ 03:09
1.0  

We have been with Solidarity for a year and a half and we still have bills from at least a year ago that are still outstanding. Most of our bills are in collections because Solidarity keeps repricing the bills and short paying the provider (medical company). This is our first time using a healthshare program and we’re very disappointed in how it is turning out. We’ve spent so much time with Solidarity and MCS Billing Solutions (we’ve now just heard that MCS is no longer working with Solidarity) trying to get the bills paid and resolved but we’re not hearing back from anyone making this a very frustrating time. If we don’t get any response soon, we will be making a formal complaint to ALL the agencies that oversee business practices, including Patrick Madrid, their spokesperson!

We have been with Solidarity for a year and a half and we still have bills from at least a year ago that are still outstanding. Most of our bills are in collections because Solidarity keeps repricing the bills and short paying the provider (medical c..
More
A
Alex & Kate Yapjoco
September 7, 2019 @ 03:02
1.0  

We have been with Solidarity for a year and a half and we still have bills from at least a year ago that are still outstanding. Most of our bills are in collections because Solidarity keeps repricing the bills and short paying the provider (medical company). This is our first time using a healthshare program and we’re very disappointed in how it is turning out. We’ve spent so much time with Solidarity and MCS Billing Solutions (we’ve now just heard that MCS is no longer working with Solidarity) trying to get the bills paid and resolved but we’re not hearing back from anyone making this a very frustrating time. If we don’t get any response soon, we will be making a formal complaint to ALL the agencies that oversee business practices.

We have been with Solidarity for a year and a half and we still have bills from at least a year ago that are still outstanding. Most of our bills are in collections because Solidarity keeps repricing the bills and short paying the provider (medical c..
More
G
George
August 23, 2019 @ 15:09
3.0  

At first Solidarity pays asap. later they dont pay and I continue to get bills from the hospital collection dept, or I pay myself and i have never gotten paid. I know it is different from normal insurance, but I want to know exactly when and if they pay. I am going to look at other insurances and might switch

At first Solidarity pays asap. later they dont pay and I continue to get bills from the hospital collection dept, or I pay myself and i have never gotten paid. I know it is different from normal insurance, but I want to know exactly when and if they ..
More
J
John
July 11, 2019 @ 15:07
5.0  

My family and I have been members for a while and I am impressed with the care we receive.

B
Brandon
July 9, 2019 @ 12:39
3.0  

For price, Solidarity cannot be beat. However, when dealing with a medical expenses they’re really pretty horrible. Not a single care representative can offer a consistent story as to what is covered leaving my family and I thoroughly confused and concerned that many of our medical expenses surrounding the birth of our child would be covered. Every time we were told that someone would be reaching back out to us for any reason it hasn’t happened and we’ve been left to restart explaining situations over and over again with no resolution. We’ve had to wait well over half a year and counting for medical expenses to be reimbursed.
So, if you’re concerned about price primarily Solidarity is great. If you don’t want to loose sleep when you have medical expenses find a different healthshare.

For price, Solidarity cannot be beat. However, when dealing with a medical expenses they’re really pretty horrible. Not a single care representative can offer a consistent story as to what is covered leaving my family and I thoroughly confused ..
More
A
Albert L Lindsey
June 11, 2019 @ 18:12
3.0  

If you are an Ally and support the LGBTQ community, PLEASE DO NOT WORK WITH SOLIDARITY!
They denied my husband and I because they do not recognize same-sex marriage.
I was hesitant about what they were offering and went against my best judgment thinking they would be more inclusive.
THINK AGAIN!

If you are an Ally and support the LGBTQ community, PLEASE DO NOT WORK WITH SOLIDARITY! They denied my husband and I because they do not recognize same-sex marriage. I was hesitant about what they were offering and went against my best judgment think..
More
E
Eric Ruple
June 5, 2019 @ 19:57
4.0  

My wife and I have been with Solidarity about a year and a half now. Early on everything went well with quick responses and reimbursements. Everything seems to have changed in the last 4 months, about February I’d say. We have submitted a bill back in early March and I’ve emailed several times now that its over 90 days and all I get is ‘soon’, and they are implementing a new software that will speed things up. A little concerned there is possible financial problems and, or lack of personnel. I’ve inquired about both and they didn’t respond. We’ll see…. in the meantime I am investigating other healthshare options.

My wife and I have been with Solidarity about a year and a half now. Early on everything went well with quick responses and reimbursements. Everything seems to have changed in the last 4 months, about February I’d say. We have submitted a bi..
More
A
Ashley
May 5, 2019 @ 03:57
3.0  

Run !!!!!! Gave birth in October paid cash since it was $2,000 for cash pay or over $10,000 if sent directly to solidarity. Before paying I got approval from Solidarity to pay cash. They sent out 1st reimbursement check in November. It did not reach my new address. They said we would have to wait till January for a new check to be cut. I understood as it was my fault for not confirming the updated address. I called a few times a week for the month of January with no help. New check was sent out February but to the hospital. Hospital had a zero balance since I had paid cash to save solidarity health share and its members $10,000. I was told to get my check from the hospital but that wasn’t possible it was addressed to the hospital. It is now May and they will not call me back, give an update, or even a timeline. Also important to know last year they were quick to process claims this year I have three friends who have been waiting over 3 months for their claim to even be processed. I worry there may be financial troubles or staffing issues.

Run !!!!!! Gave birth in October paid cash since it was $2,000 for cash pay or over $10,000 if sent directly to solidarity. Before paying I got approval from Solidarity to pay cash. They sent out 1st reimbursement check in November. It did not reach ..
More
A
AMT
April 29, 2019 @ 18:42
3.0  

People are very kind but not knowledgeable enough to help. Reimbursement time greater than 3 months if at all. I followed up with claims submitted starting after 6 weeks and every two weeks after,, was assured they had everything, and still not processed. They preach patience, and that is good, but enough is enough. There is no accountability for their lack of competence. It is possible to be kind and incompetent but not a good idea if you are on the receiving end. Very disappointed and will not recommend.

People are very kind but not knowledgeable enough to help. Reimbursement time greater than 3 months if at all. I followed up with claims submitted starting after 6 weeks and every two weeks after,, was assured they had everything, and still not proc..
More
T
Todd
April 15, 2019 @ 22:00
5.0  

Unfortunately, I had to go to an urgent care facility due to a back injury. I was there for a total of 20 minutes and spoke to a Dr for 5 minutes. He told me to take Advil and rest. I later got a bill for almost $900. I called the provider and they said that if I was ready to pay Right Now, they would give us a one-time offer of a 50% discount. I’m sorry but even at roughly $450, that seemed awfully high so I asked for a manager and they did not budge. I really felt taken advantage of and declined.

We submitted the bill to Solidarity and they were able to reprice it to $114.

I spoke to Katie of Solidarity on the phone and she was so helpful and I felt she really went above and beyond. Thank You Katie!!!

Unfortunately, I had to go to an urgent care facility due to a back injury. I was there for a total of 20 minutes and spoke to a Dr for 5 minutes. He told me to take Advil and rest. I later got a bill for almost $900. I called the provider and they..
More
C
Cindy
April 11, 2019 @ 21:12
5.0  

I did a lot of research before enrolling with Solidarity — focused on finding something wrong with it. I am very familiar with health insurance and knew what I was looking at. The only drawback I could find is that 1) it is not “insured” because it is not “insurance” and 2) prescription drugs were not covered, although there is a discount prescription available. The cost differential between any individual health plan and Solidarity was $14,450. What that meant, was that unless I had higher costs associated with medical bills and premiums that I personally paid, I was ahead with Solidarity. I asked questions and got answers. I checked with my providers before switching and after, before presenting at the clinic, to let them know the coverage I had. Most of the front desk people were unfamiliar with the card I presented, but it wasn’t a problem. They took it just like any other health care coverage. Claims were submitted directly to Solidarity. I didn’t need to do anything. Because I am familiar with the claims process, I tracked my claims. One of my claims was preventive — they negotiated a fair price and it was covered. The other claims were not preventive and medical records were requested which is not out of the ordinary. I helped move things along with the clinic, as they were slow in getting the documentation back to Solidarity — it all made sense to me. Bottom line is that I paid my unshared amount (i.e. deductible) and Solidarity paid the rest. They negotiated a discount similar to rates paid by Health Insurance plans. Whenever I called Solidarity, my questions were answered. The transparency was pretty amazing to me. Call if you have questions. I like what I have seen with how this organization is being run. And… for the first time that I can remember, my “premium” didn’t go up on January 1st. Imagine that. For me… it is working. Yes, I am Catholic, and I appreciate that they base the mission is based on Catholic teachings and guidelines. A person, however, does not need to be Catholic to be a member of Solidarity.

I did a lot of research before enrolling with Solidarity — focused on finding something wrong with it. I am very familiar with health insurance and knew what I was looking at. The only drawback I could find is that 1) it is not “insured..
More
K
Karen Sherman
March 5, 2019 @ 22:55
4.0  

I am a practicing catholic so don’t let the response time fool you. I submitted claims in December for preventive checkups I had in November and have yet to receive a payment and it is March. I have called them, texted them, emailed them and still nothing. They told me it was in que to pay on Jan. 11th and I still haven’t received my reimbursement.
Getting really frustrated and ready to switch to a different Healthshare.

I am a practicing catholic so don’t let the response time fool you. I submitted claims in December for preventive checkups I had in November and have yet to receive a payment and it is March. I have called them, texted them, emailed them and stil..
More
P
Patrice Edwards
February 28, 2019 @ 15:18
5.0  

Just recently switched from Liberty Healthshare to Solidarity and couldn’t be more pleased!!!

A
Audy
January 31, 2019 @ 17:38
5.0  

Can anyone using solidarity healthshare reach out to me at Audy.McCathern@gmail.com. Would love to speak with you before becoming a member. Thank you

P
Pat Schuerman
December 23, 2018 @ 22:30
4.0  

Outstanding organization!! Very easy to communicate with, wide acceptance with providers. Pricing is straightforward with no hidden fees. Application process was very personable, and easily completed in a very short time period.

T
Tina Gleason
November 9, 2018 @ 19:28
3.0  

I haven’t received any reinforcements at all despite my efforts sending all my receipts.

A
Anna
November 8, 2018 @ 12:38
5.0  

I’ve spoken with a representative from Solidarity a number of times, and it would appear one doesn’t actually have to be Catholic to participate. There is a list of beliefs you must subscribe to, as with most health sharing ministries, but it is general enough that I would think most practicing Christians could, in good conscience, agree with them.

I’ve spoken with a representative from Solidarity a number of times, and it would appear one doesn’t actually have to be Catholic to participate. There is a list of beliefs you must subscribe to, as with most health sharing ministries, but it is ..
More
J
Jan Martell
October 24, 2018 @ 20:10
5.0  

Why is this not great if you’re not Catholc?

T
Tony Frasco
October 8, 2018 @ 20:34
4.0  

Solidarity is the best Catholic Health share option there is!

S
Solidarity Member
August 2, 2018 @ 21:36
5.0  

I’m confused how you came up with your 3 star review. You’re actually marking Solidarity down for having a Catholic focus? How is that a negative. Sure if you’re not Catholic you may want to consider it – but how is that a negative mark? Would you give the same mark to a ministry that caters to christians or more specifically baptists, or evangelicals?

Next you state “probably has long wait times”. Do you have anything to back this up? I suggest you contact the ministry and get some real info before making up a review so you can up the score of their competitor which you likely get commission from for people joining via your blog.

I’m confused how you came up with your 3 star review. You’re actually marking Solidarity down for having a Catholic focus? How is that a negative. Sure if you’re not Catholic you may want to consider it – but how is that a neg..
More