Christian Healthcare Ministries Review
Moderate

Christian Healthcare Ministries Review

Christian Healthcare Ministries, often referred to as CHM, is longest-serving and most popular health sharing ministries in the United States. Christian Healthcare Ministries has biblically and faithfully supported the needs of their members since 1981, with $6 billion in medical bills shared as of 2021. Their mission statement is to glorify God, show Christian love, and experience God’s presence as Christians share each other’s medical bills. Christians have a 2,000-year history of meeting each other’s needs. This is simply a modern interpretation of that tradition.

CHM is a Christian ministry that can help share in any eligible medical costs and medical expenses. While there are many terms for this type of ministry such as “health shares,” “health sharing ministries,” and “health care sharing ministry,” Christian Healthcare Ministries refers to themselves as a “health cost sharing ministry.” They claim to be the nation’s first and longest-serving Christian health cost sharing ministry.

What makes CHM different?

  • Active since 1981
  • Serves members internationally (all members do need reliable, secure internet and a U.S. mailing address in order to receive reimbursements; this is designed to help missionaries in foreign countries)
  • Maternity sharing available
  • Monthly magazine, Heartfelt Magazine
  • Monthly membership gifts are sent to CHM and then distributed directly to other members using approved accounting practices
  • Options for prayer requests, sending letters to members needing encouragement, and giving extra donations to members in need
  • Clear, simple pricing and membership tiers
  • Optional add-on membership for catastrophic care
  • 1 percent or less administrative costs

Christian Healthcare Ministries has shared $6 billion in healthcare costs for its members and they have been featured on The Ramsey Show. Additionally, CHM is A Better Business Bureau Accredited Charity.

Program Details

Pricing for being a member of Christian Healthcare Ministries is determined by the number of people that will be enrolled. They refer to each individual as a “unit.” If you’re just one person, you would be one unit. However, the most amount of units you ever have to pay for is 3. So if you were a family of 5, you are still only paying for 3 units. This helps manage cost-effectiveness for families with multiple children.

There are three participation levels: Gold, Silver, and Bronze. The benefits and responsibilities for these sharing programs are detailed below.

Gold

The Gold program is Christian Healthcare Ministries highest and most extensive program. The program costs $172 per unit per month. For an individual, you only have to pay for $172/month. For a family of 5, you’re looking at just over $500 a month — which is still fairly inexpensive for an entire family. CHM will share “100 percent of bills for any medical incident exceeding $500 as long as all the other guidelines are met.”

Includes sharing for:

  • Inpatient or outpatient hospital incidents and surgery
  • Medical testing
  • Maternity
  • Physical therapy and home healthcare (up to 45 visits for each type)
  • Incident-related doctor’s office visits
  • Incident-related prescriptions

The Gold program also removes the $125,000 per illness cap when adding Brother’s Keeper.

Silver

The second tier down is Silver. Silver costs $118 per unit per month, and shares inpatient or outpatient hospital incidents and surgery performed at facilities that meet accepted standards of medical care. Eligible medical bills are shared up to $125,000 per illness, though this limit is extended through Brother’s Keeper. On Silver, your Personal Responsibility is $2,500 per incident instead of $500. Any discount you receive from your medical provider counts toward your Personal Responsibility.

Bronze

The lowest tier is the Bronze program. At the Bronze level, the pricing is $78 per unit per month, and shares inpatient or outpatient hospital incidents and surgery performed at facilities that meet accepted standards of medical care. Eligible medical bills are shared up to $125,000 per illness, though this limit is extended through Brother’s Keeper. Bronze Personal Responsibility per incident is $5,000, though any discounts you receive from your medical provider counts toward your Personal Responsibility.

Brother’s Keeper

Christian Healthcare Ministries has a program for catastrophic medical expenses called Brother’s Keeper. This program removes the $125,000 sharing limit per illness. Members on the Gold program have unlimited sharing for eligible medical bills. For members on the Silver or Bronze program, the sharing limit increases each year accruing up to $1 million per illness.

Signing Up For Christian Healthcare Ministries

Signing up for Christian Healthcare Ministries is fairly easy. They have an application page where they ask for information on you and, if applicable, your family. Your membership starts on the date you request. After you join, CHM staff will send your Welcome Pack and membership cards to the address you listed.

Christian Healthcare Ministries seem to have a pretty simple process for paying. Your program costs each month can be drafted from your account and sent straight to CHM — you don’t need to worry about sending your money to actual members. The ministry will transfer those funds for you.

How To Pay For Christian Healthcare Ministries

Eligible bills are shareable after a member has paid their Personal Responsibility for a medical incident (this cost depends on which program they signed up for). Members submit their bills and a few forms to CHM, then wait for reimbursement.

CHM stresses that it is YOU that will be handling your healthcare, though they do have departments to help you work with providers and are always eager to help with any questions you may have. There are some ministries that deal with the provider directly so you don’t have to stress out about all the bills, but this doesn’t seem to be one of them. That isn’t necessarily a bad thing; enough medical providers resist working directly with health sharing ministries that reimbursement can actually be simpler. Just be aware that CHM’s focuses on reimbursement and responsible payment of medical bills is in the membership guidelines. Members are expected to pay their providers within 30 days of receiving their reimbursement; not doing so can lead to terminated membership.

  • Notable membership requirements: being a member of a Christian denomination who worships are regularly as health permits; actively following the teachings of the New Testament in its entirety; using moderation with alcohol and completely avoiding illegal drugs, nicotine, tobacco, smoking devices, and sexual immorality; access to a U.S. mailing address; prompt payment to medical providers.

Overall Impressions

CHM is not a great option for anyone wanting preventive care and maintenance since only one plan offers sharing for prescriptions and trips to the doctor (and only for incident-based issues; no routine checkups). That said, it is a long-running and respected sharing ministry and could be a fantastic choice for people who are concerned about getting help paying larger medical bills and not worried about being able to pay for routine care. It might also be a good supplementary option for people who are already participating in Medicare Parts A and B. CHM is one of few HealthShares willing to help people living abroad and their encouragement of member-to-member communication seems admirable.

 

Healthsaring reviews

 

Leave a review!

Are you a member of Christian Healthcare Ministries? Please leave a review below so others can get a better sense of what it’s like to be a part of Christian Healthcare Ministries!

If you have any questions about Christian Healthcare Ministries, contact us or hit us up on Twitter or Facebook!

Pros

  • One of the oldest HealthShares in the country (founded in 1981)
  • Online member portal with helpful resources
  • Semi-relaxed guidelines, although they do require weekly worship as health permits
  • Brother’s Keeper enables unlimited sharing funds for eligible bills on the Gold program
  • Two programs for pre-existing conditions
  • Generous maternity program
  • Nurtured Christian community

Cons

  • Some reviews say that reimbursement takes several months
  • Mixed reviews about customer service
  • Mixed reviews about customer service
  • Only mail checks for reimbursement (no online/portal option)

Overall review score

2.8
56 reviews

Leave Your Review

  • Review Score
    0.0

Reviews

B
Bill Rains
May 27, 2021 @ 15:20
4.0  

I’ve been with CHM for 5 years been great.

Christian Healthcare Ministries
May 28, 2021 @ 19:48

Thank you for this kind review, Bill!

J
Jonathan Vincent
May 10, 2021 @ 15:11
1.0  

I have been with CHM for several years. I hit my head when I rolled an ATV. I wasn’t wearing a helmet, which I normally do, but I was turning the machine around to load it and didn’t put one on. Even though I normally wear one Idaho law does not require adults wear helmets while operating an ATV. Anyways, I received several stitches and about 10 staples. The hospital bills ($21,000) were sent to CHM. I didn’t hear anything for 10 months. I figured they were paid. I got a collection for the $21000 in the mail. At that point I called them and asked them why they want covered. They said because I did not follow the manufacturer’s recommendations nothing would be covered. I actually called Medi Share and they said they would cover between 85 and 100% of the bills under the same circumstance. I called two other insurance companies and they said insurance is designed to cover accidents and most accidents somebody neglects to follow manufacturers recommendations that’s why there’s an accident and that they would cover 100% of the bill after deductible. Needless to say I have now switched my membership to Medi Share. Medi Share actually has telemedicine and they will submit all of the bills directly from the hospital or Care facility which is huge. Honestly, the experience has been incredibly frustrating especially from a business that claims to be Christian based. It seems to be useless if they don’t cover accidents. The fine print can always find a reason to decline coverage. I would cancel my current policy or not sign up with these guys and try Medi Share.

I have been with CHM for several years. I hit my head when I rolled an ATV. I wasn’t wearing a helmet, which I normally do, but I was turning the machine around to load it and didn’t put one on. Even though I normally wear one Idaho law d..
More
Christian Healthcare Ministries
May 28, 2021 @ 19:52

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for sharing your concern and we’re sorry to hear of your perspective on our ministry.

As a ministry, CHM seeks to share as many medical bills for as many members as possible. With biblical precepts as our guide, we do our best to say “yes” rather than “no.” However, we must also abide by the CHM Guidelines that govern the ministry in order to act in fairness to all members. These Guidelines, provided to members in their Welcome Packets and available on our website, ensure that members know what can be shared and what cannot.

Per CHM Guideline W.3, CHM can only share medical bills when all safety equipment recommended by the manufacturer of the motorized vehicle is being worn by the member in the way recommended by that manufacturer.

The CHM staff provides as much financial assistance as we can, and our history shows that CHM has a record of sharing 100 percent of eligible medical bills. However, we must authorize medical bills in accordance with the CHM Guidelines.

We assure you that our passion is to share our members’ medical bills as soon and as efficiently as possible. It is why we do what we do.

Sincerely,

CHM Staff

B
Brandi Rust
April 22, 2021 @ 21:08
1.0  

I have had CHM since 2017 but have never needed it until now. Eight years ago I had a lumbar fusion. I now need another fusion for another level disc. I get completely different information every time I talk to them. It has been a nightmare trying to get prices from everyone for my surgery. (Which the representative I spoke to originally never even told me I needed). I finally get everything figured out because my surgery is 5 days away and I get an e-mail saying it is deemed pre-existing, and they won’t pay anything. I have had CHM for 4 years with no claims or physical issues, and they are calling it pre-existing. It has been a full on mess. At this point, my back is “unstable” as stated by my imaging reports, and I have to cancel surgery and apply for regular insurance.

I have had CHM since 2017 but have never needed it until now. Eight years ago I had a lumbar fusion. I now need another fusion for another level disc. I get completely different information every time I talk to them. It has been a nightmare trying to..
More
Christian Healthcare Ministries
May 28, 2021 @ 20:25

Dear Brandi,

Thank you for sharing your concern and we’re sorry to hear of your perspective on our ministry.

As a ministry, CHM seeks to share as many medical bills for as many members as possible. With biblical precepts as our guide, we do our best to say “yes” rather than “no.” However, we must also abide by the CHM Guidelines that govern the ministry in order to act in fairness to all members. These Guidelines, provided to members in their Welcome Packets and available on our website, ensure that members know what can be shared and what cannot.

Guideline Z defines a pre-existing condition as any medical condition for which you experience signs, symptoms, testing or treatment before joining CHM. Guideline AA explains our TWO programs for pre-existing conditions, including the Prayer Page for members on Silver or Bronze. We hope you’ll be encouraged by this: over $20 million in eligible bills was shared for pre-existing conditions in 2020 with over $6 million shared on the Prayer Page. We invite you to learn more about these programs by reaching out to us or by visiting our website: https://chministries.org/resources/chm-guidelines/pre-existing-conditions/.

The CHM staff provides as much financial assistance as we can, and our history shows that CHM has a record of sharing 100 percent of eligible medical bills. However, we must authorize medical bills in accordance with the CHM Guidelines.

We assure you that our passion is to share our members’ medical bills as soon and as efficiently as possible. It is why we do what we do.

Sincerely,

CHM Staff

S
Stephanie Verschueren
April 20, 2021 @ 17:40
1.0  

I had Covid19 in November 2020 that landed me in the hospital. I was paid through that month when my husband lost his job due to Covid. We could not afford to pay for the healthcare sharing the following month. I finally received my bill from the hospital for approximately $2500 in February which I immediately submitted to Christian Healthcare Ministries. It took them until middle of April to tell me they were not going to pay after I was told I would receive a check by the end of April. My husband signed up for unemployment in November and STILL has not seen any unemployment money. It is unfair that we have paid around $700 monthly for this healthcare sharing and cannot get just one claim paid. I would NEVER recommend this to anyone.

I had Covid19 in November 2020 that landed me in the hospital. I was paid through that month when my husband lost his job due to Covid. We could not afford to pay for the healthcare sharing the following month. I finally received my bill from the hos..
More
Christian Healthcare Ministries
May 28, 2021 @ 21:09

Dear Stephanie,

We’re sad to hear of your perspective on the ministry, but appreciate having the opportunity to address your concerns.

As a ministry, CHM seeks to share as many medical bills for as many members as possible; however, we must also abide by the CHM Guidelines that govern the ministry in order to act in fairness to all members. This includes Guidelines G.4 and J.4 which state that if you discontinue your membership, your bills will be ineligible for sharing. Additionally, this information can be found in the Terms and Conditions on CHM’s website (https://www.chministries.org/resources/chm-guidelines/).

CHM is founded on the biblical principles in Galatians 6:2-5—where Christians are admonished to carry each other’s burdens, while each person is still responsible for carrying his/her own load. As such, the Guidelines were created to serve and protect you and every other ministry member and include ways in which CHM members can carry their own load while others join in to assist when the load becomes too great. Since the ministry’s inception in 1981, CHM members have shared 100 percent of eligible medical expenses according to the CHM Guidelines.

Blessings,

CHM Staff

C
Chris Marchiondo
April 6, 2021 @ 15:07
5.0  

I’ve been with CHM for about 3 years to save some money on Health insurance premiums ($2200/mo) and because I was sick of having to get anything approved through Kaiser. I pay around $550/mo for their highest coverage for my family of 6. I’ve enjoyed being able to take my kids to any doctor I want. Everything is cheaper when you tell them you are a cash payer. I never sent in a bill for reimbursement until a few months ago. I decided to have surgery on both feet. Total cost was around $18k. Honestly, I was just hoping that they would cover around half as this was a pre-existing condition. I was shocked when I received a check for the whole amount except for the $300 deductible. They also didn’t reimburse for my wheelchair and crutches. Took around 2.5 months to get the check from CHM.

I’ve been with CHM for about 3 years to save some money on Health insurance premiums ($2200/mo) and because I was sick of having to get anything approved through Kaiser. I pay around $550/mo for their highest coverage for my family of 6. IR..
More
Christian Healthcare Ministries
May 28, 2021 @ 21:10

Thank you for your kind review, Chris!

A
AJ Warner
November 30, 2020 @ 20:58
5.0  

Hi as a chm member I realize this information in cons is inaccurate. Not a solid review since this article is old outdated. best to read in at chministries.com for yourself At CHM they negotiate my bills with providers. They have a member advocate call center that handles all my bills. Also they have a program that handles any long-term or big time healthcare needs over $125,ooo. It’s called Brothers Keeper. I came across this review to see what it says and realize how inaccurate it is. I have been with chm for some time and have had no issues and they pay within 30-40 days of service. Easy process and great people there. I give 5 stars and don’t see myself returning to obamacare regular insurance.

Hi as a chm member I realize this information in cons is inaccurate. Not a solid review since this article is old outdated. best to read in at chministries.com for yourself At CHM they negotiate my bills with providers. They have a member advocate ca..
More
Christian Healthcare Ministries
June 7, 2021 @ 20:03

Thank you for these kind words, AJ! It’s our honor to serve you.

S
Shannon
November 2, 2020 @ 20:02
1.0  

This is the most unchristian company I have ever dealt with to put that name in their business. They consistently refuse to cover medical costs regardless the circumstances and also change what they are willing to cover depending on who you talk to. I’m very sorry I ever decided to do business with them.

This is the most unchristian company I have ever dealt with to put that name in their business. They consistently refuse to cover medical costs regardless the circumstances and also change what they are willing to cover depending on who you talk to. ..
More
Christian Healthcare Ministries
June 8, 2021 @ 16:58

Dear Shannon,

Thank you for sharing your perspective of CHM.

The CHM staff provides as much financial assistance as we can, and our history shows that CHM has a record of sharing 100 percent of eligible medical bills in accordance with the CHM Guidelines. This fact is verified by our annual independent audits, and our ranking as a Better Business Bureau Accredited Charity.

We must also abide by the CHM Guidelines that govern the ministry in order to act in fairness to all members. These Guidelines, provided to members before and after they join, make certain that members and prospective members know what can be shared and what cannot.

If you would like more information about this, I invite you to reach out to us through social media or a phone call. You can also read our Guidelines here: https://chministries.org/resources/chm-guidelines.

Sincerely,

The CHM Staff

D
DES
October 27, 2020 @ 03:16
5.0  

We have been using CHM as our primary coverage for a family of 5. The option to see any provider you wish is great as there is no ‘in or out of network’. We have recommended their services to family and friends for a long time.

Christian Healthcare Ministries
June 7, 2021 @ 20:23

Thank you for your kind words!

C
CDW
September 25, 2020 @ 15:33
1.0  

They don’t cover ambulance rides to the hospital. I had an emergency at 2am, I live alone and was in too much pain to drive. Called 911 and was hit with a $700 ambulance ride bill that CHM denied. They do not cover ambulance rides to the hospital BUT once you arrive at the hospital and you need to be escorted by ambulance to ANOTHER hospital, then they will cover the expense for the ride in the second ambulance. This is terrible and hardly the Christian way. Makes no sense. I will be terminating my membership through my employer who is wasting his money every month on this joke of a company. This company is antiquated, among other things.

They don’t cover ambulance rides to the hospital. I had an emergency at 2am, I live alone and was in too much pain to drive. Called 911 and was hit with a $700 ambulance ride bill that CHM denied. They do not cover ambulance rides to the hos..
More
Christian Healthcare Ministries
June 9, 2021 @ 17:21

Dear CDW,

We appreciate this opportunity to respond, and trust it will be informative and helpful about this aspect of CHM’s operations and Guidelines as well as giving an update about site-to-hospital transportation.

We state repeatedly in our communications materials that CHM isn’t a company, a business or a health insurance firm: it is a 501c3, non-profit health cost sharing ministry. The references in your message to a “company” indicates a possible misunderstanding of what CHM is, and what it does.

We ask all members to thoroughly review the ministry’s Guidelines before joining, review updates while members, and ask questions if there is anything about which they might have specific interest. We must abide by the CHM Guidelines that govern the ministry in order to act in fairness to all members. These Guidelines make certain that members can know what can, and cannot, be shared.

Guideline U discusses medical transport—listing what situations are and are not eligible for sharing. We clearly define these situations before and after joining.

The ministry’s Eligibility Review Board and leadership annually review the Guidelines for potential revision and changes. In Jan. 2021, CHM’s Guidelines were adapted to include sharing site-to-hospital transportation. However, such bills cannot be shared retroactively. More information can be found in Guideline U (chministries.org/guidelines).

Our history shows that CHM has a record of sharing 100 percent of eligible medical bills. However, we must authorize medical bills in accordance with the CHM Guidelines. In the ministry’s 40-year history, CHM has shared $6 billion in members’ medical bills.

We assure you that our passion is to share our members’ medical bills as soon and as efficiently as possible. We’re sorry you’ve decided to leave, and we wish you the best.

Blessings,

The CHM staff

J
James Spieldenner
September 22, 2020 @ 04:00
5.0  

I am amazed to see the negative reviews because of my history and experience with CHM. I had been recommended CHM, from a friend and signed up in Jan of 2018. I was an extremely healthy 38 yr old that hadn’t so much as taken medications for more than a short cold or something small of nature. I signed up for the gold plan with Bros keeper. Thank God, I did. In July of 18 I was diagnosed with stage 4 colon cancer and given 6 mo to live. Needless to say I have beaten their first 2 death dates, but continue racking up bills for each month I continue to live. These guys have been incredible. Yes, it does take a lot of time, and that stinks and you gotta be good with paperwork and learn their system but once you do, my experience has been really, really good. They have kept me out of the poor house. They have basically paid 100% of my traditional bills…I definitely have a bunch more from nontraditional treatments, but I can understand those policies. The other experience I wanted to brag about was I talked my bro into signing up. He did, but he had traditional insurance that didn’t end until like the 20th of the month, so although he called to start a policy, by his direction he didn’t want to pill the money to ‘start’ the policy, until like the 24th or towards the end of the month. In the beginning of the month he was cutting a branch in his front yard and essentially pinned his foot to the ground, via a branch, as he fell from a decent height. They were so encouraging and actually said they were going to try and cover it, even though technically he didn’t have the coverage and it would have been easy for them to get out of it. The only negative is I wish they would help with ongoing prescriptions bc that is tough but I wouldn’t have been able to do the nontraditional if I was having to pay those costs and I think I wouldn’t be here, with out some of those treatments…So CHM has saved my life or at least helped me see more days. I definitely highly recommend it. Just be patient. And CHM, love you guys but get a little faster if you can and definitely listen to that woman that was leaving for lack of coverage with an assisted pregnancy. Cheers for all you are doing right.

I am amazed to see the negative reviews because of my history and experience with CHM. I had been recommended CHM, from a friend and signed up in Jan of 2018. I was an extremely healthy 38 yr old that hadn’t so much as taken medications for mor..
More
Christian Healthcare Ministries
June 7, 2021 @ 20:46

Thank you for sharing your #IamCHM story and your feedback, James! It’s our honor to serve you.

C
Colleen
September 16, 2020 @ 15:59
5.0  

Two years ago I had a hysterectomy that was botched by the surgeon. I ended up with two more surgeries within a week. I was life flighted to an other hospital. As you can imagine this was very costly. Christian healthcare ministries paid almost the entire bill. Iam very happy with them and their service.

Two years ago I had a hysterectomy that was botched by the surgeon. I ended up with two more surgeries within a week. I was life flighted to an other hospital. As you can imagine this was very costly. Christian healthcare ministries paid almost the e..
More
L
Larry ONeal
September 11, 2020 @ 16:22
1.0  

Terrible experience. Very deceptive practices. Their auto drafting without permission got me good. While automatic debiting is legal, some firms are abusing the practice and victimizing consumers. Since this is a relatively new procedure, the laws are not always clear about what is legal.
Just because Christian is in the name doesn’t always mean Christian in business

Terrible experience. Very deceptive practices. Their auto drafting without permission got me good. While automatic debiting is legal, some firms are abusing the practice and victimizing consumers. Since this is a relatively new procedure, the laws ar..
More
D
David S
August 5, 2020 @ 19:15
5.0  

Our family of 5 has been with Christian Healthcare Ministries for about 14 years. We had our three children using their services and have only good things to say. Their maternity program is excellent. When you have medical bills you simply need to negotiate the bills as ‘self pay’ and then you will be reimbursed that amount from CHM once it’s processed.

Our family of 5 has been with Christian Healthcare Ministries for about 14 years. We had our three children using their services and have only good things to say. Their maternity program is excellent. When you have medical bills you simply need to ne..
More
A
Amy Kim
July 13, 2020 @ 13:39
4.0  

My husband and I have been members for 2 1/2 years and in that time have had 4 medical incidents we’ve needed to submit to CHM and they paid for each 100% so we’re very grateful. If we had been on my husband’s employee health insurance we would be paying more than double each month for premiums and nothing would be covered until we hit a $10k deductible so this DEFINITELY saves us money.
I agree that it took a few months to get the checks for our expenses but honestly that seems pretty par for the course in the medical world these days. Medical facilities often have to wait much longer than four months to get paid in full when they either have to get paid by the state or people are trying to pay large bills from high deductible plans so no one seemed to have a big problem with that. I agree it’s important to read their guidelines carefully. CHM is very different from an insurance company and you need to know what you’re getting into. My biggest frustration with cost sharing groups is that they don’t cover ongoing medication so we end up having to buy my asthma medicine from Canada because it’s too expensive here in this country. Other than that CHM has been a good experience for us for what it is.

My husband and I have been members for 2 1/2 years and in that time have had 4 medical incidents we’ve needed to submit to CHM and they paid for each 100% so we’re very grateful. If we had been on my husband’s employee health insurance we would..
More
E
Emily Dunn
June 14, 2020 @ 19:46
1.0  

An open letter to Christian Healthcare Ministries:

Dear CHM Leadership,
I am sad to say that I am terminating my membership with Christian Healthcare Ministries effective immediately (May 2020). I have been a member for several years and have previously had nothing but glowing praise for CHM. This past year has been a difficult one for my husband and I as we have suffered through the trial of infertility. Understandably, CHM does not share the cost for any infertility diagnosis or treatment. Many other healthcare organizations do the same. This is not the reason for my termination of membership.

I am terminating my membership due to one glaring issue:

CHM does not share the expenses for ANY pregnancies resulting from embryo adoption (adoption!) or IVF.

I believe this is contrary to CHM’s mission to provide “affordable, biblical, and compassionate healthcare” for Christians. Unborn human life is precious, regardless of how it was conceived. I find it appalling that CHM does not provide support for all unborn children of its members. I have previously brought this concern to the attention of CHM leadership with minimal response. I am sharing this letter publicly in the hope that CHM’s policies will change to reflect truly pro-life values.

Sincerely,
Emily Dunn

An open letter to Christian Healthcare Ministries: Dear CHM Leadership, I am sad to say that I am terminating my membership with Christian Healthcare Ministries effective immediately (May 2020). I have been a member for several years and have previou..
More
R
Robert
May 13, 2020 @ 23:55
1.0  

I absolutely do not recommend this plan to anyone. You will be left to fend for yourself as communication is terrible. It takes months for your case to be reviewed and it can be denied for payment. I had $15000 worth of bills and only $2000+- was approved for payment. I was left with no choice but to choose an Obamacare Plan. I paid my dues as required. I have prostate cancer.
Beware of any potential pre-exisiting conditions. If you had a cough a few years ago, it went away, and now you get a diagnosis of cancer or illness of any type, it can be considered pre-existing and there wont be anything you can do about it.
I believe in Christian healthshare type plans but I highly advise you stay away from Christian Healthshare Ministries. It is terrible. You can be denied for anything and there is no legal recourse. Just because its mentioned on the Dave Ramsey Show doesn’t mean anything. Terrible terrible experience. I will warn everyone I know to never use this plan. Don’t do it!

I absolutely do not recommend this plan to anyone. You will be left to fend for yourself as communication is terrible. It takes months for your case to be reviewed and it can be denied for payment. I had $15000 worth of bills and only $2000+- was app..
More
J
JKG
May 4, 2020 @ 14:51
5.0  

We have Gold plan with Brother’s Keeper, and every claim has been covered, including pre-existing. We do budget to be able to cover costs upfront and wait for reimbursement, but that’s just how the process works. We knew that going in. I’ve been very pleased.

We have Gold plan with Brother’s Keeper, and every claim has been covered, including pre-existing. We do budget to be able to cover costs upfront and wait for reimbursement, but that’s just how the process works. We knew that going in. I&..
More
W
Wancharida.Com
April 5, 2020 @ 20:59
0.0  

But the debate over consumer protections may disguise a more interesting question: Could this model scale up? These ministries seem to achieve a remarkable level of member satisfaction, even if they sometimes must portion out reimbursements when the bills outstrip monthly contributions.

But the debate over consumer protections may disguise a more interesting question: Could this model scale up? These ministries seem to achieve a remarkable level of member satisfaction, even if they sometimes must portion out reimbursements when the ..
More
C
Clint Smith
March 27, 2020 @ 17:06
2.0  

I was under the impression that this was guaranteed coverage. Instead of helping us with our bills they kept saying it was applied to a deductible… I’m not sure what we will receive.

C
Curtis Perrin
February 25, 2020 @ 21:00
1.0  

My wife is being denied coverage because her due date for our child is 9 days too early according to their policy. Instead of asking questions or having understanding they are shrugging shoulders and sending us on our way, all because of 9 days. That’s not what Christ would do, and sounds a whole lot like a typical insurance company.

My wife is being denied coverage because her due date for our child is 9 days too early according to their policy. Instead of asking questions or having understanding they are shrugging shoulders and sending us on our way, all because of 9 days. That..
More
A
Asten
February 20, 2020 @ 14:08
1.0  

If I could leave zero stars I would! My family and I were gold members and paying CHM the highest level each month. I was in a UTV (side by side) wreck in October 2019. I separated my collar bone over 300% requiring surgery. I was required to pay nearly $10,000 upfront prior to surgery between the anesthesiology, facility cost, and surgeon cost. Christian Healthcare Ministries refused to assist with upfront costs then denied any payment or assistance of the total accident because I wasn’t wearing a helmet. Their guidelines state that a helmet is not required when in a “gator type vehicle”, which is what a UTV is! After using all of our savings and now resorting to health credit cards we are highly in debt, not including the thousands of dollars we paid CHM over the 2.5 years. We will never make this mistake again!!! Do not do it!

If I could leave zero stars I would! My family and I were gold members and paying CHM the highest level each month. I was in a UTV (side by side) wreck in October 2019. I separated my collar bone over 300% requiring surgery. I was required to pay nea..
More
A
Arnie Sharp
February 6, 2020 @ 18:56
5.0  

Christian Healthcare Ministries is awesome! The monthly cost is FAR less than what we would pay for a typical insurance company. I broke my collar bone last fall and we received our first check back recently. Yes it takes a while but we knew that going in. They have been very clear with us about the process and we are pleased with the service we have received. I read some of the other reviews. People either didn’t do what they were supposed to or they did understand what they were getting. Yes, waiting 4 months to get our first check meant that we had to dig into our saving. However, we have saved soooo much money with CHM in the long run. Insurance companies don’t like companies like CHM because they know it’s a real threat to their business. Don’t listen to the negative reviews. Inform yourself. Know what you are getting into and follow the steps they give you. It’s actually pretty simple and far less expensive than regular health insurance.

Christian Healthcare Ministries is awesome! The monthly cost is FAR less than what we would pay for a typical insurance company. I broke my collar bone last fall and we received our first check back recently. Yes it takes a while but we knew that g..
More
S
SHARI LAUDA
January 31, 2020 @ 19:25
1.0  

Never submitted a bill but tried to call near the end of January as I am approaching medicare age and wanted to know how that would work. The PHONES WERE DOWN? How can you run a healthcare business and not be answering your phone during open enrollment. When I joined 3 years ago, there were nothing but 5 star reviews online for CHM, now its only 3 stars. After a couple of negative yelp reviews (which are not even posted, I finally received a call. The woman said their phone system had too many calls and crashed (31k). I asked why they would not gear up and fix that prior to open enrollment. She was mostly rude and very condescending. I now see all the reviews of people waiting for payment or being told it’s not covered or months of processing reimbursements. I can not find a financial statement anywhere and the woman I spoke to said she would email me one but did not. I canceled my subscription today.

Never submitted a bill but tried to call near the end of January as I am approaching medicare age and wanted to know how that would work. The PHONES WERE DOWN? How can you run a healthcare business and not be answering your phone during open enroll..
More
V
Valerie Whitmer-Hammond
January 31, 2020 @ 00:51
5.0  

i joined CHM a couple of years ago and did not need to file a claim until last fall. I had two claims back to back, one surgery and an eER visit for a totally separate illness. Filing the forms was a bit daunting the first time. I agree with some of the comments that communication could be better so at one point I made a call to CHM to check my status and everything was just fine. I knew going into this that reimbursement would not come for 120 days so I paid what had to be paid at the time of services rendered on my Care Credit card which has interest free payments for several months up to years depending on the amount charged. My emergency rooms bills were placed on monthly payments plans of $30 and $40. Today, just a couple of days after the 120 days were up I received two checks for the full amount of my medical needs. I am feeling very blessed and very happy with CHM.

i joined CHM a couple of years ago and did not need to file a claim until last fall. I had two claims back to back, one surgery and an eER visit for a totally separate illness. Filing the forms was a bit daunting the first time. I agree with some of ..
More
G
Grant Kimber
January 28, 2020 @ 02:41
1.0  

I have been a member of CHM since January 1 of 2018. Set up my account so that they were paid automatically every month and never later. I am a Gold member and did not submit a bill to them for anything until July of 2019. My son had to have surgery on his stomach and the hospital wanted $4000.00 upfront before they would do the surgery, to make sure they would get paid. At the same time I had to have surgery on my neck for a Bulging disc. I waited for over three months working with the Hospital and CHM to get the operation preauthorized for payment. Meanwhile using all of my savings and credit card to continue paying for my sons operation while CHM worked on “processing” the bills. CHM called me and told me that they made arrangements with the hospital and doctors for my surgery. They agreed on a price and they would pay the day before the scheduled surgery on my neck. I had the surgery the end of September 2019. CHM paid for half of it and I am paying monthly payments while they “process” the rest of the bill. In December of 2018 we decided to go back to regular insurance even though it was more expensive because at least I would know what I had to pay. As it stands I am still paying monthly for my sons operation while they “process” the paperwork and I am making monthly payments on the rest of my surgery while the paperwork is being “processed”. So far I have been paid about 20% of what I have requested and submitted bills for. Even though I now have regular insurance I still have to pay CHM monthly for my boy and myself until all the bills are paid, or they will discontinue “processing” the paperwork and I will be out almost $7500.00. So far I am very unimpressed with the level of service and rate of repayment

I have been a member of CHM since January 1 of 2018. Set up my account so that they were paid automatically every month and never later. I am a Gold member and did not submit a bill to them for anything until July of 2019. My son had to have surge..
More
R
Ryan
January 20, 2020 @ 20:43
1.0  

Christian Healthcare Ministries was the BIGGEST financial mistake we’ve ever made! I read everything I could and did all of my research. They don’t tell you that it takes 4 MONTHS to get reimbursed. And that’s only if you follow the instructions to the letter. Basically, we had to use ALL of our emergency fund PLUS more to pay the medical bills. Now we have to wait 4 MONTHS to get our money back. DO NOT USE Christian Healthcare Ministries. You will go into DEBT!

Christian Healthcare Ministries was the BIGGEST financial mistake we’ve ever made! I read everything I could and did all of my research. They don’t tell you that it takes 4 MONTHS to get reimbursed. And that’s only if you follow the..
More
C
Charissa Tischhauser
January 13, 2020 @ 18:55
1.0  

I joined this service in March 2019. In December, I cancelled it. They verified the cancellation and gave me confirmation numbers. Told me the Jan 2020 payment would not be pulled from my bank account. It was. They refuse to refund me the $503.00 they have now stolen from my family. They refuse to listen to the recorded call. They keep saying that I didn’t give proper notice. They repeatedly refuse to listen to the call where I was told that it would not be taken from me. Beware! They say one thing and do another. No compassion or care. It was too good to be true.

I joined this service in March 2019. In December, I cancelled it. They verified the cancellation and gave me confirmation numbers. Told me the Jan 2020 payment would not be pulled from my bank account. It was. They refuse to refund me the $503.00 the..
More
W
William Nash
January 9, 2020 @ 13:02
1.0  

Poor customer service. Slow for reimbursements and just about impossible dis-enroll. .

h
healthshareu
December 17, 2019 @ 21:54
5.0  

We have been members of Chm for years and they have been such a blessing.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJHbvw2z_kY

K
Katie
November 13, 2019 @ 17:44
1.0  

Awful. I paid for the month of November and had a big mri done for my shoulder, and I needed to cancel in December to go on my husband’s work insurance. I paid $300 for my family to have services for the month of November and they wont cover ANYTHING because we have to leave in December. So what exactly did I pay for? Nothing! But dont worry they aren’t in the wrong because “it’s in their guidelines”. Such an awful company, and super unethical. They will just keep sucking you in because they are so behind on getting you reimbursed. Ridiculous. Definitely don’t seem Christian to me.

Awful. I paid for the month of November and had a big mri done for my shoulder, and I needed to cancel in December to go on my husband’s work insurance. I paid $300 for my family to have services for the month of November and they wont cover AN..
More
D
David S
November 13, 2019 @ 17:20
5.0  

We have been using CHM for over 13 years. We have had our 3 children using their maternity coverage. We have had a great experience using CHM and recommend their coverage to anyone seeking alternative health insurance.
https://www.christianhealthcareministries-review.com

We have been using CHM for over 13 years. We have had our 3 children using their maternity coverage. We have had a great experience using CHM and recommend their coverage to anyone seeking alternative health insurance. https://www.christianhealthcare..
More
K
Karen
November 12, 2019 @ 19:18
5.0  

CHM has saved us so much money. You have to know what you are getting into though. Money for claims are not sent to you for 4-4 1/2 months, so you have to work out a payment plan with your hospital or provider until you receive the funds from CHM. If you do have a surgery planned ahead of time, you can call and ask for approval to get the funds sooner (call in advance, not a couple of days before surgery). I had a very expensive bill that was going to go to collections prior to the 4 months, and CHM worked with me to get the payment a few weeks earlier. I’ve never had any trouble contacting them (I think their office is Eastern time so do take that in mind). Also, regular meds aren’t covered, only a discount plan is applied for meds unless the med is specifically related to a single incident (e.g. need pain pill for a broken shoulder). You just have to make sure you understand the nuances of the program, and if you do and follow them correctly, you can save thousands of dollars or more every year.

CHM has saved us so much money. You have to know what you are getting into though. Money for claims are not sent to you for 4-4 1/2 months, so you have to work out a payment plan with your hospital or provider until you receive the funds from CHM. If..
More
L
Lisa Lahr
July 1, 2019 @ 15:13
3.0  

I am a gold member, I had surgery. it was confusing what was eligible and alot of paperwork to send in. I waited 4 months to get paid. however they did not reimburse me any medications or equipment??? the time frame is way too long. there is no communication from the time you submit your Bill’s till you get a check, so you dont know what to think. I am pleased that the majority was paid. for price it’s worth it just wish they had a better turn around and could communicate where it’s at. I paid alot of interest on credit card waiting.

I am a gold member, I had surgery. it was confusing what was eligible and alot of paperwork to send in. I waited 4 months to get paid. however they did not reimburse me any medications or equipment??? the time frame is way too long. there is no co..
More
M
Mark
June 25, 2019 @ 19:59
1.0  

Horrible Company! Take your $ elsewhere. If you get traditional health insurance, they will cover nothing left outstanding from when you had coverage with them. They stop paying the day you end coverage. What is interesting it it took them MONTHS…I mean MONTHS to process any of our bills during the coverage period. All the while our bills went to collections left and right. Now….when we have traditional insurance…they state, it’s in our member policy we will not pay anything during your covered dates after your coverage. If CHM had paid on time to start, we would not be in this mess. They 100% practiced delay tactics. Excuses were given to us that they were understaffed. Now, we are literally left holding the bill. Do yourself a favor and avoid at all costs.

Horrible Company! Take your $ elsewhere. If you get traditional health insurance, they will cover nothing left outstanding from when you had coverage with them. They stop paying the day you end coverage. What is interesting it it took them MONTHSR..
More
I
Isabella
June 10, 2019 @ 20:27
4.0  

Christian Healthcare Ministries paid quite a hefty hospital bill after I had obtained a 30% discount. I am in awe and overwhelmed with gratitude and appreciation. I highly recommend their services. They are very polite and prompt in communication. You do have to read the Guidelines and make sure you follow the rules and the process described.

Thank you so much, Christian Healthcare Ministries!

Christian Healthcare Ministries paid quite a hefty hospital bill after I had obtained a 30% discount. I am in awe and overwhelmed with gratitude and appreciation. I highly recommend their services. They are very polite and prompt in communication. Yo..
More
T
Tricia Yarborough
June 7, 2019 @ 13:03
2.0  

My husband spent 3 days in the hospital, 2 in the neuro icu for a trauma induced intracranial hemorrhage. After 8 months, Christian Healthcare Ministries sent us a check for less than $400 to cover everything; that was it, even though we were enrolled in Brothers Keeper as well.
It’s a shame that consider themselves a Christian ministry, yet are so misleading.

My husband spent 3 days in the hospital, 2 in the neuro icu for a trauma induced intracranial hemorrhage. After 8 months, Christian Healthcare Ministries sent us a check for less than $400 to cover everything; that was it, even though we were enrolle..
More
A
Amanda nelson
April 22, 2019 @ 21:15
2.0  

I am so disappointed in chm. I am a planner and planned all my financial before becoming pregnant. I had other insurance that would cover my maternity costs except for part of my midwife fees. I looked into chm to cover that 1500.00 portion and began paying the monthly silver fee since it says it covers midwife fees. I just submitted my claim and it was denied because they don’t cover the facility fee for midwives. It does not state this anywhere in their guidelines. It says midwife fees are covered. This fee is directly from the midwife and they charge it for in home births as well as birthing center births. Such a waste of 4 years of paying the extra cost so my midwife fees would be covered. They are not up front about this policy and it is such a disappointment. I will not recommend them to anyone again.

I am so disappointed in chm. I am a planner and planned all my financial before becoming pregnant. I had other insurance that would cover my maternity costs except for part of my midwife fees. I looked into chm to cover that 1500.00 portion and began..
More
J
John Doe
February 5, 2019 @ 16:40
4.0  

Notified by health insurance carrier in summer 2013 that they were exiting this business due to Obamacare. Checked on other health insurance options and they were incredibly costly, much more than I could afford (and I make a very decent living). Did a lot of reading/analyzing on healthshare ministries. Started with CHM on 1/1/14.
Spouse had a minor injury from a fall in 2015. Bills were shared; process was a little confusing and reimbursement was in about 4-5 months.
Last year, spouse suffered a major heart attack…very significant expenses. Bills were shared; reimbursements about the same, in 4-5 months.
Some of my thoughts if you are considering Christian Healthshare Ministries (or similar organization)
*Much lower cost. For God’s sake, save the extra $ to pay your medical bills when you need care.
*If you have a concierge healthcare company available, consider joining there also. Even better, look for cash-friendly/self-pay friendly practices and switch to those, the more comprehensive the better (example..Surgery Center of Oklahoma or similar). Most medial practices/facilities are outright hostile (or at best, ambivalent) to self-pay persons.
*Becoming a self-pay person is a whole different ballgame. Expect to be treated terribly by most medical office staff. By this, I mean the care will be the same but the business office will absolutely gouge you on the cost. You must educate yourself on what the costs should be.
*Become a customer…shop around, ask questions, talk w/ business office before you go, talk w/ hospitals/facilities NOW before you have an emergency need, ask for better pricing then demand better pricing, never accept the price you are initially told, get past the person at the desk and speak with a decision-maker. Most medical business offices will treat a self-pay person as some sort of unknown alien being who speaks an entirely different language…be prepared for that. You have to remember that they don’t view you as the customer; their customer is the health insurance/government monstrosity. You’re just an unfortunate annoyance they have to deal with sometimes.
*To the extent you can, start setting aside as much cash as you can afford to pay medical bills. Every day bills are your responsibility; it is the unknown injury or illness the healthshare will help you with. YOU must be responsible, they are there to help you not do everything for you. When you get reimbursed, don’t spend it. Put it back in your medical account for the next time
Lots more I could say, but I will just make one more statement. I wish I had known about this healthshare ministry 20-30 years ago. I would have joined then and never dealt with the government-dominated health insurance industry. I would never consider buying regular health insurance again. In an odd, sort of backhanded way, I will say thanks to Obama for this.

Notified by health insurance carrier in summer 2013 that they were exiting this business due to Obamacare. Checked on other health insurance options and they were incredibly costly, much more than I could afford (and I make a very decent living). Did..
More
R
Ray Holtzclaw
January 17, 2019 @ 20:55
2.0  

This so called Ministry is a joke. My wife had surgery in 2018 and was denied all coverage and sharing because she had a Pre-existing condition from over 30 yrs ago. If you want a company to take your money every month in the name of a ministry then sign right up. If you need help with what they call pre-existing no matter how long ago it was then look elsewhere. This is the kind of stuff that causes a division with Christians. I don’t mind them saying it isn’t covered under their normal plan, but not to let their members elect to help with something that could have easily been covered is just wrong. If no one wanted to help out that is fine, but at least give them a chance to say No on their on.

This so called Ministry is a joke. My wife had surgery in 2018 and was denied all coverage and sharing because she had a Pre-existing condition from over 30 yrs ago. If you want a company to take your money every month in the name of a ministry then ..
More
a
ann marie mooney
January 14, 2019 @ 18:44
5.0  

We lost our obamacare subsidy when our young adult children found employment and obamacare looks at your household income. My premium went from $350 a month to $2000 a month so I had to start looking around. I purchased a short term policy from lifeshield/IBA/healthcare innovations/iquotes. I was lied to by the broker and mislead about pre existing conditions/policy terms/ and claims. Do not believe anything the iquotes broker tells you about the policy. The policy is useless. I did buy christian cost sharing as excess to cover any claim above $5000. CHM delivers unlike the short term carrier and its useless counterparts. It takes a little long to get reimbursed but they tell you that and they deal with you in good faith.

We lost our obamacare subsidy when our young adult children found employment and obamacare looks at your household income. My premium went from $350 a month to $2000 a month so I had to start looking around. I purchased a short term policy from lif..
More
J
Josh
January 3, 2019 @ 00:00
3.0  

The price for CHM is good, especially for what they cover. The Gold plan with brothers keeper is the best “bang for the buck”. However, there is nothing specifically stating what is covered.

Also, we have submitted claims for pregnancy and the turn around time is ridiculous. We submitted bills in June and are still waiting to be paid. This is the second pregnancy we have had covered by CHM. I would say the average turn around time for claim payment is about 6-9 months.

The price for CHM is good, especially for what they cover. The Gold plan with brothers keeper is the best “bang for the buck”. However, there is nothing specifically stating what is covered. Also, we have submitted claims for pregnancy and the ..
More
C
Corey
December 27, 2018 @ 20:43
4.0  

Amazing alternative to Heath Care!! I was on great Cigna insurance for several years but after leaving my job and becoming a stay at home mom we had to make some changes. My husband is self employed and we had few options. CHM is so much cheaper monthly and I am way more involved in my healthcare costs and decisions. We saved 1000s!! in real life. Our first baby cost more with my really good insurance that are recent one who was in the NICU for a week! We LOOOOVE them. Every time i call i get a real person or i get a call back from a real person within a day. They have tons of resources for members and i feel really supported. It takes time to get reimbursement, but every doctor, hospital, and lab I’ve worked with has payment plan options and ways to make it work for you. It takes some more work up front but you don’t go blindly into things as much. I feel like i have a lot more control with CHM. its worth learning about and i think worth switching.

Amazing alternative to Heath Care!! I was on great Cigna insurance for several years but after leaving my job and becoming a stay at home mom we had to make some changes. My husband is self employed and we had few options. CHM is so much cheaper mont..
More
J
Jonathan Hartzler
December 11, 2018 @ 01:56
2.0  

Been with CHM for 4 years. Have only needed to get in contact with them once before now. Both times it has been nearly impossible to actually talk to someone. They have not returned calls. I just tried an online chat as well. Seems that does not work either. I would not recommend.

Been with CHM for 4 years. Have only needed to get in contact with them once before now. Both times it has been nearly impossible to actually talk to someone. They have not returned calls. I just tried an online chat as well. Seems that does not wor..
More
N
Nicole Nolt
August 20, 2018 @ 20:29
1.0  

Dont go with this insurance company!!! They sent back the medical bills 3 months after they had received them only to tell us they wont cover because my husband is a tobacco user. The also call pregnancy a preexisting condition. My husband and I are Christians but we arent good enough to be covered by their plans.

Dont go with this insurance company!!! They sent back the medical bills 3 months after they had received them only to tell us they wont cover because my husband is a tobacco user. The also call pregnancy a preexisting condition. My husband and I are ..
More
B
Bill Harrison
November 10, 2017 @ 12:18
5.0  

I have just joined Christian Healthcare Ministries and haven’t filed a claim. My big name insurer phased out my policy after 15 years. I did not compare sharing programs; they all seemed to provide the same services. On recommendation of Dave Ramsey (CHM has a sponsorship with his show and events) I emailed and promptly received a wealth of information. I was able to sign up and they received my first month’s share right away, so I was able to cancel my other policy right then. I am in good health, so I just needed to satisfy my responsibility to my family and the new healthcare law, and this does both. I have a direct-pay physician, and with both the payment to the doctor and to CHM, I am saving $360 per month which goes toward the deductible or toward “Brother’s Keeper” contributions. Open enrollment notices are going out, and CHM advised me to “do nothing”. So far, the step-by-step process could not have been easier. One caveat: CHM emphasizes the Christian part. They delve deeply into the philosophy of sharing others’ costs from a Biblical standpoint. I did not compare with secular sharing plans, nor with those of other faiths.

I have just joined Christian Healthcare Ministries and haven’t filed a claim. My big name insurer phased out my policy after 15 years. I did not compare sharing programs; they all seemed to provide the same services. On recommendation of Dave R..
More
B
Brandon Hunnicutt
November 9, 2017 @ 21:01
4.0  

Overall our experience has been great. Been on it for about a year. We are in the process of dealing with our first major claim and still working through it. Luckily our hospital has dealt with CHM in the past and has had great interaction with them. We would definitely recommend them to others.

Overall our experience has been great. Been on it for about a year. We are in the process of dealing with our first major claim and still working through it. Luckily our hospital has dealt with CHM in the past and has had great interaction with th..
More