Christian Healthcare Ministries Review
Moderate

Christian Healthcare Ministries Review

 

Updated: April 1st, 2019

What is Christian Healthcare Ministries?

Christian Healthcare Ministries, often referred to as CHM is one of the oldest and most popular health sharing ministries in the United States. Christian Healthcare Ministries has existed to biblically and faithfully support the needs of their members since 1981. Their purpose is to glorify God and serve His people. Christians have a two thousand year history of meeting each others needs. This is simply a modern interpretation of that tradition.

 

CHM is not a traditional insurance company, they are a Christian ministry that can help cover any medical costs and medical expenses. While there are many terms for this type of ministry such as “health shares”, “health sharing ministries”, and “health care sharing ministry”, Christian Healthcare Ministries refers to themselves as a “health cost sharing ministry”. They claim to be the nation’s first and longest-serving Christian health cost sharing ministry.

Sponsored

Zion Health

4.7
Top Rated Top Rated
Cheap

Zion Health is a fairly new healthshare based out of Utah. They offer super cheap plans and even Direct Primary Care memberships.

• Fast Processing of Needs
• Unlimited Sharing

 

Christian Healthcare Ministries has shared over $3.5 billion in healthcare costs for its members and they have been featured on The Dave Ramsey Show. In 2018 alone, CHM shared $388,722,857 in healthcare bills. Additionally, CHM is A Better Business Bureau A+ Accredited Charity.

 

CHM 2018 sharing stats

How Christian Healthcare Ministries Works

Christian Healthcare Ministries isn’t traditional health insurance, it’s ministry. Medical expenses can add up quickly, and this is a way for you to take control of your healthcare costs. Christian Healthcare Ministries is simply Christian members working together to take control of healthcare costs.

 

As a member, you will send preset monthly financial gifts to ministry, and those gifts are used to share eligible medical bills sent in by yourself or fellow members.

 

Below, Christian Healthcare Ministries provides an example of how their ministry could help you pay for your annual healthcare costs.

 

“Example: You receive treatment early in the year for a gallbladder problem. Your bills total $7,500 and you receive $2,500 in healthcare provider discounts.Christian Healthcare Ministries shares $5,000 ($7,500-$2,500), which is 100 percent of the cost after discounts. In the middle of the same year you have some blood tests done (for an unrelated illness) that cost $400. Christian Healthcare Ministries does not share any of these bills because the total cost of the incident is less than $500. At the end of the year, you break your arm and the treatment amounts to $2,500. CHM shares the entire amount of $2,500 because the incident totals more than $500 and the treatment meets all other Christian Healthcare Ministries Guidelines.” – Christian Healthcare Ministries”

 

Additionally, Christian Healthcare Ministries is an eligible option for individuals and families under the national healthcare law. Under the U.S. Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (also known as Obamacare), Christian Healthcare Ministries is an allowable option to meet the law’s individual mandate for health cost coverage.

 

There are additional benefits to enrolling in a care ministry like CHM. The first benefit is that with Christian Healthcare Ministries, the program costs below do not change based on your health history. There are not any medical tests or physical evaluations required in order to join Christian Healthcare Ministries. Pre-existing conditions that are actively undergoing treatment at the time you join CHM cannot be shared. However, any costs associated with maintenance treatment for a pre-existing condition might be shared through Christian Healthcare Ministries.

 

The second benefit is that unlike a traditional insurance plan, you have the ability to negotiate your treatment price in the same way you would negotiate when buying a car. This allows you to lower the cost of treatment before sharing the cost with CHM.

 

Finally, you do not need treatment approvals before receiving medical care. CHM shares bills for most generally accepted and reputable medical procedures. However, CHM does not share bills for alternative treatments or chiropractic care. Members should research the eligible and ineligible expenses.

 

 

 

Pricing for Christian Healthcare Ministries

Christian Healthcare Ministries Review

Above, you can see a pricing comparison between the 3 programs available.

 

Christian Healthcare Ministries is over 65% less expensive than the national average for health insurance.

Pricing for being a member of Christian Healthcare Ministries is determined by the number of people that will be enrolled. They refer to each individual as a “unit”. If you’re just one person, you would be one unit. However, the most amount of units you ever have to pay for is 3. So if you were a family of 5, you are still only paying for 3 units. This helps manage affordability for families with multiple children.

There are three participation levels: Gold, Silver, and Bronze. The benefits and responsibilities for these sharing programs are detailed below.

 

Gold


The Gold program is Christian Healthcare Ministries highest and most extensive program. The program costs $150 per unit per month. For an individual, you only have to pay for $150/month. For a family of 5, you’re looking at $450 a month — which is still fairly inexpensive for an entire family. CHM will share “100 percent of bills for any medical incident exceeding $500 as long as all the other guidelines are met.”


Silver


The second tier down is Silver. Silver costs $85 per unit per month This is very similar to the Gold program with assistance up to $125,000 per illness; however, your personal responsibility is $1,000 per incident instead of $500.



Bronze


The lowest tier is the Bronze program. At the Bronze level, the pricing is $45 per unit per month. The assistance is the same as the other two but your personal responsibility per incident jumps up to $5,000.

Brother’s Keeper

Christian Healthcare Ministries has a program for extraordinary expenses. For example, if a member was to get cancer, they could enroll in the Brother’s Keeper program in order to share bills beyond $125,000.

 

Christian healthcare ministries review

The breakdown for Brother’s Keeper is as follows:

“Gold level members: Signing up for Brother’s Keeper provides unlimited cost support per illness (diagnosis).

Silver and Bronze members: Signing up for Brother’s Keeper provides an additional $100,000 of cost support. With each annual Brother’s Keeper renewal, participants receive an additional $100,000 of assistance, up to $1 million per illness.

For medical needs exceeding $125,000, Brother’s Keeper members send a quarterly designated gift amount (average amount: $25 per membership unit) to the CHM office, where it is deposited in an audited escrow account. There is also a $40 annual, nonrefundable fee per membership.

Members receive a quarterly Brother’s Keeper letter stating their quarterly gift amount and the name of a fellow Brother’s Keeper member who has medical bills. They are asked to send cards and letters of encouragement to these fellow Christians.”

 

Signing Up For Christian Healthcare Ministries

Signing up for Christian Healthcare Ministries is fairly easy. They have an application page where they ask for information on you and, if applicable, your family. After submitting the application, you will be contacted by CHM for further instructions on how to enroll into the health sharing ministry.

 

How To Pay For Christian Healthcare Ministries

Christian Healthcare Ministries seem to have a pretty simple process for paying. Your program costs each month can be drafted from your account and sent straight to CHM — you don’t need to worry about sending your money to actual members.

CHM also stress that it is YOU that will be handling your healthcare. They state that all bills must be sent directly to you in which you can then send on to CHM. There are some ministries out there that will deal with the provider directly so you don’t have to stress out about all the bills, but this doesn’t seem to be one of them.

What are some alternatives to Christian Healthcare Ministries?

There are several other programs that offer health shares for those seeking an alternative to traditional insurance. Some of these programs offer the same Christian ideals as Christian Healthcare Ministries, but there are also secular options as well.

Some of the Christian Healthshare alternatives are: Samaritan Ministries, Solidarity Healthshare, and Christian Care Ministry. Samaritan Ministries is a Christian healthshare that is one of the most religious-centered health share options. Unlike Christian Healthcare Ministry, you do not send your monetary contribution to the organization, and instead, you send the funds directly to the person in need.

Solidarity Healthshare is a Christian healthshare that is very similar to the popular Liberty Healthshare. Solidarity Healthshare is known for the ease with which you can submit claims and receive customer support. However, Solidarity Healthshare has a specific Catholic lean which is great if you are Catholic and less convenient if you are not.

Medi-share is the final additional option listed here. According to their website, Medi-Share has 300,145 members since June 2017. If this is true, Medi-Share is potentially the largest healthsharing organization in the country. Additionally, they claim to have shared over $1 Billion dollars among its members. Its pricing is straightforward and their religious status allows them to be exempt from the penalty exemption that many face for not having health insurance.

For more information, please see CHMinistires.org.

 

Healthsaring reviews

 

Leave a review!

Are you a member of Liberty Healthshare? Please leave a review below so others can get a better sense of what it’s like to be a part of a healthsharing ministry!

If you have any questions about Liberty Healthshare, contact us or hit us up on Twitter or Facebook!

Pros

  • CHEAP
  • Large membership = stability

Cons

  • Only offer assistance up to $125,000
  • Seems to be a bit outdated
  • Doesn't deal directly with providers

Overall review score

2.7
42 reviews

Leave Your Review

  • Review Score
    0.0

Reviews

A
AJ Warner
November 30, 2020 @ 20:58
5.0  

Hi as a chm member I realize this information in cons is inaccurate. Not a solid review since this article is old outdated. best to read in at chministries.com for yourself At CHM they negotiate my bills with providers. They have a member advocate call center that handles all my bills. Also they have a program that handles any long-term or big time healthcare needs over $125,ooo. It’s called Brothers Keeper. I came across this review to see what it says and realize how inaccurate it is. I have been with chm for some time and have had no issues and they pay within 30-40 days of service. Easy process and great people there. I give 5 stars and don’t see myself returning to obamacare regular insurance.

Hi as a chm member I realize this information in cons is inaccurate. Not a solid review since this article is old outdated. best to read in at chministries.com for yourself At CHM they negotiate my bills with providers. They have a member advocate ca..
More
S
Shannon
November 2, 2020 @ 20:02
1.0  

This is the most unchristian company I have ever dealt with to put that name in their business. They consistently refuse to cover medical costs regardless the circumstances and also change what they are willing to cover depending on who you talk to. I’m very sorry I ever decided to do business with them.

This is the most unchristian company I have ever dealt with to put that name in their business. They consistently refuse to cover medical costs regardless the circumstances and also change what they are willing to cover depending on who you talk to. ..
More
D
DES
October 27, 2020 @ 03:16
5.0  

We have been using CHM as our primary coverage for a family of 5. The option to see any provider you wish is great as there is no ‘in or out of network’. We have recommended their services to family and friends for a long time.

C
CDW
September 25, 2020 @ 15:33
1.0  

They don’t cover ambulance rides to the hospital. I had an emergency at 2am, I live alone and was in too much pain to drive. Called 911 and was hit with a $700 ambulance ride bill that CHM denied. They do not cover ambulance rides to the hospital BUT once you arrive at the hospital and you need to be escorted by ambulance to ANOTHER hospital, then they will cover the expense for the ride in the second ambulance. This is terrible and hardly the Christian way. Makes no sense. I will be terminating my membership through my employer who is wasting his money every month on this joke of a company. This company is antiquated, among other things.

They don’t cover ambulance rides to the hospital. I had an emergency at 2am, I live alone and was in too much pain to drive. Called 911 and was hit with a $700 ambulance ride bill that CHM denied. They do not cover ambulance rides to the hos..
More
J
James Spieldenner
September 22, 2020 @ 04:00
5.0  

I am amazed to see the negative reviews because of my history and experience with CHM. I had been recommended CHM, from a friend and signed up in Jan of 2018. I was an extremely healthy 38 yr old that hadn’t so much as taken medications for more than a short cold or something small of nature. I signed up for the gold plan with Bros keeper. Thank God, I did. In July of 18 I was diagnosed with stage 4 colon cancer and given 6 mo to live. Needless to say I have beaten their first 2 death dates, but continue racking up bills for each month I continue to live. These guys have been incredible. Yes, it does take a lot of time, and that stinks and you gotta be good with paperwork and learn their system but once you do, my experience has been really, really good. They have kept me out of the poor house. They have basically paid 100% of my traditional bills…I definitely have a bunch more from nontraditional treatments, but I can understand those policies. The other experience I wanted to brag about was I talked my bro into signing up. He did, but he had traditional insurance that didn’t end until like the 20th of the month, so although he called to start a policy, by his direction he didn’t want to pill the money to ‘start’ the policy, until like the 24th or towards the end of the month. In the beginning of the month he was cutting a branch in his front yard and essentially pinned his foot to the ground, via a branch, as he fell from a decent height. They were so encouraging and actually said they were going to try and cover it, even though technically he didn’t have the coverage and it would have been easy for them to get out of it. The only negative is I wish they would help with ongoing prescriptions bc that is tough but I wouldn’t have been able to do the nontraditional if I was having to pay those costs and I think I wouldn’t be here, with out some of those treatments…So CHM has saved my life or at least helped me see more days. I definitely highly recommend it. Just be patient. And CHM, love you guys but get a little faster if you can and definitely listen to that woman that was leaving for lack of coverage with an assisted pregnancy. Cheers for all you are doing right.

I am amazed to see the negative reviews because of my history and experience with CHM. I had been recommended CHM, from a friend and signed up in Jan of 2018. I was an extremely healthy 38 yr old that hadn’t so much as taken medications for mor..
More
C
Colleen
September 16, 2020 @ 15:59
5.0  

Two years ago I had a hysterectomy that was botched by the surgeon. I ended up with two more surgeries within a week. I was life flighted to an other hospital. As you can imagine this was very costly. Christian healthcare ministries paid almost the entire bill. Iam very happy with them and their service.

Two years ago I had a hysterectomy that was botched by the surgeon. I ended up with two more surgeries within a week. I was life flighted to an other hospital. As you can imagine this was very costly. Christian healthcare ministries paid almost the e..
More
L
Larry ONeal
September 11, 2020 @ 16:22
1.0  

Terrible experience. Very deceptive practices. Their auto drafting without permission got me good. While automatic debiting is legal, some firms are abusing the practice and victimizing consumers. Since this is a relatively new procedure, the laws are not always clear about what is legal.
Just because Christian is in the name doesn’t always mean Christian in business

Terrible experience. Very deceptive practices. Their auto drafting without permission got me good. While automatic debiting is legal, some firms are abusing the practice and victimizing consumers. Since this is a relatively new procedure, the laws ar..
More
D
David S
August 5, 2020 @ 19:15
5.0  

Our family of 5 has been with Christian Healthcare Ministries for about 14 years. We had our three children using their services and have only good things to say. Their maternity program is excellent. When you have medical bills you simply need to negotiate the bills as ‘self pay’ and then you will be reimbursed that amount from CHM once it’s processed.

Our family of 5 has been with Christian Healthcare Ministries for about 14 years. We had our three children using their services and have only good things to say. Their maternity program is excellent. When you have medical bills you simply need to ne..
More
Christian Care
Christian Care
August 16, 2020 @ 08:16

Thank you for your reply, David!

A
Amy Kim
July 13, 2020 @ 13:39
4.0  

My husband and I have been members for 2 1/2 years and in that time have had 4 medical incidents we’ve needed to submit to CHM and they paid for each 100% so we’re very grateful. If we had been on my husband’s employee health insurance we would be paying more than double each month for premiums and nothing would be covered until we hit a $10k deductible so this DEFINITELY saves us money.
I agree that it took a few months to get the checks for our expenses but honestly that seems pretty par for the course in the medical world these days. Medical facilities often have to wait much longer than four months to get paid in full when they either have to get paid by the state or people are trying to pay large bills from high deductible plans so no one seemed to have a big problem with that. I agree it’s important to read their guidelines carefully. CHM is very different from an insurance company and you need to know what you’re getting into. My biggest frustration with cost sharing groups is that they don’t cover ongoing medication so we end up having to buy my asthma medicine from Canada because it’s too expensive here in this country. Other than that CHM has been a good experience for us for what it is.

My husband and I have been members for 2 1/2 years and in that time have had 4 medical incidents we’ve needed to submit to CHM and they paid for each 100% so we’re very grateful. If we had been on my husband’s employee health insurance we would..
More
E
Emily Dunn
June 14, 2020 @ 19:46
1.0  

An open letter to Christian Healthcare Ministries:

Dear CHM Leadership,
I am sad to say that I am terminating my membership with Christian Healthcare Ministries effective immediately (May 2020). I have been a member for several years and have previously had nothing but glowing praise for CHM. This past year has been a difficult one for my husband and I as we have suffered through the trial of infertility. Understandably, CHM does not share the cost for any infertility diagnosis or treatment. Many other healthcare organizations do the same. This is not the reason for my termination of membership.

I am terminating my membership due to one glaring issue:

CHM does not share the expenses for ANY pregnancies resulting from embryo adoption (adoption!) or IVF.

I believe this is contrary to CHM’s mission to provide “affordable, biblical, and compassionate healthcare” for Christians. Unborn human life is precious, regardless of how it was conceived. I find it appalling that CHM does not provide support for all unborn children of its members. I have previously brought this concern to the attention of CHM leadership with minimal response. I am sharing this letter publicly in the hope that CHM’s policies will change to reflect truly pro-life values.

Sincerely,
Emily Dunn

An open letter to Christian Healthcare Ministries: Dear CHM Leadership, I am sad to say that I am terminating my membership with Christian Healthcare Ministries effective immediately (May 2020). I have been a member for several years and have previou..
More
R
Robert
May 13, 2020 @ 23:55
1.0  

I absolutely do not recommend this plan to anyone. You will be left to fend for yourself as communication is terrible. It takes months for your case to be reviewed and it can be denied for payment. I had $15000 worth of bills and only $2000+- was approved for payment. I was left with no choice but to choose an Obamacare Plan. I paid my dues as required. I have prostate cancer.
Beware of any potential pre-exisiting conditions. If you had a cough a few years ago, it went away, and now you get a diagnosis of cancer or illness of any type, it can be considered pre-existing and there wont be anything you can do about it.
I believe in Christian healthshare type plans but I highly advise you stay away from Christian Healthshare Ministries. It is terrible. You can be denied for anything and there is no legal recourse. Just because its mentioned on the Dave Ramsey Show doesn’t mean anything. Terrible terrible experience. I will warn everyone I know to never use this plan. Don’t do it!

I absolutely do not recommend this plan to anyone. You will be left to fend for yourself as communication is terrible. It takes months for your case to be reviewed and it can be denied for payment. I had $15000 worth of bills and only $2000+- was app..
More
J
JKG
May 4, 2020 @ 14:51
5.0  

We have Gold plan with Brother’s Keeper, and every claim has been covered, including pre-existing. We do budget to be able to cover costs upfront and wait for reimbursement, but that’s just how the process works. We knew that going in. I’ve been very pleased.

We have Gold plan with Brother’s Keeper, and every claim has been covered, including pre-existing. We do budget to be able to cover costs upfront and wait for reimbursement, but that’s just how the process works. We knew that going in. I&..
More
W
Wancharida.Com
April 5, 2020 @ 20:59
0.0  

But the debate over consumer protections may disguise a more interesting question: Could this model scale up? These ministries seem to achieve a remarkable level of member satisfaction, even if they sometimes must portion out reimbursements when the bills outstrip monthly contributions.

But the debate over consumer protections may disguise a more interesting question: Could this model scale up? These ministries seem to achieve a remarkable level of member satisfaction, even if they sometimes must portion out reimbursements when the ..
More
C
Clint Smith
March 27, 2020 @ 17:06
2.0  

I was under the impression that this was guaranteed coverage. Instead of helping us with our bills they kept saying it was applied to a deductible… I’m not sure what we will receive.

C
Curtis Perrin
February 25, 2020 @ 21:00
1.0  

My wife is being denied coverage because her due date for our child is 9 days too early according to their policy. Instead of asking questions or having understanding they are shrugging shoulders and sending us on our way, all because of 9 days. That’s not what Christ would do, and sounds a whole lot like a typical insurance company.

My wife is being denied coverage because her due date for our child is 9 days too early according to their policy. Instead of asking questions or having understanding they are shrugging shoulders and sending us on our way, all because of 9 days. That..
More
A
Asten
February 20, 2020 @ 14:08
1.0  

If I could leave zero stars I would! My family and I were gold members and paying CHM the highest level each month. I was in a UTV (side by side) wreck in October 2019. I separated my collar bone over 300% requiring surgery. I was required to pay nearly $10,000 upfront prior to surgery between the anesthesiology, facility cost, and surgeon cost. Christian Healthcare Ministries refused to assist with upfront costs then denied any payment or assistance of the total accident because I wasn’t wearing a helmet. Their guidelines state that a helmet is not required when in a “gator type vehicle”, which is what a UTV is! After using all of our savings and now resorting to health credit cards we are highly in debt, not including the thousands of dollars we paid CHM over the 2.5 years. We will never make this mistake again!!! Do not do it!

If I could leave zero stars I would! My family and I were gold members and paying CHM the highest level each month. I was in a UTV (side by side) wreck in October 2019. I separated my collar bone over 300% requiring surgery. I was required to pay nea..
More
A
Arnie Sharp
February 6, 2020 @ 18:56
5.0  

Christian Healthcare Ministries is awesome! The monthly cost is FAR less than what we would pay for a typical insurance company. I broke my collar bone last fall and we received our first check back recently. Yes it takes a while but we knew that going in. They have been very clear with us about the process and we are pleased with the service we have received. I read some of the other reviews. People either didn’t do what they were supposed to or they did understand what they were getting. Yes, waiting 4 months to get our first check meant that we had to dig into our saving. However, we have saved soooo much money with CHM in the long run. Insurance companies don’t like companies like CHM because they know it’s a real threat to their business. Don’t listen to the negative reviews. Inform yourself. Know what you are getting into and follow the steps they give you. It’s actually pretty simple and far less expensive than regular health insurance.

Christian Healthcare Ministries is awesome! The monthly cost is FAR less than what we would pay for a typical insurance company. I broke my collar bone last fall and we received our first check back recently. Yes it takes a while but we knew that g..
More
S
SHARI LAUDA
January 31, 2020 @ 19:25
1.0  

Never submitted a bill but tried to call near the end of January as I am approaching medicare age and wanted to know how that would work. The PHONES WERE DOWN? How can you run a healthcare business and not be answering your phone during open enrollment. When I joined 3 years ago, there were nothing but 5 star reviews online for CHM, now its only 3 stars. After a couple of negative yelp reviews (which are not even posted, I finally received a call. The woman said their phone system had too many calls and crashed (31k). I asked why they would not gear up and fix that prior to open enrollment. She was mostly rude and very condescending. I now see all the reviews of people waiting for payment or being told it’s not covered or months of processing reimbursements. I can not find a financial statement anywhere and the woman I spoke to said she would email me one but did not. I canceled my subscription today.

Never submitted a bill but tried to call near the end of January as I am approaching medicare age and wanted to know how that would work. The PHONES WERE DOWN? How can you run a healthcare business and not be answering your phone during open enroll..
More
V
Valerie Whitmer-Hammond
January 31, 2020 @ 00:51
5.0  

i joined CHM a couple of years ago and did not need to file a claim until last fall. I had two claims back to back, one surgery and an eER visit for a totally separate illness. Filing the forms was a bit daunting the first time. I agree with some of the comments that communication could be better so at one point I made a call to CHM to check my status and everything was just fine. I knew going into this that reimbursement would not come for 120 days so I paid what had to be paid at the time of services rendered on my Care Credit card which has interest free payments for several months up to years depending on the amount charged. My emergency rooms bills were placed on monthly payments plans of $30 and $40. Today, just a couple of days after the 120 days were up I received two checks for the full amount of my medical needs. I am feeling very blessed and very happy with CHM.

i joined CHM a couple of years ago and did not need to file a claim until last fall. I had two claims back to back, one surgery and an eER visit for a totally separate illness. Filing the forms was a bit daunting the first time. I agree with some of ..
More
G
Grant Kimber
January 28, 2020 @ 02:41
1.0  

I have been a member of CHM since January 1 of 2018. Set up my account so that they were paid automatically every month and never later. I am a Gold member and did not submit a bill to them for anything until July of 2019. My son had to have surgery on his stomach and the hospital wanted $4000.00 upfront before they would do the surgery, to make sure they would get paid. At the same time I had to have surgery on my neck for a Bulging disc. I waited for over three months working with the Hospital and CHM to get the operation preauthorized for payment. Meanwhile using all of my savings and credit card to continue paying for my sons operation while CHM worked on “processing” the bills. CHM called me and told me that they made arrangements with the hospital and doctors for my surgery. They agreed on a price and they would pay the day before the scheduled surgery on my neck. I had the surgery the end of September 2019. CHM paid for half of it and I am paying monthly payments while they “process” the rest of the bill. In December of 2018 we decided to go back to regular insurance even though it was more expensive because at least I would know what I had to pay. As it stands I am still paying monthly for my sons operation while they “process” the paperwork and I am making monthly payments on the rest of my surgery while the paperwork is being “processed”. So far I have been paid about 20% of what I have requested and submitted bills for. Even though I now have regular insurance I still have to pay CHM monthly for my boy and myself until all the bills are paid, or they will discontinue “processing” the paperwork and I will be out almost $7500.00. So far I am very unimpressed with the level of service and rate of repayment

I have been a member of CHM since January 1 of 2018. Set up my account so that they were paid automatically every month and never later. I am a Gold member and did not submit a bill to them for anything until July of 2019. My son had to have surge..
More
R
Ryan
January 20, 2020 @ 20:43
1.0  

Christian Healthcare Ministries was the BIGGEST financial mistake we’ve ever made! I read everything I could and did all of my research. They don’t tell you that it takes 4 MONTHS to get reimbursed. And that’s only if you follow the instructions to the letter. Basically, we had to use ALL of our emergency fund PLUS more to pay the medical bills. Now we have to wait 4 MONTHS to get our money back. DO NOT USE Christian Healthcare Ministries. You will go into DEBT!

Christian Healthcare Ministries was the BIGGEST financial mistake we’ve ever made! I read everything I could and did all of my research. They don’t tell you that it takes 4 MONTHS to get reimbursed. And that’s only if you follow the..
More
C
Charissa Tischhauser
January 13, 2020 @ 18:55
1.0  

I joined this service in March 2019. In December, I cancelled it. They verified the cancellation and gave me confirmation numbers. Told me the Jan 2020 payment would not be pulled from my bank account. It was. They refuse to refund me the $503.00 they have now stolen from my family. They refuse to listen to the recorded call. They keep saying that I didn’t give proper notice. They repeatedly refuse to listen to the call where I was told that it would not be taken from me. Beware! They say one thing and do another. No compassion or care. It was too good to be true.

I joined this service in March 2019. In December, I cancelled it. They verified the cancellation and gave me confirmation numbers. Told me the Jan 2020 payment would not be pulled from my bank account. It was. They refuse to refund me the $503.00 the..
More
W
William Nash
January 9, 2020 @ 13:02
1.0  

Poor customer service. Slow for reimbursements and just about impossible dis-enroll. .

h
healthshareu
December 17, 2019 @ 21:54
5.0  

We have been members of Chm for years and they have been such a blessing.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJHbvw2z_kY

K
Katie
November 13, 2019 @ 17:44
1.0  

Awful. I paid for the month of November and had a big mri done for my shoulder, and I needed to cancel in December to go on my husband’s work insurance. I paid $300 for my family to have services for the month of November and they wont cover ANYTHING because we have to leave in December. So what exactly did I pay for? Nothing! But dont worry they aren’t in the wrong because “it’s in their guidelines”. Such an awful company, and super unethical. They will just keep sucking you in because they are so behind on getting you reimbursed. Ridiculous. Definitely don’t seem Christian to me.

Awful. I paid for the month of November and had a big mri done for my shoulder, and I needed to cancel in December to go on my husband’s work insurance. I paid $300 for my family to have services for the month of November and they wont cover AN..
More
D
David S
November 13, 2019 @ 17:20
5.0  

We have been using CHM for over 13 years. We have had our 3 children using their maternity coverage. We have had a great experience using CHM and recommend their coverage to anyone seeking alternative health insurance.
https://www.christianhealthcareministries-review.com

We have been using CHM for over 13 years. We have had our 3 children using their maternity coverage. We have had a great experience using CHM and recommend their coverage to anyone seeking alternative health insurance. https://www.christianhealthcare..
More
K
Karen
November 12, 2019 @ 19:18
5.0  

CHM has saved us so much money. You have to know what you are getting into though. Money for claims are not sent to you for 4-4 1/2 months, so you have to work out a payment plan with your hospital or provider until you receive the funds from CHM. If you do have a surgery planned ahead of time, you can call and ask for approval to get the funds sooner (call in advance, not a couple of days before surgery). I had a very expensive bill that was going to go to collections prior to the 4 months, and CHM worked with me to get the payment a few weeks earlier. I’ve never had any trouble contacting them (I think their office is Eastern time so do take that in mind). Also, regular meds aren’t covered, only a discount plan is applied for meds unless the med is specifically related to a single incident (e.g. need pain pill for a broken shoulder). You just have to make sure you understand the nuances of the program, and if you do and follow them correctly, you can save thousands of dollars or more every year.

CHM has saved us so much money. You have to know what you are getting into though. Money for claims are not sent to you for 4-4 1/2 months, so you have to work out a payment plan with your hospital or provider until you receive the funds from CHM. If..
More
L
Lisa Lahr
July 1, 2019 @ 15:13
3.0  

I am a gold member, I had surgery. it was confusing what was eligible and alot of paperwork to send in. I waited 4 months to get paid. however they did not reimburse me any medications or equipment??? the time frame is way too long. there is no communication from the time you submit your Bill’s till you get a check, so you dont know what to think. I am pleased that the majority was paid. for price it’s worth it just wish they had a better turn around and could communicate where it’s at. I paid alot of interest on credit card waiting.

I am a gold member, I had surgery. it was confusing what was eligible and alot of paperwork to send in. I waited 4 months to get paid. however they did not reimburse me any medications or equipment??? the time frame is way too long. there is no co..
More
M
Mark
June 25, 2019 @ 19:59
1.0  

Horrible Company! Take your $ elsewhere. If you get traditional health insurance, they will cover nothing left outstanding from when you had coverage with them. They stop paying the day you end coverage. What is interesting it it took them MONTHS…I mean MONTHS to process any of our bills during the coverage period. All the while our bills went to collections left and right. Now….when we have traditional insurance…they state, it’s in our member policy we will not pay anything during your covered dates after your coverage. If CHM had paid on time to start, we would not be in this mess. They 100% practiced delay tactics. Excuses were given to us that they were understaffed. Now, we are literally left holding the bill. Do yourself a favor and avoid at all costs.

Horrible Company! Take your $ elsewhere. If you get traditional health insurance, they will cover nothing left outstanding from when you had coverage with them. They stop paying the day you end coverage. What is interesting it it took them MONTHSR..
More
I
Isabella
June 10, 2019 @ 20:27
4.0  

Christian Healthcare Ministries paid quite a hefty hospital bill after I had obtained a 30% discount. I am in awe and overwhelmed with gratitude and appreciation. I highly recommend their services. They are very polite and prompt in communication. You do have to read the Guidelines and make sure you follow the rules and the process described.

Thank you so much, Christian Healthcare Ministries!

Christian Healthcare Ministries paid quite a hefty hospital bill after I had obtained a 30% discount. I am in awe and overwhelmed with gratitude and appreciation. I highly recommend their services. They are very polite and prompt in communication. Yo..
More
T
Tricia Yarborough
June 7, 2019 @ 13:03
2.0  

My husband spent 3 days in the hospital, 2 in the neuro icu for a trauma induced intracranial hemorrhage. After 8 months, Christian Healthcare Ministries sent us a check for less than $400 to cover everything; that was it, even though we were enrolled in Brothers Keeper as well.
It’s a shame that consider themselves a Christian ministry, yet are so misleading.

My husband spent 3 days in the hospital, 2 in the neuro icu for a trauma induced intracranial hemorrhage. After 8 months, Christian Healthcare Ministries sent us a check for less than $400 to cover everything; that was it, even though we were enrolle..
More
A
Amanda nelson
April 22, 2019 @ 21:15
2.0  

I am so disappointed in chm. I am a planner and planned all my financial before becoming pregnant. I had other insurance that would cover my maternity costs except for part of my midwife fees. I looked into chm to cover that 1500.00 portion and began paying the monthly silver fee since it says it covers midwife fees. I just submitted my claim and it was denied because they don’t cover the facility fee for midwives. It does not state this anywhere in their guidelines. It says midwife fees are covered. This fee is directly from the midwife and they charge it for in home births as well as birthing center births. Such a waste of 4 years of paying the extra cost so my midwife fees would be covered. They are not up front about this policy and it is such a disappointment. I will not recommend them to anyone again.

I am so disappointed in chm. I am a planner and planned all my financial before becoming pregnant. I had other insurance that would cover my maternity costs except for part of my midwife fees. I looked into chm to cover that 1500.00 portion and began..
More
J
John Doe
February 5, 2019 @ 16:40
4.0  

Notified by health insurance carrier in summer 2013 that they were exiting this business due to Obamacare. Checked on other health insurance options and they were incredibly costly, much more than I could afford (and I make a very decent living). Did a lot of reading/analyzing on healthshare ministries. Started with CHM on 1/1/14.
Spouse had a minor injury from a fall in 2015. Bills were shared; process was a little confusing and reimbursement was in about 4-5 months.
Last year, spouse suffered a major heart attack…very significant expenses. Bills were shared; reimbursements about the same, in 4-5 months.
Some of my thoughts if you are considering Christian Healthshare Ministries (or similar organization)
*Much lower cost. For God’s sake, save the extra $ to pay your medical bills when you need care.
*If you have a concierge healthcare company available, consider joining there also. Even better, look for cash-friendly/self-pay friendly practices and switch to those, the more comprehensive the better (example..Surgery Center of Oklahoma or similar). Most medial practices/facilities are outright hostile (or at best, ambivalent) to self-pay persons.
*Becoming a self-pay person is a whole different ballgame. Expect to be treated terribly by most medical office staff. By this, I mean the care will be the same but the business office will absolutely gouge you on the cost. You must educate yourself on what the costs should be.
*Become a customer…shop around, ask questions, talk w/ business office before you go, talk w/ hospitals/facilities NOW before you have an emergency need, ask for better pricing then demand better pricing, never accept the price you are initially told, get past the person at the desk and speak with a decision-maker. Most medical business offices will treat a self-pay person as some sort of unknown alien being who speaks an entirely different language…be prepared for that. You have to remember that they don’t view you as the customer; their customer is the health insurance/government monstrosity. You’re just an unfortunate annoyance they have to deal with sometimes.
*To the extent you can, start setting aside as much cash as you can afford to pay medical bills. Every day bills are your responsibility; it is the unknown injury or illness the healthshare will help you with. YOU must be responsible, they are there to help you not do everything for you. When you get reimbursed, don’t spend it. Put it back in your medical account for the next time
Lots more I could say, but I will just make one more statement. I wish I had known about this healthshare ministry 20-30 years ago. I would have joined then and never dealt with the government-dominated health insurance industry. I would never consider buying regular health insurance again. In an odd, sort of backhanded way, I will say thanks to Obama for this.

Notified by health insurance carrier in summer 2013 that they were exiting this business due to Obamacare. Checked on other health insurance options and they were incredibly costly, much more than I could afford (and I make a very decent living). Did..
More
R
Ray Holtzclaw
January 17, 2019 @ 20:55
2.0  

This so called Ministry is a joke. My wife had surgery in 2018 and was denied all coverage and sharing because she had a Pre-existing condition from over 30 yrs ago. If you want a company to take your money every month in the name of a ministry then sign right up. If you need help with what they call pre-existing no matter how long ago it was then look elsewhere. This is the kind of stuff that causes a division with Christians. I don’t mind them saying it isn’t covered under their normal plan, but not to let their members elect to help with something that could have easily been covered is just wrong. If no one wanted to help out that is fine, but at least give them a chance to say No on their on.

This so called Ministry is a joke. My wife had surgery in 2018 and was denied all coverage and sharing because she had a Pre-existing condition from over 30 yrs ago. If you want a company to take your money every month in the name of a ministry then ..
More
a
ann marie mooney
January 14, 2019 @ 18:44
5.0  

We lost our obamacare subsidy when our young adult children found employment and obamacare looks at your household income. My premium went from $350 a month to $2000 a month so I had to start looking around. I purchased a short term policy from lifeshield/IBA/healthcare innovations/iquotes. I was lied to by the broker and mislead about pre existing conditions/policy terms/ and claims. Do not believe anything the iquotes broker tells you about the policy. The policy is useless. I did buy christian cost sharing as excess to cover any claim above $5000. CHM delivers unlike the short term carrier and its useless counterparts. It takes a little long to get reimbursed but they tell you that and they deal with you in good faith.

We lost our obamacare subsidy when our young adult children found employment and obamacare looks at your household income. My premium went from $350 a month to $2000 a month so I had to start looking around. I purchased a short term policy from lif..
More
J
Josh
January 3, 2019 @ 00:00
3.0  

The price for CHM is good, especially for what they cover. The Gold plan with brothers keeper is the best “bang for the buck”. However, there is nothing specifically stating what is covered.

Also, we have submitted claims for pregnancy and the turn around time is ridiculous. We submitted bills in June and are still waiting to be paid. This is the second pregnancy we have had covered by CHM. I would say the average turn around time for claim payment is about 6-9 months.

The price for CHM is good, especially for what they cover. The Gold plan with brothers keeper is the best “bang for the buck”. However, there is nothing specifically stating what is covered. Also, we have submitted claims for pregnancy and the ..
More
C
Corey
December 27, 2018 @ 20:43
4.0  

Amazing alternative to Heath Care!! I was on great Cigna insurance for several years but after leaving my job and becoming a stay at home mom we had to make some changes. My husband is self employed and we had few options. CHM is so much cheaper monthly and I am way more involved in my healthcare costs and decisions. We saved 1000s!! in real life. Our first baby cost more with my really good insurance that are recent one who was in the NICU for a week! We LOOOOVE them. Every time i call i get a real person or i get a call back from a real person within a day. They have tons of resources for members and i feel really supported. It takes time to get reimbursement, but every doctor, hospital, and lab I’ve worked with has payment plan options and ways to make it work for you. It takes some more work up front but you don’t go blindly into things as much. I feel like i have a lot more control with CHM. its worth learning about and i think worth switching.

Amazing alternative to Heath Care!! I was on great Cigna insurance for several years but after leaving my job and becoming a stay at home mom we had to make some changes. My husband is self employed and we had few options. CHM is so much cheaper mont..
More
J
Jonathan Hartzler
December 11, 2018 @ 01:56
2.0  

Been with CHM for 4 years. Have only needed to get in contact with them once before now. Both times it has been nearly impossible to actually talk to someone. They have not returned calls. I just tried an online chat as well. Seems that does not work either. I would not recommend.

Been with CHM for 4 years. Have only needed to get in contact with them once before now. Both times it has been nearly impossible to actually talk to someone. They have not returned calls. I just tried an online chat as well. Seems that does not wor..
More
N
Nicole Nolt
August 20, 2018 @ 20:29
1.0  

Dont go with this insurance company!!! They sent back the medical bills 3 months after they had received them only to tell us they wont cover because my husband is a tobacco user. The also call pregnancy a preexisting condition. My husband and I are Christians but we arent good enough to be covered by their plans.

Dont go with this insurance company!!! They sent back the medical bills 3 months after they had received them only to tell us they wont cover because my husband is a tobacco user. The also call pregnancy a preexisting condition. My husband and I are ..
More
B
Bill Harrison
November 10, 2017 @ 12:18
5.0  

I have just joined Christian Healthcare Ministries and haven’t filed a claim. My big name insurer phased out my policy after 15 years. I did not compare sharing programs; they all seemed to provide the same services. On recommendation of Dave Ramsey (CHM has a sponsorship with his show and events) I emailed and promptly received a wealth of information. I was able to sign up and they received my first month’s share right away, so I was able to cancel my other policy right then. I am in good health, so I just needed to satisfy my responsibility to my family and the new healthcare law, and this does both. I have a direct-pay physician, and with both the payment to the doctor and to CHM, I am saving $360 per month which goes toward the deductible or toward “Brother’s Keeper” contributions. Open enrollment notices are going out, and CHM advised me to “do nothing”. So far, the step-by-step process could not have been easier. One caveat: CHM emphasizes the Christian part. They delve deeply into the philosophy of sharing others’ costs from a Biblical standpoint. I did not compare with secular sharing plans, nor with those of other faiths.

I have just joined Christian Healthcare Ministries and haven’t filed a claim. My big name insurer phased out my policy after 15 years. I did not compare sharing programs; they all seemed to provide the same services. On recommendation of Dave R..
More
B
Brandon Hunnicutt
November 9, 2017 @ 21:01
4.0  

Overall our experience has been great. Been on it for about a year. We are in the process of dealing with our first major claim and still working through it. Luckily our hospital has dealt with CHM in the past and has had great interaction with them. We would definitely recommend them to others.

Overall our experience has been great. Been on it for about a year. We are in the process of dealing with our first major claim and still working through it. Luckily our hospital has dealt with CHM in the past and has had great interaction with th..
More