Samaritan Ministries Review
Moderate
Visit Samaritan Ministries's website

Healthsharing Reviews is not affiliated in any way with Samaritan Ministries and Healthsharing Reviews does not endorse any products or services offered by Samaritan Ministries nor is Healthsharing Reviews sponsored in any way by Samaritan Ministries.

Samaritan Ministries Review

 

We recently had a long talk with someone who has been a member of Samaritan Ministries for a couple years now. They requested to remain anonymous, but we were able to gather a lot of useful information and put it together in the following review.

 

 

Read reviews on other healthshares

Zion Health
4.8
OneShare Health
3.4
Samaritan Ministries
3.6
Altrua HealthShare
2.8
Christian Healthcare Ministries
2.7
Solidarity Healthshare
2.1
Christian Care Ministries / Medi-Share
1.9
Liberty Healthshare
1.5
Share Healthcare
5

Samaritan Ministries Review

Samaritan Ministries is pretty similar to all the other HealthShares as far as how it works. But we must say, we were very surprised at how religiously centered it was compared to ministries like Liberty HealthShare.

According to their website, they currently have over 80,000 member households which totals to more than 250,000 actual members. These members share about $26 million each month towards each other’s medical costs. Twenty-six million dollars a month seems to be plenty of funding.

How Samaritan Ministries Works

Samaritan Ministries is a bit different from some other HealthShares in the sense that members send their money directly to their fellow members. With other ministries, say Liberty HealthShare for example, you would normally contribute a monthly share and then the HealthShare disperses your money to whoever needs it. But with Samaritan, you will actually send your money to the people that need it.

However, one month each year, you are expected to send in your monthly share to the ministry to cover administrative costs. Other than that, you get to keep your money in your pocket! Well, kind of. You keep your money in an account dedicated to sending funds to members who Samaritan has assigned to you. But still, pretty cool!

Samaritan Ministries Programs

Before getting into the monthly contribution prices, Samaritan Ministries charges a $200 start-up administrative fee. You must pay this even if you are re-joining the ministry.

It’s also important to note that Samaritan has an  of $400 or $1500—depending on your plan level. So, if you were to get a medical bill for less than the unshared amount, it would not be shared with other members. Anything over your unshared, but less than Samaritan’s per need sharing limit ($236,500–$250,000), would be shared with the member community.

Membership households are broken down into 4 different categories: one person, two-person family, three-to-seven person family, eight or more persons family, and widowed or divorced with children. Your household category will, of course, vary depending on the level of program you choose.

Your monthly contribution will depend on your household type, your chosen plan, and possibly your age—or the age of the oldest member of your family. Monthly contributions range anywhere from $100 for a spry, single youngster to $600 for a large family of eight with parents over the ripe old age of 56.

After the standard monthly contribution, there is also a “Save to Share™” program you can join. According to Samaritan “The Save to Share™” amount is an annual amount that participating members agree to set aside each year in the event that it’s needed for a catastrophic event. That amount never exceeds $399 annually for any household size. So, it’s safe to assume that if you are a Samaritan Classic or Basic member and you are not in the “Save to Share™” program you might be out of luck if your bills exceed the set sharing limit. This definitely doesn’t stack up well with other HealthShare plans.

It’s important to point out that the Samaritan Given plan, which currently is in an initial rollout stage and is not accepting new members, does not have sharing limits on eligible needs. In Samaritan Given members pay a monthly contribution and a percentage of all medical bills up to an annual maximum amount. Once the member reaches that annual max, the Samaritan community shares eligible expenses at 100%. Not too shabby.

A Members Perspective

Overall, the member that we interviewed let us know that their “family has been very happy with Samaritan. They’ve been of great help through multiple needs.” The member really enjoys the lower end unshared amount of $400, the fact that you can see any doctor, and that you don’t need to worry about networks like you would with insurance.

Some downsides the member mentioned are that routine visits can be pretty costly since they normally cost less than the unshared amount.

According to our source, members are not allowed to smoke, and they have a lot of “restrictions on pre-existing conditions.”

Religious Responsibilities

Samaritan requires that you attend church regularly and even have your church leader sign off on it. The church can be any Christian denomination (with a few exceptions). So, if you attend church regularly anyways, it shouldn’t be that big of a deal.

One Member’s Opinion of Samaritan Ministries

The member we interviewed commented, “for anyone who’s a Christian, I think Samaritan is hands down the way to go.”

The company also seems to have a lot of transparency. The fact that you get to control your money lets you know that your money isn’t being used somewhere it shouldn’t. The members, not the board, get to vote on increases or decreases in the monthly contribution which is pretty cool.

Though it’s more expensive than some other HealthShares, it does seem like an excellent option for anyone who attends church regularly.

 

Healthsaring reviews

Leave a review!

Are you a member of Samaritan Ministries? Please leave a review below so others can get a better sense of what it’s like to be a part of a Samaritan Ministries!

If you have any questions about Samaritan Ministries, contact us or hit us up on Twitter or Facebook!

Visit Samaritan Ministries's website

Overall review score

3.6
32 reviews

Leave Your Review

  • Review Score
    0.0

Reviews

L
L S
November 18, 2021 @ 15:44
5.0  

I’ve had several great experiences with Samaritan Ministries over the last few years, and am so thankful that I switched to them. They’re very pleasant to deal with.

T
Taylor Stockwell
September 23, 2021 @ 12:18
1.0  

We loved being on the Samaritan Ministries plan. Unfortunately, they had a change in board membership which included new individuals that did not like our Church and several others. As a result, in 2019, they changed their Statement of Faith in a way to exclude several Christian churches that aren’t part of what is considered mainstream United States christianity.

When I queried their support team, I received a response that included assertions about our Church doctrine that were patently untrue, but served as the basis for their decision to exclude us from their plan. Overall, the experience was disappointing and a clear example of religious bigotry. Even if they changed their Statement of Faith to allow us in again, I would never do business with this organization again.

We loved being on the Samaritan Ministries plan. Unfortunately, they had a change in board membership which included new individuals that did not like our Church and several others. As a result, in 2019, they changed their Statement of Faith in a way..
More
S
Seth
August 4, 2021 @ 07:08
2.0  

We paid them for many years and didn’t cost very much. We submitted very few claims, then out of the blue they said our church didn’t qualify because we weren’t Christian. So apparently they discriminate against churches.

B
Becky Deltenre
March 4, 2021 @ 22:38
5.0  

We love Samaritan Ministries Health Sharing Program.
We have been in the program for 7 or 8 years but had never used it before this past year. It was a such a blessing to be able to turn everything in on line and have everything outside of the initial $300 spent covered by fellow Christians. The cards and notes of encouragement that came in with the payments were so thoughtful and kind. We encourage people to take a look at this program. It has given us peace of mind and security.

We love Samaritan Ministries Health Sharing Program. We have been in the program for 7 or 8 years but had never used it before this past year. It was a such a blessing to be able to turn everything in on line and have everything outside of the initi..
More
M
Marianne
October 9, 2020 @ 15:19
1.0  

My parents are with Samaritan Ministries. My dad recently had a series of medical procedures to make sure he was in good health (after recovering from COVID-19). They paid up front somewhere close to $5,500, and they are getting NOTHING back from SM. The reason? SM conveniently decided to break up the visit into 4 procedures and told him he had a $1,500 deductible for each one. Two of the “separate procedures” were done in one surgery – endoscopy and colonoscopy. I’m very disappointed with these unfair practices from Samaritan Ministries. I don’t think that’s how the Good Samaritan in the Bible would have treated the injured man.

My parents are with Samaritan Ministries. My dad recently had a series of medical procedures to make sure he was in good health (after recovering from COVID-19). They paid up front somewhere close to $5,500, and they are getting NOTHING back from SM...
More
M
Matthew Taylor
October 8, 2020 @ 01:27
1.0  

I had been enrolled for the Basic plan when we found out we were pregnant with our second child. 6 months later we called and decided to upgrade to the Classic plan in order to have better coverage being that our family was growing. We talked to the representative and she said nothing about it cancelling our ability to share the need of our child’s birth. No transparency or interests in informing us of the details. I later talked to a supervisor named Erin and she denied that they had any responsibility of informing us of this info upon upgrading our plan. Very disappointed in this company’s lack of concern for their clients and failure to take responsibility for lack of transparency. Now we are looking at a $5,500 bill that would haive originally been shared by Samaritan.

I had been enrolled for the Basic plan when we found out we were pregnant with our second child. 6 months later we called and decided to upgrade to the Classic plan in order to have better coverage being that our family was growing. We talked to the..
More
J
Jason Taylor
September 12, 2020 @ 02:28
5.0  

Before my family of six joined Samaritan in August of 2017, we had to pay a penalty on our income tax for the two previous years for not having health insurance. The price quotes we had received for insurance were astronomical from the private sector and the health care marketplace. Some were as high as $1,500/mo with a $5,000 deductible for catastrophic insurance. I recall hearing advertisements on a local Christian radio station for one of Samaritan’s competitors. At that time, I started researching the major Christian Health-sharing organizations. What I liked about Samaritan is that we still pay other families directly, not through a central hub, like the others. I also like praying for other families and sending them notes of encouragement. I’ve had to submit two or three needs since becoming a member and other families stepped up to the plate and reimbursed me for all medical expenses (minus $300, my initial unsharable amount). Recently, I was reminded that I made the right choice by choosing Samaritan when I received the following notification from them: “As COVID-19 began disrupting our health care system, economy, and lives, we extended the time allowed for negotiations on Needs and the total amount in negotiation rose to $15 million. Even though we would normally have prorated in Classic during March, April, May, and June, we directed $1.5 million IN ADMINISTRATIVE FUNDS toward Needs and only prorated in May.” This is a Godly company who sacrifices their own admin funds for the benefit of those they serve. Can you imagine any insurance agency doing something like that? Perhaps on a cold day in heck! If you’re a Christian who’s considering health sharing, you’re making a wise move. If you’re considering Samaritan, in my opinion you won’t find a better group of people. I give them my highest recommendation.

Before my family of six joined Samaritan in August of 2017, we had to pay a penalty on our income tax for the two previous years for not having health insurance. The price quotes we had received for insurance were astronomical from the private sector..
More
J
Jaye
July 17, 2020 @ 05:40
5.0  

We are very happy with Samaritan Ministries. 3 surgeries all paid without incident One amazing benefit is their sponsorship program. We were unable to pay our monthly share due to job loss. We were able to stay with Samaritan as they reduced our monthly share for 6 months (option for longer if needed). Who does that? It actually happened twice in 8 years. I love that I speak with a real rep if i need any help. Submitting bills is very easy via computer scanning. Dashboard use on computer is also well organized and offers many helpful features as well as those you use to navigate the program. Read guidelines to see if it’s a good fit for your family. If so, a great way to go

We are very happy with Samaritan Ministries. 3 surgeries all paid without incident One amazing benefit is their sponsorship program. We were unable to pay our monthly share due to job loss. We were able to stay with Samaritan as they reduced our mon..
More
J
J. Millirons
July 16, 2020 @ 13:45
5.0  

With pleasure I review this wonderful healthshare ministry. We’ve been with Samaritan for 7 years and have been very happy. When my husband lost his job Samaritan has a sponsorship program that allowed us to have a reduced rate we could afford for 6 months! Who does that? It actually happened twice and both times the reduced rate allowed us to keep healthcare. We have had 3 surgeries and every cent was paid. They’re dashboard makes submitting bill’s very easy as well as navigating other issues. Recently, (7/2020) they are asking members to vote on new pricing and other changes. Even if we do increase our monthly shares, it’s very competitive with other sharing plans. Delve into their guidelines and read carefully to see if this is a good fit. Their cust reps are very sweet and knowledgeable; we always get a real person. Love Samaritan!

With pleasure I review this wonderful healthshare ministry. We’ve been with Samaritan for 7 years and have been very happy. When my husband lost his job Samaritan has a sponsorship program that allowed us to have a reduced rate we could afford..
More
B
Bill
May 8, 2020 @ 14:29
3.0  

I was a previous member of Liberty Medishare and was always worried about bills they were negotiating for months at a time ,not paying for up to a year ,with some getting to the point of collection ,especially with some providers like Providence ,who don’t really care to work with Medishare companies.

I was a previous member of Liberty Medishare and was always worried about bills they were negotiating for months at a time ,not paying for up to a year ,with some getting to the point of collection ,especially with some providers like Providence ,who..
More
M
Micah Lyle
April 26, 2020 @ 15:05
5.0  

I’ve been with Samaritan Ministries for over a year now. Halfway through that year, I ended up with an unusual injury that took a long time to diagnose properly. I had to get an x-ray, two MRIs, and have a number of doctor’s visits and physical therapy sessions on the road to recovery. Over six months later and I am thriving, and Samaritan Ministries made it very straightforward to submit all my itemized bills. One time, I didn’t do things the way they usually like them done, so there was a message on my bills that I needed to make some changes. I contacted customer support via their messaging platform and the gal was super kind and just manually fixed/merged “duplicate” bills (that could’ve been together) for me. Like, I didn’t even have to do anything. It’s also super encouraging to get checks and/or deposits with really sweet notes of people praying for your healing!

Very highly recommend Samaritan ministries!

I’ve been with Samaritan Ministries for over a year now. Halfway through that year, I ended up with an unusual injury that took a long time to diagnose properly. I had to get an x-ray, two MRIs, and have a number of doctor’s visits and ph..
More
R
Rod & Rebecca L
March 20, 2020 @ 03:27
1.0  

Attempted to join Samaritan Ministries but their statement of faith effectively bars anyone who is a member of the Church of Scientology, Unitarian Church Jehovah’s Witness, and Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. My wife and I are faithful members of one of the above faiths. We had a discussion with a rep (Rafael) and he said our beliefs are not in compliance with Samaritan Ministries. Our weekly “church attendance” did not qualify for their “church attendance” requirements. Rafael said our Jesus is different from Samaritan Ministries “Jesus.” Misleading and discriminatory in our opinion. We will happily look elsewhere.

Attempted to join Samaritan Ministries but their statement of faith effectively bars anyone who is a member of the Church of Scientology, Unitarian Church Jehovah’s Witness, and Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. My wife and I are ..
More
J
Jan Stoch
March 7, 2020 @ 04:50
5.0  

We’ve been with Samaritan for apporx a year and a half now, and we’ve been happy so far. One pregnancy, some minor bills were paid with no issues. Most hospital bills are difficult to decipher, which makes it almost impossible to get it right the first time so You’ll have to be patient. Some of the bills will have to be paid upon visit, or short time after, which might be an issue for some families living paycheck to paycheck. This system is designed for families that are stable financially. I guess a credit card can be used to cover some of the initial costs if You can’t cover them, however I would not recommend it, simply because it may take 1-2 months before bills are covered by Samaritan. As I’ve said, this is a really nice system, that has potential to save a lot, if You’re willing to live responsibly.

We’ve been with Samaritan for apporx a year and a half now, and we’ve been happy so far. One pregnancy, some minor bills were paid with no issues. Most hospital bills are difficult to decipher, which makes it almost impossible to get..
More
L
Lisa Currin
January 20, 2020 @ 18:48
5.0  

I have been a member for 2-1/2 years. Members need to be assertive, willing to ask for cash payment discounts, and even shop around, but I think that is a good thing. I recently saved $500 on pre-operative testing by not going to the recommended laboratory. Oh, and the price going to an insurance company would have been $1200.
As for preventative care, just because Samaritan doesn’t cover this doesn’t mean it isn’t encouraged. If you consider the low monthly cost of Samaritan, an $80 (cash pay) mammogram, once a year, is almost nothing. Once a year routine blood work was less than $250. Bone density scan at cash
pay price was $60. And I live in California! I have never been treated differently for asking for a cash discount, or felt slighted in any way. I am an active partner in my health care versus massive bills going to an insurance company.

I have been a member for 2-1/2 years. Members need to be assertive, willing to ask for cash payment discounts, and even shop around, but I think that is a good thing. I recently saved $500 on pre-operative testing by not going to the recommended labo..
More
M
Mike Sechler
January 3, 2020 @ 19:59
4.0  

We have been with Samaritan Ministries for 4 years now, and have only had one share, but it was a big one just a few months after joining. My son broke his thumb and needed surgery. We were able to negotiate a much lower cash prices and so the costs were completely shared back with us (over $9000). If you can negotiate for lower prices (cash vs listed price) the $400 amount that is not shared will be lessened or taken off completely if you have saved that amount. The shares were reimbursed fairly quickly after we entered them.

We like the communication and participation as well. We do feel like we are part of the organization rather than just a customer of a company.

The one downside is not really a problem with Samaritan, but rather with the healthcare system in general. We try to price shop and Samaritan is trying to help, but many places are just not set up for cash-pay customers.

A final note of caution. The requirements are pretty steep and a pre-existing condition of asthma for my wife is not covered. We have 4 kids and do end up spending money on several visits that fall under their spending limits. We are still saving lots of money over comparable health insurance.

We have been with Samaritan Ministries for 4 years now, and have only had one share, but it was a big one just a few months after joining. My son broke his thumb and needed surgery. We were able to negotiate a much lower cash prices and so the costs ..
More
R
Ronald Czarnecki
December 18, 2019 @ 23:43
2.0  

I found the program difficult to file needs and dangerous without preventive care. It seems everything claim was a prior or routine even though a normal office visit would not handle the exam. Colonoscopies are only covered if you are bleeding which means you already have cancer.

Yearly check ups and the testing that goes with it are not covered. Even office visits when you are hurting but the doctor can not do a diagnosis are not covered. Therefore members tend not to go to the doctor and when they do have a need the condition would be far worse then what could have been handled if normal office visits were in the program. Services not covered were rectum exam and diagnostic colonoscopy with biopsy.

I found the program difficult to file needs and dangerous without preventive care. It seems everything claim was a prior or routine even though a normal office visit would not handle the exam. Colonoscopies are only covered if you are bleeding which ..
More
J
Jamison Faught
December 7, 2019 @ 23:26
5.0  

We can’t say enough about how amazing Samaritan Ministries has been for our family (two adults, and now two children). Here are some numbers from our experience with Samaritan Ministries since 2012:

4: total submitted medical needs
$105,000: total of medical bills
$50,500: self-pay discounts
$54,500: final post-discount bills
89%: largest percentage discount on any single bill ($830 discounted from bill)
$31,000: largest dollar amount discount on any single bill (70% of the full bill)
48.1%: total percentage of discounts received
141: families who have shared our bills
30+: states we received shares from
$0: our net out-of-pocket cost on submitted medical needs

We can’t say enough about how amazing Samaritan Ministries has been for our family (two adults, and now two children). Here are some numbers from our experience with Samaritan Ministries since 2012: 4: total submitted medical needs $105,000: to..
More
C
Carrie
October 13, 2019 @ 03:48
5.0  

We’ve been a member of Samaritan for over 5 years. It’s nice to be able to send money directly to someone with a medical need. Customer service prays with you! We’ve had 3 needs that were all filled in a timely manner. The process of turning in bills is ridiculously easy compared to dealing with insurance companies. We did have a little disappointment over a Special Prayer Need but not a big deal. We are also members of Save to Share. It’s nice to know believers are together, really supporting one another. Great job, Samaritan!!!

We’ve been a member of Samaritan for over 5 years. It’s nice to be able to send money directly to someone with a medical need. Customer service prays with you! We’ve had 3 needs that were all filled in a timely manner. The proce..
More
U
Unbigoted
September 19, 2019 @ 01:09
1.0  
Seems like a rather bigoted organization https://www.ksl.com/article/46640296/christian-health-care-organization-asks-latter-day-saints-to-rethink-their-beliefs-or-leave ..
More
E
Esther Bradley
August 12, 2019 @ 23:19
5.0  

I have been a member for over 20 years. Yes, when they were first getting started! It has been wonderful! We have had more than our fair share of claims. They have always responded with kindness. When I was in the hospital and the outcome was questionable, they took the time to pray and encourage my husband. It may take 2or3 months to get your money but that is a small price to pay for how much you save. It is a Christian organization and therefore has Biblical standards, which I appreciate. I can’t say enough positive things about it.

I have been a member for over 20 years. Yes, when they were first getting started! It has been wonderful! We have had more than our fair share of claims. They have always responded with kindness. When I was in the hospital and the outcome was ques..
More
G
Grant Ward
June 18, 2019 @ 18:46
2.0  

I have been a member of Samaritan Ministries for 7 years. I have shared over $42,000 of needs with other Christians. Thank you Lord that I have been able to be a blessing to my brothers and sisters. Over the 7 years my family of 6 has had needs of less than $5000. Last winter my youngest daughter contracted strep throat 5 times. She has large tonsils and her Pediatrician recommended that she have her tonsils removed. To my shock, when I contacted Samaritans to set this up, I was told that I first had to beg family members and my church for the money first or pay for it myself. Wait, wha?!? I have contributed a lot of money into this system! I have a bad taste in my mouth to say the least.

After contemplation:
1. Why would someone who has been a faithful contributor be treated so poorly?
2. Is there corruption in their system? Are there people scamming their system causing the people who do the right
thing to be punished by Samaritans?
3. IMO a LOW PREMIUM with a $2000 deductible HSA is a better route than Samaritans but at this point in time, it
doesn’t exist.
4. If you are healthy, finding a way to self insure is a better way.

I have been a member of Samaritan Ministries for 7 years. I have shared over $42,000 of needs with other Christians. Thank you Lord that I have been able to be a blessing to my brothers and sisters. Over the 7 years my family of 6 has had needs of..
More
C
Charlotte Ennis
April 2, 2019 @ 19:34
5.0  

We have been members of Samaritan for over 3 years. We save about $1,000 each month over Obamacare. We have had a couple of minor needs covered, and one major need. My child wound up in the hospital with a bill totaling over $9500. We were able to get discounts that brought the bill down to about $8,000. Every penny was covered by Samaritan. Because our discounts exceeded $300, the $300 deductible was waived too. Best of all, I was able to tell the doctors to do whatever they deemed medically necessary, because they were not constrained by what insurance would or wouldn’t cover. My child got wonderful care and recovered completely. One doctor remarked to me that it was “wonderful to practice medicine without worrying about an insurance company.” Samaritan staff were patient and kind as I submitted the bills. We love Samaritan.

We have been members of Samaritan for over 3 years. We save about $1,000 each month over Obamacare. We have had a couple of minor needs covered, and one major need. My child wound up in the hospital with a bill totaling over $9500. We were able to ge..
More
S
Scott Lemieux
March 27, 2019 @ 22:15
4.0  

YOU ARE NOT ALONE – A great match for middle income families.
High monthly premium s and paying a huge bill over time for the birth of our third child made us sour on traditional 80/20 coverage. We obtained Samaritan, a great solution. 10 years, several $50,000 medical events and a load of regular family medical needs later, we are happy with Samaritan. Great transparency. Yes, you will save enormously monthly over traditional insurance. Bank the savings! Yes the twisted ankle, ear infection and routine items will cost you the first visit out of pocket amount. Need mental health benefits, go elsewhere. That’s why you saved. Know that you will have paper work. Know that the rules are there to secure the plan. They make sense. This is a take charge, prayerful program, really more of a community. Overall, excellent. A big advantage is the “need” approval for the ankle, stays open at full reimbursement over time. Share to save is a super.

YOU ARE NOT ALONE – A great match for middle income families. High monthly premium s and paying a huge bill over time for the birth of our third child made us sour on traditional 80/20 coverage. We obtained Samaritan, a great solution. 10 ye..
More
D
Danielle G.
February 11, 2019 @ 22:17
5.0  

My family has been a part of Samaritan for over 5 years now. We have had several needs since then, from childbirth to shoulder pain. Most of our needs have been covered, although a couple have not. All in all, though, Samaritan beats Obamacare soundly. Considering cost alone (in monthly shares, Save to Share, and what we have paid out of pocket for unshareable needs), Samaritan was less expensive by far for us. The added benefit of sending shares directly to others and receiving kindhearted notes with needs checks is something we could never expect from traditional insurance.

My family has been a part of Samaritan for over 5 years now. We have had several needs since then, from childbirth to shoulder pain. Most of our needs have been covered, although a couple have not. All in all, though, Samaritan beats Obamacare sou..
More
M
Mark Fitz
January 9, 2019 @ 21:04
5.0  

Our family started this a few years ago when the Affordable Care Act priced us out of the insurance market. Our rates for a family of three through ACA was over $2K per month with a $13K deductible. Our coverage at SMI was about $530/month (with save to share option) and a $300 ‘deductible’. In the first year of membership my wife got a herniated disc. I was concerned that they would find a reason to not share but that was not the case at all. The doctor said we should have surgery but was concerned that the insurance company would require us go through drug and physical therapy first. When the doctor/hospital realized we were going to pay within 30 days of service, we moved to the front of the line for surgery that week and an incredible 75% discount on the hospital expense. The list price for everything was about 90K but the discounts brought it down to $26K with all but $300 being paid by fellow members of SMI. Wow, we were truly blessed. If still under ACA not only would we be paying $18K more annually in insurance premiums, we would have also been out of pocket $13K for the deductible. I can’t say enough about this program. There is also very much a faith based aspect that helps put health care in perspective.

Our family started this a few years ago when the Affordable Care Act priced us out of the insurance market. Our rates for a family of three through ACA was over $2K per month with a $13K deductible. Our coverage at SMI was about $530/month (with sa..
More
C
Crystall
December 26, 2018 @ 03:39
3.0  

I’ve been using Samaritan Ministries for almost two years. I’ve only ever needed to file a claim once and that went fairly smoothly. No complaints at that time. It took 2-3 months from my hospital date to get funds in. It took the hospital a month to send the bills. A month for SMI to get my need posted/shared. Another month to start getting funds to pay the bills. It went easily enough. And the customer service at the time was great.

However, there are some observations that make me question my membership.

I was originally referred to them through some friends from church. In the 18-24 months I’ve been with them they’ve made enough significant changes for me to consider leaving. As a married woman’s child-bearing age who pays as an individual (my husband gets fantastic insurance for himself and has pre-existing medical conditions that Samaritan ministries would never cover), I was greatly bothered when they changed their pregnancy policy within 6 months of my signup and then implemented those changes a few months later (apparently after people complained). I specifically called them when I signed up to make sure I’d be covered if I got pregnant. Six months later, they changed they’re policy. Now, you pay the monthly “pregnancy” fee, which is equivalent to paying for a couple, orneed to sign up your spouse (in my case this is useless because he wouldn’t be able to use the service) When I called to ask them about this, I got a curt explanation as to how pregnancy was a costly expense. Not terribly helpful and it felt like they were making decisions about pregnancies the same way health insurance companies do. It felt like being penalized for getting pregnant. Yes, pregnancy is expensive, which is why insurance companies don’t like to cover it either. I may be a rare case, because I have friends that are enrolled as a family and have had all five of their kids with SM, they love it, but the cost works in their favor.
Also, please note their policy on high-risk pregnancies or if you have any risk factors for one. Please read the guidelines carefully and DEFINITELY call before you sign up. Think ectopic pregnancies and complications associated with those risks, and what they will or will not medically allow with regards to the life of the mother. Be informed.

Second, adoption. If this is a prospect for you and your family, please contact them and ask them about what they will or will not cover with regards to adopted children and medical needs. To my knowledge, adopted children that had “pre-existing” conditions (whether you find out before or after you bring them home) will not have those needs covered (I had a question about adopting a child with special needs).

They’re clear that this service is not for everyone, and truly it’s not. They also aren’t insurance, so don’t expect there to be any guarantees of a need share being approved. It may not. If you’re healthy and need very little medical care, it’s probably great. If you have any kind of health needs going in, it’s pre-existing and likely uncovered. Yeah, there’s “special prayer needs” but there’s no guarantee of help.

It’s affordable compared to most health insurance options on the market, and if you live on “the bubble” the price makes sense if you don’t need a lot of care. It is nice to send and reveive prayer cards With your shares.

I’ve been using Samaritan Ministries for almost two years. I’ve only ever needed to file a claim once and that went fairly smoothly. No complaints at that time. It took 2-3 months from my hospital date to get funds in. It took the hospital a mont..
More
J
Jamison
December 12, 2018 @ 06:02
5.0  

My wife and I have been members of Samaritan for six years now and have nothing but praise for how the ministry works. We have had three medical needs during our time with Samaritan – two pregnancies/births, and one emergency appendectomy. All told, about $98,000 in bills that were discounted or negotiated down to $54,000 — and every penny was covered by Samaritan. Other than our monthly shares, we ultimately didn’t pay a dime of those bills.

I’ve written extensively on our experience, going into much greater detail here: http://www.muskogeepolitico.com/p/samaritan-ministries.html

Samaritan has been a wonderful experience for my family, and I can’t recommend it enough.

My wife and I have been members of Samaritan for six years now and have nothing but praise for how the ministry works. We have had three medical needs during our time with Samaritan – two pregnancies/births, and one emergency appendectomy. All ..
More
S
Sharon Mathes
December 4, 2018 @ 02:27
5.0  

We joined 3 years ago and it was the best decision we ever made. We have had 3 “needs” or claims. I small and two for orthopedic surgeries for our children. All paid! If you read the guidelines carefully and do your research there shouldn’t be any suprises. Previously we had normal high deductible medical insurance. After having claims denied, claims paid wrong, delays in payment, hours on the phone, never getting the same person twice with traditional insurance, we found Samaritan MInistries to be a breath of fresh air!

We joined 3 years ago and it was the best decision we ever made. We have had 3 “needs” or claims. I small and two for orthopedic surgeries for our children. All paid! If you read the guidelines carefully and do your research there sho..
More
C
Caleb Shamp.
November 13, 2018 @ 20:59
1.0  

I joined almost a year ago. Worst decision I ever made. They find every reason not to cover you but have no problem taking your money. Unethical. To top it off, Marchello (customer service), belittles you, talks over you and makes unfounded accusations. They treated me like crap. Don’t go to them.

I joined almost a year ago. Worst decision I ever made. They find every reason not to cover you but have no problem taking your money. Unethical. To top it off, Marchello (customer service), belittles you, talks over you and makes unfounded accu..
More
Z
Zachary Schwartz
November 1, 2018 @ 06:03
2.0  

Price is not bad, with a per incident low out of pocket cost it’s easy to get to the point where you start getting reimbursed, however their new basic plan, I almost never get to. Sometimes I don’t know what I’m paying for, feels like nothing.

Transparency, haha, Within one month of having this plan they informed me of all these hidden rules. When I told them it was not in the guidelines what they were asking me to do (have doctors fill out “proof” forms) they said, “it would be impractical to make the guidelines as detailed as you are asking for.” I suppose they make their customers have all the transparency, by share your medical issues with everyone who is supposed to send you money.

Submitting claims: I guess it’s easy to snap a photo of your bill. But the form you must fill out is ridiculous. Names, addresses, comments and You must rate the providers, all required fields before you can submit the bill. Even though the bill must show an address, they require you type it in.

Reimbursement time; they say 2-3 months and that is when everything goes smoothly. I had a bill get flagged and they required I take a form back to my doctor to get signed for “proof.” It took 5 months to get money. When I complained and asked them were this is in the guidelines that I have to do this they said, “rain is inconvenient, but we just have to deal with it.”

Incredibly rude people to be called a “ministry”

Avoid at all cost

Price is not bad, with a per incident low out of pocket cost it’s easy to get to the point where you start getting reimbursed, however their new basic plan, I almost never get to. Sometimes I don’t know what I’m paying for, feels like nothing..
More
c
christine
October 19, 2018 @ 00:00
5.0  

Our family of 7 joined in 2010, and never looked back. I am an insurance analyst. The owners of the agency I worked for looked over a SMI packet one weekend. The following Monday, both called it ‘genius.’ We’ve had over a dozen ‘events’ (claims), a couple running into tens of thousands of dollars. We have had nothing but help from SMI. We have never paid a co-pay, co-insurance, an out of network deductible or an in network deductible. Because cash is king, and we are offered deep discounts by our doctors who we choose without need of a referral, it just WORKS. Group members are motivated to seek discounts, because those are applied to our first $300 responsibility (which we have never had to pay, thanks to discounts!) Which keeps costs low for our entire community, and our doctors happy – because they can treat us any way they see fit, without carrier involvement and coding. My only regret is joining AFTER paying out of pocket for the privilege of home birthing 4 of our children, not covered by insurance. Because it’s fully covered with SMI. Join while you are healthy. Like traditional (affordable) insurance, cost shares are based on younger members paying their share, because their needs will be fully met when they arise, too. (Don’t wait to smell smoke to buy fire insurance, either.)

Our family of 7 joined in 2010, and never looked back. I am an insurance analyst. The owners of the agency I worked for looked over a SMI packet one weekend. The following Monday, both called it ‘genius.’ We’ve had over a dozen R..
More
R
Rebecca
November 9, 2017 @ 00:34
4.0  

First, although your website required I evaluate Samaritan Ministries via the stars, I will not start my membership until 12/1/2017, so my review lacks personal experience. However, my own extensive research on sharing ministries in general and Samaritan Ministries in particular, as part of making my decision whether to join, provided the information for my Comment as follows: I’m afraid your understanding of the Save-to-Share funding process is in error, leading to your significant overstatement of a member’s monthly cost. If you’ll double-check their website, you’ll see that the Save-to-Share is not $133/month. It is $133/YEAR. You send your monthly share of (for an individual) $220 per month to the member whose need is being shared. And upon occasion, not every month, Samaritan Ministries will ask you to send a portion of the $133 which you will have set aside once for the year, to help cover someone’s large expense. If they “use up” all your $133, they won’t ask for more from you for the Save-to-Share needs until the next year, when you will set aside another $133. The members may vote to increase this $133 annual amount, just as they may vote to increase the monthly amount (e.g. the individual’s $220.). Samaritan Ministries will also REDUCE the monthly cost if there have been insufficient needs over a period of time to require that full cost. I hope this helps.

First, although your website required I evaluate Samaritan Ministries via the stars, I will not start my membership until 12/1/2017, so my review lacks personal experience. However, my own extensive research on sharing ministries in general and Samar..
More