fbpx
Liberty Healthshare Review
Moderate

Liberty Healthshare Review

 

Below, is a Liberty Healthshare review that I am able to write from personal experience. I have been with Liberty Healthshare for around 2 years now and have loved every minute of it. Like most people first learning about healthsharing ministries, I was also very skeptical at first. But here has been my experience.

*Besides being a member, I am in no way associated with Liberty Healthshare. This is just my personal review of my experience with them.

Liberty Healthshare Review

Pricing

The pricing for Liberty Healthshare is pretty upfront. They offer several options that are catered to individuals, couples, and families. These options are broken down into Liberty Share, Liberty Plus, and Liberty Complete. Keep in mind, all of the pricing options you see below are after the Annual Unshared Amount

 

Liberty Share

 

liberty-share-option

 

The cheapest option that Liberty Healthshare has to offer is its “Liberty Share” option. With Liberty Share, you will receive 70% of eligible medical bills up to $125,000 per incident. The pricing for this option depends on your age and whether you’re single, a couple, or a family. For a single person under 30 that doesn’t visit the doctor much, this option is pretty perfect. For only $107 a month, you can have the ease of mind knowing that you are covered in case something happens. Even for an entire family, you are only looking at a $345 monthly price tag. This is still cheaper than any other options you might find for a family.

Liberty Plus

 

liberty healthshare revew

The Liberty Plus option falls in the middle. With Liberty Plus, you can receive up to 100% of your eligible medical bills for up to $125,000 per incident. In my opinion, this is a much better option than the Liberty Share option. For only $24 a month for a single person, you can receive 100% coverage as opposed to the 70% that Liberty Share offers.

Liberty Complete

 

liberty health share review

And here is Liberty Complete. The best option offered at Liberty Healthshare and the one that I personally use myself. I initially started off with the Couple package at $249 a month for the first year. As two pretty healthy people, we didn’t need to use our healthshare much, so I was not able to judge Liberty much. However, after about a year of using Liberty Healthshare, my wife and I had our first child and moved up to the family plan once he was born. We used our Liberty Complete option throughout the entire process. You can click here to see how everything went!

Signing Up

When I first heard about Liberty Healthshare, I waited a couple of months before actually signing up. I spent a lot of time calling them and trying to poke holes in healthsharing ministries. The sales staff was absolutely awesome! They were very patient with me and were happy to answer any questions I had.

Eventually, I was sold. I decided to give Liberty Healthshare a try and went ahead and signed up.

 

Enrollment

After speaking with numerous sales people before deciding to try Liberty Healthshare, I was on to the enrollment process. On Liberty’s website, they have a simple enrollment form that you can fill out. This basically just lets their enrollment team know to contact you to get the ball rolling.

 

liberty healthshare enrollment

After filling this out. You will have a member of Liberty Healthshare contact you to go over the next steps. The process was surprisingly simple. I was sent some forms to fill out and email back to them. The forms took me about 30 minutes to complete. After that, I believe I paid an enrollment fee and my application was well underway.

There is also a period (I think 30-60 days) where you are conditionally enrolled. This means if you are to get into an accident, Liberty would still help you with your medical bills. However, if something came up that seemed like a pre-existing problem that they were not aware of, there is a chance they would not share into that. I thought this was fair enough as it keeps them from getting scammed by people.

How to pay for Liberty Healthshare

I must admit, at first, I was pretty confused about how healthsharing ministries worked. The very little amount of information that I found on the internet led me to believe that I would be sending other members my money. This seemed pretty complex to me….but I was wrong.

Liberty Healthshare has a super easy way of submitting your monthly sharing amount. Online, you can simply add your credit card and elect for a monthly draft. In my case, I have $399 drafted from my account at the beginning of the month. That money goes into a “sharebox” where the money is then sent to those who need it for medical bills. When logging into my sharebox, I can see where my money is going each month. Members can elect to show their names or remain anonymous. There is an option where you can decide how you want to be displayed when you receive money as well.

 

 

Submitting medical expenses

Submitting a medical expense is a breeze with Liberty Healthshare. There are two options you have when receiving a medical bill. You can either decide to pay the bill yourself and get reimbursed later, or you can submit the bill straight to Liberty so that they can pay the provider directly.

libertyemail

When you have a bill to submit, all you need to do is log in to your account and upload the bill to your sharebox. As your bill is being processed, you will receive email updates that something has happened with the bill.

Submitting for reimbursement

A lot of times, I will go to a doctor where I have a $50 or $100 office visit. In cases like this, I will just decide to pay the bill out of my pocket and submit this to Liberty for reimbursement. Many times, you may face a situation where you are forced to pay upfront for a service. If so, you will just have to bite the bullet and pay upfront and wait to get reimbursed. One thing that has been pretty frustrating with Liberty Healthshare is the wait to get reimbursed. It can take around 30-60 business days….and it’s normally on the longer end of that. If it’s something under $100, it’s probably not a big deal at all. But if you ever had to pay over $1,000, it’s not going to be any fun waiting this long to get your money back.

Submitting a bill directly

If you’re able to do so, submitting a bill directly to Liberty is always the best option. For larger services, like the birth of our child, you aren’t expected to pay upfront — instead, you are just sent a bill. This is always great because you can just upload the bill to your sharebox and Liberty will pay that provider directly.

If you can, always talk to a provider about the potential of getting a bill instead of paying up front. This could end up keeping a lot of money in your pocket!

 

Healthsaring reviews

 

Leave a review!

Are you a member of Liberty Healthshare? Please leave a review below so others can get a better sense of what it’s like to be a part of a healthsharing ministry!

If you have any questions about Liberty Healthshare, contact us or hit us up on Twitter or Facebook!

Pros

  • Super easy to submit a claim
  • Awesome support staff
  • No religious requirements

Cons

  • Long reimbursement times

Overall review score

1.8
85 reviews

Leave Your Review

  • Review Score
    0.0

Reviews

C
Cary Hitchcock
July 1, 2019 @ 21:46
3.0  

My biggest complaint is extremely slow reimbursement and having to deal with MCS Solutions who’s their 3rd party negotiators. Almost 100% of the time once it goes to MCS you’ll get zero updates and you’ll Start getting collection notices from your medical provider. I been wrestling with one bill since December 2018 and received a collection notice. Ridiculous and embarrassing! It’s also unfair to our medical providers that LHS is so slow. I wouldn’t choose LHSw for this reason. Try Medishare as an option. I am seriously considering changing but what a hassle.

My biggest complaint is extremely slow reimbursement and having to deal with MCS Solutions who’s their 3rd party negotiators. Almost 100% of the time once it goes to MCS you’ll get zero updates and you’ll Start getting collection notices fr..
More
B
Beth Trice
June 28, 2019 @ 17:06
3.0  

Wow, I thought I was just having problems with LHS! While in the 5 years I’ve only had a few claims be submitted and shared, their customer service is terrible. No one calls me back. When I do get through, they pass the buck and then they don’t call me back. They don’t care. So, I’ll take our consumer dollars elsewhere.

Wow, I thought I was just having problems with LHS! While in the 5 years I’ve only had a few claims be submitted and shared, their customer service is terrible. No one calls me back. When I do get through, they pass the buck and then they do..
More
O
Orlan Cahoon
June 27, 2019 @ 22:28
1.0  

I give Liberty Healthshare a 0 out of 5. They blatantly lied to me. I requested a cancellation letter for Nov. 1 2018 and I have it. I can send it to anyone that would like to see it. In February of 2019 I received a new charge to my credit card in the amount of $604 from Liberty Healthshare for a February 2019 premium payment. I called Liberty and spoke with a manager Dennis at extension 1066 and he told me I definitely should not have been charged for that month. I had already notified my CC company and told them it was a bogus charge. Dennis told me that since the charge was in dispute with the CC company that he wouldn’t be able to refund me the money. Actually his exact words were “if the charge wasn’t in dispute then he could refund me my money today.” So to make a long story short I decided to go ahead and take the credit card charge out of dispute because the CC company told me it would take about 6 to 8 weeks for the dispute to run its course. Since Dennis had already told me they would immediately refund my money if it wasn’t in dispute I asked the CC company to take it out of dispute. Which they did… and wouldn’t you know it when I called back and spoke with Dennis he told be that they wouldn’t be able to refund my money because I didn’t go through the proper process to cancel my account. If I didn’t go through the proper process to cancel my account then why do I have a cancellation letter from Liberty Healthshare that shows my account as cancelled as of October 31, 2018. They blatantly lied and tricked me into cancelling my dispute with the CC company. And now the CC company is telling me they can’t re-open the dispute. So here I am with a cancellation letter from Liberty Healthshare for October 31, 2018, and a $604 charge on my CC account for a February 2019 bill from Liberty Healthshare, 3 months after my account is cancelled, that’s racking up interest costs every month. Very dishonest business practices… especially for what is supposed to be a faith-based company. I have all of the phone numbers and documents if anyone is interested. Pretty unbelievable.

I give Liberty Healthshare a 0 out of 5. They blatantly lied to me. I requested a cancellation letter for Nov. 1 2018 and I have it. I can send it to anyone that would like to see it. In February of 2019 I received a new charge to my credit card in t..
More
K
Karen Norris
June 25, 2019 @ 14:40
1.0  

Still waiting to have bills paid from 2018. Terrible communications, broken promises, unethical practices….Just take a look at the complaints on the BBB for the company. I was incredibly disappointed to see that this is an ongoing pattern. Find another option.

Still waiting to have bills paid from 2018. Terrible communications, broken promises, unethical practices….Just take a look at the complaints on the BBB for the company. I was incredibly disappointed to see that this is an ongoing pattern. F..
More
H
Holly Dewire
June 20, 2019 @ 20:41
1.0  

I signed up for this because we are a healthy family of 3 and our alternate insurance would have been $2400/mo. They have paid my husband’s wellness visit promptly, but we have been waiting 10 MONTHS (and 6 phone calls, several emails) for them to reimburse us for my son’s wellness visit last summer. Absolutely unacceptable! I can only imagine how terrible it would be to deal with them in the unfortunate event of a major medical issue. Reading all of the other extremely poor reviews has been eye opening and I am definitely looking for alternatives to Liberty Healthcare since I no longer have any confidence in them. I would give them more stars for price but since you are literally getting NOTHING in return for your monthly payments it sucks!

I signed up for this because we are a healthy family of 3 and our alternate insurance would have been $2400/mo. They have paid my husband’s wellness visit promptly, but we have been waiting 10 MONTHS (and 6 phone calls, several emails) for th..
More
I
Indra Lielbriedis
June 20, 2019 @ 14:12
2.0  

Seemed like such a great solution for affordable healthcare but don’t trust this company. We have been waiting six months for reimbursement with phone calls being completely useless. Apparently the amount has been approved but no one we have spoken to can give us ANY idea of when we will be reimbursed. Why? They can’t answer. If you think this company is so great, check out all the complaints with the Better Business Bureau. I think they need a new CEO.

Seemed like such a great solution for affordable healthcare but don’t trust this company. We have been waiting six months for reimbursement with phone calls being completely useless. Apparently the amount has been approved but no one we have ..
More
I
Indra Hudson
June 20, 2019 @ 13:34
3.0  

My husband has been on this plan for three years and they were okay paying the smaller bills. Then he ended up in the emergency room with a $10,000 bill and the problems started. This was in December, now it’s July and we still have not seen this payment from Liberty Healthshare despite many phone calls. The bill is complete and approved with no more information pending but no one can even give us a remote idea if or when we will see a check. I would caution people to sign up for this plan. To me it seems they are either going broke or scamming people. So much for “gaining public trust” as they advertise. Check out the better business bureau complaints about them from people- they are all about people not getting paid.

My husband has been on this plan for three years and they were okay paying the smaller bills. Then he ended up in the emergency room with a $10,000 bill and the problems started. This was in December, now it’s July and we still have not seen ..
More
M
Michelle C
June 18, 2019 @ 19:59
2.0  

I’ve been a member of LHS since Sept. 2016. For the first two years, everything worked as it was supposed to. Then they got a new CEO and a new bill processing system… and everything went to … LHS says that they cover annual wellness exams and bloodwork, including well-woman visits, mammograms and colonoscopies (over 50 yrs). Never, never did I get reimbursed without a fight – it may be simple to submit a claim initially, but woe to you if anything is amiss – they’ll kick it back. Worse than any insurer. I belong to a direct primary care practice, which Liberty used to completely reimburse. Now they reimburse a percentage. And it still takes 6 months to get the money. I am leaving Liberty and going back to Samaritan Ministries, which now offers a wonderful package of additional resources to its members, who are really self-pay patients. I think that Liberty became a catch-all for people who were fed up with insurance. There wasn’t enough accountability for members to be actual Christians (this is supposed to be Christian Healthcare sharing) or to truly try to negotiate the lowest cost services possible to save other members money. The company no longer operates under the principle of “bearing one another’s burdens.” I just can’t deal with the long lag times to get reimbursed, the different stories I get from CSRs every time I call about bills (they still owe me over $500 and one of my providers almost $200, but I consider myself lucky that I’m in not in collections like so many others here). I joined as a way to save money, but I think I’ve lost money over the three years I belonged. Looking forward to rejoining a community of believers at Samaritan!

I’ve been a member of LHS since Sept. 2016. For the first two years, everything worked as it was supposed to. Then they got a new CEO and a new bill processing system… and everything went to … LHS says that they cover annual wellnes..
More
J
Joe
June 13, 2019 @ 16:32
2.0  

They are quite prompt at drafting your payment, but extremely slow (if ever) with their reimbursements. It’s been over 3 months and there’s been no response nor remittance!

V
V. Fox
June 8, 2019 @ 05:13
2.0  

I have been a member here for 6 years. If I could afford medical insurance I would switch. I am only a member here because its illegal not to have insurance. I finally had to submit a claim NOVEMBER 2018. It is now JUNE 2019 and I still have not been reimbursed. I have talked to 3 supervisors, have had 27 phone conversations, have waited on hold an average of 75 minutes each call, and I am told “Its still processing”. I have filed a complaint with The Attorney General. They are very timely when they deduct my share amount each month! This does not feel like a Christian organization. It is very shady and I would NEVER refer them.

I have been a member here for 6 years. If I could afford medical insurance I would switch. I am only a member here because its illegal not to have insurance. I finally had to submit a claim NOVEMBER 2018. It is now JUNE 2019 and I still have not been..
More
Y
Yoga girl
June 7, 2019 @ 22:22
2.0  

If I could give a lower rating than 1 star for reimbursement I would. We have had nothing but headaches trying to get bills paid through Liberty and have been sent to collections twice just for annual wellness checks that should have been paid (both were under the $400 allowance). We waited almost a year for one bill and like others have said, they never give you a timeline on when you can expect to receive reimbursement without ruining your credit. I highly suggest finding an alternative. It is not worth it.

If I could give a lower rating than 1 star for reimbursement I would. We have had nothing but headaches trying to get bills paid through Liberty and have been sent to collections twice just for annual wellness checks that should have been paid (both..
More
D
David
June 7, 2019 @ 20:32
2.0  

I have been with Liberty HealthShare for over 4.5 years. Up until the last 9 months everything worked well and I have had no complaints. Starting in September 2018, I have had unpaid bills some of which are now over 14 months old. II have called countless times and been promised a course of action and that payment would be forthcoming. Unfortunately, weeks go by and nothing has been done, no payments made, files still showing inaccurate information, items that were to be corrected and reprocessed and paid, still not reflecting what was discussed. I have spoken with two different supervisors who assure me that all has been taken care of and weeks later now payments made. This has become an exasperating experience! BEWARE of Liberty HealthShare!

I have been with Liberty HealthShare for over 4.5 years. Up until the last 9 months everything worked well and I have had no complaints. Starting in September 2018, I have had unpaid bills some of which are now over 14 months old. II have called cou..
More
M
Mark Sanders
June 6, 2019 @ 17:56
1.0  

I have been with Liberty Health Share for about 3 years. Other than the long time they take to process or pay bills submitted to them, on average 45-60 days, I had not had any issues. However, the last 10 months working with them has been beyond frustrating and difficult. My daughter had an emergency room visit in August 2018 and we submitted the bill to Liberty as soon as we received it, just like all others, this one was a little over $2000. Not sure what happened, I can only speculate that they finally weren’t making enough money off us, all our other previous bills were less than $300. We kept getting bills every month from the hospital and when I followed up Liberty after their usual time frame they seemed to have lost our bill. Therefore, I resubmitted it again with documentation of my original submittal date. No effort was made to expedite the bill that they lost, it went back into their very long queue. Every time I contacted Liberty I got a new excuse and a new promise that this customer service representative was doing everything they could to expedite this bill. Fast forward to today, 10 months later, there has been no progress made, my bill has been submitted to collections and we are getting bombarded by collection calls. Liberty does not care at all, recently they have stated that they cannot process it because they do not have an itemized bill. But they do not inform you of this, I had to learn it in my weekly check in with them (seems like common sense customer service, if you need something from the customer you would inform that customer of the need). After talking yet another incompetent customer service representative through my situation and asking where I can send an itemized bill to, they read from my account that the same itemized bill is attached 3 times (from previous conversations I have had with them) and they are not sure why this isn’t being processed. I was promised again that now the bill will progress, but this is another promise in a long line of them that I have a very tough time believing. Please, do not subject your credit, family, and emotional health to this awful company. I will say that at least the customer service representatives are very nice as they lie through their teeth and screw you over. If this bill ever gets resolved my family and I will be moving on from this company and I hope we can save someone else from making the same mistakes we did in using Liberty Health Share.

I have been with Liberty Health Share for about 3 years. Other than the long time they take to process or pay bills submitted to them, on average 45-60 days, I had not had any issues. However, the last 10 months working with them has been beyond fr..
More
C
Chris
June 5, 2019 @ 14:19
2.0  

We moved to Liberty healthshare a few years ago to cut some costs and now after three years of paying their monthly “Share” costs and never asking for a single share amount back they discounted a bill as expected and then we find out that they actually have no power to do this with the vendor and won’t back their discounted price that we paid up. Now we are told they only can suggest a discount, so a collection agent has been calling even though every time I call into Liberty they say it will be taken care of. They are the most organized on the surface but I would not recommend them if you actually want them to be of any basic value in lowering your end price. (this one was $1200 for 4 stitches that was discounted to $400. We paid the discount and now they are going after us for the rest). I would not recommend Liberty and you may not know it until it is too late.

Also, be aware the Essentia Healthcare does not honor Liberty Healthshare and will go for every penny of their highest price even though you will receive a discounted pay amount.

We moved to Liberty healthshare a few years ago to cut some costs and now after three years of paying their monthly “Share” costs and never asking for a single share amount back they discounted a bill as expected and then we find out that..
More
A
Ana
June 4, 2019 @ 18:32
2.0  

The concept of Liberty Healthshare is good. Unfortunately, the execution is horrible. They started good and I was happy and felt at peace. For the last 1 1/2 years, it has been nothing but horrible experiences. I am still waiting for over $13,000 of “share” that has been approved and not paid yet. Not a quality company!

The concept of Liberty Healthshare is good. Unfortunately, the execution is horrible. They started good and I was happy and felt at peace. For the last 1 1/2 years, it has been nothing but horrible experiences. I am still waiting for over $13,000..
More
N
Nunna Yerbiness
June 4, 2019 @ 04:07
3.0  

It started out fine, I became a member in 2017 mid year. Had a physical paid for, no major stuff but then in 2018 I got a letter that my SHARE was to go UP $50 a month, and I called and was told that I could keep on with $199 and that in July 2019, then it would increase. I had the shares on auto-pay FROM my checking account, and then in early May, I looked at an email account I rarely use (associated with LHS) and they had EMAILED me on MARCH 31 that they CANCELLED my MEMBERSHIP!! An email?! So, that was awful–left me feeling vulnerable and rather MAD that this is how a “Christian” HC ministry would “do” a person! Since then, they have REFUSED despite 10 polite requests followed by 25 DEMANDS for $418.07 for the April and May shares they TOOK after THEy cancelled me, they have STILL not given my monies back, and the e-bill-pay through my credit union has filed COLLECTIONS against ME for the amount! I gave them many opptys: said “let me catch up the $50 a month and stay active (still shows EXPIRED 3/31/2019 in June 2019 so they refused to be reasonable despite having NO claims for almost a year!) and since then I HAVE REPEATEDLY INSISTED they refund my 2 shares and they won’t call me back, and I STILL show as EXPIRED! I finally today filed a claim with the Ohio BBB. This has taken SO MUCH negative energy and God-given Life-Time that I have ZERO positive to say about them. DO NOT JOIN. Keep your own $250 a month in a private savings in case you need it. And if you Do go to the hospital, why give your ID or social security number? The illegals and homeless and lazy take ADVANTAGE of our system and BURDEN us. I AM SORRY to say that in the case of American healthcare, the illegals and homeless have us so overburdened there is NO HOPE for any of us who want to do the right thing. Like me. And after this screwing by Liberty out of my hard-earned $418.00, I cannot see a reason to trust another healthshare. FYI on your taxes, just say, YES, I had coverage all year, which I did, or did I? You see? There is NO PROOF required to file your overpriced taxes ANYWAY . And pray/hope you stay well and live a healthy lifestyle 🙂 God bless the people of Good Will.

It started out fine, I became a member in 2017 mid year. Had a physical paid for, no major stuff but then in 2018 I got a letter that my SHARE was to go UP $50 a month, and I called and was told that I could keep on with $199 and that in July 2019, t..
More
D
Dallas Bennett
June 3, 2019 @ 15:15
3.0  

Don’t even bother with this company. Horrific customer service. I have been overcharged (or so I thought) for the past several months. Being a healthcare professional, I have very little time to call every time there is a problem with my account. I was told on several occasions that I was to be paying $199 a month and I was “accidentally” charged $249. Each month since February I have called to have this fixed as the representatives claimed it was a mistake on their end and I was to receive a refund check of $50. I have never seen a check and I am still being charged $249. This morning I was finally able to get through to a supervisor and they just told me “I’m sorry for the mistake but your monthly bill is $249. I’m sorry someone told you different.” Wonderful.

Aside from the money issues, I have called in several times between October and December of last year to fix my online account and they have found multiple accounts under my name. On more than one occasion, more than one account were opened under my name and were asking to be paid. To their credit, these problems were fixed promptly (once I was finally able to get a hold of them on the phone). I would love to leave a voice message, since I mostly work through their hours of operation. But the voicemail box is almost always full.

I would recommend steering clear of this company. The staff are not on the same page as one another, it takes far too long to get into contact with anyone, and it is an overall headache.

Don’t even bother with this company. Horrific customer service. I have been overcharged (or so I thought) for the past several months. Being a healthcare professional, I have very little time to call every time there is a problem with my accoun..
More
M
Marta Garland
June 2, 2019 @ 01:20
3.0  

It is not good. Have been with Liberty for 2 years. The first year went OK, but the second year am having a difficult time getting reimbursed. Fortunately my only medical bills are for annual physicals, and I pray that I don’t get sick or need medical care under this system. Let’s face it. If the” Affordable Health Care Act” hadn’t quadripled the cost of health insurance for small business owners and self employed people there would be no need for Liberty Health Share.

It is not good. Have been with Liberty for 2 years. The first year went OK, but the second year am having a difficult time getting reimbursed. Fortunately my only medical bills are for annual physicals, and I pray that I don’t get sick or ne..
More
L
Lori
May 29, 2019 @ 20:27
1.0  

BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE!!! AND RUN… HAS BEEN THE BIGGEST HEADACHE & STRESS!!! WE HAVE OUTSTANDING BILLS FROM 1 YEAR AGO NOW THAT HAVE BEEN IN COLLECTIONS FOR MONTHS THAT ARE THEIR RESPONSIBILITY! YES 2 OF MY DAUGHTERS STARTING OUT AS YOUNG ADULTS HAVE TO DEAL WITH DAMAGE TO THEIR CREDIT UNLESS WE PAY WHAT WE DO NOT OWE!!!! THEY TRAIN THEIR PEOPLE TO HAVE GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE SKILLS TO TRY & MAKE YOU BELIEVE THINGS ARE IN PROCESS! THEY LIE!!!! IT HAS BEEN A TRUE NIGHTMARE IN EVERY WAY IMAGINABLE! THE FACT THAT THEY CLAIM TO BE A CHRISTIAN ORGANIZATION IS A SAD SAD THING! WE JUST NEED TO MOVE ON & FIND A COMPANY THAT DOES WHAT THEY SAY THEY WILL DO, WHICH PERHAPS IS THEIR MODUS OPARNDI, TO JUST FRUSTRATE & EXHAUST YOU ENOUGH TO JUST LEAVE. I HAVE RESUBMITTED THINGS SO MANY TIMES, TALKED TO MANY MANY PEOPLE & SENT MANY E-MAILS. IN THE BEGINNING OUR BUSINESS RECOMMENDED THEM TO A LOT OF CLIENTS THINKING THEY WERE WHO THEY SAID THEY WERE. WE TRULY REGRET THIS & WE ARE DEFINITELY NOT ALONE!!!! THEY WON’T BE IN BUSINESS MUCH LONGER…

BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE!!! AND RUN… HAS BEEN THE BIGGEST HEADACHE & STRESS!!! WE HAVE OUTSTANDING BILLS FROM 1 YEAR AGO NOW THAT HAVE BEEN IN COLLECTIONS FOR MONTHS THAT ARE THEIR RESPONSIBILITY! YES 2 OF MY DAUGHTERS STARTING OUT AS YOUNG AD..
More
E
Eileen Bedinghaus
May 28, 2019 @ 17:49
2.0  

I have been a LHS member for over 3 years. Everything was fine until I had health issues requiring surgery last year it has been a NIGHTMARE. Claims take forever to be paid (I have one that is over 12 months and still not resolved). You cannot speak to a supervisor- it is ‘not permitted’. I have been Reported to collections and have had my credit damages. It’s AWFUL. They do not operate with Christian principles as they hide, deny and offer no assistance other than more run around by there ‘mediator’ and because they are not an ‘insurance company’ the legal accountability is non existent. AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL

I have been a LHS member for over 3 years. Everything was fine until I had health issues requiring surgery last year it has been a NIGHTMARE. Claims take forever to be paid (I have one that is over 12 months and still not resolved). You cannot spea..
More
a
al shelley
May 22, 2019 @ 22:12
2.0  

my experience has been the worst experience I have ever had with a company and I am 62 years old. I have done more work to get bills paid than liberty and the company they hand off the mess to mcs. Two have gone into collection and a third on the way. I have never written an unfavorable review on any company as I am a Corporate CEO and can appreciate the challenges of running a company but have to make an exception here. Wouldn’t want anyone else to experience this. Sad it’s promoted as a christian company and run so poorly as to reflect on christian’s in this way. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere for a health insurance provider. Oh and by the way, the standard line is “we are not an insurance company” as an excuse why bills are not paid in a timely manner. I really don’t expect them to be able to stay in business if others are experiencing what I have had to go through.

my experience has been the worst experience I have ever had with a company and I am 62 years old. I have done more work to get bills paid than liberty and the company they hand off the mess to mcs. Two have gone into collection and a third on the..
More
M
MARK KRUMREICH
May 22, 2019 @ 21:36
3.0  

I have been a member of Liberty Health Share (LHS) for 4.5 years and was a member of MediShare for at least 7 years prior to that. I switched to LHS because the premiums and deductibles were both MUCH LOWER. However, be prepared to wait VERY LONG times for bills to be paid. I have already had one bill go to a collection agency and will have another go to a collection agency in 2 days because of mistakes made by LHS. One can avoid the collections route by paying the bill yourself and then waiting a VERY LONG TIME for LHS to reimburse you (that is, if you have the money to actually pay the bill).

The latest bill that will go to collections was for a procedure 9 months ago. I have talked to LHS now 4 times about this and it was THEIR MISTAKE that they initially denied the bill. Then, every time I called, I got different information about the bill being “IN PROCESS”. Lastly (six weeks ago) I was told that the bill was PROCESSED, AUTHORIZED FOR PAYMENT and that they were just “waiting for the check to be issued”. That was six weeks ago and, after trying to get someone to actually talk to me for the last three days, I finally got a rep and they told me the bill was marked as “DUPLICATE” after I talked to them 6 weeks ago. Did they bother to inform me of this? No! Today, I have been told that the bill will be “put on a processing format and marked as urgent”. I wonder what their definition of “urgent” is???? I will find out. I will find out which collection agency is pursuing this for payment from ME first, I am quite sure.

Having had traditional insurance and MediShare medical sharing plans, I can tell you that I never had so many problems and such long processing times and so many mistakes made by them as I have with LHS. Unfortunately, LHS seems to be the least expensive with the lowest deductible (AUA) of the ones I have checked out. As the saying goes: “You get what you pay for”!

I have been a member of Liberty Health Share (LHS) for 4.5 years and was a member of MediShare for at least 7 years prior to that. I switched to LHS because the premiums and deductibles were both MUCH LOWER. However, be prepared to wait VERY LONG t..
More
H
Ho
May 22, 2019 @ 16:40
2.0  

I started to use Liberty in late 2017 and had my first wellness check in August 2018. The nightmare started then. My wellness check was done in Atrium which somehow took my Liberty card without paying upfront. Atrium sent the bill (about $300) to Liberty. I suppose Liberty would take care of it as long as it is within the $400 limit for wellness check. However, Liberty repriced to $100+ and paid without the consent of Atrium. Then Atrium started sending their balance bill to me from February 2019. When I got the bill, I informed Liberty and Liberty referred me to send the bill to its partner, The Medical Cost Saving (MCS) Solutions Limited for negotiation with Atrium. I followed this Liberty’s standard procedures immediately. MCS responded pretty quickly and notified me that they have concluded with Atrium and passed back the case to Liberty to follow up. However, I could not see any updates in the Liberty system and kept on receiving the same bill from Atrium every month until April 2019. I called Liberty every time I received the bill and Liberty could not tell the status of the case and simply asked me to wait for their normal processing time of 60 business days. Then, in May 2019, I received a collection notice from Atrium’s collection agency, that I need to settle the bill within 30 days from the letter or else they will file to my credit report. What?! A wellness within $400 is well written in all websites of Liberty that it should be fully covered. Now, the bill of wellness check is not fully covered and is going to crash my credit report. My case has not yet been settled as of today 2019-5-22.

So, if your credit rating is poor, then I have no comment on joining Liberty Healthshare program. But if your credit rating is good like me, I suggest you think twice. It could be a nightmare.

I started to use Liberty in late 2017 and had my first wellness check in August 2018. The nightmare started then. My wellness check was done in Atrium which somehow took my Liberty card without paying upfront. Atrium sent the bill (about $300) to Lib..
More
C
Chris
May 21, 2019 @ 14:14
3.0  

Stay away. I have been a member since 7/18 Submitted wellness receipts and it has been 6 months with the same run around. either the code is wrong or it is in processing. In February they totally screwed up the personal portal software and it still is only partially functioning with no way to track a claim. Communication is the worst. However they are very efficient at collecting money. I’m out ! these people give Christains a bad name. They are a bunch of BS artists.

Stay away. I have been a member since 7/18 Submitted wellness receipts and it has been 6 months with the same run around. either the code is wrong or it is in processing. In February they totally screwed up the personal portal software and it still..
More
J
Jim Gross
May 17, 2019 @ 22:02
1.0  

Still a member of Liberty HealthShare… don’t really know why though. My wife has been taken to collections twice now for bills they still have not paid but were reimbursable. I have had multiple conversations and resubmitted claims on their site several times. You cannot ever actually talk to their accounting department. There is nothing transparent when you have to baby sit your bills for a year. Their new claim system, sadly is… broken and there doesn’t appear to be a reimbursement time in there plan. I scored their price a 1 because the value is not there. Even at a reasonable price of $250/month if they don’t pay their bills then it’s a terrible value. We are waiting for them to get claims paid out to us going back to November of last year. We are hoping to maybe see some reimbursement checks for small claims made in 2018… maybe in 2020 some time?!

Still a member of Liberty HealthShare… don’t really know why though. My wife has been taken to collections twice now for bills they still have not paid but were reimbursable. I have had multiple conversations and resubmitted claims on the..
More
M
Mark
May 15, 2019 @ 18:19
3.0  

I’ve been a Liberty HealthShare Complete member (the best, most inclusive program they offer) for over 3 years. Last year I developed loss of strength and numb fingers in my right hand. (I’m right handed.) I saw a specialist who told me I needed carpal tunnel surgery. I shopped around for the cheapest provider, then called Liberty with the total cost, and got preapproval to have the surgery. I paid for the surgery myself, and a week later, when I could use my hand again I submitted the claim with full documentation, along with my preapproval code to Liberty.

That was 5 months ago (I’m not exaggerating. It’s actually going on 6 months.), and even though they admit they preapproved the surgery for the specified price, which was at the very low end of average for carpal tunnel surgery, they haven’t managed to reimburse me. Somehow they still manage to debit my credit card for my monthly dues, but they can’t seem to figure out how to send me a check for my preapproved claim.

I’ve sent 2 snail mail letters asking why I haven’t been reimbursed. Both were returned, marked “addressee unknown”. At first I called every few weeks to see when they planned to reimburse me the agreed amount. All agreed they owed me the money, but none of them could tell me when they’d pay me. Now I call every few days. They all say the payment has been approved, but none of them can tell me when it will be issued.

In summary, the dues are low, and submitting a claim is easy, but I no longer believe these people are honest. I’ve paid over $7,000 in dues to them and submitted far less in claims, all preapproved, and for some reason they can’t seem to reimburse me . If you want to try health sharing, I suggest you try a different organization. It may be a bit more involved, but hopefully it will actually reimburse you for your medical expenses.

The minute they send me a check (whether it bounces or not) I will cancel my membership and find another provider.

I’ve been a Liberty HealthShare Complete member (the best, most inclusive program they offer) for over 3 years. Last year I developed loss of strength and numb fingers in my right hand. (I’m right handed.) I saw a specialist who told me I..
More
T
Tamara
May 7, 2019 @ 20:29
2.0  

I am at a complete loss. There are about 2 people in the whole company who will get back to you. Horrible customer service, expect to be transferred back and forth about 10 times. I have lost complete confidence in Liberty Healthshare and will be shopping for a new program as soon as possible.
I am so disappointed in the customer service.

I am at a complete loss. There are about 2 people in the whole company who will get back to you. Horrible customer service, expect to be transferred back and forth about 10 times. I have lost complete confidence in Liberty Healthshare and will be ..
More
G
Greg
May 7, 2019 @ 15:36
2.0  

They eventually kinda help you. I have sent in like 40 emails. Most of the time no one answers the phones. You can wait weeks for an email. It is mostly a scam. Super poor work ethic. Complain about me submitting bills. Won’t help when needed. They help in like 3 months. I still have no credit 5 months later for bills. I would say they are Not a Christian company as well, at least they have no Christian ethic

They eventually kinda help you. I have sent in like 40 emails. Most of the time no one answers the phones. You can wait weeks for an email. It is mostly a scam. Super poor work ethic. Complain about me submitting bills. Won’t help when needed. ..
More
S
Sherry L Carroll
May 6, 2019 @ 21:41
2.0  

Terrible customer service!!! When you call their phone just rings and rings and no one ever answers. They will not respond to emails and they continue to bill me THREE MONTHS after I canceled my membership even though I have confirmation of cancellation. I have spent hours calling and emailing Liberty with no response, I thought this was until I received another charge from them on my credit card today. Just looking at the other comments it appears this happens a lot and has all the signs of a scam.

Terrible customer service!!! When you call their phone just rings and rings and no one ever answers. They will not respond to emails and they continue to bill me THREE MONTHS after I canceled my membership even though I have confirmation of cancell..
More
B
Beth Parentice
May 2, 2019 @ 22:08
2.0  

VERY DISAPPOINTED!!! After reading other negative reviews, I know I am not alone. If it were possible to give negative stars I would! It took over a year to reimburse a $6,500 expense that was 100% covered according to the sharing guidelines ( and in an email from their pre-notification department). In the meantime I have taken countless days off of work and hours on the phone working with them to get this claim paid. I spoke with several so-called supervisors who were not at all helpful and did not return any of my calls. They said that due to a “glitch” in the system, it fell through the cracks and went into collections and now I am being served a summons to appear in court on June 13th even though I have paid the medical expense!! I am now being sued to pay the legal fees of Swedish American hospital in Rockford Illinois. Liberty will do nothing about this and has been extremely difficult to work with. Furthermore, I am finding many mistakes on other claims that I have submitted. What happened to honesty and compassion when claiming to be a so-called Christian? If I treated any of my clients in this manner I would be out of business.

VERY DISAPPOINTED!!! After reading other negative reviews, I know I am not alone. If it were possible to give negative stars I would! It took over a year to reimburse a $6,500 expense that was 100% covered according to the sharing guidelines ( and ..
More
V
Vicki Kygar
May 1, 2019 @ 21:43
3.0  

I understand with ACA not being affordable, the enrollments in the Healthshare Ministries (HSM) have increased exponentially & in turn, the HSM companies are having a difficult time hiring enough people to handle billing.
-That said, it is very interesting they have no problem in signing up members & want their members to have a spiritual belief & have healthy lifestyle practices. Having a spiritual belief system entails an ethical code of conduct, which should include timely payment of bills.
-I have been with Liberty Healthshare Ministries (HSM) for over three years. Everything is fine with them – as long as you don’t don’t need them to pay for any required surgeries , lab procedures or doctors.
-Liberty HSM expects you to pay your monthly bill in a timely manner, but does not follow Christian ethics in honoring their contracted agreements to pay doctors & the Surgery Center of Oklahoma (SCO) within 30 days.

I had a pre-approved surgery at the Surgery Center of Oklahoma (SCO) on December 13, 2018. As of May 1, 2019 Liberty has still not paid the SCO bill.
-SCO has worked with Liberty HSM before & says they are known as extremely slow-pays.
-SCO has a contract with Liberty HSM to pay the bills within 30 days – yet Liberty HSM is not honoring their end of the bargain. Very unethical.
-SCO submitted the bill on December 19, 2018 & has sent friendly reminders every month. I have called Liberty several times & cannot reach them by phone to discuss this issue (I have waited on hold for over 30 minutes several times – & I am very polite).

This is extremely embarrassing to me as a customer dealing with a reputable center such as the Surgery Center of Oklahoma & yet Liberty HSM is behaving in an unethical manner.
– I thought Liberty expected its members to have a spiritual belief in a higher being – which entails not only practicing healthy lifestyles, but also to be ethical & pay one’s bills.
-Unfortunately, Liberty HSM does not behave in an ethical manner by ignoring its 30-day payment contractual agreement with SCO (as well as not reimbursing my expenses).

Needless to say, I am very disappointed in Liberty HSM.

I understand with ACA not being affordable, the enrollments in the Healthshare Ministries (HSM) have increased exponentially & in turn, the HSM companies are having a difficult time hiring enough people to handle billing. -That said, it is very i..
More
A
Anonymous
April 30, 2019 @ 19:39
1.0  

Not only have I endured many lies from Liberty Healthshare representatives, but supervisors never return calls. Problems are not taken care of. No one there seems to know how to do their job. I have spent days on the phone with them, not hours or minutes. I am not at all getting what I pay for and we are looking elsewhere since this has been going on for years and hasn’t changed or improved.

Not only have I endured many lies from Liberty Healthshare representatives, but supervisors never return calls. Problems are not taken care of. No one there seems to know how to do their job. I have spent days on the phone with them, not hours or ..
More
l
lesa
April 25, 2019 @ 18:24
2.0  

I have been calling since September, 2018 to get a lab invoice paid during my annual wellness exam that was coded incorrectly by Liberty and fell under my AUA. Each time I called I was told that they would escalate and re-code and pay. I AM NOW IN COLLECTIONS. I call daily trying to confirm that they are working on this, only to be put on hold, transferred to another person. NO RESOLUTION. Will have to pay invoice myself!!!

I have been calling since September, 2018 to get a lab invoice paid during my annual wellness exam that was coded incorrectly by Liberty and fell under my AUA. Each time I called I was told that they would escalate and re-code and pay. I AM NOW IN..
More
K
Kathleen B Kelly
April 24, 2019 @ 18:45
2.0  

I cannot imagine this company being able to continue for very long unless some changes are made. I have had outstanding charges since July and August of 2018 and a wellness check bill from September of 2018 that is yet to be paid. I was told this morning that they JUST BEGAN the processing of my September expenses last week, and that it would take another 60 days to process. Really? Also, I have also not come across a doctor anywhere that wants to work with them. They have all refused so far. I really wanted them to work out for us but I can’t handle their inefficiency much longer unless things drastically change. My advice to anyone at this point is look elsewhere. If anyone from Liberty reads this review I would love for you to answer these issues. Nobody I’ve spoken to at your office has any helpful information for me. They all just say “I’m sorry, I do understand your frustration”, which doesn’t help AT ALL. It’s just a platitude.

I cannot imagine this company being able to continue for very long unless some changes are made. I have had outstanding charges since July and August of 2018 and a wellness check bill from September of 2018 that is yet to be paid. I was told this m..
More
A
A real live rocket scientist
April 24, 2019 @ 01:16
4.0  

Some of the previous posters have commented on the difficulty of stopping LHS payments once they have been enrolled in the automatic deduction or automatic billing after leaving the program.

PEOPLE!!! It really doesn’t have to be that difficult. There is a tried and true methodology to cancelling an automatic draft. FIRST: Alert your bank or credit card company and tell them to NO LONGER HONOR the draft. Give a SET DATE.
SECOND: Follow up IN WRITING via e-mail and snail mail. Send a copy to your bank, credit card company, and to LHS. Be sure to copy all parties involved, so THEY ALL KNOW who has been informed and what your intent is.
THIRD: If necessary, send all snail mail correspondences via registered mail with a return receipt, so that you KNOW it has been received. That way, a claim cannot be made that the ‘notice in writing’ was not received.

The bank has a vested interest in handling your accounts. You are a valued customer, and they are there to help you. Same with the credit card companies. They do not want to lose a customer over unauthorized charges. They are on YOUR SIDE, not on the side of the merchant. Bank and credit card fraud and discrepancies are nothing new. Stop playing the financial victim and take control of your health AND your finances. It’s not rocket science.

Some of the previous posters have commented on the difficulty of stopping LHS payments once they have been enrolled in the automatic deduction or automatic billing after leaving the program. PEOPLE!!! It really doesn’t have to be that difficu..
More
W
Wilma Flintstone
April 24, 2019 @ 00:10
4.0  

I’ve been with LHS for about 3 years now and I have not had a problem. I bragged that I was the healthiest person I knew, until I wasn’t. August 2018, I ended up in the hospital for 3 days; to make it worse, this occurred while I was traveling. I submitted my membership card, and that was the last I saw of any paperwork. Nervously, I waited for the bills to roll in. When they did, I was stunned to see that the total cost of my stay was $25,000. It had been negotiated down to $20,000, and was PAID IN FULL – NO QUESTIONS ASKED!!! The bills were paid within 6 weeks. I had to return for follow up care, and that too was completely paid.

Because of how impressed I was and still am at how my situation was handled, I have been signing up my management team. I’m hanging on and defending LHS, however, like most of the previous comments, I’ve noticed a disturbing trend in communication – NO retuned phone calls, NO response to emails. I get that they’re growing, and probably inundated with massive amounts of paperwork – claims and applications – but unless they become more responsive, they’re going to lose existing and prospective clients.

I’m really hoping that LHS can get through this hurdle, because health-sharing is the best solution to this embarrassingly broken health care system which our country presently offers.

I’ve been with LHS for about 3 years now and I have not had a problem. I bragged that I was the healthiest person I knew, until I wasn’t. August 2018, I ended up in the hospital for 3 days; to make it worse, this occurred while I was tr..
More
S
Sara D Bloom
April 18, 2019 @ 19:00
3.0  

We have had Liberty for over a year and we are pleased overall for the price. We could no longer afford BCBS and needed an alternative. Liberty has been that for us. It’s half the price of what we were paying for our family. However, my daughter had an ER visit in December, we submitted the bills in January… Here we are in mid-April and sitting in collections waiting on Liberty to send their payment in. I can see that it’s been approved for sharing, the payment has simply not been sent yet. Very frustrating.

The support staff is always very kind. You can expect a 30 minute before talking to someone though.

We have had Liberty for over a year and we are pleased overall for the price. We could no longer afford BCBS and needed an alternative. Liberty has been that for us. It’s half the price of what we were paying for our family. However, my daughte..
More
H
Healthshare Memeber since 2017
April 17, 2019 @ 21:09
1.0  

PLEASE LISTEN PEOPLE. THIS COMPANY IS GOING DOWNHILL! GET OUT NOW AND IF YOU’RE CONSIDERING IT DO NOT SIGN UP!!!! TERRIBLE OPERATIONS AND TERRRIABLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. THEY FOUND OUT THAT PEOPLE WERE SUBMITTING BILLS THAT WERE NOT REAL AND LOST MONEY. THIS IS WHAT I’VE HEARD AND WOULDN’T SURPRISE ME IF IT’S TRUE. LOOK ANYWHERE ON THE INTERNET AND YOU’LL SEE THE REVIEWS ARE CONSISTENT AND GETTING WORSE!!! MY WIFE AND I HAVE YET TO GET REIMBURSED FOR THE BIRTH OF OUR 2ND SON IN OCTOBER OF 2018.

PLEASE LISTEN PEOPLE. THIS COMPANY IS GOING DOWNHILL! GET OUT NOW AND IF YOU’RE CONSIDERING IT DO NOT SIGN UP!!!! TERRIBLE OPERATIONS AND TERRRIABLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. THEY FOUND OUT THAT PEOPLE WERE SUBMITTING BILLS THAT WERE NOT REAL AND LOST ..
More
M
Mark Englund
April 16, 2019 @ 11:06
2.0  

After two years with Liberty HealthShare I needed to go to the doctor. My doctors office submitted the bills to Liberty for processing as per Liberty’s guidelines. After two months of no response my doctors office called Liberty. They were subjected to a 45 minute wait time. When they finally got through Liberty did not provide them with an update, information, or time line. Liberty claimed software issues. I reached out to Liberty and experience the same long wait time and lack of answers. My follow up emails were unanswered. My e-mails were polite, concise with all the pertinent information. They were simply ignored! There is no excuse for that.

In the end I worked with my doctors office to negotiate a cash price, which I paid. Liberty HealthShare is a disappointment.

After two years with Liberty HealthShare I needed to go to the doctor. My doctors office submitted the bills to Liberty for processing as per Liberty’s guidelines. After two months of no response my doctors office called Liberty. They were s..
More
P
Previous LHS member
April 16, 2019 @ 01:44
2.0  

Used to be a great company but now I’ve had nothing but troubles. Taking forever getting payments made to the hospital, having the challenge all the bills and resend back to them to cover the remaining balance. Recently both our major medical providers in the city stopped taking LHS because of payment issues. Was forced to leave them due to the poor customer service, slow processing time and lack of being able to go to a hospital that would work with them.

Used to be a great company but now I’ve had nothing but troubles. Taking forever getting payments made to the hospital, having the challenge all the bills and resend back to them to cover the remaining balance. Recently both our major medical..
More
A
Audrey
April 15, 2019 @ 02:28
4.0  

The price has been good, although it is creeping up. I don’t bother to send in claims because I can afford to pay out of pocket for now, so 3 stars for submitting and 3 for reimbursement, because I’m neutral. I have sat on the phone for an hour waiting to get pre approval for chiro visits, and finally just gave up. Transparency is pretty scary. If you’re considering going with Liberty, do your research. The vice president plead the 5th on filing false claims in a healthshare run by her father and brother in 2007 (or so). The president also owns the company that does the repricing, plus he owned a car dealership with David Beers (the crooked brother of the now-vice president.. The vice president’s nephew and son-in-law own the company that does the balance negotiations, someone else in the family runs the media branch, etc., etc. Only you don’t know any of this until you start digging on the internet. You’d think they’d want to be upfront about that, since they claim transparency and all. Anyway LOTS of red flags, especially now that so many members are going on 7 months and more without reimbursement and are being turned into collections. Liberty is claiming it’s due to their new sharebox system, but I’m suspicious that they are diverting too much money to themselves. Oddly, they’re not paying out claims, but they’re advertising like crazy to get new members. I’m currently switching to another healthshare because I’m a little worried this one is going to tank.

The price has been good, although it is creeping up. I don’t bother to send in claims because I can afford to pay out of pocket for now, so 3 stars for submitting and 3 for reimbursement, because I’m neutral. I have sat on the phone for a..
More
A
A Liberty Healthshare Member
April 10, 2019 @ 16:43
1.0  

I have called Liberty Healthshare Organization 6x on 4 Annual Wellness claims from Aug/Oct of 2018 that they have not paid 100% per their sharing guidelines. Each time I have called, I have been ‘assured’ that the claims were incorrectly processed and have been resubmitted for processing and will be paid in full 100%. Prior to this issue, I have had great customer service from Liberty but I am now increasingly concerned that they are ‘over-their-head’ in managing healthcare and claims payment. Due to lack of response and action from Liberty’s claims processing and customer service organizations, I have submitted my issue to the Better Business Bureau to look for resolution and payment to the providers. There is no reason that a provider should not be paid within 8 months OR that my credit rating should suffer because of lack of responsiveness.

I have called Liberty Healthshare Organization 6x on 4 Annual Wellness claims from Aug/Oct of 2018 that they have not paid 100% per their sharing guidelines. Each time I have called, I have been ‘assured’ that the claims were incorrectly..
More
L
Lindsay Jacobs
April 9, 2019 @ 17:00
2.0  

Terrible customer service. Beware of this company. We have been with them for three years now and ever since 2018, when they started accepting tons of new applicants, the service and reimbursement has tanked. Providers complain that it takes up to a year for reimbursement and as a member, I am waiting 5 months now for payment for services rendered. There is no excuse for this. There is zero accountability and no matter how many supervisors I have talked to, nothing is resolved. We are seeking out alternative ministries to join.

Terrible customer service. Beware of this company. We have been with them for three years now and ever since 2018, when they started accepting tons of new applicants, the service and reimbursement has tanked. Providers complain that it takes up to a ..
More
S
Shannon Hamilton
April 8, 2019 @ 02:42
3.0  

Been waiting over 4 months for simple bill reimbursement. No one can give you a straight answer when you call. They simply tell you since they aren’t insurance they can’t guarantee when you’ll get reimbursed. Terrible customer service in my opinion.

Been waiting over 4 months for simple bill reimbursement. No one can give you a straight answer when you call. They simply tell you since they aren’t insurance they can’t guarantee when you’ll get reimbursed. Terrible customer servi..
More
w
william jacobs
April 5, 2019 @ 16:16
2.0  

Absolute garbage! I have waited six month for reimbursements. Customer service says they are not able to give timeline and have been no help. Please do yourself a favor and find a better provider!!

B
Brad J
April 5, 2019 @ 16:13
2.0  

I signed up for Liberty Health Share three years ago. I made payments on time for the entire time. I also referred two families to the program who both signed up. The pricing model is ideal.

However…. This is the reason for the 1 stars.

– They say they will work out balance bills. I sent copies of balance bills into the program twice and NEVER heard back…. Next thing I know I am being contacted by a collection agency to collect. Crappy credit score as a result. This happened TWICE!

– Also, it took them a very long time to process things with any doctor or clinic I ever went to. The doctors CONSTANTLY complained to me about LHS and how they were wanting to essentially get the price almost down to cost.

– AND the worst part of it all! I needed to cancel service, called in December to cancel on December 31st. They said they would email me the paper work, which they never did. Then I called again first day of January and they then emailed me the paperwork a week later. I PROMPTLY filled out the paperwork and sent it in. They STILL charged me for January $474 and they REFUSE to refund it at all!!!!

They call themselves Christians, however when I asked for a refund for January, they turn into greedy Pharisees. I am not even asking them to forgive a debt… I am simply asking that I get my money back that I was charged but for no service (that is called stealing). I seem to remember Moses saying something about stealing…. huh.

I signed up for Liberty Health Share three years ago. I made payments on time for the entire time. I also referred two families to the program who both signed up. The pricing model is ideal. However…. This is the reason for the 1 stars. R..
More
K
Korynne Feliu
April 4, 2019 @ 18:39
3.0  

I signed up for Liberty in June of 2018 and am now expecting a baby. My first birth we paid for with cash savings because the ACA wasn’t as affordable as self pay. This time, we signed up for Liberty so that we could have more peace of mind in case we have any complications.

I submitted several bills beginning in Oct 2018 and now, as of April 2019, the claims are still pending. I am not a person who leaves my bills unpaid and I feel like it’s highly unethical to leave a provider hanging like this. I’m at the point where I need to return for some labs to a place with unpaid bills and I’m afraid they won’t fill my lab order from my midwife.

My biggest fear is that they will come up with a reason not to pay my maternity bills and my $300 monthly share will go down the toilet.

I would have shopped somewhere else if I would have known this was the case but I’m locked in at the moment with a baby due next month.

Also, their rates went up significantly without notifying me, it was very shady. Obviously, I couldn’t pull out because I now have a pre-existing condition.

I’ll update my review if something changes but so far I’ve been stressed about unpaid bills and fear that they won’t cover anything in the end.

I signed up for Liberty in June of 2018 and am now expecting a baby. My first birth we paid for with cash savings because the ACA wasn’t as affordable as self pay. This time, we signed up for Liberty so that we could have more peace of mind in case..
More
N
Nadine
April 4, 2019 @ 11:36
3.0  

Way too long to get money back! Communication is horrific. Wait time to call 30 min. Claims missing after submission? I understand they are switching systems but, it shouldn’t take months. Emailed several times no response. Looking for a new option as I don’t trust the process

Way too long to get money back! Communication is horrific. Wait time to call 30 min. Claims missing after submission? I understand they are switching systems but, it shouldn’t take months. Emailed several times no response. Looking for a new optio..
More
S
Sue Nelson
April 2, 2019 @ 15:25
3.0  

We’ve been with them for a year. I’ve really tried to give them the benefit of the doubt, because I believe in medical shares, BUT, they are terrible. They do NOT reimburse. I am still waiting 6 months for things to be paid back to me. Also, if they need something from you (ie: additional paperwork) they just don’t tell you. They just let them claim sit there. I am at the point where I am looking for other options b/c I am frightened that if anyone in my family ever gets sick or hurt we’ll be in big trouble. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR LIBERTY!

We’ve been with them for a year. I’ve really tried to give them the benefit of the doubt, because I believe in medical shares, BUT, they are terrible. They do NOT reimburse. I am still waiting 6 months for things to be paid back to me...
More
D
Drew Poletto
April 1, 2019 @ 22:01
1.0  

Beyond frustrating! They said you have one check up per year that is 100% covered. I called Liberty the day before my doctors appointment for this checkup, just to be sure of this. “Oh, no worries, you’re covered”. I called a month afterwards to see if they received all the bills, and they said they had. 2 months later (3 months after the original doctors appointment), I get a bill from the medical place. What!? I called Liberty and got the “Oh, it looks like it was coded wrong. I’ll change it and resubmit it. Should take about 2 weeks” Today (4 months after doctor appointment), I get another bill from the medical place, they aren’t too happy. I called Liberty, “Oh, we don’t know why it’s taking so long. It must be processing departments fault. There’s nothing I can do.” I asked to talked with someone who can speed this up. “My supervisor’s name is Tammy, but I’m sorry, I can’t connect you to her, she’s already busy and she couldn’t do anything anyway.” WTF! He would not give me Tammy’s full name or contact info. Very unprofessional company. I do NOT recommend them! I’ve paid faithfully, every month without fail. Never had a claim and then the first one I submit, after 4 months they STILL haven’t paid! It’s time to find a new place, this is such a rip off!

Beyond frustrating! They said you have one check up per year that is 100% covered. I called Liberty the day before my doctors appointment for this checkup, just to be sure of this. “Oh, no worries, you’re covered”. I called a mo..
More
P
Pat M
March 29, 2019 @ 22:08
2.0  

My husband and I have been with LHS for just about 2.5 years. The pricing structure is very affordable, but that does make me wonder if that is at the expense of quality staff and service. The whole system seems pretty messed up, to be honest. A health care provider submits a bill to LHS, they make a payment (sometimes they do, sometimes they claim they didn’t receive the bill request.) This can take 2 -8 months. Then the provider sends you a balance statement which you need to submit to MCS. If they acknowledge receiving it, it can take up to 6 months or more to get any action from them I have been sent to collections 3 times because MCS has dragged its feet over processing. They have lied to me about reaching out to the hospital with an offer. The hospital says they have not heard a word from them. Some of our bills are going on 2 years from the date of service. I can’t blame the hospital for sending me to collections! It shouldn’t take that long to process. In the meantime, we are paying our monthly share amount faithfully, but I can’t help but wonder if they are financially stable. Every time I call either MCS or LHS, I get someone new, conflicting answers and no resolution. This process has been very frustrating. If I could afford to find another service I would.

My husband and I have been with LHS for just about 2.5 years. The pricing structure is very affordable, but that does make me wonder if that is at the expense of quality staff and service. The whole system seems pretty messed up, to be honest. A heal..
More
K
Katie
March 29, 2019 @ 04:44
2.0  

Definitely cheap, and you get what you pay for. Claims are super easy to submit, yet they don’t get covered so there’s really no point in submitting them. I had a baby, submitted everything I possibly could submit and got $350 from Liberty Healthshare after 6 months of waiting. I was on hold for an average of 30 mins per phone call and they lie about your claim being processed. Would definitely NOT recommend.

Definitely cheap, and you get what you pay for. Claims are super easy to submit, yet they don’t get covered so there’s really no point in submitting them. I had a baby, submitted everything I possibly could submit and got $350 from Libert..
More
J
Jane Burkhart
March 25, 2019 @ 19:27
2.0  

If you call be prepared to be on hold a very long time. I have called several times about getting our reimbursement money and get told the same thing every time. Today I’ve been on hold for over an hour and then the call gets dropped. They don’t hesitate to get your monthly payment but getting what’s owed to you is like pulling teeth. This is why we have dropped out of this program. Good luck

If you call be prepared to be on hold a very long time. I have called several times about getting our reimbursement money and get told the same thing every time. Today I’ve been on hold for over an hour and then the call gets dropped. They don’t ..
More
R
Rashid
March 21, 2019 @ 14:55
2.0  

In a nutshell – STAY AWAY!
For us, liberty started as a great concept in 2018 and by Jan 2019, it has turned into a management nightmare.
Yes – liberty is pay and pray (that it gets reimbursed)

It sounds very enticing on paper, however in the course of a year with about 40 different visits to 7 providers, liberty has messed up with about 15 visits (some with the same provider). Btw – i am still trying to get them to process bills from Oct 2018 and its Mar 2019 !!

Here’s the scenarios:
(Straight forward)
You go the doc. Doc says sure we will submit to liberty or they call liberty and say you have a deductible. You pay the visit amount and you end of story

(Getting Complicated)
All of the above but you have an in-office treatment. You go home and in a few weeks you get a bill. You submit to Liberty. Liberty can go all hay wired at this point. Some bills they processed and paid and some went into neverland. I had to follow up every couple of weeks to get them to process it and finally have the provider paid.

(More Complicated)
You go to the doc or medical center. They dont take Liberty. You pay SOME services there. They balance bill you for the REST later. You send liberty the current bill (you might have to call the provider to get medical notes since liberty MUST see the CPT code). The balance bill comes in, you pay and then you submit the balance bill and then you repeat the call to the provider to get the balance bill CPT codes, then you upload to liberty and call liberty to connect the 2 bills using the same “D” bill code (its their internal billing numbering system).
When all is said and done, i have spent hours on the phone trying to get this done.

(Very Complicated)
Think of all the scenarios where you are trying to get a hold of detailed bills with CPT codes and trying to submit them and connect them at liberty.
One annual physical, the clinic took a $100 deposit because they werent sure if liberty will end up paying for all blood tests. Since this is not a “network”, there’s no guarantees what liberty will and willl not pay, so you are the mercy of the provider.

I am getting out of liberty after 1 year and not renewing due to all the intervention and hours i have to spend getting the billing updated.

In a nutshell – STAY AWAY! For us, liberty started as a great concept in 2018 and by Jan 2019, it has turned into a management nightmare. Yes – liberty is pay and pray (that it gets reimbursed) It sounds very enticing on paper, however in..
More
T
Tim
March 18, 2019 @ 02:43
1.0  

They’re a total scam. I didn’t trust them after reading reviews. I had been a paying customer since Obama insurance went into effect because my insurance premiums went way up. So I signed up for this after someone had recommended it.
Well, I told them I was cancelling. They billed me on March 9th, and twice on March 15th.
I am going to try and reverse these charges on my CC. I hate talking to CC customer service, so we’ll see how that goes. But the service is unreliable. They reimburse you, at their discretion. And often times it’s not at all, according to reviews.

They’re a total scam. I didn’t trust them after reading reviews. I had been a paying customer since Obama insurance went into effect because my insurance premiums went way up. So I signed up for this after someone had recommended it. W..
More
H
Heather
March 13, 2019 @ 18:18
1.0  

I have had the same problems with them. They will not answer the phone and it takes them over two weeks to respond to emails. I have been trying to cancel my membership and can’t get through to anyone on the phone and there is no way to do it online. I have called several times waiting on hold for 30-40 minutes with no one answering. I finally hang up, not knowing if someone is actually there or ever going to answer. I finally talked to someone yesterday and they told me that they can’t refund me for my dues because I did not have it sent to them in writing in time for them to cancel. I talked to 3 supervisors and they told me I should have stayed on hold longer than 35 minutes. I am starting to think this is a big scam. I have had bills submitted to them since December. I had one of my doctor bills sent back to me saying they refused it because it was a pre-existing condition, it was for an ear infection. I don’t know how that is pre-existing. It is a terrible company now. I would not recommend them to anyone at this point.

I have had the same problems with them. They will not answer the phone and it takes them over two weeks to respond to emails. I have been trying to cancel my membership and can’t get through to anyone on the phone and there is no way to do it o..
More
R
Ron M.
March 6, 2019 @ 01:40
2.0  

We have been with liberty for about 4 years. They do not “negotiate” with providers on billed amounts they simply tell them what they will pay and generally you are stuck with the remainder. Recently we had around $ 2500 in bills for an incident. Bills submitted to liberty were not paid after many months so we paid them to protect our credit. In the end liberty reimbursed us around $600 so we paid our $500 unshared amount plus another $1400. Then our rate went up $50 per month and the new unshared amount is noww $1000. Previous to this incident it took over a year to get a hospital bill paid. We are in the process of starting over with another share company.

We have been with liberty for about 4 years. They do not “negotiate” with providers on billed amounts they simply tell them what they will pay and generally you are stuck with the remainder. Recently we had around $ 2500 in bills for an i..
More
K
Katalin Michaels
March 5, 2019 @ 05:26
2.0  

Don’t do it. It would take several pages to detail my terrible experience, so I won’t even try. Basically, they don’t have their act together at all. I think they’re trying, but they are failing miserably. The amount of time and effort I have spent trying to get them simply to fix their own mistakes is absurd. I may just give up and let them win because life is too short for this BS. I am definitely canceling, but as to how long I’ll keep trying to get reimbursed for past stuff, I can’t say. Maybe in 5 years, this will be a good option, but for now, don’t even bother. Read what everyone else wrote and take heed.

Don’t do it. It would take several pages to detail my terrible experience, so I won’t even try. Basically, they don’t have their act together at all. I think they’re trying, but they are failing miserably. The amount of time a..
More
A
Andreea
March 5, 2019 @ 01:13
1.0  

I’ve been with Liberty, on a couple plan since Feb 1st 2016, meaning we are a month into our 3rd year, when ,you guessed it, pre-existing conditions ( if any) are covered…
We are healthy, but some ingrown hair is giving my fiance some issues,and every provider we see keeps prescribing antibiotics, but that’s it, and the bills range around 300-500 dollars. They were great negotiating and paying off their part part,after our unshared amount of $1k, until this year, when they are trying to get us to pay for a bill that they didn’t process right,got called out by the Dr’s office, and “fixed ” the issue, but sent us the bill..why? I don’t know, I can’t get a straight or even the same answer, every time I call.
Then the price went up to $349/month, and this year, our ” deductible ” went from $1000/year to $1750/year, with no notice to clients like myself ( no call, email,mail,nothing)

And to top it off, on Feb 1st, when our 3rd year started, my credit card was charged $349 for February, $70-something for the annual fee, and March 1st 2019 another charge of $349, totally normal, yet none of these charges appear on our ShareBox. It looks like we never even made a payment… I would love to switch, but when you’re supposed to get pre-existing conditions( even though we don’t have any),covered starting your 3rd year in the program, leaving would be a hard pill to swallow . Starting all over again? No I prefer to stay here and hold them accountable

I’ve been with Liberty, on a couple plan since Feb 1st 2016, meaning we are a month into our 3rd year, when ,you guessed it, pre-existing conditions ( if any) are covered… We are healthy, but some ingrown hair is giving my fiance some iss..
More
e
eb
March 2, 2019 @ 21:23
2.0  

Don’t waste your $ you never get reimbursed.

M
Mike refundme
February 28, 2019 @ 15:19
1.0  

Horrible experience, horrible customer service, fraudulent charges, cancelled membership several times still charged money. I do not recommend they are scamming people out of money

F
F Edwards
February 28, 2019 @ 15:17
1.0  

The monthly sharing amount increased and the AUA also went up by 175%! The reimbursement time is really awful. I have been sent to collections and even been threatened with legal action because of unpaid health claims. A lady named Wendy who is supposed to help with getting bills processed was really passive aggressive and rude; she claimed that I was told that I had to submit paperwork regarding the conception date of a lost pregnancy. I told her I probably was but at the time I was wading through the grief of losing an unborn baby and she said “well, I’ve had 4 miscarriages so…” as if to dismiss and diminish my grief and act as if it was nothing compared to what she faced. No compassion at all even though I swiftly provided everything they needed within 24 hours of hearing the request. Also, their Sharebox is confusing and doesn’t offer much needed information. Switched over the Solidarity and hoping to have a better experience. Liberty has a lot of improvements to make before I would ever consider returning back to them.

The monthly sharing amount increased and the AUA also went up by 175%! The reimbursement time is really awful. I have been sent to collections and even been threatened with legal action because of unpaid health claims. A lady named Wendy who is suppo..
More
R
R Taylor
February 25, 2019 @ 15:39
2.0  

They claim to have more flexibility for pre-existing conditions, but what they don’t tell you up front is that they discriminate against people with PEC’s. I could elaborate, but I’ll leave it at that.

G
Greg Herron
February 20, 2019 @ 19:00
3.0  

About all I am getting out of belonging to Liberty HealthShare is avoiding Obama care. If that is all you need it could be a good fit. If you need any kind of coverage at all I would encourage anyone to look somewhere else. For entertainment you can all them and ask a question then wait 5 minutes and call back and ask the same question. You’ll get a different answer every time.

About all I am getting out of belonging to Liberty HealthShare is avoiding Obama care. If that is all you need it could be a good fit. If you need any kind of coverage at all I would encourage anyone to look somewhere else. For entertainment you can ..
More
D
Dontworryaboutit
February 19, 2019 @ 21:59
1.0  

Don’t sign up, they were impossible to get a hold of, didn’t pay for anything, never answered the HOSPITALS calls; now I’m stuck with 17k in bills and why’re still coming. Peopleh who hide behind religion like this should be executed. At least criminals rob you “cleanly”.

Don’t sign up, they were impossible to get a hold of, didn’t pay for anything, never answered the HOSPITALS calls; now I’m stuck with 17k in bills and why’re still coming. Peopleh who hide behind religion like this should be executed. At leas..
More
J
John Roth
February 19, 2019 @ 02:00
2.0  

Liberty simply does not pay. I’m at 3 months after paying doctors at the time of my appointment. This is a horrible substitute for traditional insurance. If a positive review is posted on this company it is either done by Liberty or the person has not filed any claims.

Liberty simply does not pay. I’m at 3 months after paying doctors at the time of my appointment. This is a horrible substitute for traditional insurance. If a positive review is posted on this company it is either done by Liberty or the person has ..
More
S
Son Dao
February 17, 2019 @ 23:29
1.0  

Liberty Healthshare is a scam, I paid out of pocket more than my Annual Unshare Amount (AUA) and submitted all the medical bills yet they never send me a reimbursement check. I keep emailing them and they never reply.

S
Samantha P
February 14, 2019 @ 16:11
2.0  

had very high hopes for joining Liberty HealthShare! I thought it was a great alternative to the current health care system. However, the processing of billing and reimbursement is a joke!
I submitted two bills in October of last year and when I called in to check the status of them I was told that they are being processed and the process would take 30-45 days. I called back the end of December and informed them that I received a letter from the hospital stating my credit will be affected if the payment isn’t made. I was told that I could make the payment to the hospital and I would be reimbursed. I called Liberty HealthShare again two months later and asked them when will I be reimbursed for the payments that I made to the hospital. I was told that no one knows when I will receive a reimbursement check. They said that the bills were processed, but I have to have to wait to see if a member will pay the bills that I have submitted. I then asked if I could expect a reimbursement check in 4- 7 months and they said they were not sure. The reimbursement check I am expecting is around $1,000.00.
I have paid my monthly payments on time and submitted my bills correctly and stated to Liberty Healthshare that this is not fair to the members.

had very high hopes for joining Liberty HealthShare! I thought it was a great alternative to the current health care system. However, the processing of billing and reimbursement is a joke! I submitted two bills in October of last year and when I call..
More
B
Bob S
February 5, 2019 @ 18:02
3.0  

When we started with Liberty in 2017 they were pretty good and responsive. In the last 6 months it has been steadily downhill, and our latest experience has been dismal. We have several bills in collections now because of Liberty’s and MCS’s slow turnaround and lack of responsiveness. The only time things seem to move is when I call in to complain.

Folks should stay away until they get their act together.

I wonder if the auther’s experience has changed and if he could give an update

When we started with Liberty in 2017 they were pretty good and responsive. In the last 6 months it has been steadily downhill, and our latest experience has been dismal. We have several bills in collections now because of Liberty’s and MCS̵..
More
A
Angela
January 29, 2019 @ 17:44
1.0  

We went with Liberty Healthshare in June of 2018. Since then we have not received a single penny of reimbursement for valid claims. I have had to spend several hours online and phone calls just to be told it is processing and yet they start their claim period all over again each time so now it’s been 6 months not the 30-45 days they claim! This company seems to be a scam.

We went with Liberty Healthshare in June of 2018. Since then we have not received a single penny of reimbursement for valid claims. I have had to spend several hours online and phone calls just to be told it is processing and yet they start their cla..
More
N
Nicole Brockwell
December 26, 2018 @ 16:34
2.0  

We joined LHS 2 years ago. My husband gets free BCBS from his employer but is covered by LHS with the rest of the family. 15 months ago, he had a minor procedure (vein ablation). BCBS paid everything they were supposed to pay perfectly. We are still trying to get LHS to pay as they should. They claim BCBS should pay the remainder. The staff has an extremely high turnover rate and it is very difficult to get them to respond. It is a new employee every time we speak or email with them. We are in collections with his doctor’s offices and the hospital. The dr and hospital are in direct contact with LHS providing everything they ask. We met the AUA but Liberty still wont pay. They aren’t trustworthy and we plan to leave at the end of the month which will round out 24 whole months with LHS.

We joined LHS 2 years ago. My husband gets free BCBS from his employer but is covered by LHS with the rest of the family. 15 months ago, he had a minor procedure (vein ablation). BCBS paid everything they were supposed to pay perfectly. We are st..
More
T
Tara
December 11, 2018 @ 15:17
4.0  

I picked up Liberty over three years ago after my late husband’s insurance ran out and the Affordable Care Act was unaffordable. The biggest draw to healthshare programs for me is that the doctors are allowed to practice medicine without the constraints of insurance guidelines. In other words, the doctor does not have to check with insurance coverage before ordering a medicine or test that the doctor feels is the best decision. I have enjoyed the low costs and the freedom to choose any doctor. I also enjoy knowing how my money is shared and what my money is and isn’t paying for. The most unexpected thing to come out of being in a healthshare ministry is the sense of responsibility you develop for maintaining and improving your health. You are, after all, submitting bills and asking other people to help you pay for those bills. In today’s insurance culture, people just throw caution to the wind and figure, oh well, my insurance will cover it, without considering a lifestyle change to improve their health.
I have never told a doctor about healthsharing and found that they already knew about it. A couple of my regular doctors have retired and I moved to a new city in the past three years and not one new doctor that I have gotten knew anything about this. So, every time I see the doctor, I have to remind them that with me they are not in the insurance realm, but truly independent and free to make the best decisions with my treatment. The people working the front desk give you a blank stare and then whisper like it is an embarrassment, “Oh, so you are uninsured? You will have to pay in full upfront. Can you do that?” Not one doctor’s office has ever been interested in working with Liberty to submit bills. So, I pay up front a discounted amount designated for “self-pay” patients and then submit my receipts and doctors notes to Liberty for re-reimbursement. It usually takes 45 to 60 days to receive my reimbursement check.
Do I think it is worth it? Yes, however Liberty did raise their prices this past summer. My $199 a month went to $249 a month. I am considering a different healthshare group if the monthly price is less. Overall Liberty has been very good for my peace of mind knowing that my money helps others pay their medical bills.
One big caveat, thus far to my knowledge: What you pay in monthly share amounts and sign up fees and annual fees are NOT tax deductible. You are spending after-tax dollars. Sucks, I know. So, two things I wish would happen to improve any healthshare program. One, educate the doctors and front office staff about what a healthshare is. Two, make our healthshare expenses to be tax deductible.

I picked up Liberty over three years ago after my late husband’s insurance ran out and the Affordable Care Act was unaffordable. The biggest draw to healthshare programs for me is that the doctors are allowed to practice medicine without the c..
More
m
michelle Hart
November 26, 2018 @ 22:24
3.0  

This group gives Christians a bad name. Slow to pay is even kind. More like get taken to collections, pay for yourself, before you even find out if they will pay it, which is most likely NO. RUN don’t walk away from this health share program. It sounded too good to be true and it truely is.

This group gives Christians a bad name. Slow to pay is even kind. More like get taken to collections, pay for yourself, before you even find out if they will pay it, which is most likely NO. RUN don’t walk away from this health share program. I..
More
D
Dan
November 7, 2018 @ 23:43
3.0  

My wife and I are self-employed so we were looking for alternatives to traditional health insurance. We do not receive a subsidy so our costs were growing at a pace that required we look at other options. We joined Liberty in January of 2018 and were a little concerned about our choices. We documented our experience at http://www.mylibertyexperience.com so we could share details with others thinking about making the move. Overall, some good, some bad and a healthshare like Liberty won’t be write for everyone.

My wife and I are self-employed so we were looking for alternatives to traditional health insurance. We do not receive a subsidy so our costs were growing at a pace that required we look at other options. We joined Liberty in January of 2018 and were..
More
S
Steve Witt
October 8, 2018 @ 15:23
2.0  

I signed up for LH because I wanted to deal with a christian company. Did not need them for over two years and then when I did I had missed a change on my card. They cancelled the insurance a couple weeks later after I found it and needed their help to fight cancer they do to accounting on part my I don’t care. On ward christian bro.

I signed up for LH because I wanted to deal with a christian company. Did not need them for over two years and then when I did I had missed a change on my card. They cancelled the insurance a couple weeks later after I found it and needed their hel..
More
L
Lisa Griffith
September 18, 2018 @ 18:33
2.0  

We have been told that our providers are not going to be covered in the future, Legacy “will not negotiate for “reasonable fees” and therefore will not be covered in the future” We only have 2 hospitals in our city, so we thought we could go to the one that was closest to us and we have a history with, WRONG!! Also when our daughter needed an ambulance ride after an accident, we got the same response, we will no longer be covered for ambulance services because the providers won’t “negotiate” with Liberty for reduced cost, so if we have another accident and require ambulance transportation in our town, again we are screwed, and on the hook for the entire cost. This is the whole reason we chose health sharing was to cover us in the event of emergencies so we wouldn’t go broke paying for accidents, of which we had 2 this year and will probably end up costing us in the 10’s of thousands, since Liberty says our providers will not reduce the fees to “reasonable amounts”. Very disappointed!!!

We have been told that our providers are not going to be covered in the future, Legacy “will not negotiate for “reasonable fees” and therefore will not be covered in the future” We only have 2 hospitals in our city, so we tho..
More
L
Lisa Griffith
September 13, 2018 @ 04:29
1.0  

We experienced 2 accidents in our family in January and February after starting this program on January 1st. We are being threatened with or have been sent to collections by most of the providers involved in the January accident (daughter dislocated her elbow in a fall), and have yet to see all of the bills from the February incident (my husband dropped a pool table on his hand and had to have emergency reconstructive surgery). It is now September and we have been told a lawyer will “walk us through the collections process”, We have excellent credit and no debt, but we are worried that this will put a black mark on our names. I went to my regular doctor in March, that bill is still outstanding, the provider did adjust it by 50%, but Liberty has yet to pay and my doctor’s office may require prepayment prior to future services unless this matter is addressed. We are very disappointed with this experience and have spent hours on the phone and collecting the paper trail to try to sort this out.

We experienced 2 accidents in our family in January and February after starting this program on January 1st. We are being threatened with or have been sent to collections by most of the providers involved in the January accident (daughter dislocated..
More
D
Disgruntled in Dallas
September 9, 2018 @ 04:03
1.0  

The BBB has a pattern of complaints against this “company” and met with them on April 30, 2018. I don’t think it’s done any good, though. There are many complaints regarding the length of time it takes LHS to reimburse their ‘customers’ – victims is more like it. They also have a pattern of not paying providers. I submitted a bill for reimbursement on June 24, 2018 and have been calling every two weeks for a status. Last week the status of the process on their website showed ‘submitted for sharing’ which means I should be receiving reimbursement any day now but when I called to check on the status I was told LHS now needs the diagnostic codes from my provider. WTF! This is the first I’ve heard of this requirement. It is not stated in their guidelines, no one reached out to me asking for these codes and it was never stated in any of the emails I received regarding the status of my reimbursement. It seems that it’s clearly a stall tactic on their end just like their many responses to complaints on the BBB website where they say “Your reimbursement check will be sent out in the next batch.” No date, no time reference, just “in the next batch.” This is a big scam. Save your money and self insure. You’ll be better off than by getting involved with these crooks!

The BBB has a pattern of complaints against this “company” and met with them on April 30, 2018. I don’t think it’s done any good, though. There are many complaints regarding the length of time it takes LHS to reimburse their &..
More
S
S Atkinson
June 3, 2018 @ 17:43
1.0  

Liberty Healthshate is a horrible option for a “health care.” You’ll have to pay for a couple years, e
verything will be denied as “pre-existing condition” and no reimbursement until they make lots of money off of you. The customer service is terrible with inexperienced, not knowledgeable at all. They “promise” to do things and never come through, like reimbursing when they never have any intention of it then deny anything they originally “promised.”
HIGHLY SUGGEST AVOIDING THIS FAKE HEALTH ShARE AT ALL COST!! YOULL BE GLAD YOU DON’T PUT YOURSELF THROUGH THE FRUSTRATION OF A MONEY PUT!

Liberty Healthshate is a horrible option for a “health care.” You’ll have to pay for a couple years, e verything will be denied as “pre-existing condition” and no reimbursement until they make lots of money off of you. The customer service ..
More
P
Peter
April 19, 2018 @ 18:23
2.0  

Be very, very ,very careful with this organization. They, like a regular health insurance company will look for ANY and ALL reasons to not reimburse. They claim a stomach ache is a pre-existing condition, which means that most human beings have a pr- exisitng stomach condition.

Be very, very ,very careful with this organization. They, like a regular health insurance company will look for ANY and ALL reasons to not reimburse. They claim a stomach ache is a pre-existing condition, which means that most human beings have a p..
More
K
Karol Brown
February 20, 2018 @ 01:40
4.0  

My husband had to have emergency surgery in December due to a staph infection in his bone. He had Achilles’ tendon surgery in July and evidently he got it then. He spend six days in the hospital. Came home with a wound vac and a PICC line and I can report he is doing much better. Thanks to Liberty Healthshare! After our deductible was met, they have negotiated and paid for all his bills. We were so afraid we were going to have so many bills we weren’t sure how we could manage. I recommend LHS to everyone I know!! Thanks again!! God Bless!

My husband had to have emergency surgery in December due to a staph infection in his bone. He had Achilles’ tendon surgery in July and evidently he got it then. He spend six days in the hospital. Came home with a wound vac and a PICC line and I ..
More
K
Karol Brown
February 19, 2018 @ 23:00
5.0  

No problems at all except it does take a while for reimbursement. I am sure they are working on that. The surgeon that did my husbands Achilles’ tendon surgery said he thinks LHS is the best thing out there. He was very impressed!!

J
JESSICA LEGAN
January 24, 2018 @ 15:20
3.0  

I had a medical incident in early July. Having the bills paid or reimbursed has been a major, major battle with me needing to follow up every day. One large bill was sent to a debt collector because Liberty’s partner (MedCost Solutions) is absolutely ineffective. They will not return my calls, nor the calls of the provider’s debt collector.

I had a medical incident in early July. Having the bills paid or reimbursed has been a major, major battle with me needing to follow up every day. One large bill was sent to a debt collector because Liberty’s partner (MedCost Solutions) is ab..
More
K
Kristine
November 2, 2017 @ 02:22
4.0  

The entire cost of our pregnancy was covered and we have been thrilled with Liberty. We also had to wait a really long time for some of the reimbursement though

A
Anthony
October 30, 2017 @ 18:48
3.0  

Had Liberty for over a year now. Bills take a long time to get paid, but they get paid so can’t complain there. Overall, this has been a great option for me and my family.