Medi-Share Review
Expensive

Medi-Share Review

 

A Medi-Share Review.

Medi-Share is a very popular healthsharing option that is provided by Christian Care Ministry. The ministry’s Wikipedia page claims there are over 300,145 Medi-Share members since June of 2017. If true, this would make Medi-Share most likely the largest healthsharing organization in the country. The organization also claims to have done over $1 BILLION dollars in shared medical bills among its members.

 

 

Sponsored

Zion Health

4.7
Top Rated Top Rated
Cheap

Zion Health is a fairly new healthshare based out of Utah. They offer super cheap plans and even Direct Primary Care memberships.

• Fast Processing of Needs
• Unlimited Sharing

Medi-Share Review

Below is a review of Medi-Share by Christian Care Ministry. No members of our team are current members of Medi-Share so this information is all gathered from research on the internet. The scoring is based on our opinion from the information that we actually found. If you are a Medi-Share member, please submit a review at the bottom! 

 

How Medi-Share Works

Medi-Share seems to work a lot like Liberty and all of the other healthsharing ministries out there. The Christian Care Ministry does do a really good job of explaining everything on their website. They have also created a pretty nifty video that explains exactly how Medi-Share works for a member.

Essentially, each Medi-Share member will submit their “Standard Monthly Share” each month and that money can be sent to other members who need a medical bill paid. Whenever you need an eligible medical bill to be paid yourself, you will receive money from other members as well.

 

 

In the video, they also touch on the penalty exemption that one would normally have to pay for not having health insurance. Luckily, healthsharing ministries are exempt from this penalty due to its religious status.

 

Pricing

The pricing for Medi-Share is pretty straight-forward. Christian Care Ministry’s website also provides an easy-to-use cost calculator to determine how much you would need to pay to be a member. Below are the pricing results I was given after entering in the calculator that I was an individual born in 1990.

Medi-Share review

Annual Household Portion

The Annual Household Portion (AHP) is a very similar concept to the Annual Unshared Amount used by ministries like Liberty Healthshare. With Medi-Share, your Annual Household Portion is the amount of money that you must pay out of your pocket before Medi-Share will start sharing your eligible medical bills. As you can see above, the more you are willing to pay for your monthly share, the less of an Annual Household Portion you will have.

Standard Monthly Share

Medi-Share’s Standard Monthly Share is the price that you will need to pay each month to be a member. For an individual in my 20’s, I would only need to pay $80 per month in order to have a $10,000 AHP. This would be a great option for a young, healthy individual that hardly ever has any medical bills. You can have a cheap monthly payment but still walk the streets knowing that if something bad were to happen, you would have help after $10,000.

Healthy Monthly Share

This is something that caught my eye at first. Medi-Share seems to put an emphasis on healthy individuals. If you meet their certain health standards, you can receive up to a 20% discount on your monthly share costs. I think this an amazing way to incentivize individuals to be healthy. Nice job Christian Care Ministry!

 

Signing Up

Medi-Share has a pretty easy application process. You can either fill out their digital application or call their sales line at (800) 772-5623 and a rep will walk you through the application process. When applying to Medi-Share, you are required to pay a one-time non-refundable $50 application fee.

Almost immediately after completing an application, you will receive an email to complete some more forms.

If you’re approved for Meds-Share, you will then be required to pay a one-time $120 “new member” fee along with your monthly share.

How To Pay For Medi-Share

Medi-Share requires you to set up a Personal Sharing Account with their financial partner America’s Christian Credit Union (ACCU).

There is a $2 one-time membership fee for setting this account up and then another $2 every month for administrative fees.

Once this account is set up, this is where the money will be passed through for your Medi-Share membership.

 

Healthsaring reviews

 

Leave a review!

Are you a member of Medi-Share from Christian Care Ministry? Please leave a review below so others can get a better sense of what it’s like to be a part of a healthsharing ministry!

If you have any questions about Medi-Share, contact us or hit us up on Twitter or Facebook!

Pros

  • One of the largest healthshares.

Cons

  • "Low-tech"

Overall review score

2
81 reviews

Leave Your Review

  • Review Score
    0.0

Reviews

D
Dr. John Starwell
November 27, 2020 @ 07:54
5.0  

MediShare has been like a family to us for almost ten years. It’s more than just a cheap way to get insurance for a small business owner. For us, the community, the prayer, and knowing our money doesn’t go for abortions. That’s all part of it too! We wouldn’t trade it for insurance again, ever!

MediShare has been like a family to us for almost ten years. It’s more than just a cheap way to get insurance for a small business owner. For us, the community, the prayer, and knowing our money doesn’t go for abortions. That’s all part of it t..
More
E
Ethan Harden
November 26, 2020 @ 01:06
5.0  

I had emergency surgery on my back last year. After my AHP, they paid all of my bills and even called to check in on my progress. I have never had an insurance company that would do anything like that for me. We will be with Medishare for a long time to come!

I had emergency surgery on my back last year. After my AHP, they paid all of my bills and even called to check in on my progress. I have never had an insurance company that would do anything like that for me. We will be with Medishare for a long tim..
More
L
Lydia Sargent
November 24, 2020 @ 23:32
1.0  

Do not use Medishare.
They will not process bills in a timely way.
They will not follow up with you for information if any information is missing to process a bill.
They will expect you as the member to do their job for them throughout processing, claims, and follow up continuously to make sure they are still doing their job.
Medishare gives only a ’90 day’ grace period before dropping your claim (read your fine print!), so make sure you are checking your online portal religiously for months on end for any updates for work you need to do, or you may not have your bill shared. No emails, phone calls, or paper mailers informing of more needed information…sub-par service to say the least!
Stay away!
After four years as loyal members, we are switching to a different company with honesty and better communication!

Do not use Medishare. They will not process bills in a timely way. They will not follow up with you for information if any information is missing to process a bill. They will expect you as the member to do their job for them throughout processing, cl..
More
N
Nancy DiGioia
November 24, 2020 @ 16:39
1.0  

We have been members of Medishare since 2015. This past year, we exceeded our family portion (deductible) and expected my son’s surgery to be covered. They did no cover it, and are very slow to respond to bills. It seems like they drag their feet waiting for the 1 year anniversary of the procedure so that they can reject it for being beyond the allotted time of service. DO NOT USE MEDISHARE!!!!! Go elsewhere

We have been members of Medishare since 2015. This past year, we exceeded our family portion (deductible) and expected my son’s surgery to be covered. They did no cover it, and are very slow to respond to bills. It seems like they drag their fe..
More
J
John Reinhold
November 18, 2020 @ 20:04
5.0  

We’ve had 3 boys while on Medi-Share, other hospital visits, speciality consults, and outpatient needs. All bills were shared. Our providers were in-network so they just sent the bills to Medi-Share for discounting and processing. Provider billing errors caused some confusion but that’s normal. Members prayed for us on the App. We also used MDLive several times.

We’ve had 3 boys while on Medi-Share, other hospital visits, speciality consults, and outpatient needs. All bills were shared. Our providers were in-network so they just sent the bills to Medi-Share for discounting and processing. Provider bil..
More
A
Aaron Fochtman
November 16, 2020 @ 17:20
1.0  

If I could put a negative number I would. Here is a summary of my experience with medishare after 1+ years of being a member and about 1 year of trying to get them to pay a bill the promised to pay:

1) They will drop most of the calls you make to customer service and never call back. This happened to me over 20 times this past year.
2) They will promise follow up, returned calls, emails, etc. and NEVER follow up. EVER.
3) They will fight tooth and nail to prove that something is a pre-existing condition, even though there is no logical evidence that it is, including forcing you to divulge your medical bills and records from before you were a member, to prove that their false claims aren’t true.
4) Every single agent you talk to, including their supervisors will say things that the next agent you talk to will say wasn’t true, or wasn’t according to policy. After a year of doing this, they told me not to ask their agents quesitions because they don’t know.

Here’s my story. after 10 months with Medishare, with no bills outside of allergies shots and related appointments–my ENT said I needed a septoplasty because of getting repeated bloody noses. After planning the surgery with him—WHO I FOUND ON MEDISHARE’S LIST OF IN-NETWORK DOCTOR’S, I found out that the hospital he was forced to perform the surgery at by his employer was not in network. Despite the ENT who performed the surgery being in the medishare network, and despite TWO AGENTS of medishare assuring me that the surgery would be covered, and getting a notification about the surgery from the hospital before hand, Medishare fought me for months to agree to share the bill.

It took me threatening to sue to get them to adjudicate in my favor, after going through my medical past medical records and trying to prove that my allergies and bloody nose from two years earlier proved my septoplasty need was a pre-existing condition–against the testimony of my doctors. The only reason they agreed to pay the bill at all was because they had two agents telling me they would on recorded calls, and I was now threatening to sue.

However, after months of dealing with non-payment, the hospital was unwilling to negotiating with Medishare, saying that they have frequent problems with Medishare refusing to pay. Because they were out of network, Medishare made me pay $500 + $35 for each service.

The hospital gouged me on a surgery usually costing around $6500 (I was quoted by them at $8500), I ended up being charged over $20000.00 for a 1.5 hour outpatient surgery. The hospital refused to negotiate anything down with me, and because medishare insisted on spending 6-months attempting to negotiate with the hospital–getting nothing reducted–I ended up in collections for over $12000.00 of bills with no negotiating leverage. ON A SURGERY I WAS QUOTED ON FOR $8500. This is after paying over $2500 out of pocket on the surgery, and medishare paying about $4000 out of pocket.

Now, here’s the kicker. I am currently in collections with a collection agency that is reasonable. They understand that I was overpriced because the hospital charged me as if I had no insurance, expecting a write-off. They say they have these problems frequently with Medishare. They said if I can get Medishare to send me a check for the remaining monies they promised, I can offer me a settlement to be finished with the bill. But despite being in collections, and despite TWO SUPERVISOR’S telling me they could write me a check because my account has been written off to collections, the most recent supervisor is telling me that they will not send me the check, but only send it to the medical provider. They are ensuring that I will still have to pay another $3000.00 out of pocket on a surgery at a GOUGED PRICE.

Medishare policy when you try to get them to “share” a bill
1) Hang up….hope they go away
2) If they persist, tell them you have to do something, and you’ll get back to them. Then just don’t do it.
2) If they persist…Say it’s a pre-existing condition….make them prove it isn’t
3) Say you’ll pay the bill…but take forever until they are in collections
4) Don’t negotiate anything down….make sure they pay TOP DOLLAR
5) If all else fails, cite a new policy rule on EVERY SINGLE CALL, take no responsibility for what was said on the last call. If they ask why it was said, just say “I don’t know” or blame them for asking the wrong person.
6) If that doesn’t work. Go back to step 1, and continue.

One year later…this “ministry” is still somehow legal. You want to know where your money is going. To their advertising budget. That’s where.

Oh…can I pray for you for something?

If I could put a negative number I would. Here is a summary of my experience with medishare after 1+ years of being a member and about 1 year of trying to get them to pay a bill the promised to pay: 1) They will drop most of the calls you make to cus..
More
J
Jeff Spencer
November 12, 2020 @ 21:39
1.0  

This is a scam. You can’t cancel, they put you on hold for 30 plus minutes every time.

K
Kathy E Hunter
November 11, 2020 @ 19:18
1.0  

My daughter’s family is facing grim possibilities after diagnosis of an autoimmune disease that is attacking her liver. Medi Share has treated her very badly, and have not seemed to care about her life. She needs a liver transplant, and they have changed their mind several times about covering this expense. Medi-Share may be OK if you have a cold, but not if you are facing life or death decisions. Though they claim to be a Christian company, I am not sure I would agree.

My daughter’s family is facing grim possibilities after diagnosis of an autoimmune disease that is attacking her liver. Medi Share has treated her very badly, and have not seemed to care about her life. She needs a liver transplant, and they ..
More
S
Scott Van Ness
November 6, 2020 @ 21:15
2.0  

Were members for 5 years. Every time we submitted bills for reimbursement it became a 6 month process. Have to have the Dr office fill out form exactly with codes their way or no reimbursement. Went to cancel and got notice 2 weeks later that we missed some magic deadline that is not published. Spoke to representative who refused to let us speak with a supervisor. Although it was manageable for a time, I would not recommend them because of lack integrity at the end.

Were members for 5 years. Every time we submitted bills for reimbursement it became a 6 month process. Have to have the Dr office fill out form exactly with codes their way or no reimbursement. Went to cancel and got notice 2 weeks later that we m..
More
M
Maria L.
November 2, 2020 @ 21:03
5.0  

Medi-Share member for 2 years. Really encouraged by the community feel. Also, they have paid every bill for an emergency surgery that I had in the summer. 5 out of 5 in my book.

R
Ron Hansen
October 24, 2020 @ 01:10
1.0  

Biggest scam going! Do people think that since it is a “Christian” outfit it will be above board? Do people not look at reviews of this organization before buying???

J
Janice S.
October 23, 2020 @ 17:49
4.0  

Medi-Share has treated us fairly. Been with them for 2 years now. Our 7 year old son broke his arm last year. We ended up with a $27k bill, to which we were wondering how it would go with bill “sharing”. After we paid our part, the entire bill was taken care of. We were so thankful and even got a card in the mail letting us know they were praying for us. We save enough each month to cover our wellness visits many times over. Appreciate Medi-Share.

Medi-Share has treated us fairly. Been with them for 2 years now. Our 7 year old son broke his arm last year. We ended up with a $27k bill, to which we were wondering how it would go with bill “sharing”. After we paid our part, the entire..
More
M
Marissa Finch
October 19, 2020 @ 19:25
1.0  

Our experience with Medishare was quite unpleasant. I would honestly not recommend them to anyone. To make a long story short, I checked in with them 4 times before submitting my maternity bill to make sure that everything was correct. Each time, I was assured that it was. Now my daughter is 6 months old, I have spent hours on the phone with them (after being told that the exact bill they said was right is now wrong), and I have only received about half the amount I was told to expect. I feel very deceived as I was extremely thorough in ensuring the bill was submitted correctly and asking about the reimbursement.
Fortunately, my family has switched sharing programs and we are no longer a part of Medishare, so we won’t have to deal with this issue again in the future. We ended up switching when they told us that everyone’s monthly share would go up ~7% due to inflation, and our portion went up 35%.
On the plus side, everyone I’ve spoken with has been very kind, but unfortunately not helpful.

Our experience with Medishare was quite unpleasant. I would honestly not recommend them to anyone. To make a long story short, I checked in with them 4 times before submitting my maternity bill to make sure that everything was correct. Each time, I w..
More
M
Melinda
October 17, 2020 @ 19:19
1.0  

I tried to cancel when my employer offered better coverage at a much lower monthly price and lower deductibles.

That was over six weeks ago and they still will not respond, they charged me after the coverage was to end and indicating they plan to charge me for next month’s coverage.

If you want to get lock into a program that offers minimal coverage at full coverage price and never be able to get out – MediShare is for you.

Don’t let the word “Christian” in their title confuse you.

I tried to cancel when my employer offered better coverage at a much lower monthly price and lower deductibles. That was over six weeks ago and they still will not respond, they charged me after the coverage was to end and indicating they plan to cha..
More
J
Jaime Resendiz
October 17, 2020 @ 15:00
1.0  

I have tried to cancel my service with this company multiple times but they do not return phone calls. There wait times is above 30 minutes every time and no one ever picks up. They say you can receive a call back with their system but no call back is ever made. I have emailed them repeatedly with zero follow-up. They even say you can send available times to receive a call back but they don’t. As mentioned, I attempted to cancel online but they REQUIRE and make it MANDATORY for you to speak with them before canceling. Well…kind of hard when they dodge the calls. Please beware! This is an irresponsible company!

I have tried to cancel my service with this company multiple times but they do not return phone calls. There wait times is above 30 minutes every time and no one ever picks up. They say you can receive a call back with their system but no call back i..
More
D
Dissatisfied member
October 17, 2020 @ 05:11
1.0  

We’ve been Mdeishare members for about two years. Overall I am not satisfied with the lack of transparency, and refusal to responsibly cover medical costs.
My 5 year old son had an emergency appendectomy and we spent about 10 days in the Children’s Hospital because he had an infection from the burst appendix. It has been almost a year since the surgery and Medishare still has not paid the bill. It’s a huge bill of 140,000 and Medishare is not paying because it’s excessive. I agree it’s a huge bill but the hospital won’t budge below 80% or 112,000 and Medishare won’t pay more than 70,000. I fear they won’t pay anything at all which makes me question their Christian character.

We’ve been Mdeishare members for about two years. Overall I am not satisfied with the lack of transparency, and refusal to responsibly cover medical costs. My 5 year old son had an emergency appendectomy and we spent about 10 days in the Childr..
More
S
Shara
October 8, 2020 @ 20:28
1.0  

Medi-Share, for me, was paying every month to have no insurance. The reason I signed up for it was because I couldn’t afford the insurance through my job. Which, I thought was the point of it. However, the plan that I could afford through Medi-Share had such a high “deductible” that when I went to the ER, I received absolutely NO help from them. None. Even with the cheapest of insurance, you’d receive some help. I received none. Which opened my eyes to the fact that I was literally just paying each month to not have insurance. It’s a waste of money. AND they are IMPOSSIBLE to get on the phone. I’ve been trying to cancel for weeks, but no one answers the phone (which, of course, is the only way you can cancel your membership).

Save your money.

Medi-Share, for me, was paying every month to have no insurance. The reason I signed up for it was because I couldn’t afford the insurance through my job. Which, I thought was the point of it. However, the plan that I could afford through Medi-..
More
J
Jacob M.
October 8, 2020 @ 19:22
5.0  

Got a chance to meet some of the workers at an event. Great people. Joined 2 years ago and love it! I use the tele doc service a lot. It’s free and they can send in a prescription to my local Walgreens same day.

H
Heather
October 8, 2020 @ 18:05
1.0  

If I could give this company a negative # I would. They essentially STOLE $21,000 + dollars from me and my family for the last 7-8 years.

We invest in our health and wellness regularly, unlike most Americans, so we never need Doctors.

In 8 years of paying them money we have NEVER had a NEED.

This year I had to go to an ENT, and found out that, from that one time incident in 8 years, as a paying customer – which we were NEVER Told before ever – that only a portion that THEY decide of my bill will go to our Annual Household portion – not the entire bill we pay out of pocket.

Then my husband had to go to a Functional Neurologist for an emergency episode of Bell’s Palsy from stress, for a # of weeks for consistent treatment.

They told us they we couldn’t submit ANY Of those expenses to our Annual Household portion b/c he was also a Chiropractic Doctor.

Bottom line – he was WHO COULD HEAL MY HUSBAND.

SO BASICALLY THEY STOLE OVER $21,000 FROM US, and we got zero care or support when we need them ONE TIME.

This is the FURTHEST THING from Christian, and I will be contacting our attorney to discuss this as we were never informed of this at anytime. This organization is a sham. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY, unless you intend to throw it away.

All they support is drugs and medications – exactly what keeps people SICK & MEDICATED.

If I could give this company a negative # I would. They essentially STOLE $21,000 + dollars from me and my family for the last 7-8 years. We invest in our health and wellness regularly, unlike most Americans, so we never need Doctors. In 8 years of..
More
J
John Dodson
October 2, 2020 @ 17:50
5.0  

Let’s get right to the good stuff! I absolutely love the mission and vision of this organization. They aren’t perfect, but they are 1000% better than any insurance company you will deal with. Not one bill eligible for sharing has ever been unpaid!!

Please educate yourself on what is/isn’t considered eligible for sharing. The fact that many Americans don’t take the time to educate themselves on every aspect before joining is where the majority of these negative reviews come from.

At the end of the day the choice is yours, but for many families Medi-Share is an excellent choice.

Let’s get right to the good stuff! I absolutely love the mission and vision of this organization. They aren’t perfect, but they are 1000% better than any insurance company you will deal with. Not one bill eligible for sharing has ever bee..
More
A
Angie
October 2, 2020 @ 14:14
1.0  

I am very disappointed with the customer service at Medi-Share. I have emailed them 4 times and called numerous time to cancel our membership. They responded to the first email stating if I would like to be contacted by one of there representatives to email them back with days and times that worked best for us. I have done exactly what they have requested and still no response. It is very easy to sign up but when it comes to cancelling they ignore any effort I have put forth.

I am very disappointed with the customer service at Medi-Share. I have emailed them 4 times and called numerous time to cancel our membership. They responded to the first email stating if I would like to be contacted by one of there representatives..
More
M
Mike Schunk
September 30, 2020 @ 14:08
1.0  

Medishare says they provide a referral fee. After months I have not received a referral fee. I call and each time speak with someone different, no one will give me a contact that I can call directly. If I’m having this much trouble getting a referral fee just imagine the problem members have getting reimbursed for medical expenses. – If anyone in Medishate is reading, my case is #01856954.

Medishare says they provide a referral fee. After months I have not received a referral fee. I call and each time speak with someone different, no one will give me a contact that I can call directly. If I’m having this much trouble getting a re..
More
J
Julia
September 23, 2020 @ 14:40
5.0  

Medi-Share is by far, the best option among health care sharing ministries. They share my bills quickly. They are helpful on the phone. Always pray for me when I call. I am thankful for Medi-Share and have been a member for 7 years!

A
AG
September 21, 2020 @ 16:05
1.0  

Unprofessional. I’m pregnant and they have deactivated 2 times for nonpayment (which is untrue) without calling or emailing me! So I had literally no idea they deactivated me until I got a letter in the mail. I had to send in proof of payment for them to reactivate me and they claimed that they had tried to call and left several messages and several emails (again, untrue). Very disappointed with this company!!

Unprofessional. I’m pregnant and they have deactivated 2 times for nonpayment (which is untrue) without calling or emailing me! So I had literally no idea they deactivated me until I got a letter in the mail. I had to send in proof of payment f..
More
S
Shane McIntosh
September 18, 2020 @ 21:27
1.0  

I strongly suggested that my son and daughter in law, both Methodist Ministers join Medi-Share. That was a mistake and I am pretty much an expert in the field to know what I am talking about as a 39 year health insurance agent. If Medi-Share does not consider something an eligible expense they do not cover it like Blood Work, Well Child visits, and Occupational Therapy for a new born. These are normal covered expenses under healthcare. Oh wait, they pay $100.00 of a $400.00 OT visit with no discount for the provider service. So each time the little one goes to OT mom and dad are out $300.00! Where is their PPO network and provider discount? Well baby visits are not covered! Let that sink in. You get what you pay for!

I strongly suggested that my son and daughter in law, both Methodist Ministers join Medi-Share. That was a mistake and I am pretty much an expert in the field to know what I am talking about as a 39 year health insurance agent. If Medi-Share does n..
More
J
Janna Riggs
September 17, 2020 @ 16:32
1.0  

Signing up for Christian Medi-Share was one of the worst decisions I’ve made. I understand this isn’t insurance, and that it’s very different from that, but just like other insurance companies they are sure to leave out important information while trying to get the most money from their customers. It was not disclosed to me anywhere that things considered as normal or regular visits still won’t be covered after meeting your AHP.

When I could not longer afford the monthly portion and tried to cancel, I was talked into keeping the highest AHP (lowest monthly portion) “in case of emergency” until I could get on the open enrollment plan from the government. Long story short, this didn’t get updated for two months and only took me contacting them multiple times to get my account straight, which has cost me hundreds of extra dollars I was told I wouldn’t be charged.

Signing up for Christian Medi-Share was one of the worst decisions I’ve made. I understand this isn’t insurance, and that it’s very different from that, but just like other insurance companies they are sure to leave out important i..
More
S
Sammy T.
September 14, 2020 @ 19:52
5.0  

Great option that saves me thousands!!! I am so thankful they added mental health services for free.

A
Alan
September 14, 2020 @ 16:39
1.0  

Horrible experience. They flagged me for a preexisting condition that I do not have. I had a bacterial infection in 2015 and was the only time in my life I was hospitalized. Before we signed up we asked if we would have to pay since I did not have a preexisting condition and had gone through a litany of tests to prove so a year earlier. They promised it would be removed after we signed up with as appeal. I appealed and got a simple no without any explanation of why. After 3 months of emails and phone calls and working with their health coach I am done. They said when I got through the health coaching I would have the fee reimbursed, but I would have to pay for labs periodically afterwards. Wasted 3 months of time and money. Will never recommend.

Horrible experience. They flagged me for a preexisting condition that I do not have. I had a bacterial infection in 2015 and was the only time in my life I was hospitalized. Before we signed up we asked if we would have to pay since I did not have a ..
More
J
Jennifer Janke
September 3, 2020 @ 18:44
1.0  

Absolutely the most disappointing experience I have had with any health company, and they claim to be Christian. Luckily, I have since ended my membership with them and will not go back. They refused to cover an ultrasound for a new breast lump I found by calling it a “pre-existing condition.” I had the doctor’s office recode it correctly, they reprocessed it under the new code, and denied it again but NEVER informed me. I never received an EOB or notification. COVID hit around the same time and the bills stopped coming so I assumed it was resolved. Suddenly, the bills resumed a few days ago, and I called them immediately. They said because 90 days had passed (by less than 2 weeks, by the way) since the denial, NOTHING could be done, no exceptions. I guess they don’t consider a GLOBAL PANDEMIC an exception to even just re-evaluate my case to see that the bill should have been covered. I am a medical provider and know what good, compassionate care is like – and this is not that. So now, pregnant with our fourth baby, we owe a bill that we never should have owed.

Absolutely the most disappointing experience I have had with any health company, and they claim to be Christian. Luckily, I have since ended my membership with them and will not go back. They refused to cover an ultrasound for a new breast lump I fou..
More
C
Collin
September 1, 2020 @ 20:34
1.0  

Terrible customer service and unethical health practices. They lure you in with claims that they will waive your setup fees, then they complicate the process with health questions and arbitrary decisions to charge you more based solely on BMI, which is ridiculous. Roughly 20 min of paperwork takes several days to correct on their end and you have to wait impossible amounts of time to hear from someone on the phone. I regularly get six different answers about something and have received four different forms on how to fix this stuff. It should be 100% illegal to charge people more based on BMI (which mine isn’t even bad).

That being said, they are much cheaper than health insurance and structured better. So I’m likely stuck with them until I get a job to provide it again, but their customer service is so poor that I’m thinking about just going without until I can get real health insurance.

They need to step up their customer service, professionalism, and speed, period.

Terrible customer service and unethical health practices. They lure you in with claims that they will waive your setup fees, then they complicate the process with health questions and arbitrary decisions to charge you more based solely on BMI, which ..
More
C
Courtney
August 31, 2020 @ 18:38
1.0  

I’ve been with medishare for 4 years now and trying to cancel. Initially, I was a fan of medishare, it was cost effective monthly and covered a great deal of my first pregnancy. With my second pregnancy, the company did not cover as many bills, although my share was increased monthly. By the end of my second pregnancy they asked me to apply to Medicaid to relieve their burden to share my bills. With my third pregnancy, CCM will not share any of my bills until I applied for another program such as Medicaid. I’m quite frustrated that a service I’ve been paying for four years refuses to share my bills and instead asks me to apply for a another program to pay for bills. I feel like I’ve been throwing my money away monthly for a service that I’m being refused.

I’ve been with medishare for 4 years now and trying to cancel. Initially, I was a fan of medishare, it was cost effective monthly and covered a great deal of my first pregnancy. With my second pregnancy, the company did not cover as many bills, alt..
More
J
Jeff
August 18, 2020 @ 02:52
1.0  

Medi-Share authorized me to proceed with a pre-authorized surgery with an “In Network Provider” listed on Medi-Share’s website for a broken lower leg. After 1 year and countless phone calls Medi-Share declined to pay any amount of the bill claiming “Unnecessary Excess Overcharge” from the “In Network Provider”.
I was never successful in speaking with someone that actually worked on my case. I was always transferred to the “Cost Strategy Team” where I was instructed to leave a message. No responses. Except one email, approximately 1 year later, stating that “Because of excessive charges my bill is not eligible for sharing and would remain so unless I could get the bill reduced to Medi-Shares guidelines”. I wondered why they couldn’t pay a portion commensurate with their guidelines but couldn’t actually every reach someone that could discuss. Each time I was however offered prayer and blessing when I really hoped for some support on the bill which went to collections. Thats been a shame.
They suggest that I contact the provider to negotiate the bill which was utterly impossible. I fail to find this a legitimate “In Network’ affiliation which suggest the patient can force the medical provider to change their bill to accommodate as well as fail to understand how this aligns with Medi-Share’s, Christian Care Ministries Mission Statement. This turns out to be a catastrophic financial mistake on my behalf. I do fortunately have still my health.
The Member Handbook states that bills with Excess Overcharge” can be denied. However, I feel that a legitimate payment for the service would be appropriate and certainly in much better alignment with with Medi-Share, Christian Care Ministries Mission Statement.
Based on my experience I strongly recommend making a different choice.

Medi-Share authorized me to proceed with a pre-authorized surgery with an “In Network Provider” listed on Medi-Share’s website for a broken lower leg. After 1 year and countless phone calls Medi-Share declined to pay any amount of t..
More
j
jeff trevaskis
August 14, 2020 @ 14:40
1.0  

worst thing ever. I am saving money by being uninsured. paying 554 a month still paying for prescriptions.

this is only good if you have something major and you better not have any pre-existing that is anywhere close to what went wrong or they will list as pre-existing.

My wife had a ankle problem and they said this was pre-existing because of her hyper tension. what does A have to do with B?

Crazy.

worst thing ever. I am saving money by being uninsured. paying 554 a month still paying for prescriptions. this is only good if you have something major and you better not have any pre-existing that is anywhere close to what went wrong or they will..
More
V
Vicki
August 11, 2020 @ 23:12
1.0  

My husband and I are self-employed and sought Medi-share for our coverage in light of rising insurance premiums . We were with another cost sharing ministry, but we live in Rochester, MN, and the Mayo Clinic is our primary health care provider (family med) since this is the community we live in. We actually were referred to Medishare a couple years ago by someone in Mayo billing, as a cost sharing ministry they work with and recognize. Well, after almost two years of paying our “portion” and no bills to share, we received an email from Medishare on July 21st, 2020, that Mayo Clinic is no longer working with Medishare and we would be considered uninsured/cash pay if we went there. My husband was actually quarantining for COVID exposure when we received this email! I called Mayo to ask why they would cut ties, especially outside open enrollment (I have expressed my frustration with them as well), and they insisted that this policy went into effect on June 1st, and Medishare was just letting us know now! When I called Medishare, the young person I spoke with had no idea what was going on, and actually asked me to forward him the email I received so he could be familiar with it! Medishare still insists that they just found out in July, so someone, either Mayo or Medishare, is being untruthful. We had a very stressful couple of days wondering is we would be able to get on our insurance exchange outside open enrollment due to loss of coverage, and thankfully we did. I guess my advice for anyone considering this is be very careful. Unfortunately you get what you pay for. Maybe Medishare works in other parts of the country, but trusting it for our coverage here could have proven disastrous if we needed serious care at Mayo. Buyer beware!

My husband and I are self-employed and sought Medi-share for our coverage in light of rising insurance premiums . We were with another cost sharing ministry, but we live in Rochester, MN, and the Mayo Clinic is our primary health care provider (fami..
More
G
G
August 1, 2020 @ 14:36
1.0  

Unethical and basically worthless for coverage. I’m a self-employed, Christian Licensed Mental Health Counselor. I thought this would be a good option because I needed affordable healthcare. I’m healthy and had never been hospitalized until the end of last year. I had almost 60K in medical bills. Medi-share refused to pay, falsely stating, pre-existing condition. I spend my days helping people with severe trauma and now I’m looking at probably having to file for medical bankruptcy. I believe in personal responsibility but I simply do not make enough money to be able to pay this. I’m still trying to work with the hospital. Even if you are healthy…I highly suggest you DO NOT use Medi-share for your healthcare needs!

Unethical and basically worthless for coverage. I’m a self-employed, Christian Licensed Mental Health Counselor. I thought this would be a good option because I needed affordable healthcare. I’m healthy and had never been hospitalized unt..
More
S
Susan
July 29, 2020 @ 21:33
5.0  

Raving Fans of Medi-Share! We have been members since 2017 and have been healthy. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2019 and I was concerned about not have traditional insurance. However, Medi-Share was WONDERFUL! They paid every bill promptly (I only had one snag with the hospital bill after reconstructive surgery, but it was more of a failing on the part of the hospital to provide detailed information for the claim) — for chemo treatments, mastectomy and reconstructive surgery — for multiple consultations with breast surgeons and oncologists. In addition, I signed up for a care manager who prayed with me and was so encouraging! I cannot say enough about how happy we are with Medi-Share!! I’ve told everyone I know about it! I’m sorry that not everyone has had the same experience we have had. Medi-Share has been a huge blessing to our family.

Raving Fans of Medi-Share! We have been members since 2017 and have been healthy. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2019 and I was concerned about not have traditional insurance. However, Medi-Share was WONDERFUL! They paid every bill promptly (I..
More
R
Rodney
July 29, 2020 @ 10:59
1.0  

Zero stars. Terrible company! You would be better of throwing the money that you were going to give them away! They love to take it but when it’s there turn to help you out (the information they are receiving is incomplete) and all the while it could take more time! Or your bills were not eligible! Yeh thieves!

Zero stars. Terrible company! You would be better of throwing the money that you were going to give them away! They love to take it but when it’s there turn to help you out (the information they are receiving is incomplete) and all the while it cou..
More
B
Barry
July 27, 2020 @ 00:03
1.0  

I confess I seldom leave online reviews. I think this is the second one in my lifetime. However, this company has me frustrated beyond belief and warrants some warning for someone considering signing up. The self reporting process I have to go through for providers that don’t file directly (many) is cumbersome. I’ve waited 3-4 months for them to process my bills only to find out they only paid a portion and justify it using some obscure service or reason code. The vibe I get is they do everything they can to aviod paying the medical bills, or at the very least make me waste my time to babysit them in their processing. I have faxed and refaxed. I have called. I’ve been on hold. I’ve been on hold. I’ve been on hold. Understaffed. Undertrained. Poor technology. I once thought it was well priced but with the recent price increases I’m not so sure. Let’s just say I’m shopping soon. But, they will pray for you!

I confess I seldom leave online reviews. I think this is the second one in my lifetime. However, this company has me frustrated beyond belief and warrants some warning for someone considering signing up. The self reporting process I have to go thr..
More
R
Randy Blase
July 23, 2020 @ 17:18
1.0  

they did not pay 1 cent for any of my healthcare needs. when i found Urgent Care that was ” part of the network” Medi-Share told me to call them and ask if they would cover me, i did ant they said NO. medi-share told me to call urgent care again and told them that they are in my network and to take me for urgent treatment, i never got service . I am a christian and a deacon at my local church and would never recommend this organization to anyone.

they did not pay 1 cent for any of my healthcare needs. when i found Urgent Care that was ” part of the network” Medi-Share told me to call them and ask if they would cover me, i did ant they said NO. medi-share told me to call urgent car..
More
R
Roberta Hause
July 20, 2020 @ 23:08
2.0  

I read in an article by a Medi-Share member that you don’t cover costs for pre-existing conditions for 36 months. Is this true? If so, that’s 3 years, and too long time to wait for coverage say if you are an insulin dependent diabetic and need pump supplies, insulin, and continuous glucose monitoring supplies.

I read in an article by a Medi-Share member that you don’t cover costs for pre-existing conditions for 36 months. Is this true? If so, that’s 3 years, and too long time to wait for coverage say if you are an insulin dependent diabetic and..
More
J
J Dun
July 16, 2020 @ 16:32
1.0  

I am trying to cancel membership and am having a very hard time doing so! Long hold time and the recording says to log in to chat immediately…really! I have tried to chat 4xs now and no one ever responds as I even took pictures! Still on hold to cancel and I have many other things to do! So disappointed as when you want to sign up they are available but when you want to cancel they appear to be unreachable. I have been on hold for a very long time listening to their recording and cannot get anyone on chat! Very bad customer service!!!!

I am trying to cancel membership and am having a very hard time doing so! Long hold time and the recording says to log in to chat immediately…really! I have tried to chat 4xs now and no one ever responds as I even took pictures! Still on hold t..
More
R
Robby
July 14, 2020 @ 22:04
2.0  

To those who are trying to silence real frustrations about CCM on this page, stop. This forum is the only opportunity to share our good experiences and our issues, because no one in a management position will make him/herself available to answer legitimate questions. Perhaps they’ll pay attention to people here. We were once the biggest champions of CCM, too. But then …

We joined CCM nearly five years ago to cut our monthly premium (share) and because we appreciated having our questions answered. Since then, our share has gone up nearly 70 percent and the personal service has become very similar to corporate customer service where agents are instructed to read a script — including the popular, “I’m sorry, there’s nothing I can do.” That’s all we ever get from CCM.

Note, we’re a healthy family. In our nearly five years with CCM (more than $30,000 in monthly shares in that period), we haven’t applied for a single benefit. This month, in the middle of these difficult financial times, I looked at our bank account online and saw CCM had quietly increased our monthly share 22% over last month. That’s right, a 22 percent hike. This while our car insurance company gave us a rebate, our power company lowered their cost-per-wattage, and our phone company adjusted every customer payment down. During these times, the massive increase hardly defines what we would expect from a Christian … Care … Ministry.

When we emailed for an explanation of our 22% increase, CCM sent us a form letter borrowed from cold corporate speak. It audaciously mentioned a “slight” increase averaging “3-10%.” Um … what? Obviously, no one reads the emails. So we called. The young customer-service rep that they put on the frontline to take the call was only allowed to say: “I wish I could help.” When we asked to speak with someone who could help, she said it wasn’t possible.

So, to the leaders of CCM … you’re quickly losing the very qualities that made this ministry so attractive: personal service and costs that reward people who are good stewards of their health and finances. A 22% increase during these times? After being told to expect a 7% increase? For what? For being healthy? For never asking for a benefit? Please explain how you align this with anything close to Scripture. I would love to hear a personal response. Even better, I’d love for someone to be available to engage in meaningful conversations — just like any good business person, Christian or secular, would do with clients.

To those who are trying to silence real frustrations about CCM on this page, stop. This forum is the only opportunity to share our good experiences and our issues, because no one in a management position will make him/herself available to answer legi..
More
L
Liz
July 14, 2020 @ 18:47
2.0  

Medishare’s telehealth option was helpful, but Medishare as a whole was unable/unwilling to work with my husband and me in our unique situation. Their customer service agents were pleasant but unhelpful and unknowledgeable. I have since switched to a different Christian health-sharing ministry that has better benefits and a lower monthly share.

Medishare’s telehealth option was helpful, but Medishare as a whole was unable/unwilling to work with my husband and me in our unique situation. Their customer service agents were pleasant but unhelpful and unknowledgeable. I have since switche..
More
M
Mark
July 13, 2020 @ 21:46
1.0  

Medishare is as unhelpful and as bureaucratic as any other health insurer. Their customer “support” people aren’t helpful. But, rest assured, after refusing to help you they’ll wish you a pleasant day and pray for you.

Just think of them as an insurance company hiding behind religion. A Jerry Falwell or Jimmy Swaggert in the health care industry.

Nicholas’ review here, from June 15, 2020, us spot on.

I guess being “Christian” means having a healthy bureaucracy that doesn’t work for the customer and puts up barriers to getting things done.

Medishare is as unhelpful and as bureaucratic as any other health insurer. Their customer “support” people aren’t helpful. But, rest assured, after refusing to help you they’ll wish you a pleasant day and pray for you. Just th..
More
K
Kaleb Baldridge
July 3, 2020 @ 14:05
1.0  

I just had my rate raised another $30 for the third time this year during a global pandemic with no claims. The only claim we did submit Christian Care denied for 11 months and I paid out of pocket. Not a good thing honestly.

C
Cristina Hunnewell
June 29, 2020 @ 21:07
1.0  

I am writing this again because I did not see it on the reviews. THESE PEOPLE ARE NOT CHRISTIANS. I dealt with Jonathan, Miles and Carson. ALL lied. They are scam artists. I am a Christian and now know why people do not like us. These IMPOSTORS turn people away from the faith. They were very unprofessional, as I said, lied multiple times and were full of Judgement. They were PASSIVE AGGRESSIVE. Dealing with a non believer would have been better. But we know on what I experienced and can prove, they are far from BELIEVERS. SAVE your money. They will not help you. I will write these reviews where ever I can because they should be held to a higher standard since they are using God. I only know three true Christians these days. No reason to ask why our Country is doomed. I will not end up like these people. I will not.

I am writing this again because I did not see it on the reviews. THESE PEOPLE ARE NOT CHRISTIANS. I dealt with Jonathan, Miles and Carson. ALL lied. They are scam artists. I am a Christian and now know why people do not like us. These IMPOSTORS..
More
N
Nicholas
June 15, 2020 @ 15:55
1.0  

As a believer in Christ and a pastor, I do not want to leave negative reviews and hurt businesses. However, I feel it is necessary that I write this review so that others who are considering Medishare can have an honest perspective.

When my wife and I were first married, we began using Medishare. We were customers for 7 years. At first, we loved it. It was affordable. We loved how our “share” was going to meet the needs of others. We loved that when we talked to them, they prayed with us at the end of the phone call. We also loved how easy it was. When we had our first 2 children, it was everything as advertised. We met our Annual Household Portion (“AHP) and then our needs were shared after we met our AHP. This all took place while we were living in Southern California with many “in network” doctors and facilities.

Then, we moved to the Mid-West. Although they market in our well populated Midwest city, there are very few in network doctors and facilities in our area. When we first moved here, we didn’t realize how few doctors and facilities actually were in network. It was a surprise to us that everything became such a battle with our healthcare providers and Medishare. I spent my one day off a week on the phone for 3-4 hours every week either talking to healthcare providers and/or Medishare to resolve medical bills, miscommunications, or missteps.

This hit the hardest when our daughter was born and was in the NICU for a few weeks. Although that has now been over 1 year ago, I am still wrestling with Medishare and the hospital disputing bills. We may have had an “in network” doctor, but the hospital was “out of network”. The hospital doesn’t send payments to Medishare, so they send the bills to Medishare, Medishare rejects them, I get billed from the hospital, and then I need to act as my own representative mediating between Medishare and the hospital.

The hospital says these bills are overdue and that they are going to collections. Medishare now needs to send me a check to send to the hospital, but a medical bill isn’t sufficient to prove this – Medishare need a certain form with certain details. So, I need to request that medical form of the hospital who then will mail it to me, then I fax that form with another Reimbursement form to Medishare, and then I need to wait 90 days until it gets processed. But since we are already 1 year passed the dates of service, Medishare’s policy is that they will not reimburse passed 12 months a date of service. Meanwhile, the hospital is saying that they are sending the bills to collections unless they receive payment from me.

This is just one example. ONE example of our frustration and poor experience. We’ve paid thousands of dollars out of pocket that we shouldn’t have paid because Medishare has not delivered. Healthcare providers called me asking for payment, I call Medishare asking why they haven’t paid, they call the healthcare provider WITH ME on the phone asking for an extension to pay the provider, but every time they asked for an extension, they never delivered and never paid. My cases went as high as they could go in Medishare to get help and to rectify their mistakes, and yet they keep failing us even though we no longer have them as our healthcare solution. Healthcare providers have told me to report them for their misconduct because this is not how a business should be treating their clients or healthcare providers.

It is unfortunate I have to leave this 1 star review. If I could, it would be lower than 1 star as I spent another full morning dealing with these same issues I’ve dealt with since moving to the Midwest. It is such a relief now having real healthcare insurance. I know it is expensive and I know any healthcare solution will come with its head aches, but no one should have to go through what we went through especially after our hospital stay in the NICU.

I hope this provides a fair, honest, and balanced perspective of our experience with Medishare, and will help you in considering your future healthcare solution.

As a believer in Christ and a pastor, I do not want to leave negative reviews and hurt businesses. However, I feel it is necessary that I write this review so that others who are considering Medishare can have an honest perspective. When my wife and..
More
G
Gary Lyons
June 12, 2020 @ 17:35
2.0  

Received a 19+% increase in premium share after 9 months. So much for receiving an email saying an average increase of 7.5% is coming. And they have never spent one penny on me.
Why preach Christian values and principles if you really have any. If they did, everyone would have the same increase. Going to have to go back to work and find a position with medical benefits so I can get off of this garbage.

Received a 19+% increase in premium share after 9 months. So much for receiving an email saying an average increase of 7.5% is coming. And they have never spent one penny on me. Why preach Christian values and principles if you really have any. If th..
More
M
Mark Riccaboni
June 8, 2020 @ 19:54
1.0  

Medishare is trash!

T
Tim
June 8, 2020 @ 12:38
5.0  

Having 24 hour online docs for free is a win for any parent or someone who travels. I’ve had Medi-Share for 3 years and they do exactly what they have promised. If you join without understanding it’s not insurance than that is on you.

Having 24 hour online docs for free is a win for any parent or someone who travels. I’ve had Medi-Share for 3 years and they do exactly what they have promised. If you join without understanding it’s not insurance than that is on you. ..
More
J
Jeff Smith
June 5, 2020 @ 19:36
1.0  

Terrible Company. They worked tirelessly to deny a claim for a mere office visit for some neck pain I had, calling it pre-existing. I had never seen a doctor for that in my life. ( I was on a high deductible program; they would not have paid a dime.) I used their recommended preferred provider for an MRI and the $3800 bill was adjusted to $3500. I felt outrageously deceived. I had a self-pay quote of $1200. Another $200 doctor bill was adjusted by one dollar. Most healthy people are advised to get higher deductible programs assuming their bills will be repriced to something affordable. Do not use this company for that. They will do nothing for you, except pray for you (over the phone) while they take your money screw you over.

Terrible Company. They worked tirelessly to deny a claim for a mere office visit for some neck pain I had, calling it pre-existing. I had never seen a doctor for that in my life. ( I was on a high deductible program; they would not have paid a dim..
More
A
Alessa
June 3, 2020 @ 13:13
5.0  

I love that Medi-Share has been around for 26 years. I’m excited to see the things being added this year too. I think it’s unfair to have these reviews when you are a direct competitor.

A
Ame
May 31, 2020 @ 13:05
1.0  

Medi-Share did absolutely nothing to help with any medical costs my daughter had for 3+ years they were paying for it. She had 2 babies during that time equaling 3 children needing medical care, plus herself and husband and had zero help. Finally had to get out from under that cost so she could actually make her health care costs.
Please save your money and keep looking…..

Medi-Share did absolutely nothing to help with any medical costs my daughter had for 3+ years they were paying for it. She had 2 babies during that time equaling 3 children needing medical care, plus herself and husband and had zero help. Finally h..
More
J
Joshua Steinhauer
May 20, 2020 @ 20:37
1.0  

My family has had Medishare for three years. At this point, I’ve really had it with this company. They deny coverage for practically everything citing that you haven’t been a member for three years to qualify for anything to actually be covered. My wife recent had our third child, not a single dime of her pregnancy or delivery, which was at a birth center so far cheaper than a hospital, was cover. We had to eat all $9,000 of that cost.

Honestly, you’d be better to go without health insurance and save the premiums you’ll pay to Medishare into a private HSA or saving account. You can cash pay at any walk-in clinic or doctor office and often times it’ll be cheaper than the monthly premium or deductible Medishare is going to give.

This whole scheme is exactly that, convince a bunch of us Christians to pool our money together and then deny coverage for just about everything any normal insurance program would cover. It’s a scam, meant to defraud consumers and Christians. I frankly think the State of Florida should investigate them as a Ponzi scheme because that’s about what this company appears to be.

If I could leave them negative reviews I would. They’ve sucked my family dry of more than $36K in three years through premiums and deductibles. It would have been better for us to go with cash only services than stick around with them. Especially now that they are raising rates another 7.5% for services they don’t even offer.

My family has had Medishare for three years. At this point, I’ve really had it with this company. They deny coverage for practically everything citing that you haven’t been a member for three years to qualify for anything to actually be c..
More
R
Richard
May 19, 2020 @ 12:16
1.0  

Medishare will look for any way not to cover your bills after you meet the deductible. We are paying an extra $4000 over our deductible because the hospital flagged a procedure as “medical history” this was a scope for an ulcer… Hospital said that is how they flag all follow-ups and wouldn’t be able to change it. Medishare refused to cover it even though it was obviously part of a treatment plan that should have been covered.

Medishare will look for any way not to cover your bills after you meet the deductible. We are paying an extra $4000 over our deductible because the hospital flagged a procedure as “medical history” this was a scope for an ulcer… Ho..
More
M
Mike Vilumsons
May 19, 2020 @ 00:43
1.0  

I belonged to Medi share for 3 years and they are refusing to give me a simple email to document when my Medi share coverage is ending so that I can apply for coverage through my new employer. They also led me to believe I would be able to find discounted health care in my area through them, which was not true. Adversarial and unhelpful customer service, will not follow through on what they promised. I am in danger of losing medical coverage opportunity for June due to Medi shares stupidity.

I belonged to Medi share for 3 years and they are refusing to give me a simple email to document when my Medi share coverage is ending so that I can apply for coverage through my new employer. They also led me to believe I would be able to find disco..
More
L
Lianne Azevedo
May 5, 2020 @ 22:04
1.0  

Please read before you get involved. I would leave a 0 if I could!
This has been the worst experience I have ever had from ANY company. I fell and hurt my shoulder back in September 2019 and needed surgery. The unprofessional way they treated my Doctors office pre surgery caused my doctor to require me to pay 60% of my surgery upfront and then I had to apply for reimbursement. Well, it’s now May 2020 and they still have not refunded our almost $12,000.00 . We have gone to every length to comply with there rules and requirements, and still they just continue to make excuses and change what they claim is required. They continue to leave us in limbo as well as it’s SO disappointing how they misrepresent how the Body of Christ should care for one another.

Please read before you get involved. I would leave a 0 if I could! This has been the worst experience I have ever had from ANY company. I fell and hurt my shoulder back in September 2019 and needed surgery. The unprofessional way they treated my Doc..
More
M
Marilyn
March 11, 2020 @ 11:44
5.0  

After reading these comments it’s obvious that these people did NOT take the time to understand how Medi-Share works. It’s unfair to accuse them of not paying bills that the guidelines clearly state they do not share in.

By the way, you have to sign saying you read the guidelines to be approved for membership. I’ve been with Medi-Share for years and they negotiated my one night hospital stay that was over $15k down to under $6k. It’s simple really – do you research, call with questions and join AFTER you understand what you are getting into

After reading these comments it’s obvious that these people did NOT take the time to understand how Medi-Share works. It’s unfair to accuse them of not paying bills that the guidelines clearly state they do not share in. By the way, you h..
More
K
Kevin Lohr
February 15, 2020 @ 01:10
1.0  

My wife and I joined Medi-Share because as Christians thought it was the right thing to do.We are both very healthy people and rarely need medical help so it was a cheaper plan for us. Unfortunately I injured my lower back and wound up with drop foot and needed survey to relieve the impingement. No problem right? Well wrong! Finding a physician that would take this healthcare was slimpicking at best and that led to a delay in needed help. By the time I got into see a physician it was really bad. After pre surgery approval I had the surgery and started rehab only to find out my claim was denied do to (pre existing ) circumstances! That was a lie I had never seen a physician for a back injury only a chiropractor once every couple of years for a adjustment. I’m a middle aged male that works hard so from time to time I strain myself. They had no problem taking my money but the first time I needed help they abandoned me and left me with huge medical bills! So I ask, Christian Health care? Not for my family! We have dropped them and have gone back to a real heath care provider. A very hard lesson to learn and something to pray hard about before making a mistake like me.Make no mistake about it this is not health insurance it’s health sharing ,big difference.

My wife and I joined Medi-Share because as Christians thought it was the right thing to do.We are both very healthy people and rarely need medical help so it was a cheaper plan for us. Unfortunately I injured my lower back and wound up with drop foot..
More
D
DaveW
February 14, 2020 @ 01:14
2.0  

Pro: I really like that they have a tele-doctor service that lets you call and get a quick diagnosis and a prescription written at no cost. Con: If you need to actually see a doctor, they have a list of providers who are “in-network”, but I’ve learned that they don’t negotiate rates with those providers. I went to see an “in network” doctor, and got a cursory exam plus a short conversation — 10 minutes total. No diagnosis, no treatment, no prescription, no nothing. The invoice was $559. I called Medi-Share, but they said that they don’t negotiate rates with their in-network providers…and since I hadn’t met my deductible, it was all mine. What? Now I have to go to the state medical board to dispute the bill. What’s the point of having a provider network if you get overcharged anyway?

Pro: I really like that they have a tele-doctor service that lets you call and get a quick diagnosis and a prescription written at no cost. Con: If you need to actually see a doctor, they have a list of providers who are “in-network”, bu..
More
J
Joanna Roman
February 7, 2020 @ 18:28
1.0  

I’ve been a member of Medi Share for 5 years and I’m about to switch to regular insurance. Things I wish I’d known:

– Never self pay because Medi Share will take months to asess the need and most likely find errors with the paperwork making the process very frustrating. It’s almost like they look for mistakes on paperwork like a name in the wrong place so they can deny the claim. There’s not an easy way to appeal a decision if they decide the bill doesn’t fit the guidelines even if you feel it does.

– Very often good doctors and specialists don’t take any insurance so you’re stuck with self paying and crossing your fingers that Medi Share will reimburse.

– Protocols for detox or healing that involve non shareable modalities like vitamin IVs to flush mold from the body or detox aren’t shareable even when a Licensed doctor prescribes them – basically regular Pharma drugs are fine for sharing but things God made for natural healing are not.

I wouldn’t recommend Medi Share unless you’re very healthy. I had a representative tell me that really Medi Share is for catastrophic circumstances like cancer not for little bills and that those should be paid by the member themselves. No one says that when they’re taking your money each month.

AVOID

I’ve been a member of Medi Share for 5 years and I’m about to switch to regular insurance. Things I wish I’d known: – Never self pay because Medi Share will take months to asess the need and most likely find errors with the paperwork mak..
More
C
Cari C.
January 16, 2020 @ 23:49
1.0  

I wish I could leave zero stars. I work as in billing in a doc’s office and experience all the time how difficult these crooks make it for patients to get reimbursed for charges. Most doctors offices don’t accept health shares (and shouldn’t because they never get paid!) so patients have to pay exorbitant amounts upfront and then follow up with the office because the health share makes reimburse SO difficult. You can’t generate a claim form w/out insurance info, and the health share expects patients to complete and submit a commercial claim form? Nuts! None of our patients with health shares are reimbursed timely if they get reimbursed at all. Real health insurance is more expensive, but it is WORTH it because they know what to do and you are guaranteed a cap on spending (your out of pocket max). Please STAY AWAY from these crooks!

I wish I could leave zero stars. I work as in billing in a doc’s office and experience all the time how difficult these crooks make it for patients to get reimbursed for charges. Most doctors offices don’t accept health shares (and should..
More
C
Colby Campbell
January 5, 2020 @ 14:04
2.0  

My recommendation is never self pay as they will drag out the reimbursement process for months and require paperwork that seems to be impossible to acquire from the hospital. When I go to the billing department of the hospital they do not even know how to get me the information that Medi-share is requiring me to provide. I have been with them for around 7 years and have never been happy when we needed to use them.

My recommendation is never self pay as they will drag out the reimbursement process for months and require paperwork that seems to be impossible to acquire from the hospital. When I go to the billing department of the hospital they do not even know ..
More
P
Paige Pontrich
December 27, 2019 @ 21:02
1.0  

Long ranting post…. please share!
Health Insurance in this country is a joke!!! They make it so unaffordable and the medical bills and requirements are just ridiculous.

I currently have Medi Share. It’s a Christian sharing health program. It’s not considered “insurance”. It took my monthly premium from $600 to $200/ month….. which for a single mom is a big savings. I have had to pay for pretty much everything out of pocket until my “annual household portion” /deductible is met.

I had major back surgery a few weeks ago. And due to all the requirements…I had to have many tests/procedures done before I was eligible to have this major surgery. My current bills through Schneck alone are around $14,000…. and this is is before my surgery. I have yet to recieve my bill for surgery and my hospital stay ( but a 4 hour surgery with a neurosurgeon and a 4 day stay in the hospital as you can imagine will be astronomical). I found out the weekend before Christmas- wonderful Christmas present- that Medi Share will NOT cover any of my bills due to my back due to saying it’s a pre existing condition!!! I started in September seeing dr’s and getting tests done for my back… and found out after my surgery that none of it is covered!!!

I remember my back went out 3 years ago only because it happened on a holiday.. There is no proof of a bulging disc or anything needing surgery at that point…. but they are still saying it’s pre existing! Who hasn’t had back pain in their life?!!!

This has been pretty hard to process for me. Single mom who needed surgery will now be in hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt…. and I didn’t find out until after surgery is over!!!

Also with the timeline….I have missed the enrollment for Healthcare and can’t enroll in Obamacare. While the healthcare provided is still expensive and hard for any household to keep up with…. it is under law, that they can not deny you for pre existing conditions!!

Since Medi Share is not “insurance” they do not have to follow this law!!!!

**I do know others who have had Medi Share and other Christian sharing programs cover medical expenses…… but if you have a pre existing condition I would NOT recommend it!!! It’s more for new injuries/ medical conditions. Since they can make up their own rules…. Medi Share can also deny you for smoking, drug use- legal or illegal, being Gay, among other reasons! They can deny maternity bills if a baby is born out of wedlock- unless the mother was raped! Seems Un-Christian to me!!

Sorry for venting….. but I feel I have little to no options for good health care… and now im in a huge amount of debt that I was not expecting! We should do better in this country with as much as we pay in taxes… we need a better healthcare system.

Please share….I don’t think this is right and others should be aware what they are getting into with Medi Share and other Christian sharing programs.

Long ranting post…. please share! Health Insurance in this country is a joke!!! They make it so unaffordable and the medical bills and requirements are just ridiculous. I currently have Medi Share. It’s a Christian sharing health prog..
More
C
Colin Keeler
December 19, 2019 @ 19:24
5.0  

My family and I have had an exceptional experience with Medi-Share. We pay significantly less than with traditional health insurance, and in return, we receive:

* Exceptional customer service
* Heavily discounted bills
* Free 24/7 online doctor’s appointments
* A tremendous in-network searchable list of doctors and specialists

My family and I have had an exceptional experience with Medi-Share. We pay significantly less than with traditional health insurance, and in return, we receive: * Exceptional customer service * Heavily discounted bills * Free 24/7 online doctor’..
More
J
Jaime
December 16, 2019 @ 18:34
2.0  

We signed up for MediShare because we are small business owners. It was a good option for us that didn’t break the bank on a monthly basis. Unfortunately, it just wasn’t a good fit for our needs. Their processing for reimbursements is clunky and outdated and takes a LONG time. If you even get approved for a reimbursement. With three young kids, we found the AHP (deductible) to be so high (we had a $5,000) — but we could not afford to pay more than $500 a month to make the AHP lower. This past summer my husband landed in the ER, unable to walk with a bulging disc. More than $10,000 in bills later, MediShare ruled this as a pre-existing condition. We were stuck trying to cover all these medical expenses ourselves! Ultimately we ended up leaving MediShare and got cheaper and better insurance through the Marketplace. I will say most customer service reps for MediShare are very kind.

We signed up for MediShare because we are small business owners. It was a good option for us that didn’t break the bank on a monthly basis. Unfortunately, it just wasn’t a good fit for our needs. Their processing for reimbursements is clu..
More
M
Michelle Bell
December 13, 2019 @ 19:47
2.0  

As a member since 2015 I’ve been happy to recommend Medi-Share to friends and family and anyone inquiring about insurance alternatives. I always received fantastic customer service from friendly and knowledgeable associates. Today was when that ended! Today, I have made four attempts to cancel. I have been treated poorly and subjected to hold times of over 30 minutes with no service. I am no closer to cancelling my membership now than I was an hour and a half ago when I first called to cancel. How you treat customers on their way out speaks louder than the way I was treated the last 4 years. I’m very disappointed!

As a member since 2015 I’ve been happy to recommend Medi-Share to friends and family and anyone inquiring about insurance alternatives. I always received fantastic customer service from friendly and knowledgeable associates. Today was when that..
More
J
John Geary FNP
December 12, 2019 @ 18:01
1.0  

This company is very poorly run from a business/fiduciary standpoint. I am a NP and have a bit of knowledge about billing practices of medical services. My biggest complaint with this organization is they seem incapable of saving money. My local hospital is a medishare approved facility that accepts medishare. The problem is that the the hospital only offers medishare a 5% discount on the bill. It is common practice for all large insurance companies to get steep discounts from healthcare organizations–on average 40-50% off the actual billed amount. So rather than tell the hospital that I have medishare I told them I am cash pay so I get a 50% discount. My wife had a c-section and the billed amount was $15,000 but with my cash pay discount the bill was reduced to $7,500. So i submitted the hospitals itamized bill to medishare for $7,500 but I was missing proof of payment or a cpt code–so payment has been held up. I have the hospital bill medishare directly and medishare is more than happy to cut a check for $15,000. My daughter is 8 months old now and I am still trying to get reimbursed. My wifes OBGYN had a simmilar early payment discount of 30% but not if you worked through medishare.

I will be switching to Christian Healthcare Ministries https://www.chministries.org as soon as feasible. My family plan with CHM would be less than $500 month compared to $720 a month with Medishare. Medishare has a $4,250 out of pocket deductible per family per year. Christian Healthcare Ministries is a bit different but medical problems under $500 ar coverd by the member but those greater $500 are fully covered.

In conclusion my complaint with Medishare is that they are overcharging their members by 100% simply because they fail to take advantage of discounts offered to both patients and other commercial insurance companies.

This company is very poorly run from a business/fiduciary standpoint. I am a NP and have a bit of knowledge about billing practices of medical services. My biggest complaint with this organization is they seem incapable of saving money. My local h..
More
L
L. Bell
December 11, 2019 @ 21:47
5.0  

Our family has been with Medishare for 3 years and we are very satisfied! When I hit 50 yo, I ran into the PSA prostate scam and got popped with $10K in Urology biopsy bills. Medishare paid everything save our “deductible”, and we didn’t get any hassles from the doctor or hospitals regarding coverage. There is another network in IL that gets confused every other year as to what Medishare is, but overall we have had very few issues while saving about $500 a month.

Our family has been with Medishare for 3 years and we are very satisfied! When I hit 50 yo, I ran into the PSA prostate scam and got popped with $10K in Urology biopsy bills. Medishare paid everything save our “deductible”, and we didn..
More
b
billy kent
October 24, 2019 @ 01:30
1.0  

Hell no if you have M.S.

M
Matt
September 24, 2019 @ 13:58
4.0  

We’ve been members for like 6 years. Probably the best health sharing ministry overall and the closest one to ‘feel’ like real insurance. The biggest con is it is fairly expensive, as the pricing has increased a lot over the last couple years. The nice thing is they give you an card that you present to your doctor, pay your co-pay, and you are done. The doctor will bill them directly and you can go online to monitor. They pay the doctors and hospitals fairly quickly which tells me they are on good financial ground. They also list their annual financials in the member portal so you can see how much money they have, and that continues to look good. The only bad thing we don’t like is it’s expensive, and they do not cover ANY wellness visits at all. Other than that overall it’s been great.

We’ve been members for like 6 years. Probably the best health sharing ministry overall and the closest one to ‘feel’ like real insurance. The biggest con is it is fairly expensive, as the pricing has increased a lot over the last co..
More
P
Paul Klein
July 20, 2019 @ 22:39
1.0  

As a member of CCM in the Senior Assist program I am very disappointed at the inaccurate accounting I received for the medical expenses I incurred at the end of 2018 through June of 2019. First, the point of recalculating the household portion breaks at the date I initially signed up for the SA program. That means that the household portion was $2,500 for the medical expenses for one incident requiring medical treatment. Also, this applies to each individual, so if my wife had had a hospitalization, her account would have to totaled the $1,250. If that were the only problem it would be understandable. However, the credits toward the household portion I got for the expenses that I paid out of pocket did not come close to the actual amount I paid for the medical treatments. Medicare parts A covered most of my expenses and I had to pay the rest. I cannot recommend that anyone participate in the Senior Assist program.

As a member of CCM in the Senior Assist program I am very disappointed at the inaccurate accounting I received for the medical expenses I incurred at the end of 2018 through June of 2019. First, the point of recalculating the household portion break..
More
G
Gail Parker
June 28, 2019 @ 16:10
1.0  

I have not been impressed with this organization since we started the program 3 -4 years ago. I don’t believe you are any different than the average insurance company, just like them I pay my premium but have very little in return!! I have invested money into others financial needs but am NOT experiencing that for my own. I had a claim for a required heart test that was denied because you called it “a pre-existing condition”. However, my policy was long in effect prior to experiencing any heart issue. I would have been far ahead of the medical game had I invest my premiums into my own bank account!!

I have not been impressed with this organization since we started the program 3 -4 years ago. I don’t believe you are any different than the average insurance company, just like them I pay my premium but have very little in return!! I have i..
More
D
DARREN WILLIAMS
March 20, 2019 @ 20:16
1.0  

stay away from these con artists

Z
Zachary Schwartz
February 11, 2019 @ 16:28
1.0  

You won’t know what you will be paying until you sign up. Their price calculator, haha, don’t even try, such a joke. When all said and done they told me it would be $90.00 more per month than what the calculator says. That is ridiculous.

Their guidelines are so vague they claim to have everything in there. Before I even started using this company I was learning of things not in the guidelines.

I can not comment on submitting claims or reimbursement time because I cancelled this scam before I made any claims.

You won’t know what you will be paying until you sign up. Their price calculator, haha, don’t even try, such a joke. When all said and done they told me it would be $90.00 more per month than what the calculator says. That is ridiculous. The..
More
J
Jose
December 14, 2018 @ 22:54
1.0  

I have had this coverage for 4 years and too expensive for the output. My AHP is $10,000. I pay $203/mth. I only have this because our previous President’s decisions. ( Don’t want to get into that because it makes me mad that I was forced to get insurance). My payments just went up too. I have never used it since I am healthy don’t have any medical issues and hard to meet the $10,000 out of pocket. I am going to change maybe to Solidarity. Its only $500 out of pocket and about the same a month. As far as the pricing you are showing. They don’t look correct. I started at $160 at $10000 AHP back in 2014. I have sent a message to Christian Care ministries to look into this website.
I place one star on the ease of submitting and reimbursement not because I have use them but because it would let me submit my review.

I have had this coverage for 4 years and too expensive for the output. My AHP is $10,000. I pay $203/mth. I only have this because our previous President’s decisions. ( Don’t want to get into that because it makes me mad that I was forced..
More
M
Michael Smith
November 24, 2018 @ 16:59
2.0  

This a waste of your money. No transparency. They have no one who takes it. You cant even get a prescription on MDLIVE!!!
Waste of money and time.!!!!!!!!!~

B
Becky
June 29, 2018 @ 18:31
5.0  

I LOVE Medi-Share! We love glorifying God with our healthcare dollars as he instructs us in His Word.

D
DiAnne
April 30, 2018 @ 19:31
3.0  

This is an overall great establishment and we haven’t had any problems up until December of this past year. For 4 months now we have been trying to pay back the doctors office but Medishare won’t send the forms we need in order get payment. After 10+ phone calls and being constantly put on hold, I am writing a review in a last ditch effort, hoping someone from Medishare will respond and help me out. I hate to give a negative review but my doctors are fed up and I don’t know what else to do. Thank you!

This is an overall great establishment and we haven’t had any problems up until December of this past year. For 4 months now we have been trying to pay back the doctors office but Medishare won’t send the forms we need in order get payment. After..
More
S
Susan
December 6, 2017 @ 15:38
5.0  

Love Medi-Share and all the prayer that is offered. This healthcare is truly a place that cares about the individual and not just the bills. The community, support, and love we feel from other Christians makes a huge difference. We can’t imagine ever giving our money to a large corporation that uses it for things we don’t believe in.

Love Medi-Share and all the prayer that is offered. This healthcare is truly a place that cares about the individual and not just the bills. The community, support, and love we feel from other Christians makes a huge difference. We can’t imagin..
More
M
Mary
November 20, 2017 @ 18:03
5.0  

Medi-Share is great and we love that we are sharing with other believers in Christ that are lifting up our needs in prayer. We chose Medi-Share over Liberty because Liberty allows any faith to join and I certainly wouldn’t want a buddhist or muslim praying for my needs since we believe in different gods.

Medi-Share is great and we love that we are sharing with other believers in Christ that are lifting up our needs in prayer. We chose Medi-Share over Liberty because Liberty allows any faith to join and I certainly wouldn’t want a buddhist or mu..
More