Medi-Share Review
Expensive

Medi-Share Review

 

A Medi-Share Review.

Medi-Share is a very popular healthsharing option that is provided by Christian Care Ministry. The ministry’s Wikipedia page claims there are over 300,145 Medi-Share members since June of 2017. If true, this would make Medi-Share most likely the largest healthsharing organization in the country. The organization also claims to have done over $1 BILLION dollars in shared medical bills among its members.

 

 

The current #1 rated healthshare:

Zion Health

4.8
Top Rated Top Rated
Cheap

Zion Health is a fairly new healthshare based out of Utah. They offer super cheap plans and even Direct Primary Care memberships.

• Fast Processing of Needs
• Unlimited Sharing

Medi-Share Review

Below is a review of Medi-Share by Christian Care Ministry. No members of our team are current members of Medi-Share so this information is all gathered from research on the internet. The scoring is based on our opinion from the information that we actually found. If you are a Medi-Share member, please submit a review at the bottom! 

 

How Medi-Share Works

Medi-Share seems to work a lot like Liberty and all of the other healthsharing ministries out there. The Christian Care Ministry does do a really good job of explaining everything on their website. They have also created a pretty nifty video that explains exactly how Medi-Share works for a member.

Essentially, each Medi-Share member will submit their “Standard Monthly Share” each month and that money can be sent to other members who need a medical bill paid. Whenever you need an eligible medical bill to be paid yourself, you will receive money from other members as well.

 

 

In the video, they also touch on the penalty exemption that one would normally have to pay for not having health insurance. Luckily, healthsharing ministries are exempt from this penalty due to its religious status.

 

Pricing

The pricing for Medi-Share is pretty straight-forward. Christian Care Ministry’s website also provides an easy-to-use cost calculator to determine how much you would need to pay to be a member. Below are the pricing results I was given after entering in the calculator that I was an individual born in 1990.

Medi-Share review

Annual Household Portion

The Annual Household Portion (AHP) is a very similar concept to the Annual Unshared Amount used by ministries like Liberty Healthshare. With Medi-Share, your Annual Household Portion is the amount of money that you must pay out of your pocket before Medi-Share will start sharing your eligible medical bills. As you can see above, the more you are willing to pay for your monthly share, the less of an Annual Household Portion you will have.

Standard Monthly Share

Medi-Share’s Standard Monthly Share is the price that you will need to pay each month to be a member. For an individual in my 20’s, I would only need to pay $80 per month in order to have a $10,000 AHP. This would be a great option for a young, healthy individual that hardly ever has any medical bills. You can have a cheap monthly payment but still walk the streets knowing that if something bad were to happen, you would have help after $10,000.

Healthy Monthly Share

This is something that caught my eye at first. Medi-Share seems to put an emphasis on healthy individuals. If you meet their certain health standards, you can receive up to a 20% discount on your monthly share costs. I think this an amazing way to incentivize individuals to be healthy. Nice job Christian Care Ministry!

 

Signing Up

Medi-Share has a pretty easy application process. You can either fill out their digital application or call their sales line at (800) 772-5623 and a rep will walk you through the application process. When applying to Medi-Share, you are required to pay a one-time non-refundable $50 application fee.

Almost immediately after completing an application, you will receive an email to complete some more forms.

If you’re approved for Meds-Share, you will then be required to pay a one-time $120 “new member” fee along with your monthly share.

How To Pay For Medi-Share

Medi-Share requires you to set up a Personal Sharing Account with their financial partner America’s Christian Credit Union (ACCU).

There is a $2 one-time membership fee for setting this account up and then another $2 every month for administrative fees.

Once this account is set up, this is where the money will be passed through for your Medi-Share membership.

 

Healthsaring reviews

 

Leave a review!

Are you a member of Medi-Share from Christian Care Ministry? Please leave a review below so others can get a better sense of what it’s like to be a part of a healthsharing ministry!

If you have any questions about Medi-Share, contact us or hit us up on Twitter or Facebook!

Pros

  • One of the largest healthshares.

Cons

  • "Low-tech"

Overall review score

2.4
24 reviews

Leave Your Review

  • Review Score
    0.0

Reviews

M
Marilyn
March 11, 2020 @ 11:44
5.0  

After reading these comments it’s obvious that these people did NOT take the time to understand how Medi-Share works. It’s unfair to accuse them of not paying bills that the guidelines clearly state they do not share in.

By the way, you have to sign saying you read the guidelines to be approved for membership. I’ve been with Medi-Share for years and they negotiated my one night hospital stay that was over $15k down to under $6k. It’s simple really – do you research, call with questions and join AFTER you understand what you are getting into

After reading these comments it’s obvious that these people did NOT take the time to understand how Medi-Share works. It’s unfair to accuse them of not paying bills that the guidelines clearly state they do not share in. By the way, you h..
More
K
Kevin Lohr
February 15, 2020 @ 01:10
1.0  

My wife and I joined Medi-Share because as Christians thought it was the right thing to do.We are both very healthy people and rarely need medical help so it was a cheaper plan for us. Unfortunately I injured my lower back and wound up with drop foot and needed survey to relieve the impingement. No problem right? Well wrong! Finding a physician that would take this healthcare was slimpicking at best and that led to a delay in needed help. By the time I got into see a physician it was really bad. After pre surgery approval I had the surgery and started rehab only to find out my claim was denied do to (pre existing ) circumstances! That was a lie I had never seen a physician for a back injury only a chiropractor once every couple of years for a adjustment. I’m a middle aged male that works hard so from time to time I strain myself. They had no problem taking my money but the first time I needed help they abandoned me and left me with huge medical bills! So I ask, Christian Health care? Not for my family! We have dropped them and have gone back to a real heath care provider. A very hard lesson to learn and something to pray hard about before making a mistake like me.Make no mistake about it this is not health insurance it’s health sharing ,big difference.

My wife and I joined Medi-Share because as Christians thought it was the right thing to do.We are both very healthy people and rarely need medical help so it was a cheaper plan for us. Unfortunately I injured my lower back and wound up with drop foot..
More
D
DaveW
February 14, 2020 @ 01:14
2.0  

Pro: I really like that they have a tele-doctor service that lets you call and get a quick diagnosis and a prescription written at no cost. Con: If you need to actually see a doctor, they have a list of providers who are “in-network”, but I’ve learned that they don’t negotiate rates with those providers. I went to see an “in network” doctor, and got a cursory exam plus a short conversation — 10 minutes total. No diagnosis, no treatment, no prescription, no nothing. The invoice was $559. I called Medi-Share, but they said that they don’t negotiate rates with their in-network providers…and since I hadn’t met my deductible, it was all mine. What? Now I have to go to the state medical board to dispute the bill. What’s the point of having a provider network if you get overcharged anyway?

Pro: I really like that they have a tele-doctor service that lets you call and get a quick diagnosis and a prescription written at no cost. Con: If you need to actually see a doctor, they have a list of providers who are “in-network”, bu..
More
J
Joanna Roman
February 7, 2020 @ 18:28
1.0  

I’ve been a member of Medi Share for 5 years and I’m about to switch to regular insurance. Things I wish I’d known:

– Never self pay because Medi Share will take months to asess the need and most likely find errors with the paperwork making the process very frustrating. It’s almost like they look for mistakes on paperwork like a name in the wrong place so they can deny the claim. There’s not an easy way to appeal a decision if they decide the bill doesn’t fit the guidelines even if you feel it does.

– Very often good doctors and specialists don’t take any insurance so you’re stuck with self paying and crossing your fingers that Medi Share will reimburse.

– Protocols for detox or healing that involve non shareable modalities like vitamin IVs to flush mold from the body or detox aren’t shareable even when a Licensed doctor prescribes them – basically regular Pharma drugs are fine for sharing but things God made for natural healing are not.

I wouldn’t recommend Medi Share unless you’re very healthy. I had a representative tell me that really Medi Share is for catastrophic circumstances like cancer not for little bills and that those should be paid by the member themselves. No one says that when they’re taking your money each month.

AVOID

I’ve been a member of Medi Share for 5 years and I’m about to switch to regular insurance. Things I wish I’d known: – Never self pay because Medi Share will take months to asess the need and most likely find errors with the paperwork mak..
More
C
Cari C.
January 16, 2020 @ 23:49
1.0  

I wish I could leave zero stars. I work as in billing in a doc’s office and experience all the time how difficult these crooks make it for patients to get reimbursed for charges. Most doctors offices don’t accept health shares (and shouldn’t because they never get paid!) so patients have to pay exorbitant amounts upfront and then follow up with the office because the health share makes reimburse SO difficult. You can’t generate a claim form w/out insurance info, and the health share expects patients to complete and submit a commercial claim form? Nuts! None of our patients with health shares are reimbursed timely if they get reimbursed at all. Real health insurance is more expensive, but it is WORTH it because they know what to do and you are guaranteed a cap on spending (your out of pocket max). Please STAY AWAY from these crooks!

I wish I could leave zero stars. I work as in billing in a doc’s office and experience all the time how difficult these crooks make it for patients to get reimbursed for charges. Most doctors offices don’t accept health shares (and should..
More
C
Colby Campbell
January 5, 2020 @ 14:04
2.0  

My recommendation is never self pay as they will drag out the reimbursement process for months and require paperwork that seems to be impossible to acquire from the hospital. When I go to the billing department of the hospital they do not even know how to get me the information that Medi-share is requiring me to provide. I have been with them for around 7 years and have never been happy when we needed to use them.

My recommendation is never self pay as they will drag out the reimbursement process for months and require paperwork that seems to be impossible to acquire from the hospital. When I go to the billing department of the hospital they do not even know ..
More
P
Paige Pontrich
December 27, 2019 @ 21:02
1.0  

Long ranting post…. please share!
Health Insurance in this country is a joke!!! They make it so unaffordable and the medical bills and requirements are just ridiculous.

I currently have Medi Share. It’s a Christian sharing health program. It’s not considered “insurance”. It took my monthly premium from $600 to $200/ month….. which for a single mom is a big savings. I have had to pay for pretty much everything out of pocket until my “annual household portion” /deductible is met.

I had major back surgery a few weeks ago. And due to all the requirements…I had to have many tests/procedures done before I was eligible to have this major surgery. My current bills through Schneck alone are around $14,000…. and this is is before my surgery. I have yet to recieve my bill for surgery and my hospital stay ( but a 4 hour surgery with a neurosurgeon and a 4 day stay in the hospital as you can imagine will be astronomical). I found out the weekend before Christmas- wonderful Christmas present- that Medi Share will NOT cover any of my bills due to my back due to saying it’s a pre existing condition!!! I started in September seeing dr’s and getting tests done for my back… and found out after my surgery that none of it is covered!!!

I remember my back went out 3 years ago only because it happened on a holiday.. There is no proof of a bulging disc or anything needing surgery at that point…. but they are still saying it’s pre existing! Who hasn’t had back pain in their life?!!!

This has been pretty hard to process for me. Single mom who needed surgery will now be in hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt…. and I didn’t find out until after surgery is over!!!

Also with the timeline….I have missed the enrollment for Healthcare and can’t enroll in Obamacare. While the healthcare provided is still expensive and hard for any household to keep up with…. it is under law, that they can not deny you for pre existing conditions!!

Since Medi Share is not “insurance” they do not have to follow this law!!!!

**I do know others who have had Medi Share and other Christian sharing programs cover medical expenses…… but if you have a pre existing condition I would NOT recommend it!!! It’s more for new injuries/ medical conditions. Since they can make up their own rules…. Medi Share can also deny you for smoking, drug use- legal or illegal, being Gay, among other reasons! They can deny maternity bills if a baby is born out of wedlock- unless the mother was raped! Seems Un-Christian to me!!

Sorry for venting….. but I feel I have little to no options for good health care… and now im in a huge amount of debt that I was not expecting! We should do better in this country with as much as we pay in taxes… we need a better healthcare system.

Please share….I don’t think this is right and others should be aware what they are getting into with Medi Share and other Christian sharing programs.

Long ranting post…. please share! Health Insurance in this country is a joke!!! They make it so unaffordable and the medical bills and requirements are just ridiculous. I currently have Medi Share. It’s a Christian sharing health prog..
More
C
Colin Keeler
December 19, 2019 @ 19:24
5.0  

My family and I have had an exceptional experience with Medi-Share. We pay significantly less than with traditional health insurance, and in return, we receive:

* Exceptional customer service
* Heavily discounted bills
* Free 24/7 online doctor’s appointments
* A tremendous in-network searchable list of doctors and specialists

My family and I have had an exceptional experience with Medi-Share. We pay significantly less than with traditional health insurance, and in return, we receive: * Exceptional customer service * Heavily discounted bills * Free 24/7 online doctor’..
More
J
Jaime
December 16, 2019 @ 18:34
2.0  

We signed up for MediShare because we are small business owners. It was a good option for us that didn’t break the bank on a monthly basis. Unfortunately, it just wasn’t a good fit for our needs. Their processing for reimbursements is clunky and outdated and takes a LONG time. If you even get approved for a reimbursement. With three young kids, we found the AHP (deductible) to be so high (we had a $5,000) — but we could not afford to pay more than $500 a month to make the AHP lower. This past summer my husband landed in the ER, unable to walk with a bulging disc. More than $10,000 in bills later, MediShare ruled this as a pre-existing condition. We were stuck trying to cover all these medical expenses ourselves! Ultimately we ended up leaving MediShare and got cheaper and better insurance through the Marketplace. I will say most customer service reps for MediShare are very kind.

We signed up for MediShare because we are small business owners. It was a good option for us that didn’t break the bank on a monthly basis. Unfortunately, it just wasn’t a good fit for our needs. Their processing for reimbursements is clu..
More
M
Michelle Bell
December 13, 2019 @ 19:47
2.0  

As a member since 2015 I’ve been happy to recommend Medi-Share to friends and family and anyone inquiring about insurance alternatives. I always received fantastic customer service from friendly and knowledgeable associates. Today was when that ended! Today, I have made four attempts to cancel. I have been treated poorly and subjected to hold times of over 30 minutes with no service. I am no closer to cancelling my membership now than I was an hour and a half ago when I first called to cancel. How you treat customers on their way out speaks louder than the way I was treated the last 4 years. I’m very disappointed!

As a member since 2015 I’ve been happy to recommend Medi-Share to friends and family and anyone inquiring about insurance alternatives. I always received fantastic customer service from friendly and knowledgeable associates. Today was when that..
More
J
John Geary FNP
December 12, 2019 @ 18:01
1.0  

This company is very poorly run from a business/fiduciary standpoint. I am a NP and have a bit of knowledge about billing practices of medical services. My biggest complaint with this organization is they seem incapable of saving money. My local hospital is a medishare approved facility that accepts medishare. The problem is that the the hospital only offers medishare a 5% discount on the bill. It is common practice for all large insurance companies to get steep discounts from healthcare organizations–on average 40-50% off the actual billed amount. So rather than tell the hospital that I have medishare I told them I am cash pay so I get a 50% discount. My wife had a c-section and the billed amount was $15,000 but with my cash pay discount the bill was reduced to $7,500. So i submitted the hospitals itamized bill to medishare for $7,500 but I was missing proof of payment or a cpt code–so payment has been held up. I have the hospital bill medishare directly and medishare is more than happy to cut a check for $15,000. My daughter is 8 months old now and I am still trying to get reimbursed. My wifes OBGYN had a simmilar early payment discount of 30% but not if you worked through medishare.

I will be switching to Christian Healthcare Ministries https://www.chministries.org as soon as feasible. My family plan with CHM would be less than $500 month compared to $720 a month with Medishare. Medishare has a $4,250 out of pocket deductible per family per year. Christian Healthcare Ministries is a bit different but medical problems under $500 ar coverd by the member but those greater $500 are fully covered.

In conclusion my complaint with Medishare is that they are overcharging their members by 100% simply because they fail to take advantage of discounts offered to both patients and other commercial insurance companies.

This company is very poorly run from a business/fiduciary standpoint. I am a NP and have a bit of knowledge about billing practices of medical services. My biggest complaint with this organization is they seem incapable of saving money. My local h..
More
L
L. Bell
December 11, 2019 @ 21:47
5.0  

Our family has been with Medishare for 3 years and we are very satisfied! When I hit 50 yo, I ran into the PSA prostate scam and got popped with $10K in Urology biopsy bills. Medishare paid everything save our “deductible”, and we didn’t get any hassles from the doctor or hospitals regarding coverage. There is another network in IL that gets confused every other year as to what Medishare is, but overall we have had very few issues while saving about $500 a month.

Our family has been with Medishare for 3 years and we are very satisfied! When I hit 50 yo, I ran into the PSA prostate scam and got popped with $10K in Urology biopsy bills. Medishare paid everything save our “deductible”, and we didn..
More
b
billy kent
October 24, 2019 @ 01:30
1.0  

Hell no if you have M.S.

M
Matt
September 24, 2019 @ 13:58
4.0  

We’ve been members for like 6 years. Probably the best health sharing ministry overall and the closest one to ‘feel’ like real insurance. The biggest con is it is fairly expensive, as the pricing has increased a lot over the last couple years. The nice thing is they give you an card that you present to your doctor, pay your co-pay, and you are done. The doctor will bill them directly and you can go online to monitor. They pay the doctors and hospitals fairly quickly which tells me they are on good financial ground. They also list their annual financials in the member portal so you can see how much money they have, and that continues to look good. The only bad thing we don’t like is it’s expensive, and they do not cover ANY wellness visits at all. Other than that overall it’s been great.

We’ve been members for like 6 years. Probably the best health sharing ministry overall and the closest one to ‘feel’ like real insurance. The biggest con is it is fairly expensive, as the pricing has increased a lot over the last co..
More
P
Paul Klein
July 20, 2019 @ 22:39
1.0  

As a member of CCM in the Senior Assist program I am very disappointed at the inaccurate accounting I received for the medical expenses I incurred at the end of 2018 through June of 2019. First, the point of recalculating the household portion breaks at the date I initially signed up for the SA program. That means that the household portion was $2,500 for the medical expenses for one incident requiring medical treatment. Also, this applies to each individual, so if my wife had had a hospitalization, her account would have to totaled the $1,250. If that were the only problem it would be understandable. However, the credits toward the household portion I got for the expenses that I paid out of pocket did not come close to the actual amount I paid for the medical treatments. Medicare parts A covered most of my expenses and I had to pay the rest. I cannot recommend that anyone participate in the Senior Assist program.

As a member of CCM in the Senior Assist program I am very disappointed at the inaccurate accounting I received for the medical expenses I incurred at the end of 2018 through June of 2019. First, the point of recalculating the household portion break..
More
G
Gail Parker
June 28, 2019 @ 16:10
1.0  

I have not been impressed with this organization since we started the program 3 -4 years ago. I don’t believe you are any different than the average insurance company, just like them I pay my premium but have very little in return!! I have invested money into others financial needs but am NOT experiencing that for my own. I had a claim for a required heart test that was denied because you called it “a pre-existing condition”. However, my policy was long in effect prior to experiencing any heart issue. I would have been far ahead of the medical game had I invest my premiums into my own bank account!!

I have not been impressed with this organization since we started the program 3 -4 years ago. I don’t believe you are any different than the average insurance company, just like them I pay my premium but have very little in return!! I have i..
More
D
DARREN WILLIAMS
March 20, 2019 @ 20:16
1.0  

stay away from these con artists

Z
Zachary Schwartz
February 11, 2019 @ 16:28
1.0  

You won’t know what you will be paying until you sign up. Their price calculator, haha, don’t even try, such a joke. When all said and done they told me it would be $90.00 more per month than what the calculator says. That is ridiculous.

Their guidelines are so vague they claim to have everything in there. Before I even started using this company I was learning of things not in the guidelines.

I can not comment on submitting claims or reimbursement time because I cancelled this scam before I made any claims.

You won’t know what you will be paying until you sign up. Their price calculator, haha, don’t even try, such a joke. When all said and done they told me it would be $90.00 more per month than what the calculator says. That is ridiculous. The..
More
J
Jose
December 14, 2018 @ 22:54
1.0  

I have had this coverage for 4 years and too expensive for the output. My AHP is $10,000. I pay $203/mth. I only have this because our previous President’s decisions. ( Don’t want to get into that because it makes me mad that I was forced to get insurance). My payments just went up too. I have never used it since I am healthy don’t have any medical issues and hard to meet the $10,000 out of pocket. I am going to change maybe to Solidarity. Its only $500 out of pocket and about the same a month. As far as the pricing you are showing. They don’t look correct. I started at $160 at $10000 AHP back in 2014. I have sent a message to Christian Care ministries to look into this website.
I place one star on the ease of submitting and reimbursement not because I have use them but because it would let me submit my review.

I have had this coverage for 4 years and too expensive for the output. My AHP is $10,000. I pay $203/mth. I only have this because our previous President’s decisions. ( Don’t want to get into that because it makes me mad that I was forced..
More
M
Michael Smith
November 24, 2018 @ 16:59
2.0  

This a waste of your money. No transparency. They have no one who takes it. You cant even get a prescription on MDLIVE!!!
Waste of money and time.!!!!!!!!!~

B
Becky
June 29, 2018 @ 18:31
5.0  

I LOVE Medi-Share! We love glorifying God with our healthcare dollars as he instructs us in His Word.

D
DiAnne
April 30, 2018 @ 19:31
3.0  

This is an overall great establishment and we haven’t had any problems up until December of this past year. For 4 months now we have been trying to pay back the doctors office but Medishare won’t send the forms we need in order get payment. After 10+ phone calls and being constantly put on hold, I am writing a review in a last ditch effort, hoping someone from Medishare will respond and help me out. I hate to give a negative review but my doctors are fed up and I don’t know what else to do. Thank you!

This is an overall great establishment and we haven’t had any problems up until December of this past year. For 4 months now we have been trying to pay back the doctors office but Medishare won’t send the forms we need in order get payment. After..
More
S
Susan
December 6, 2017 @ 15:38
5.0  

Love Medi-Share and all the prayer that is offered. This healthcare is truly a place that cares about the individual and not just the bills. The community, support, and love we feel from other Christians makes a huge difference. We can’t imagine ever giving our money to a large corporation that uses it for things we don’t believe in.

Love Medi-Share and all the prayer that is offered. This healthcare is truly a place that cares about the individual and not just the bills. The community, support, and love we feel from other Christians makes a huge difference. We can’t imagin..
More
M
Mary
November 20, 2017 @ 18:03
5.0  

Medi-Share is great and we love that we are sharing with other believers in Christ that are lifting up our needs in prayer. We chose Medi-Share over Liberty because Liberty allows any faith to join and I certainly wouldn’t want a buddhist or muslim praying for my needs since we believe in different gods.

Medi-Share is great and we love that we are sharing with other believers in Christ that are lifting up our needs in prayer. We chose Medi-Share over Liberty because Liberty allows any faith to join and I certainly wouldn’t want a buddhist or mu..
More